184 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

jinaun
post Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Lens
Budget: ~RM4K
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : canon
Type of photography u want to do : general purpose
Any specific models in mind? : 70-200mm f4l is
Any specific features u want? :

This post has been edited by jinaun: Dec 16 2009, 06:35 PM
korby
post Dec 16 2009, 06:18 PM

21 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: rm3000-rm4000 (with kit lens)
Your Location: PJ /KL
Preferable brand : canon / nikon
Type of photography u want to do : people
Any specific models in mind? : 500D / D90
Any specific features u want? : im newbie, wanna learn to use dslr cam to take moving people (example concert). so which 1 actually more suitable? =)
! Love Money
post Dec 16 2009, 08:12 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 16 2009, 02:07 PM)
I'm just asking price for Canon EOS 500D here at my place Miri, Sarawak.

The body only is RM2750...

While with kit lens(dunno what didn't pay attention) is RM4850...

While buying body and lens separately body is RM2750 + lense RM2870 = RM5620

Now, how much the price there at lowyat?
Can I get any cheaper than this?
wat lens so expensive rclxub.gif dun get conned...
do more research and survey b4 u buy... even the 18-200mm lens is around 4k...

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 16 2009, 03:36 PM)
I like the way you think. In fact I'm using the same setup, different body only. I'm suggesting the 18-200 because they're just stepping into DSLRs, and I think the 18-200 is a very good choice for a beginner. Personally I don't like changing lenses. Every time I need the zoom range when I'm shooting wide, I have to change lenses, and if I want to shoot wide when I'm on the 55-250 I have to change again. It is a bit of a hassle, don't you think? I wouldn't want to be burdened by that.

It gets really annoying sometimes for me, but I had no choice because back then, 18-200 kits were scarce, exception being the 50D. And I'm sure they'd love the accessibility of the whole range with one lens as a starter.  wink.gif
this 1 i agree with technodude...
if u never use the 18-200 b4 then u will never know its performance and IQ...
the most important for me is IQ and this 18-200 is far more worst than 55-250mm...

QUOTE(gwendoLYN @ Dec 16 2009, 05:19 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  compact dslr / micro 4 3
Budget: 3000-3500
Preferable brand :  canon
Type of photography u want to do :  all
Any specific models in mind? :  lumix gf1
- great in low light
- compact/small body
- stabilizer (to handle shaking during shooting)
-interchangeable lens
- need to upgrade from my current canon g10. i hate the g10 fixed lens <----- the digic sensor controls the aperture once i start zooming-in (this happens in manual mode, FYI). my aperture is limited from f/3.5. but if i didn't use the zoom function, the aperture starts from f/2.8
thanks y'all
compact DSLR? then enty level like canon 1000d and nikon d3000 suits u with its small body with interchangeable lens...
but entry level have its disadvantages like poor perofrmance in low light condition, not very ergonomic hand grip and many more
! Love Money
post Dec 16 2009, 08:17 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM)
i think 2nd hand 70-200mm F2.8L is more appealing to u nod.gif

QUOTE(korby @ Dec 16 2009, 06:18 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Your Location:   PJ /KL
Preferable brand :  canon / nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  people
Any specific models in mind? :  500D / D90
Any specific features u want? :  im newbie, wanna learn to use dslr cam to take moving people (example concert). so which 1 actually more suitable? =)
which 1 do u trust? there is no canon>nikon or nikon>canon...
if u r very interested in photography just buy any camera and shoot as long as it perform its main job...
if u really wan an advice then i will poison u to take canon 500D brows.gif
epos127
post Dec 16 2009, 08:25 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 16 2009, 11:03 AM)
Off topic, but I'll share this bit. Recently came back from Korea after a long trip and during the start of the trip, one of my friends' cameras broke down. He had to buy a new one and ended buying this model for RM1300 converted from Korean won, LOL. And I saw it selling for RM1k in Taman Tun. Banner ad.

Back on topic, I think it's a really handy camwhore camera, but the quality,... I'm not so sure at all. Not much is being said about Samsung anyway. I think it'll do just well for a mid-range PnS.
Wow. Thats like effing expensive. Because that time I went PC fair the guy offered me 899 for ST500.
Thanks though! biggrin.gif
Oh yea, what about sony cams? My friend brought hers to show me.(Nt sure whts the model, but its touch screen and really thick in gold colour, used to be quite hot around 2006/7.) And dammmmmn. the colour is so beautiful. striking. <3 But the cam shop uncle said sony cam usually print photos with lotsa white dots(dunno what its called in pro term doh.gif)
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 08:38 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 16 2009, 02:07 PM)
I'm just asking price for Canon EOS 500D here at my place Miri, Sarawak.

The body only is RM2750...

While with kit lens(dunno what didn't pay attention) is RM4850...

While buying body and lens separately body is RM2750 + lense RM2870 = RM5620

Now, how much the price there at lowyat?
Can I get any cheaper than this?
im from miri, and my advice is...dont buy DSLR there (unless u go to the sony shop at imperial lah). they mark up like crazy, u're better off buying online

RM4850 is even more expensive than D90 with kit lens. they're trying to con u
wgn_white
post Dec 16 2009, 09:13 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 16 2009, 08:38 PM)
im from miri, and my advice is...dont buy DSLR there (unless u go to the sony shop at imperial lah). they mark up like crazy, u're better off buying online

RM4850 is even more expensive than D90 with kit lens. they're trying to con u
I'm Curtin student also bro... biggrin.gif

Yeah, maybe I will buy online from members here...
I just don't want to rush this thing...

The Nikon D90 tag price at that shop is RM5.6K plus, maybe with the lens kit...
timothy tiong
post Dec 16 2009, 09:20 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 16 2009, 09:13 PM)
I'm Curtin student also bro...  biggrin.gif

http://shashinki.com/shop/nikon-digital-ca...ens-p-2203.html

can buy from shashinki.....realiabe
ReasonsofThanatos
post Dec 16 2009, 09:20 PM

256 posts

- great in low light
- compact/small body
-interchangeable lens
- need to upgrade from my current canon g10. i hate the g10 fixed lens <----- the digic sensor controls the aperture once i start zooming-in (this happens in manual mode, FYI). my aperture is limited from f/3.5. but if i didn't use the zoom function, the aperture starts from f/2.8
thanks y'all
d part that d aperture will changes once it's zoomed, even in manual mode, is pretty normal i guess..even with dslr lenses,say for example a 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 lens, at different focal length (means ur level of zoom) ur max aperture will be limited to a certain size, n usually smaller when u zoom in deeper.so when u zoomed it became f3.5 (smaller aperture) n when u're not zoomed u get f2.8 (larger aperture) is usual de ba..u cant change this fact by changing camera.. smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 09:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 16 2009, 09:13 PM)
I'm Curtin student also bro...  biggrin.gif

oh really? nvr see u around haha

even 5.6k is too expensive for D90 with kit lens tongue.gif

yeah i agree, buy at shashinki.com or yamiya.com.my..both free shipping

juz asking...which shop is this?

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Dec 16 2009, 09:24 PM
wgn_white
post Dec 16 2009, 09:31 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 16 2009, 09:24 PM)
oh really? nvr see u around haha

even 5.6k is too expensive for D90 with kit lens tongue.gif

yeah i agree, buy at shashinki.com or yamiya.com.my..both free shipping

juz asking...which shop is this?
We don't have "jodoh"... then never met... brows.gif

The shop is inside Bintang Mega Mall ground floor...
jackson5759
post Dec 16 2009, 09:56 PM

42 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point n Shoot Camera
Budget:around RM1-1.5k
Preferable brand : Canon, Sony, Nikon, Olympus, Or any brand intro is good..
Type of photography u want to do : any type...
Any specific models in mind? : Nope..
Any specific features u want? : For my gf so maybe self portrait or landscape..
TheWandererX
post Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Dec 16 2009, 04:24 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Digital Camera
Budget: 1k - 1.5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Need to snap Sharp Color (example, snap Model after makeup)
Any specific models in mind? :  TX1 & WX1
Any specific features u want? : Slim, Girl use..
Definitely the TX1, if you can afford. If you want to go for a cheaper alternative the WX1 would be nice. Not many cameras cater to the 'stylish' category nowadays.. Not much choices.

- great in low light
- compact/small body
-interchangeable lens
thanks y'all
Hmm, I don't really know much, no chance to use a Micro 4/3 system.. but there's also the Olympus Pen series, you might wanna have a look at that.

QUOTE(jinaun @ Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM)
General purpose? I think I'll settle for a 70-200 F4 if you have jittery hands/want a lighter but as powerful lens. In fact I read on a review site somewhere that the F4 and F2.8 quality is almost the same, only the f-stop difference. So yeah.

Any specific features u want? :  im newbie, wanna learn to use dslr cam to take moving people (example concert). so which 1 actually more suitable? =)
The D90 is an intermediate DSLR, while the 500D is an entry-level DSLR. There's a RM1k price difference in between though, so choose carefully.

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 16 2009, 08:12 PM)
wat lens so expensive rclxub.gif dun get conned...
do more research and survey b4 u buy... even the 18-200mm lens is around 4k...
this 1 i agree with technodude...
if u never use the 18-200 b4 then u will never know its performance and IQ...
the most important for me is IQ and this 18-200 is far more worst than 55-250mm...
compact DSLR? then enty level like canon 1000d and nikon d3000 suits u with its small body with interchangeable lens...
but entry level have its disadvantages like poor perofrmance in low light condition, not very ergonomic hand grip and many more
Haha. Well, for one I haven't used it before. blush.gif I see. Hahah. Thanks for pointing out. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(epos127 @ Dec 16 2009, 08:25 PM)
Wow. Thats like effing expensive. Because that time I went PC fair the guy offered me 899 for ST500.
Thanks though! biggrin.gif
Oh yea, what about sony cams? My friend brought hers to show me.(Nt sure whts the model, but its touch screen and really thick in gold colour, used to be quite hot around 2006/7.) And dammmmmn. the colour is so beautiful. striking. <3 But the cam shop uncle said sony cam usually print photos with lotsa white dots(dunno what its called in pro term doh.gif)
Sony has been a not-so quality emphasized.. but recent models like the TX1 and HX1 are quite noteworthy. Still the best remains to be in the big market leaders.

Another brand that is quite good, but less talk about it, is Fujifilm. Not much is said about it, but the comments have been really good.

QUOTE(jackson5759 @ Dec 16 2009, 09:56 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point n Shoot Camera
Budget:around RM1-1.5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Canon, Sony, Nikon, Olympus, Or any brand intro is good..
Type of photography u want to do :  any type...
Any specific models in mind? :  Nope..
Any specific features u want? :  For my gf so maybe self portrait or landscape..
For your GF? Might wanna consider a Sony TX1/WX1. If she'e the type which likes stylish gadgets more. If not, she'd love the Panasonic Lumix LX-3. It's something you won't go wrong with.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 16 2009, 10:24 PM
edmundck
post Dec 16 2009, 10:35 PM

60 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR For Beginner to Semi-Pro
Budget: RM 4000 (include Kits)
Preferable brand : Nikon Or Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Close-Up,Potrait,Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Not Sure..
Desperate For Help...Thanks
dvlzplayground
post Dec 16 2009, 10:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i think nikon D5000 is good for concert cuz of the articulating live view LCD... easier to frame ur shots. the price difference u can get tele lens

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 16 2009, 09:31 PM)
We don't have "jodoh"... then never met...  brows.gif

The shop is inside Bintang Mega Mall ground floor...
oh that shop a lot of overpriced stuff... last time i wanted to print a single 4R photo they charge me RM2.60 i think
jeffreylhl
post Dec 17 2009, 12:17 AM

14 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories: point and shoot
Budget: RM1500
Preferable brand : panasonic, Canon, olympus, fujifilm and etc
Type of photography u want to do : travel, event, landscape
Any specific models in mind? : seeking for help
Any specific features u want? : good video, and etc
epos127
post Dec 17 2009, 01:55 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM)
Sony has been a not-so quality emphasized.. but recent models like the TX1 and HX1 are quite noteworthy. Still the best remains to be in the big market leaders.

Another brand that is quite good, but less talk about it, is Fujifilm. Not much is said about it, but the comments have been really good.
At first I thought Sony is a good brand(for cam), until I met the cam shop uncle. LOL Cuz I can see it EVERYWEHRE. Wonder of advertisements.
Ohh, another lowyatners recommend me fujifilm f70. Haha.
I marked all of the recommended ones down, gonna go 'meet' 'em later.
Thanks though, for all the hmm, recommendations and advices! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by epos127: Dec 17 2009, 01:58 AM
gwendoLYN
post Dec 17 2009, 09:46 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Dec 16 2009, 09:20 PM)
d part that d aperture will changes once it's zoomed, even in manual mode, is pretty normal i guess..even with dslr lenses,say for example a 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 lens, at different focal length (means ur level of zoom) ur max aperture will be limited to a certain size, n usually smaller when u zoom in deeper.so when u zoomed it became f3.5 (smaller aperture) n when u're not zoomed u get f2.8 (larger aperture) is usual de ba..u cant change this fact by changing camera.. smile.gif
ooo soo it's normal thingy for the sensor to control the aperture f-stops even in dslr... icic thanx 4 d explanation
OldKidz
post Dec 17 2009, 12:00 PM

$ MoNeY $
1,573 posts

Uhhmmm my turn,

specific one.

Olympus EP-1 + Pana 20mm F1.7 [Advantage: Smaller size]

or

Pentax k-7 + limited edition 70mm f2.4 [Advantage: Weather seal]

or

Sony A850 + 50mm F1.8 [Advantage: Full Frame]

Which one too choose? rclxub.gif

Regards,

George

This post has been edited by OldKidz: Dec 17 2009, 12:19 PM
noprob
post Dec 17 2009, 12:07 PM

1,982 posts

George ,
Sony A850 + 50mm F1.8 [Advantage: Full Frame] !

184 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:41 AM