65 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Paint, buy where?

sawhueijye
post Oct 25 2021, 05:11 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(sawhueijye @ Oct 22 2021, 11:00 AM)
Hello guys, appreciate if you could provide your two cents.

I am considering to use Nippon EasyWash series for painting my whole unit of 1,313 SQFT. Painting area including wall, ceiling and plaster ceiling. Below attachment is the layout of my unit.

1. What is the estimation of paint I need to buy in terms of liter if only to focus on 1 color and assuming to do 2-coats application? I have tried the Nippon's paint calculator and got result of 50L. It seems like too less.

2. What is the purpose of sealer/ primer? It use before/ after the paint? Is it a must to use a sealer/ primer? If yes, how many liter should I purchase? This is because Nippon website suggest to have 1 coat of sealer/ primer together with 2 coats of painting.

3. I was quoted for RM 4,500 to paint the whole unit and the supplier doesn't mention the specifications so I post this to ask about the market rate, would it be cheaper if I DIY myself in this case?

[attachmentid=11021055]
Can you guys see the post?
SUSceo684
post Oct 25 2021, 06:38 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sawhueijye @ Oct 22 2021, 11:00 AM)
Hello guys, appreciate if you could provide your two cents.

I am considering to use Nippon EasyWash series for painting my whole unit of 1,313 SQFT. Painting area including wall, ceiling and plaster ceiling. Below attachment is the layout of my unit.

1. What is the estimation of paint I need to buy in terms of liter if only to focus on 1 color and assuming to do 2-coats application? I have tried the Nippon's paint calculator and got result of 50L. It seems like too less.

2. What is the purpose of sealer/ primer? It use before/ after the paint? Is it a must to use a sealer/ primer? If yes, how many liter should I purchase? This is because Nippon website suggest to have 1 coat of sealer/ primer together with 2 coats of painting.

3. I was quoted for RM 4,500 to paint the whole unit and the supplier doesn't mention the specifications so I post this to ask about the market rate, would it be cheaper if I DIY myself in this case?

[attachmentid=11021055]
1. I think best if you total up the dimensions of the surfaces to be painted per room to avoid buying too much paint.
Too little still OK you can buy more. But too much just waste money.
Too many surface to be painted and some only need to paint one side.
As a guide, I used a total of 4.5L to cover a 8m x 3.3m wall for 2 coats (long wall in living room).

2. It is the undercoat. Functions like inner wear clothing. Do the wet cloth test to see whether your developer give C-grade (cheapo paint, but doesn't rub out as white powder no need sealer) or F-grade chalk (FAIL grade, lots of white dust come out on the wet cloth, must mop off and put sealer).

3. Surely cheaper to DIY.. Labour cost in painting also include some waiting time for paint to dry off between coats.
Materials basically a nice tall ladder (tall enough so you are NOT standing on top 2 steps) paint, painter tape/washi tape, rollers/brushes/foam pads/paint roller/tray, old cardboard or lots of newspaper.
Nippon range cover a lot of those consumables. Small roller easier to work with especially for female (hand not so tired and doesn't spatter everywhere), but if your arms strong then can use the full size roller lah.

Labour FOC coz you are the painter.
This is assuming you are going with standard matte paints and not special effect paints (momento/suzuka stuff)..those are hard to paint nicely.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 25 2021, 06:40 PM
Duckies
post Oct 27 2021, 11:09 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

Hi guys, last time nippon very famous pearl paint... Not sure if they still have it or they changed name. Is there any other brand with equivalent characteristics?

Was looking into Jotun Majestic True beauty.
evaa07 P
post Nov 3 2021, 09:55 PM

Probation

Hi guys

My name is Eva. We provide one stop painting services and specialized in texture painting (wall paper paint )

- free consultation
- site visit inspection available
- paint quotation able to obtain within 30 mins
- available on weekends and Public holidays

Feel free to call or drop me a text for any enquiry. Thanks

Eva 012-3852810
ericling
post Mar 18 2022, 01:55 PM

323 posts

Hi sifu, planning to paint a new color for my room, wanna see for some advise

Currently my room is in light blue, and would like to paint to white/cream. I tested the paint on my wall and it can't cover the old color.

Question: Should I paint my wall with white paint first or use primer?

If primer, what brand do you guys recommend? Quite surprised that Jotun Majestic primer cost the same as the Majestic paint. I believe there's cheaper primer out there but not sure on the quality and not sure if i should cheap out on primer.

Seeking for advise, thanks in advance!
mini orchard
post Mar 18 2022, 03:33 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Mar 18 2022, 01:55 PM)
Hi sifu, planning to paint a new color for my room, wanna see for some advise

Currently my room is in light blue, and would like to paint to white/cream. I tested the paint on my wall and it can't cover the old color.

Question: Should I paint my wall with white paint first or use primer?

If primer, what brand do you guys recommend? Quite surprised that Jotun Majestic primer cost the same as the Majestic paint.  I believe there's cheaper primer out there but not sure on the quality and not sure if i should cheap out on primer.

Seeking for advise, thanks in advance!
Use maxilite plus white to cover the earlier blue paint
idkihavenoidealol
post Mar 22 2022, 11:10 AM

112 posts

Hi all, I am planning to DIY paint my new house. I have some questions and sifus welcome to correct me if I'm wrong or give any additional tips if any.

Paint:
1) Ceiling: 2 coat of Nippon Perfect White
2) White walls: 2 coat of Nippon Perfect White
3) Coloured walls: 2 coat of Nippon Eash Wash
4) Hacked runs on walls: 1 or 2 coat of Nippon 5400 Sealer before top coat

Planning:
1) Sand down uneven surface using 100 grit sandpaper
2) Wipe off dust using damp cloth
3) Seal hacked runs
4) Paint ceiling first
5) Paint wall

Questions:
1) For 2 coats of Nippon Perfect White, is it neccessary since existing is developer's Matex/Maxilite? Or better to paint 1 coat of Matex and then 1 coat of Perfect White to save on some cost?
2) Can I paint at night? Thinking of going to paint at night after work. If wait weekends to paint, might take few weeks to finish. But my concern is that panting at night might be not good for the paint (ambient temperature cause paint shrinkage? Insects?)
3) After wiping off dust using damp cloth, when can I paint? After 1-2 hours to ensure the wall is dry enough?
4) I might be pouring small amount amount of paint into an empty 18L paint bucket with paint grit and dip my roller straight from the bucket. Do I need to stir Nippon Perfect White before pouring?
5) How do I store the paint and roller/brush for tomorrow or next weekend use?

mini orchard
post Mar 22 2022, 04:54 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 22 2022, 11:10 AM)
Hi all, I am planning to DIY paint my new house. I have some questions and sifus welcome to correct me if I'm wrong or give any additional tips if any.

Paint:

Planning:
3) Seal hacked runs
4) Paint ceiling first
5) Paint wall

Questions:
1) For 2 coats of Nippon Perfect White, is it neccessary since existing is developer's Matex/Maxilite? Or better to paint 1 coat of Matex and then 1 coat of Perfect White to save on some cost?
2) Can I paint at night? Thinking of going to paint at night after work. If wait weekends to paint, might take few weeks to finish. But my concern is that panting at night might be not good for the paint (ambient temperature cause paint shrinkage? Insects?)
3) After wiping off dust using damp cloth, when can I paint? After 1-2 hours to ensure the wall is dry enough?
4) I might be pouring small amount amount of paint into an empty 18L paint bucket with paint grit and dip my roller straight from the bucket. Do I need to stir Nippon Perfect White before pouring?
1. 2 coat to have an even coating paint finish.

2 Yes, but leave the window and door half open for ventilation after painting. If have ceiling fan, turn it on

3. If is not raining, then ok. Bring a stand fan to help the ' drying' process.
Squeeze away as much water from the cloth.

4 Always stir the paint b4 painting. Doesnt matter if is 'freshly' bought from shop.

5. Wash with running water using garden hose. Let it drip dry. Do not stinge on brushes and rollers. Buy some good quality ones, Replace if necessary.
SUSceo684
post Mar 23 2022, 01:34 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 22 2022, 11:10 AM)

Paint:

Planning:
3) Seal hacked runs
4) Paint ceiling first
5) Paint wall

Questions:
1. Two thin coat finish paint works best
2. Yes but do not paint on raining season
3. After ur done. The damp wall moisture is negligible if you do not dilute the paint.
4. It will be clumsy. Unless u lift 50kg everyday. Waste energy and slobbering thick coats just not the right way. Paint trays only 2.50 ea or so..to get good result don't skimp on the cheap stuff.
5. Use a small roller (4") that takes changeable refills for most economic solution (4in cheap to throw), better finesse and least arm effort needed. Big roller heavy and waste of effort.
idkihavenoidealol
post Mar 23 2022, 10:35 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 22 2022, 04:54 PM)
1. 2 coat to have an even coating paint finish.

2  Yes, but leave the window and door half open for ventilation after painting. If have ceiling fan, turn it on

3. If is not raining, then ok. Bring a stand fan to help the ' drying' process.
Squeeze away as much water from the cloth.

4  Always stir the paint b4 painting. Doesnt matter if is 'freshly' bought from shop.

5. Wash with running water using garden hose. Let it drip dry. Do not stinge on brushes and rollers. Buy some good quality ones, Replace if necessary.
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 23 2022, 01:34 AM)
1. Two thin coat finish paint works best
2. Yes but do not paint on raining season
3. After ur done. The damp wall moisture is negligible if you do not dilute the paint.
4. It will be clumsy. Unless u lift 50kg everyday. Waste energy and slobbering thick coats just not the right way. Paint trays only 2.50 ea or so..to get good result don't skimp on the cheap stuff.
5. Use a small roller (4") that takes changeable refills for most economic solution (4in cheap to throw), better finesse and least arm effort needed. Big roller heavy and waste of effort.
2) What happens if I paint during raining season? The paint will crack? What if it starts to rain unexpectedly when I'm in the middle of painting or just right after painting?

4) But there's advice to paint directly from pail, to reduce the need of pouring many times into paint tray if painting large surface like ceiling. Also mentioned that there's paint grid in the pail (something like a mesh) which I will roll onto to remove excess and even out the paint on the roller (same purpose as paint trays).

5) So let's say I managed to paint only 1 layer of paint tonight and wish to continue 2nd layer tomorrow night or next weekend, the roller has to be washed/changed new? Saw some tips to seal it in ziplock bag, or store inside paint bucket and covered tightly, but I'm not sure is this proper way.

6) If my wall requires 1.5 litre of coloured paint, then I should be buying 2 cans of 1 litre right? But will the colours be exactly same? Or it's better to buy 5 litre directly to prevent different colour? Saw some facebook post bought 2 cans with same code, same seller, same day but different tone.
SUSceo684
post Mar 24 2022, 12:12 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 23 2022, 10:35 PM)
2) What happens if I paint during raining season? The paint will crack? What if it starts to rain unexpectedly when I'm in the middle of painting or just right after painting?

4) But there's advice to paint directly from pail, to reduce the need of pouring many times into paint tray if painting large surface like ceiling. Also mentioned that there's paint grid in the pail (something like a mesh) which I will roll onto to remove excess and even out the paint on the roller (same purpose as paint trays).

5) So let's say I managed to paint only 1 layer of paint tonight and wish to continue 2nd layer tomorrow night or next weekend, the roller has to be washed/changed new? Saw some tips to seal it in ziplock bag, or store inside paint bucket and covered tightly, but I'm not sure is this proper way.

6) If my wall requires 1.5 litre of coloured paint, then I should be buying 2 cans of 1 litre right? But will the colours be exactly same? Or it's better to buy 5 litre directly to prevent different colour? Saw some facebook post bought 2 cans with same code, same seller, same day but different tone.
2. It will not stick well and won't dry optimally. Also you will have lingering paint smell if not well ventilated.

4. Your call. But climbing up and down a ladder can be reduced with a paint tray.

5. Shrink wrap but since colour paint costs 90 or 100/5L I would want a perfect finish.. u can wash out rollers if waterbased paint but it may also harden if kept too long. And that will create skip lines.

6. Buy 2x 1L and pour them together 50-50 in a paint tray. It will average out naturally.
mini orchard
post Mar 24 2022, 06:09 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Mar 23 2022, 10:35 PM)

2. Have a stand fan ready to ventilate the place after painting.

4. It depends on the size of the roller. If is a 18 litre pail, is not easy to carry around when full.

5. If using the same colour paint, then wash off excess paint and wrap it to prevent quick drying. Brush refills are not expensive if you dont want to wash. Good painters comes with bags of refill for different sizes.

6. Always buy excess quantity and stir the paint everytime b4 painting. Paint left for more than a day will have some 'settlement' at the bottom.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Mar 24 2022, 06:36 AM
idkihavenoidealol
post Mar 24 2022, 01:29 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 24 2022, 12:12 AM)
2. It will not stick well and won't dry optimally. Also you will have lingering paint smell if not well ventilated.

4. Your call. But climbing up and down a ladder can be reduced with a paint tray.

5. Shrink wrap but since colour paint costs 90 or 100/5L I would want a perfect finish.. u can wash out rollers if waterbased paint but it may also harden if kept too long. And that will create skip lines.

6. Buy 2x 1L and pour them together 50-50 in a paint tray. It will average out naturally.
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 24 2022, 06:09 AM)
2. Have a stand fan ready to ventilate the place after painting.

4. It depends on the size of the roller. If is a 18 litre pail, is not easy to carry around when full.

5. If using the same colour paint, then wash off excess paint and wrap it to prevent quick drying. Brush refills are not expensive if you dont want to wash. Good painters comes with bags of refill for different sizes.

6. Always buy excess quantity and stir the paint everytime b4 painting. Paint left for more than a day will have some 'settlement' at the bottom.
Alright thanks sifu sifu! Now have more info on painting, will plan accordingly. Thanks again for valuable tips! thumbsup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
zjpro
post Jun 2 2022, 08:12 PM

59 posts

What do I use to cover previous wall colour? I did 1 coat of sealer + 2 coats of brilliant white, can't cover 100% n it's driving me crazy 😅 Previous colour is medium light blue & cream beige.

Am using Dulux. I check thru their visualiser app n there's only the sealer available, undercoat for doors metal wood windows.

Do I just get a cheaper white from Dulux or stick back to their sealer?
mini orchard
post Jun 3 2022, 06:08 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zjpro @ Jun 2 2022, 08:12 PM)
What do I use to cover previous wall colour? I did 1 coat of sealer + 2 coats of brilliant white, can't cover 100% n it's driving me crazy 😅 Previous colour is medium light blue & cream beige.

Am using Dulux. I check thru their visualiser app n there's only the sealer available, undercoat for doors metal wood windows.

Do I just get a cheaper white from Dulux or stick back to their sealer?
Show photo .
KTCY
post Jun 3 2022, 12:53 PM

BumbleBeeâ„¢
12,505 posts

Hi guys, any reliable and good contractor to paint whole unit of my condo? Size about 1700 sq ft.
zjpro
post Jun 3 2022, 08:37 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 3 2022, 06:08 AM)
Show photo .
Photo won't be able to show, I'll say it covers only maybe 96%? From my eye lah. I can still see a very slight tinge of blue.

My other room I actually sealer 1.5-2 coats, medium light purple + pink, this one manage to cover.

Now I'm thinking how to cover for other parts of the house. Can I use maxilite as undercoat instead? Will it be able to cover?
mini orchard
post Jun 3 2022, 11:24 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zjpro @ Jun 3 2022, 08:37 PM)
Photo won't be able to show, I'll say it covers only maybe 96%? From my eye lah. I can still see a very slight tinge of blue.

My other room I actually sealer 1.5-2 coats, medium light purple + pink, this one manage to cover.

Now I'm thinking how to cover for other parts of the house. Can I use maxilite as undercoat instead? Will it be able to cover?
Yes, can use more coats with maxilite since is cheaper.
idkihavenoidealol
post Jun 15 2022, 08:12 PM

112 posts

Hi all painting sifus, I just painted 1 layer of light blue and noticed this spot (hopefully you guys can spot this too in the photo). I think the developer patched this area since texture is different, afraid will have uneven tone later, I applied 1 layer of sealer at this spot. But after painting the colour, this spot showinf uneven tone
not sure is it because of my sealer? How do I rectify this?

This post has been edited by idkihavenoidealol: Jun 15 2022, 08:13 PM
mini orchard
post Jun 16 2022, 06:16 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ Jun 15 2022, 08:12 PM)
Hi all painting sifus, I just painted 1 layer of light blue and noticed this spot (hopefully you guys can spot this too in the photo). I think the developer patched this area since texture is different, afraid will have uneven tone later, I applied 1 layer of sealer at this spot. But after painting the colour, this spot showinf uneven tone
not sure is it because of my sealer? How do I rectify this?

Paint another layer or two. It should cover it.

65 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:41 PM