9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

leggedy
post May 25 2010, 11:04 PM

93 posts

lol....my aquarium is a standard 6footer...standard 6 footer is 6 ft X 2ft x 2ft..
the filter was my previous standard 4 footer, 4ft X 1.5ft X 1.5ft...
coincidentally some fella came over to install our shop glasses..so asked them to cut another 4footer(previously got two 4footer) to be place in my 4footer as a conversion into a sump tank...hehe

the height from floor to the sump tank bottom is 6inch (half feet)..then sump tank to middle tank is 6inch...middle tank to top tank is 10inch...

all the side (height, wide) measurement, from steel to steel is an extra 0.5inch for the tank to fit in coz if it's just nice 6ft x 2ft x 2ft...could have the possibility that you tank could not fit in due to a little
incorrect degree on the steel...then any extra spaces at those important edges where pressure and momentum stuff meets, i stuck in polyethylene to hold it/ to re-correct/readjust the pressure of the water...

if u could come to my shop, i can explain to u in detail...polyethylene also do helps in balancing the pressure, that's why below ur tank MUST HAVE one..or else ur tank wont last very long with full water...
leggedy
post May 26 2010, 10:46 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ May 26 2010, 09:50 PM)
hmm... do u think fiber glass tank is better?
erm..not so nice lo...then, the background canot change, does not last as long as glass tank..
leggedy
post May 27 2010, 01:03 AM

93 posts

yea i know...but not so nice looking lo...samo the glass view is like 1/3 of the length only
leggedy
post May 28 2010, 01:18 AM

93 posts

nope nope...it's all scale matter
highback..means the shine level of the scale is high enug to reach level 5 scale...
crossback means the shine level of the scale cross over it's back scale, even the head, if it's a good quality one...

but a, pigpig, those ppl told me, there wasn't really a crossback red, only highback red (same level as super red), blood red, chili red.
some ppl even name it fire red...
then lower grades are banjar, grade 2, grade 1.5...etc..
leggedy
post May 28 2010, 07:17 PM

93 posts

yeap.....nice explanation...
very true
leggedy
post May 29 2010, 12:36 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ May 29 2010, 11:55 AM)
i think the hump like defect is called vip

for spoonhead, they look at the top part of the head, the line can be seen from a side view of the arowana. from the upper lip to the eyes to the body end of the head....its curved slightly downwards and then from the body onwards its normal...thus spoon head...
which makes it look sorta more....stylish lol..like..its got a high class look sorta face tongue.gif
making them more arrogant looking, i suppose..lol...but i love it that way!

QUOTE(BenSow @ May 29 2010, 12:29 PM)
how much does uv filter normally cost? its oni effecrive on living pollutants like algae n parasitws rite? it cant clear poo rite?
depends if ur uv filter is a pump type or a go through filter...
the pump type is cheaper than a go through ones...
but go through ones are for sump tank, pond etc...
i brought mine for RM250 on promotional price..lol
what they do is kill any bacteria that enter the uv filter, but does not vanish poo..
any bacteria = good or bad all dies...
so you will have to know how to put or where to put so that not every single bacteria dies...cause good bacteria that give benefit to your fish are needed for many purposes...
leggedy
post May 30 2010, 02:44 PM

93 posts

erm..since u are new to arowana, i strongly suggest u to get a cheap one to understand them better before proceed to the one that u desired...
for those aro that looks better, nicer, and of cuz pricey,
super red (rm1800, rough market price with chip and cert)
chili red (rm2400, chip and cert)
blood red (rm2800, chip and cert)
golden highback (rm1800 chip and cert)
golden superhighback (rm2000 chip and cert)
crossback golden (rm3000++ chip and cert)
and bluebase golden (rm4000++ chip and cert, for a 4inch baby)

perhaps you could go to jalan pasar and get a cheapo RM50, should be green aro for u to understand aro before u get a really nice one..

because, aro are great jumper, they are emo-er, LOL
arofanatics ppl should know wat i mean by EMO-ER,
and then if ur fish gets hurts, one scale came off, or a little damage to the fin, or watsoever damage, the value for ur fish drops drastically...

ppl can differentiate even there's one scale damages, for the experience ones of course...so, i STRONGLY suggest u to take cheap one from jalan pasar to understand their behavior before proceeding to the one that u desire, so that the one u desired to have will be completely unhurt, 100% beautiful, and of course lastly the value will be amazing, depending of the breed of the fish...
leggedy
post May 30 2010, 10:50 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ May 30 2010, 04:36 PM)
wah...hey thats good news man haha grats on the pellet training tongue.gif

mine will accept tetra pellets but the hiakri and azoo wont eat :S

but even so while it eats the pellets, it seems to be shredding em rather than really eating em (like swallow it whole) sad.gif

i just got myself 2 stingray pleco and one bala shark haha

aro went to bully em >.< now they hiding at the corners...
stringray pleco? mind show a picture? havent see one b4

QUOTE(MoonPig @ May 30 2010, 04:43 PM)
Hey leong..i don't have any aquarium yet but planing to get a 5f L x 2f W x 3f H..is it big enough?

leggedy,thx for ur advice..but i'm really interested of getting a HBRTG..should i?lol...and btw,din c u stating the price for it..can i noe the price?
hbrtg a, never saw one lately, so dunno the price..hehe..rtg around 600-800..
if 900 can get a hbg, no cert...

leong, though 2.5 height is good la...but any aquarium that goes above 2ft in height, the price is all over 1k just for the tank...coz of the pressure to hold it's heights, thicker glasses are needed...
or else i already have mine at 6 x 3 x 3...the setapak aquarium explain to me...

and, for fish to swim, it's not about height, it's the meter square, it's just like a room for us, no matter how much the height of the room, still we can goes up,
THOUGH fishes can swim up, but for them to swim faster and freely, is a wider space, not heights.....if u dont believe, try putting all ur fish into a tangki.. u will see how fast they grow...hehe~
cause i once keep my fish in tangki....before i have a glass tank back then...

seriously moonpig, dun talk about value or watsoever la...u really dont wanna see ur fish gets hurt, it will shattered ur heart.. if can, my advice is,
if u got no fish keeping hobby b4, get the tank 1st....have some other fishes 1st, for maybe like a week, get a feel of how to cycle the water, cleaning the tank, feeding ur fish, understanding fish behavior,
to know whether u really have the time to take care of them, and to really know the position of ur tank, deco in ur tank etc, before u gets ur aro in a stable environment for it....

and a, i use to be like you, get aro, get aro, faster get aro, faster faster faster...now buy edi, feels like wanna upgrade...haha...for like 3months only... so, if u are working, i strongly suggest u to start wat i said to u above, to understand, to know.. etc etc... and in the mean time, save money for the ultimate one u desire!!!

oh yea for aquarium price a, if u know setapak, go there buy at the factory...cheapest edi...5 x 2 x 2 with cabinet, complete set for RM1800..

Added on May 30, 2010, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(Daniel Chok @ May 30 2010, 04:04 PM)
Im Fine thank you  biggrin.gif
yo yo mr. daniel!!!
thumbup.gif
rclxms.gif
rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by leggedy: May 30 2010, 10:51 PM
leggedy
post May 31 2010, 10:25 PM

93 posts

[quote=MoonPig,May 31 2010, 12:02 AM]leggedy : i used to rare some other fishes few years back..some chaplang fishes...lol..but the way u are saying now is that aros is a whole new level of skill eh...where is setapak?

and another question,is it ok to get a 2nd hand aquarium or not?

[/quote]

erm..not to say new level la...but their behavior is different from normal fishes..cause i believe u dont wanna do any mistake that causes ur fish to turn over and begone ur money...but so far, they are
ego fishes..LOL.....are u from kl?

[quote=helangkawi,May 31 2010, 08:33 AM]hi guys...i am new to have an arowana

could you guys advise me what arowana to get in price range RM150-250

i am thinking of Yellow tail or Banjar red

Yellow tail around RM160 for 2 inch size and banjar red around RM280 for 3 inch

and also i am thinking of green arowana, but difficult to find this one

for baby arowana (2-3 inch), how to take care of them? how many times per day to feed them? and what is the best food for them?

tq tq

[/quote]

to be honest a...fishes that small, have bigger chances of dying...cause they are not that tough yet...if i were u, i will take banjar red... though the redness level wont be extreme..just slightly..
but still, the whole body up to level 4 scale will be pinkish or reddish....while yellow tail only the tail will be yellowish while the body is like more to white pale...
for a 6-8inch banjar red will cost u around 350-380....that's the display price la...i believe further mark down is possible

Added on May 31, 2010, 10:27 pm

Added on May 31, 2010, 9:55 pm
haha i bought each one for rm4 tongue.gif
cute little buggers lol....like mini sting ray...xcept they feed on all that brown algae laugh.gif

[/quote]

ohhh....china pleco....hey, they died easily la..they are cute, i agreed...i brought one..then died....that one can find the body..second one...also died...body not found... =.=" sad.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by leggedy: May 31 2010, 10:27 PM
leggedy
post May 31 2010, 11:50 PM

93 posts

hahah...then i duno how to help u...but aro from penang are cheaper than here
leggedy
post Jun 1 2010, 10:42 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(leong2084 @ Jun 1 2010, 07:40 PM)
my china pleco kena eaten =.= zzzz

aih....okok...fei feng time...

anyone know a place i can get about 4 inch long ff?
jalan pasar...hehe...around 5inch, today went and saw em
leggedy
post Jun 2 2010, 12:41 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ Jun 1 2010, 10:51 PM)
hahaha

i think u have starve your aro too much ..,,.
your aro love meat smile.gif

Bro Legedy,

will msg u on friday to confirm whether we can meet up to go jalan pasar ...
ok ok...no problem...i am gonna buy 2 more sub light, btw..lol

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:42 amoh yea...saw some superb quality BBMG at jalan pasar today...and i asked the price...

Rm8000 for 8inch...omg..but the head edi started to grow shine on it

This post has been edited by leggedy: Jun 2 2010, 12:42 AM
leggedy
post Jun 2 2010, 11:00 PM

93 posts

[quote=leong2084,Jun 2 2010, 01:03 AM]
count me in too tongue.gif

soz i not familiar of how to go to jalan pasar....when i go do google map search...its not showing...its showing like somewhere overseas =.="

[/quote]

sure sure.....i this saturday sure on..depending on frenly only now...saturday morning la...

[quote=jamestan_85,Jun 2 2010, 11:43 AM]
the smallest is RM60 only... about 4 inch i think.... and got those at RM88 and up to RM400.... that one very big.....

pudu from OUG izizt far? i havent been to OUG LFS before....

[/quote]

4inch feifang at jalan pasar can get for RM50

[quote=Frenly,Jun 2 2010, 09:50 PM]
bro go t kin fatt and c the x'back full good and also full pearl and also the head already have a lot of gold line also 8 ince price 5800 biggrin.gif

[/quote]

how much is the light cause?

[/quote]

kin fatt? mana tu?

i brought the shanda 24K sub light for RM80 if i didnt mistaken
leggedy
post Jun 3 2010, 12:16 AM

93 posts

yea..can can..jz make sure ur aro is bigger than the turtle...
leggedy
post Jun 3 2010, 10:35 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(MoonPig @ Jun 3 2010, 12:48 AM)
o,but then the turtle i'm having is already bit..shud i put it together?
and blood parrot is ok??
btw,how to prevent droppy eye?
make sure ur aro is bigger than the turtle or else, ur turtle could think aro is like those feeder fish then go bite..lol...blood parrot sure no problem...
to prevent drop eye a...fatty food lo...actually a, prawn/shrimp no problem want...they are like some colouring for their scale also..but the main matter is, those shrimp that u brought,
they usually lay low, or if market shrimp, they surely fell to the bottom, and once u aro starting to look for food, and those food are at the bottom at ur tank, it will stress ur aro's eye to keep look at the bottom,
hence indirectly causing drop eye....just like human...if u try to stress both of ur eyes to the middle, hence u will get unparalleled eye overtime...get wat i mean?

QUOTE(jamestan_85 @ Jun 3 2010, 02:19 PM)
hi everyone

i bought a kelah for my arowana..... anyone here knows how to differentiate between kelah merah and kelah biru?... i cant even differentiate between kelah hijau and kelah merah and kelah merah bara rclxub.gif

kelah merah and kelah hijau is almost the same...the differences is their head and their scales....kelah merah scales are slightly smaller and their head are sharper while kelah hijau have bolder head
and slighyly bigger scales...while kelah biru looks like kelah hijau, but their body got a line across from back to front...the most easiest to spot is kelah biru...coz of the line..then, there is also kelah emas
in which their head and the most round shaped/biggest head...but kelah emas not nice la, that's why i felt la..so far i only come across one kelah emas...sold at jalan pasar, those ppl who came by and
sell their fish by the roadside.....they often got some rare fishes that we can't find at any LFS coz their fish was wild caught...

QUOTE(fishboy @ Jun 3 2010, 07:08 PM)
how much is the light cause?

i buy 3 kaki rm50 4 feet 80 ar...also shanda 24k ..kin fattt at kepong smile.gif
ohhh...is it the one near by the wet market/ sunday pasar malam?

the light same price lo...today brought one gold lighting, RM84

Added on June 3, 2010, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(Frenly @ Jun 3 2010, 10:25 PM)
by the way, when you guys do water changes on your tank do you clear the sump tank water as well?
depending on how big is ur sump tank...to me, i see my cotton, wool and those white ring etc stuff starting to get dirty edi anot lo...actually if u got sump tank, no need do so frequent water changes...
now i am changing it onces a month, and the 1st month i change, i will throw away those cotton, put in new cotton and wash up the wool...those white ring etc leave it..
2nd month, cotton throw, new cotton in, wash wool and rinse white ring etc...

coz sump tank is doing most of ur...erm..i duno how to explain, this part is all those science stuff..lol...have to ask leong to explain here... hehe~]
some ppl even had some plant in their sump tank, if u had that, i think u only need to change ur cotton and wash up ur wool...and only need to change the water twice a year..coz the plant is doing a
very important job that is close to natural...erm.. duno how to explain...wait i check the web and post here

Added on June 3, 2010, 10:47 pmhttp://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=88271

This post has been edited by leggedy: Jun 3 2010, 10:47 PM
leggedy
post Jun 4 2010, 11:58 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(pigpig @ Jun 4 2010, 11:13 AM)
im using sump tank too, and i've put plant in it too but is too costly to keep it running... the water temp got to be low, lightning and co2 pump.... mine is without the co2 pump, and the hassle is like omg, and the cost is crazy...

algae, small little shrimps and fishes plus small algae eater, wa, so many thing.... haha, but is actually a very good filter systems though, if i have the extra cash i wouldn't mind  at all to keep it running...

btw, u only change water once a month.?  shocking.gif 

its June, when can we drop by your shop.? smile.gif
lol..sure sure..u guys can come edi...tmr bro frenly will be going with me to jalan pasar, then perhaps i can show him my shop and my aquarium..
coz i've got 20kgs white ring in my sump tank...hoho....i asked the lfs ppl.they said, 20kgs.. no problem la....sure tahan ur water..

QUOTE(Frenly @ Jun 4 2010, 09:53 PM)
HahaHA..
I think i rather put priority to chase gal .. good luck ..
HAHAHA...jz make sure she's worth it..and do post picture if u did success..XD
leggedy
post Jun 5 2010, 05:16 PM

93 posts

hey ya guys, went with bro frenly to jalan pasar today..hehe...where bro frenly brought his 24k Shanda submersible gold tanning light for his gold aro...RM82 for 4feet...then we decided to head to XLSH since we are free..and there, we brought FF...RM108 for 6inch..hehe..coz they got damn alot of FF stock...4inch FF will be RM68, 5inch will be 88..6 inch will be 108..since 68 and 88 also got no more nice one, we decided to get the 108 though it's much more expensive but worth the price, coz they will be in our tank and not gonna sell em...
then i got 2 eel. one marble and one flower..marble is an adult, for RM28 and flower is still a juvenile for RM4..then bro frenly got himself a stingray a baby stingray for RM230.. =.=" pricey man...haha...since i am having quite a number of bichir so i have to drop my stingray's idea....

then we head straight to kepong...lol..i know it sounds like an fish trip around kl to Selangor..XD
at kepong we went to legend arowana which is located opposite of kepong jusco, then to kin fatt, and lasty one more lfs located nearby there also...and i brought another bichir at there..they were got those adult bichir and bloody nice...but i edi had one of those, so couldn't get it though it's nice...

Added on June 5, 2010, 5:17 pmhahaha....bro frenly posted minutes before i did... XD

This post has been edited by leggedy: Jun 5 2010, 05:17 PM
leggedy
post Jun 5 2010, 10:47 PM

93 posts

lol..nice pic dude..i added some thin layer of rock and stone for my aro tank, as some hiding place for my bichir and eel...hehe...luckily my aro never did attack my fei feng...hoho~
next few days gonna upload some pic
leggedy
post Jun 5 2010, 11:22 PM

93 posts

no wonder la...i see i see..tmr morning if i got to wakes up early gonna take some picture of my tank also..hey are u gonna take ur blood parrot go change? u dun change all la...tabao 3 go, and change 3 then i think will need to pay up a little extra lo
hey what's ur msn? mail me...if got anything, we chat on msn easier
leggedy
post Jun 6 2010, 10:22 PM

93 posts

daniel, where have u been to? MIA eh?

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1276sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:51 AM