I have a cmoy thats why!
Superlux - headphones, is that available at m'sia? XD
Jan 6 2011, 11:10 PM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
I have a cmoy thats why!
Jan 6 2011, 11:36 PM
18 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: kuantan |
owh..what op amp u using?is it opa2134pa is good?i'm still newbie bout dis amp
Jan 7 2011, 02:52 AM
2,425 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Holy schmoly!
HD660 is even easier to mod. Waayyyyy easier. No screws to unscrew. Just pop it open with a screwdriver or knife and that's it! I am so going to make it dual entry, blu-tac mod it, Senn-HD280-blu-tac-mod it, fibre damp it, & probably get a Beyer DT770 or Philips HP1000 earpads. 0 hour impression: So so only. Not a very big difference compared to my modded-beyond-recognition-668B. Still another 100 hours to go. Pink noise... pink noise!!! Added on January 7, 2011, 2:53 amRockgrotto member, clausdk modding it. http://rockgrotto.proboards.com/index.cgi?...int&thread=5107 This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jan 7 2011, 02:53 AM |
Jan 7 2011, 03:04 AM
707 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
it's easier to pick up the beyer pads since hp1000 is pretty hard to get it here,let alone getting the pads for it
Need to tweak something again on the 668 once more.seems like i apply too much blue tak lol |
Jan 7 2011, 03:05 AM
BTW,
Since so many users... TT, anyone? Added on January 7, 2011, 3:08 amOh yeah, in case anyone wants to know: burning in 668B with pink noise helps a lot. Added on January 7, 2011, 3:09 am QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Jan 7 2011, 03:04 AM) it's easier to pick up the beyer pads since hp1000 is pretty hard to get it here,let alone getting the pads for it Bass hilang?Need to tweak something again on the 668 once more.seems like i apply too much blue tak lol How goes the mod? This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jan 7 2011, 03:39 AM |
Jan 7 2011, 01:34 PM
707 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
I applied as little as possible for the blue tac just now.The bass comes back (finally) but with wider bass extension (bass is somewhat deeper although it's pretty unnoticable most of the time)
Gonna continue playing with the blue tac perhaps later on This post has been edited by Hitman66: Jan 7 2011, 02:36 PM |
Jan 7 2011, 02:32 PM
1,326 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Kinabalu, Orang Utan Clan o.O |
wahh many modded already ah?
mine still letting it burn in, i think 668b needs a long time to burn in driving it with my sony a828 + fiio e3 with e3 louder but.. distorted.. sigh anyway, just with mp3 player enuf dy |
Jan 7 2011, 03:34 PM
4,420 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i'm using a prodigy 7.1 LT thats comes with a headphone amp, since i'm not so much of an experienced audiophile, how does the prodigy amp rank to those portable ones like cmoy of fiio??
Jan 7 2011, 04:10 PM
1,801 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Jan 7 2011, 06:17 PM
1,326 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Kinabalu, Orang Utan Clan o.O |
aint that sure so waiting rest to reply
so far with my fiio e3, it sux, only usable with those normal headphones/earphones i'd say for my 668B, it's not enough btw i tested with my creative SB Live! 24bit the other day, i find sound coming out from it's kinda flat too. I think I need to amp first before using it with my PC for yours, since it has a headphone amp, prolly will be better but still, without amping, i pair with my sony a828 is still good enough (can be better IMO with better amps, but not gonna spend too much here) QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 7 2011, 03:34 PM) |
Jan 7 2011, 10:06 PM
4,420 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
1st impression of the HD681 i received today.
tested with Eagles HOtel California unplugged..... my ear hurts and tired out fast!! especially during the crowd cheering and whistling! what does this means? the hd681 is too 'bright'(?) for me? i play using foobar, asio4all, prodigy 7.1LT after playing to with some equaliser preset i finally found one which is more gentle on the ears. I do not really know how to tune using equaliser so I am hoping someone can explain the setting i used in the pic below ![]() |
Jan 7 2011, 11:02 PM
681 is too exciting. LOL!
668B will make a bad source sounds horrijiber. If used to listen to lousy amp and not-so-well recorded songs (mostly current pop, rock songs)... it's gonna suck big time. Listening to Pop Pop Music's 2V1G and JZ8 on it is AWE-WOO-AWE-WOO-AWESOME!!!!! Another one is King of Convenience's Me In You, and they sound so 3D. ----- HD660 still burning in.... burning in.... 4 more days to go, sienz... |
Jan 8 2011, 12:27 AM
920 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
emm 681 too bright? You using it with amp, may be after amp it's more balance. still waiting for my 668b need to be patience loh.
Jan 8 2011, 01:29 AM
For all Superlux headphones, they need approx 100++++ hours to burn in.
Jan 8 2011, 07:28 AM
166 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Southern Part of Malaysia |
IMO, both HD681 and 668B need amping to bring out their full potential.
I've tried them on hippo gumstick and my laptop without amp......it sound horrible! |
Jan 8 2011, 08:04 AM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
My HD681 sounds pretty good direct from my ACER lappy and via the headphone socket of my amplifier. I guess a good hi Q amping would helps.
Jan 8 2011, 10:42 AM
Just found out that Rockgrotto forummers found that HD681 & CMoy are a good pairing.
@Jazzy, How come you found it to be the opposite impression? |
Jan 8 2011, 12:45 PM
920 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jan 8 2011, 10:42 AM) Just found out that Rockgrotto forummers found that HD681 & CMoy are a good pairing. If cmoy can pair hd681 nicely, I bet fiio E5 is something comparable to cMoy as well. For sure those headamp boost the bass signal and many other freq range which is not able to pickup when it is not amped. And it become less bright. All my "cheapo" headphone is like that.@Jazzy, How come you found it to be the opposite impression? |
Jan 8 2011, 01:06 PM
166 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Southern Part of Malaysia |
I think cmoy is better than E5. I've tried HD681 on E5 before but the improvement is very subtle.
IMO E5 only suitable for iem. |
Jan 8 2011, 01:15 PM
803 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Klang |
burning in my 660 now.
so far, the mids pretty hollow/backwards but the high and low range are good though. but without amp, this baby cant do much. will test it on amp tonite |
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:58 PM |