9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V34!, The Orange Legion

achew
post Dec 12 2009, 01:17 AM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

i think to get flash first or lens first..its all depend on the photographer's shooting style....for portrait..i don see y flash is much much much useful than a prime(vise versa)..both of them r impt..so the sequence doesnt mean alot to me..but at least with a big aperture prime..first is the bokeh(u might not like it)..second it also helps to achieve usable shutter speed(which is a workaround for people without flash)..and remember..u stil have ur built-in flash..if u find it harsh..u can always diffuse it..

if u get a flash..well..no issue for indoor shooting..u can use it outdoor to cancel off strong backlight..and it makes does wonder together with kitlens too..but u might face a lil problem if u need a shallow DoF either to make the subject stand out from the messy background..or for ur creativity "design" of the shot..

so get flash or prime first..both has its own pros n cons..and it all goes down to personal preference....i dont see any problem to start with any one of them..for me..i choose to get prime first 13months ago..now if im given another chance..i'd still choose the same path..but its just my style to learn to work with available light first and of cos..deeply addicted to bokeh..way earlier b4 i know there is something called aperture in camera..

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 12 2009, 01:17 AM
achew
post Dec 12 2009, 07:22 PM

3,807 posts

dont bother to buy in SG..its never cheaper here...
achew
post Dec 12 2009, 09:19 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(finejava @ Dec 12 2009, 12:34 PM)
achew: why not go for 85mm f1.4? it seems that u like to snap a lot of portrait?
well 135 is a portrait lens too~! lol..
the main reason i get 135 is bcoz that i find 85mm too close for me..and its not alot diff from my 50mm F1.4...buy going 135..i can stand much further..
achew
post Dec 13 2009, 09:17 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Ahmike @ Dec 13 2009, 08:27 PM)
Im selling off my 135mm check alpha forum for the latest info.
should have post it 1-2 days earlier~!!!!!!!!! doh.gif
achew
post Dec 13 2009, 09:44 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Dec 13 2009, 09:29 PM)
u already bought ur 135mm?  shocking.gif
if fully paid consider bought it..then yes..i bought it already tongue.gif but i could only get it maybe in wed/thurs as the shop has no stock for it..my technician would be collecting on my behalf n pass to me when he comes in sg to work..

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 13 2009, 09:38 PM)
Need guidance from all the sifu here.
this afternoon I took photo for an outdoor event under a tent. most of my photos exposure are metered wrongly, ie: the photo background is very bright, but the person in front appeared to be very dark. I tried to lock the exposure at the person's face but still it appeared underexposed. even with the built-in flash fired, i could not get the correct exposure. after that, i increased the EV to +1.3 only able to get better exposure on the person but the background is totally overexposed.
So, how should i take backlit potrait shoots without overexposing the background?

p/s: i using center weighted exposure all the time.

Thanks!
sounds like its time for u to get a flash... =p

Added on December 13, 2009, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Dec 13 2009, 09:40 PM)
the sunlight face the person face when u shooting? use fill flash
the sunlight should be at the model's back

if sunlight is infront of the model..then he/she would be nicely exposed..right?

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 13 2009, 09:45 PM
achew
post Dec 13 2009, 09:57 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Dec 13 2009, 09:47 PM)
achew : Get 2 135ZA la. Then use one to swap with CZ85 f1.4 or a 70200G. (:
hahaha..i cannot consume so many lenses la...i guess what i have is almost enough..maybe another beercan later if i feel the need of longer range..
achew
post Dec 14 2009, 01:47 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 14 2009, 01:40 AM)
means only flash can help in this scenario? sad.gif tot i can play around with the metering to get a proper expose backlit portrait shoot...
errr...with my shallow knowledge..i cant think of any other way to do it without using any stuff like flash/reflector blablabla..its either u underexpose ur model or overexpose ur background..

unless u shoot in raw and willing to do some work during PP..u expose the background in ur shot(details in the shadows can be kept better than highlight)..during PP...get 1 layer of proper expose background and another layer of properly exposed model..mask it off accordingly =)
achew
post Dec 14 2009, 01:53 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 14 2009, 01:50 AM)
icic... so need to heavy to pp then xD anyway, my elder sister knows your gf tongue.gif this world is really small... haha...
wow...who is ur elder sis??lol..must be from either UTM or STM... =p

do u have the raw?maybe u can pass 1 to me..i'll see whether i can recover anything or not..lol

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 14 2009, 01:53 AM
achew
post Dec 14 2009, 02:03 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 14 2009, 01:56 AM)
UTM tongue.gif and currently i in singapore also, so near to a master xD
nah.. i dont shoot in raw, my stupid kingston cf card takes ages to write a raw file and i still dont know how to utilize raw file tongue.gif
working/studying in sg??maybe we can hang out together next time.. =p
lol..im in johor now..lol..came back this weekend to settle some stuff..going back sg tomorrow ^^
btw..just curious..whats ur sis name?maybe i heard of her too..
achew
post Dec 14 2009, 01:45 PM

3,807 posts

hm..so that means sb800 and sb900 can set to on all the time???
achew
post Dec 14 2009, 08:15 PM

3,807 posts

send me raw file too~~i also wan to play =p

@albnok
ohh..only for 4sec..i thought so good can constantly on it for like few min..things might get burnt..lol =p

achewlim@gmail.com

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 14 2009, 08:15 PM
achew
post Dec 14 2009, 09:47 PM

3,807 posts

here's a quick edit from me

things i did :-
adjusted the exp on both background n model
smoothen her skin and cover up some flawless
trim some untidy hair
dodge some highlight in the eyes
adjusted 2 curves(highlight n shadow)on the face n mask accordingly

would like to make the skin slightly brighter tho..but saw it after i uploaded..lazy to redo again..lol

p/s:opps..notice the hand there stil have a black mark..LOL..didnt see carefully just now..but i guess it doesnt matter..just for example only =p

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 14 2009, 09:48 PM
achew
post Dec 15 2009, 10:35 PM

3,807 posts

o.0 did i see my name mentioned somewhere??? =p
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 01:21 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Dec 16 2009, 11:04 AM)
haha..sorry got a noob question here...actually SP90 if compared to other portrait lenses (such as 50mmf1.8,f1.4 and so) is it better or does it has any advantages over those??seems like SP90 is pretty rare...
to me sp90 is a lil bit too sharp to be a portrait lens..and the bokeh isnt as nice as those frm 50mm..85..135..blablabla..

Added on December 16, 2009, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 16 2009, 01:16 PM)
In terms of IQ... by how much margin the 1680CZ win over 16105 ?
1. Marginal
2. A whole lots
i'd say marginal for sharpness...slightly more on DoF since the aperture is bigger...and higher in contrast..

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 16 2009, 01:22 PM
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 04:23 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(kurzit @ Dec 16 2009, 04:02 PM)
hey guys.i sometimes came across with this situation.is this focusing prob with my 1750 f2.8 tamron lens or its my setting mistake . hmm.gif attach here is my pic.hope sifu can clarify this.thnx a lot in adv. rclxms.gif
DoF too shallow..
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 06:35 PM

3,807 posts

just increase ur aperture..prime or not prime doesnt matter...but when group is too big..u might have to stand quite far if u r using 50mm tho..
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 10:58 PM

3,807 posts

7million dollar home~~~ =p
i could put my mbp(without charger)..a850+2470+70200G =D
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 11:03 PM

3,807 posts

mbp maybe cannot slot in...but for camera+lens+vg+flash shd b more than enough..
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 11:06 PM

3,807 posts

macbook pro...

6mil dollar is quite big too

anyway..the price btwn 6mdh vs 7mdh is jsut 10+buck diff..
achew
post Dec 16 2009, 11:13 PM

3,807 posts

lol..no la..coz i always need to bring my laptop n camera together ma..hehe

anyway..gotta go watch avatar now..see u guys lata..

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0437sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:21 PM