arj
post Jan 17 2006, 06:53 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Jan 16 2006, 08:21 PM)
still nobody reply me about hdtv @ rm4-6k...please give some guides...
-widescreen...16:9..muz have...
-1080i,720p
-HDMI/DVI input...
You can get a 32" Benq LCD for just under RM6000. No HDMI though..

http://www.benq.us/Products/LCDTV/index.cfm?product=514
arj
post Feb 9 2006, 02:06 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Feb 7 2006, 04:20 PM)
Need some feedback from members that uses DellTM  2405FPW 24" UltraSharpTM  Wide Screen Flat Panel LCD Monitor for XBox 360 & Astro..

Is there any special cables require instead of Component Cable and S-Video Cable respectively...? And the Dispay is best view with 16:9 or 4:3 format..?
You can connect the XBOX 360 to the monitor using VGA or component cable. I would recommend you used VGA so that the component input can be used for other devices like a DVD player or the ASTRO decoder. As for the display, all XBOX 360 games support the 16:9 widescreen format.
arj
post May 29 2006, 02:31 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ May 29 2006, 02:06 AM)
My parents are planning on getting some plasma tv or really flat tv for their hometheater. Alot of people come during weekends to watch tv, chat, bbq, watch football, dvd, ect ect. Just to give a brief description on the enviroment. Since im staying there too i planning to add a console like Wii or X360 and maybe the PS3.

They want it flat and if possible, hang it on the wall.
[imghttp://img346.imageshack.us/img346/2954/bravia1pi.jpg[/img]
I showed her this pic. And she said something like this. The Sony Bravia.

And i know nuts about TV. Why this and not the 50" Wega which is the same price?

Or do u guys recommned some else since i know sony is kinda expansive.
The 50" Grand Wega is an LCD projection TV and it is quite big and bulky but they're much cheaper compared to plasmas and LCDs. If you want something flat that can be mounted on walls, LCDs and plasmas is the way to go. A 42" top brand panel starts at around RM8000+. LCD is more expensive than plasma so if you're trying to keep the cost down, a plasma TV would be a good choice.

OT: Can anybody give me the directions to Desa Home Theater in Puchong please. Wanna go check out something biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by arj: May 29 2006, 02:37 AM
arj
post May 29 2006, 08:22 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(agingamer @ May 29 2006, 03:28 PM)
Actually, I couldn't decide between Samsung R51 and R71 as well.
R71 supposed to have better contrasts and game mode.

Sounds like a silly question, is the Game Mode on the 40R71 important?
Both I can get around the same price.
  RM8,800 = Samsung 40R51 + Samsung HD950 upscaler DVD player
  RM8,900 = Samsung 40R71

So which one to get?
I haven't really triend the game mode yet. Normally when I fire up my 360 I forgot to switch on the game mode doh.gif

The R7 looks much sexier compared to the R5. IMO the R7 is better but don't take my word for it. Just drop by to your nearest electrical retailer to do your own comparison. Chances are they have the R5 and R7 side by side or in the same area biggrin.gif

And here's a less than flattering review of the HD850 sweat.gif

http://www.hometheaterfocus.com/blog/archi...08/02/2227.aspx

I'm also thinking of getting a HD950 as well which is nearly identical to the HD850. Gotta view them in action first before pulling the trigger.
arj
post May 30 2006, 04:24 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ May 30 2006, 03:45 AM)
Do they have a slim screen like sony that can be hang ona wall? i see all of them has the support thinggy below. i guess its removeable. anything close to that? say around 40". I just got back frm work and will search more for it tmr. I hope u guys can narrow down my search.
I was at Desa Home Theater just now and had a little chat with the salesperson. According to him if you watch mainly ASTRO and DVDs, plasma is a better choice and he recomended the Toshiba 42" plasma which is retailing for RM7500. It looks something like the model in the following link but I'm not too sure the exact model for the one at Desa.

http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/televisions/pr...sp?model=42HP95
arj
post May 30 2006, 01:19 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ May 30 2006, 08:28 AM)
Where is exactly Desa Home Theater? Near 1U right? Hows the price of the tvs there? Do they accept trade-ins? Thanks!
I went to the one at LYP ground floor, next to Guardian Pharmacy. They also have a branch in Puchong but it's closed for renovation at the moment. Didn't really do any comparison on the prices. You might be able to get them a few bucks cheaper compared to the other big shops as you can bargain for the prices at Desa. Take the HD950 DVD player for example. It is selling for RM999 at Harvey Norman and the sticker price at Desa is identical. After some enquiries, the price was lowered to RM950.
arj
post Jun 1 2006, 02:06 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Upscaling players are just marketing gimmick according to this dude sweat.gif

http://www.hometheaterfocus.com/blog/archi...08/02/2227.aspx

No idea how the HD950 would compare against the XBOX360 DVD player. I was eyeing it previously but decided to bump my budget a bit and get the Pioneer DV-S969 instead. Getting it for a very good price thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Jun 1 2006, 02:08 AM
arj
post Jun 1 2006, 11:53 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Jun 1 2006, 03:33 AM)
Guys i found these two LA40M61B (LCD) and the SP-50L6HX/SP-50L7HX (DLP)

The LCD didnt say anything about 720p/1080i.
And the samsung site didnt have any price at all.. Is DLP more expansive? I went on wiki and found out that DLP has many problems. But plasma has a 60,000 - 50,000 hrs life span. Does that Leave me with LCD? Putting aside CRT
DLP is a lot cheaper than plasmas and LCDs of the same size. The downside of DLP and LCD projection TV is that you need to change the bulb every 2000-3000 hours and it'll cost around RM1000 a pop.

50-60k hours lifespan is a lot actually. Lets say you have the TV on 8 hours per day, 50k hours is 17 years! If I were to get a big screen TV, my first two choices would be DLP/LCD projection or plasma icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(agingamer @ Jun 1 2006, 09:25 AM)
I am planning to get HD950 and can compare it with XBOX(XBMC).
How much is DV-S969?
The DV-S969 is retailing at about RM2500. I'm getting it from a forumer (htkaki) for RM1650 only brows.gif

http://www.pioneer.com.sg/storefront/Produ...3&CatId=64,7,11

This post has been edited by arj: Jun 1 2006, 11:55 AM
arj
post Jun 1 2006, 07:41 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Jun 1 2006, 03:45 PM)
Yeah i saw the lifespan on wiki. it seems 10 hrs = 15 years.. so plasma is better for longer use? Is there any significant diff between Hitachi/ Panasonic/ Samsung/ Pioneer?

Last question.  smile.gif
Yeah, if you don't want to worry about the TV then plasma is the way to go. They're all using different panels and technologies so the best way to decide is still to view them yourself. When choosing, make sure that it's HD with a resolution of 1280x720 or higher and have at least one HDMI port.

Ask as many questions as you like. There's many knowledgeable forumers here who are ready to answer them laugh.gif
arj
post Jun 9 2006, 09:52 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 9 2006, 03:53 PM)
16:9 for gaming and DVD man...you still can view 4:3 in 16:9 as long as you don't mind the black borders.

if i got budget I'll definitely go for 16:9.

It's the future!!!
thumbup.gif
After getting my widescreen, a lot of movies still have black bars because they keep their original aspect ratio of 2.35:1 doh.gif

Still better compared to viewing on a 4:3 TV though laugh.gif
arj
post Jun 10 2006, 02:56 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Jun 9 2006, 10:15 PM)
Guys, is image burn for plasma a big problem?
Not any more. Plasma technology has improved a lot lately and all the new panels have some sort of burn-in protection in place. There's still a very small posibility of it occuring though.
arj
post Jun 12 2006, 02:45 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

JonC, your DVD player is more expensive than your TV doh.gif laugh.gif
arj
post Jun 12 2006, 01:49 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jun 12 2006, 01:40 PM)
tongue.gif Same price actually  wink.gif

Wanted to get a LCD TV to match the denon BUT budget *kaboom* kau kau, tripple the price of the crt philips  sweat.gif
Where did you bought it from? I asked The Hi-Fi Shop at 1 Utama and they quoted RM1700 and then they wanted RM650 for a Monster HDMI cable rclxub.gif
arj
post Jun 12 2006, 07:24 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jun 12 2006, 05:09 PM)
Wah siau!!!!  shocking.gif

Try Desa, the denon about 1.5 - 1.6k niah. Good hdmi cable 500+ should be able to get liau lar, never been a fan of monster... over priced kau kau. Check out ebay man, i got my QED components for about 350 bucks ( inclusive of  postage) instead of close to 500 locally!!!!
I tried Desa after that but they ran out of stock. It turns out to be a blessing in disguise because after that I found a Pioneer DV-S969AVi in the Garage Sales section for around the same price thumbup.gif
arj
post Nov 14 2006, 08:20 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(LiLBoy @ Nov 14 2006, 06:24 PM)
Who knows the picture quality of PC when connected to 26inch LCD tv....?Coz planning to buy LCd TV for MY PC and Xbox 360
The picture quality is excellent, 1366x768 is good enough for me. I've always hated high resolution as everything will look so small and make my eyes hurt laugh.gif

QUOTE(QUDERN @ Nov 14 2006, 12:38 PM)
Question about Dynamic Contrast Ratio.

Does Dynamic Contrast really makes blacks blacker or is it some sort of marketing gimmick?

I'm considering getting either a Sharp 32" (LC32BX5M) or a Samsung (LA32R71B). The Sharp has a native contrast of 1200:1 but doesn't have dynamic contrast, whereas the Samsung has a 5000:1 dynamic contrast but I just can't seem to find info on the native contrast ratio.

From what I know, Sharp supposedly makes the best LCD tv's. Please provide valuable feedback and thoughts on this issue. Thanks
Sharp arguable makes the best LCD TV but the much sexier looking Samsung R7 wins it for me wub.gif
arj
post Nov 14 2006, 08:56 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(LiLBoy @ Nov 14 2006, 08:34 PM)
Will the 26inch LCD TV coz my eyes become blind? LOL i am such idiot kekeke.........coz i am sitting infront of computer about 4~8hrs perday,cant imagine after i get the 26inch LCD TV
If you decide to get the TV and use it with a PC, first thing that you should do is to make a separate image settings for PC and reduce the brightness by setting the power saving mode to high. Failure to do that might cause you to go blind if you stare at it for 4-8 hours everyday laugh.gif
arj
post Nov 14 2006, 11:16 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(M@M@ @ Nov 14 2006, 10:51 PM)
Wow, thats quite expensive too. I'm just a student. What do I need to buy in order to connect console to the LCD mon, how bout the speaker? My LCD mon doesnt have a speaker. I get some info from the Xbox 360 buyer guide, there is a cable that can connect the X360 to LCD mon and the speaker.
For the XBOX 360, you need to purchase a VGA cable if you want to connect the console to a PC monitor and speakers.

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-de-49-en-70-190j.html
arj
post Nov 25 2006, 07:50 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(term001 @ Nov 25 2006, 03:28 AM)
need your help guys...

i just bought Sharp Aquos LC-32BX5M LCD, is it posible view full screen (wide 16:9) without the top/bottom black bars when playing DVD ??
i oredi set the lcd & dvd player (i'm using samsung DVD-HD860-connect to lcd thru hdmi cable) to widescreen mode but still the output got letterboxing

Appreciate any help....thanks guys...
Many movies are in 2.55:1 format and this will cause letterboxing when viewed on a 16:9 display. If you insists of getting rid of them then try to see wether your TV have zoom feature or not.
arj
post Dec 16 2006, 11:00 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Dec 16 2006, 10:21 PM)
yea now i remember. well if u got cash then sell the LG one then get Samsung one lor smile.gif

Btw, between Sharp and Samsung, which will u guys choose? smile.gif
Samsung for the gorgeous looks, Sharp if you need the extra HDMI port biggrin.gif
arj
post Dec 18 2006, 12:30 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(SilverCrimz @ Dec 17 2006, 09:17 PM)
oh seems to be cheaper at Harvey Norman. My statement is based on prices at a shop which i can't remember what it was, it's either SENQ or HSL. I saw the 32" priced at 5.5k while the 26" at 4k+. Considering my current budget, i'm leaning towards the 26" but i read the sounds from it isnt all that good and furthermore, i'm no good in determining whats a good sound system.

You can call me a somewhat a perfectionist in favourable to style cuz the design of the R7 seems like a very fitting pair with the PS3. Any further opinions from you or any of the forumers here is very welcomed since i still need to gather more feedback on the R7. notworthy.gif
I'm using the 26" R7 and I think the picture quality is awesome. The only downside to it is that there's only 1 HDMI port. Currently I'm using it for my DVD player so I don't know how the arrangement will be when I eventually get the PS3 sweat.gif

Can't comment on the sound though since all audio output goes straight to the receiver from day 1 laugh.gif

0.0221sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:58 PM