HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

welwitchia
post Oct 17 2007, 05:37 PM

1,219 posts

Me serious? nah.. I'm never serious. biggrin.gif I'm just overly obsessive.
QUOTE(maintenance @ Oct 17 2007, 03:24 PM)
hahahha i didnt realize wor there is extra settings there.
dont lar take it so seriously
i am just curious lar
This post has been edited by welwitchia: Oct 17 2007, 05:37 PM
welwitchia
post Oct 17 2007, 07:19 PM

1,219 posts

I know.. like i said.. no more Samsungs for me.
How's u'r 37" 1080p coming along? If u need someone with a DSLR to take pictures for u.. I can volunteer. tongue.gif
welwitchia
post Oct 17 2007, 11:03 PM

1,219 posts

That's odd isn't it? Can u take a photo of it and show us?
QUOTE(small-jeff @ Oct 17 2007, 09:10 PM)
i dunno..but the samsung i have...when i play downloaded HD trailers, or ps3, it shows pixels...big pixels...it's like the colour just couldnt blend in. In my old philips..using dvi is ven better than this samsung.
welwitchia
post Oct 18 2007, 12:21 AM

1,219 posts

When u said "old phillips using dvi" u meant a phillips monitor? So u'r Samsung LCD TV with the PS3 actually looks worst that when u had u'r PS3 on u'r Phillips Monitor?
welwitchia
post Oct 18 2007, 05:01 PM

1,219 posts

Samsung Technician is coming to my place at 6 today.. I'm gonna ask them to bring the R8 back and reset that damn thing.. its in such a sad state now.

Edit : Technician came..replaced the motherboard..total damage? RM 500 cry.gif

I'm gonna kill my neighbour for farking my TV up.

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Oct 18 2007, 07:16 PM
welwitchia
post Oct 18 2007, 07:40 PM

1,219 posts

I tried Superman Returns this morning and he looked so dull..Duh. All the colors are so messed up. I guess i have no choice. Sigh... cry.gif

Neordi : Once u mess with the factory menu, the warranty is void. Believe me when i say u can seriously mess up the colors in the service menu. U wanna learn how? I can show u. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Oct 18 2007, 07:41 PM
welwitchia
post Oct 18 2007, 09:23 PM

1,219 posts

^ Damage has already been done. Don't feel like going to the service menu any more. Now i just wanna watch my movies and play games. No more Samsungs for me in the future.
welwitchia
post Oct 25 2007, 04:27 PM

1,219 posts

^ S-video will only carry a 480i signal and not 480p.
welwitchia
post Jan 1 2008, 12:29 PM

1,219 posts

Hey rx330,
how much did u get u'r PV70 for? I saw the 50" Pioneer Kuro the other day showing Spiderman 3 and was absolutely floored by the colors and black levels. Its like watching a whole new movie..sorta made me a Plasma believer at that moment.

I'm gonna be done with my car loan soon so i can definitely afford a brand new TV.. and this time I'm looking at 42 incher and I want a Plasma!!! Screw 1080p..lol, since at 42", I doubt i can tell a difference anyway.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 29 2007, 09:42 AM)
cerebral, im using tat model, pv70
wat lag and refresh time? plasma got tiskind of problme meh?

for the price now, i think its quite worth it, but i think this model shud be replace soon
welwitchia
post Jan 2 2008, 10:31 PM

1,219 posts

Try watching Spiderman Blu-ray on the Pioneer Kuro and u'll eat your own statement tongue.gif . yeah i know they're expensive but heck, they're in a totally different league. I always thought to myself..how much better can plasmas it be? When i finally saw it on the Kuro, i'm an instant believer in Plasmas or should i say, instant convert?
QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 2 2008, 04:06 PM)

While lcd are good for :

ps3 or hd/br dvd, compare to plasma
cheaper?
The cons for plasma is very hot, consume more power, and old technology that is not worth to invest? But yet still few manufacturers like hitachi, lg, panasonic etc are still producing it?

Anyone with Plasma can shows which model you are using?
welwitchia
post Jan 3 2008, 12:10 AM

1,219 posts

Bangsar Village has 52" Kuros. That's where i saw them. If i remember correctly, they'll set u back RM 16,999 drool.gif
welwitchia
post Jan 3 2008, 12:25 AM

1,219 posts

^ Hmm..the ones i saw were 1080p and they have 2 of them on display.
welwitchia
post Jan 3 2008, 07:27 PM

1,219 posts

I'm i remembered correctly, they were selling 42" Kuros for RM 9,999 biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 3 2008, 06:09 PM)
hm yes i saw the pioneer kuro at harvey norman pavillion also...bout 33k, forgotten how many inch is that. Anyone knows 42" kuro price?
welwitchia
post Jan 4 2008, 11:10 PM

1,219 posts

Ouch! thanks for sorting it out. Hmm.. so the 42" seems like a better buy than the 52" Kuro. Then again, by the time i'm ready to buy a new TV, who knows the prices might have gone waaaayyy down. biggrin.gif

I was surprised to see a 42 or was it 40" Sony W Series 1080p for RM 8999. They were playing Blu-ray Kung-Fu Hustle and it looked pretty good.
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 4 2008, 11:27 AM)
Welwitchia,

Just got off Ryan from Pioneer Malaysia, i was asking him about the BD-LX70A BD player. Asked him about the current Kuro models too, and the Kuro 42inch is RM9,999 while the Kuro 50 inch is priced at RM16,999 and of XGA scale, meaning it is only 768p. If you wanna go 1080p on the Kuros, you need to go up to the 50 and 60 inch model, which are priced at......*drumroll* RM34,999 and RM45,999 respectively. I nearly choked when Ryan revealed that.
welwitchia
post Jan 5 2008, 01:00 PM

1,219 posts

^ Oh u mean RM 8999 is 2008's pricing?
welwitchia
post Jan 6 2008, 03:55 PM

1,219 posts

How come my uncles never give me LCDs as gifts? Darn it!! vmad.gif
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jan 6 2008, 01:07 PM)
Sharp Aquos LC-37PX5M i got this LCD from my uncle. do u'd think its  ok!? kinda search about it. but nothin much could be found. no full-HD. sigh

and i think its kinda cheap. was a house warming gift. lol. i mean its good and all. but i thought like there is a newer model add rm400 can get it di.

anyone using it as well? watched a dvd on it. seemed pretty dark.
welwitchia
post Jan 6 2008, 05:57 PM

1,219 posts

I judge by looking at skin tones. I know its not the right way but i hate looking at reddish skin tones.
welwitchia
post Jan 7 2008, 08:46 PM

1,219 posts

Check this out.. we thought the Kuro's kick a$$.. Here's something that will make the Kuro's shame in embarrassment? Who u might say? Future Kuros!! tongue.gif

http://gizmodo.com/341434/battlemodo-pione...v-ever-and-wins

welwitchia
post Jan 11 2008, 11:00 PM

1,219 posts

Hey RX,

did u consider the Hitachi P42A01A before getting u'r Panasonic? The Hitachi is RM 200 cheaper and i personally like the "looks/design" better..
welwitchia
post Jan 12 2008, 02:37 AM

1,219 posts

^ I dunno.. I can't seem to find any reviews on it. Can u share those that u found?

Wierd thing is that the panel has a 1024 * 1080 res.. hmm.gif

I believe it can be had for less than 5K.
BTW, have u bought the Panasonic yet or u're still looking?

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Jan 12 2008, 02:42 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0440sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:33 AM