HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

redken
post Jan 3 2007, 11:03 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 3 2007, 09:12 PM)
Most people will claim it wont makes any different..but i'll be ordering Qed brand...from ebay....as the truth it does matter....
U can get QED cables locally.
redken
post Jan 4 2007, 07:06 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 3 2007, 11:31 PM)
arj just told me about it..which reminds me of my old fav shop, cmy, but, i just wondering if the price is not too expensive....any clue....
If the QED's are too expensive, try the Profigold's. RM150+/- for normal interconnects, i got mine overseas though.
redken
post Jan 7 2007, 10:45 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

I've just auditioned the new 47" Toshiba Regza 1080p. The size is awesome, same goes for the quality. I mean 1080 would be a waste on smaller TV's.

Feeling curious, i asked the saleperson, "Wat are u running under that, man." He told me HARDDISK, i LOL'ed hard, the local scenes are sure catching up.

The best is yet to come, the price is only RM14999, and that's a price from one of the higher price store chain. I bet u can find it at basement price of RM13999 somewhere.
redken
post Jan 8 2007, 07:19 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 7 2007, 11:56 PM)
Again..let me repeat it again..it is not a true HD for 1080p TV..it only support up to 1080i format....eventhough it claims it support up to 1080p resolution...

'NUFF SAID
1080 physical lines mean that is a FULL HD PANEL. The display mode is supports is another story. Can u display 1080i with just 999 lines? U cant. Get the point?

Both 1080i/p are formats, it's nothing related to the panel. A 1366/768 panel can take 1080i input also , but that doesnt make it a FULL HD PANEL because physically it only can display 768.

To make my point more valid, read up on interlacing. LCD/PLASMA can not, i repeat, cannot display interlaced video, it has to be de-interlaced first. With the correct de-interlacing method, aka WEAVE, 1080i will become 1080p regardless.

If u try to even follow the HD arena, u will know that TOSHIBA is in the HD-DVD camp. The pioneering players of HD-DVD can only send out 1080i (which doesnt even matter after it's de-interlaced). So it's a matter to matching specs to their advantage.

Get Blu-Ray for now, if u wan 1080p.

This post has been edited by redken: Jan 8 2007, 07:21 PM
redken
post Jan 9 2007, 01:07 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 8 2007, 10:38 PM)
But it is two different thing between i=(interlaced) and p=(progressive) especially for the same 1080 resolution.....even most of the HD ready panel support 1080i resolution. But, for 1080p, its two different things. More about the video signal of Regza 47WL66E 47" , the official spec from toshiba website>>> http://www.toshiba.com.my/servlet/svtUProd...roID=8915993100

And..one more thing.....the HD-DVD does support 1080p..it has been tested with the HD-DVD external for xbox 360 but with the vga connection, and not with the component video connection due to licensing issue. Don't trust me, go chx out the xbox.com forum or avs forum. Let ne repeat it again, both blueray and HD-DVD supoort 1080p.
'NUFF SAID
How different is different? I know what the brochure said, i am talking about understanding them. Which doesnt really matter, because most people prolly buy on impulse alone.

Both Disc Format is about the same, quality wise and what not. Furthermore, D-Sub is a progressive only type of connection. Any hardware sporting it, would have some de-interlacing hardware inside. My point exactly, being 1080p and 1080i is indeed an interchangable format, there's no need for a winner.

For the record, even our old CRT Monitor are progressive already, but no one went ga-ga over the quality also tongue.gif

redken
post Jan 11 2007, 06:53 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 11 2007, 04:08 PM)
Bought my first hdmi full 1080p tv display (4th 1080p capable monitor) sony 46v2500 series for rm 6650 to be delivered in 11 days...in the land of the rising sun, that is...
Dun tempt us le. Most of us have to break a piggy bank to own a HDTV over here tongue.gif

Anyway, y not a plasma since LCD have so many quality drawbacks, low maintenance though.

This post has been edited by redken: Jan 11 2007, 06:54 PM
redken
post Jan 14 2007, 10:16 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(spicyfooty @ Jan 14 2007, 09:20 PM)
bro saiga

I mounted the Samsung on the wall, and got myself the Samsung Home Theater HT-XQ100. Damn, match-made in heaven !!

We are in the same boat. Wife watching ASTRO, we are the one paying. hahaha bonus flew away in 1 day!

I am getting PS3 somewhere next few months. By then, Samsung will show its TRUE POWAH !!

What LCD you have in mind?
Care to elaborate on where u got the mount and how u installed it? Not on a brick wall i presume.
redken
post Jan 15 2007, 12:55 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

I know it's easy by there is no place to install the bracket because, trust me, u wouldnt want to install ur tv on the brick wall. It's just not safe.
redken
post Jan 22 2007, 06:43 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(hackinz @ Jan 22 2007, 01:25 PM)
It is 1080i only.
It is a bulk order. So I've been offer to place my order to tag along.

Never intend to get LCD TV so soon. Probably another 2 year in future. Then again, the price factor has tempted me to consider.

Since I am not so knowledgeable with LCD/Plasma TV, I need comment from all the brothers whether or not Toshiba 42WL66E Regza is a good buy. If the specs is not up to normal market standard or overprice, I won't get it now (tough price is attractive)

I need to decided asap whether or not to get a Toshiba 42WL66E.
Contrast Ratio 800:1
Brightness: 450cd/m2
Resolution 1366x768
Panel Response Speed (ms):8
Viewing angle (Degrees): 178
HDMI

Is the contrast ratio too low? HDMI good for next few years?
Cuz initially mainly for Xbox360 & future PS3. Later for HD-DVD or Blu-Ray movie!

Reason I got a very good deal! Approximate Rm4900 (HSL selling RM7899 after discount)

Urgent!!! Comment pls!!!!
At this price, u buy the unit first, test it to see if u like it. If u dont like it for some crazy reason, u can still sell it off and make some profit rclxms.gif
redken
post Jan 23 2007, 10:31 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 22 2007, 08:07 PM)
why the toshiba contrast ratio too low ? 800 only.
Contrast ratio is lower the better one icon_rolleyes.gif
redken
post Feb 7 2007, 01:03 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(allrightall @ Feb 5 2007, 05:48 PM)
smile.gif why are u guys so fast want to adopt lcd tv yet, hd channels are not even available in MY yet, even astro has no plans to turn HD sweat.gif
Just because of itchy hands lo, nothing else. Bored of HD liao at the moment.
redken
post Feb 8 2007, 07:02 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Feb 7 2007, 10:19 PM)
Free over the air Digital HD broadcast in Japan (implimented recently) ... anazing clarity.. can make out individual hair, skin bumps ...even the fabric lines of the cloths on news reporters... not to mentioned multiple subtitles/audio options... without analog shadow...embeded also news/weather/sports/multitude pages report/advert/market shares... with interactive selecting options.. truely utilize to the max the bandwidth
And the best thing is....... is it free? thumbup.gif

Erm, wait. IT IS FREE! Boo Astro!

This post has been edited by redken: Feb 8 2007, 07:03 PM
redken
post Feb 12 2007, 11:08 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

The market is flooded with 1080p capable sets already, all of them 15k-ish. Even 1080p Plasma 50 incher can be had at that price. IMHO, much better than the Sony la.
redken
post Mar 20 2007, 09:29 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 20 2007, 03:48 PM)
thanks for letting us know u can afford B&O prodcuts biggrin.gif
LOL. Sarcasm tongue.gif

I bet Singapore stocks loads of them.
redken
post Mar 21 2007, 01:10 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 21 2007, 12:02 AM)
sarcasm ur head lah biggrin.gif qouting the truth nia, i really fancy B&O products, but i cant afford them, so im envy string nia

i remember once, i even wen to ebay to search for cheap used B&O, but the price still too expensive, even for an old old turntable, also gonna cost me rm 1k ++, and its in broken condition

yes, SG has them, but i no balls to go and see
Dun worry, if u lose one, u still have another spare.
redken
post Apr 9 2007, 08:59 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

Despite the older models being phased up, newer succesor to them are still placed at the same old HIGH price. So there's actually no improvement in value from that point.
redken
post Apr 17 2007, 08:55 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

So anyone knows where to get nice HD showcase clips on the net? those from quicktime, wmvhd and nero sucks la. Too many artifacts.
redken
post Apr 18 2007, 07:30 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 18 2007, 10:24 AM)
there is one more, i forgot liao, the let u dl for free using torrent one
mostly are girls frolicking in brazil beaches

or alternatively u can source on the torrent site, got many shows in HD liao

for me, i would wait for planet earth blu ray biggrin.gif
Those on the torrent sites are heavily compressed. sweat.gif
redken
post Apr 23 2007, 09:52 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 23 2007, 03:04 PM)
Does anyone here have a Samsung R7?
When u go into the Service Menu, is the background black or dark blue.

I can't believe how crappy my R7 is. If i view a black JPG on a PS3, it turns out dark blue. Called Samsung and they're gonna send someone over to take a look at it.

Seems like everything i buy has problems. Sucks to be me.
Aiyo, every LCD set sure got problem one. Just follow my advice, ignorance is bliss. tongue.gif
redken
post May 6 2007, 10:48 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 5 2007, 06:14 AM)
It is also possible to download hd-dvd and blu-ray movies by nefarious means... but you would need a rather beefy dual core cpu or later gen graphic card (8800/8600/8500) for that supports H.264 decoding and HDCP for playback
Ei, beast, what's wrong with N7 series H.264 playback? I would admit, support for HD acceleration is rather problematic, but does N8 really solve to issue?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0229sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:06 PM