HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

redbull_y2k
post Jan 11 2007, 11:13 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 11 2007, 07:17 PM)
2x 24incher and 3x 17 incher 3840x2224 res..beat westinghouse's quad 1080p by 64 lines... credit where credits due... 30 inchers none yet
Oh yeah... i got mixed up. blush.gif laugh.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 04:09 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(fair-pley @ Jan 24 2007, 03:56 PM)
I got my LG LCD TV (look my sig). Max reso is 1366 x 768 (1080i). The question is, why there is hdmi input since it cannot support 1080p  doh.gif  Do i need some upscaler so that 1080p is possible ??
Less messy cables? Since HDMI cable transmit both video and audio. cool.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 04:44 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 24 2007, 04:34 PM)
er... how much u parting for it?

to the shifus, VGA connection is better than HDMI rite?
VGA is analog, while HDMI is digital. So HDMI is better, it's more or less equivalent to DVI+audio. cool.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 05:04 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(fair-pley @ Jan 24 2007, 04:53 PM)
4 months ady. Bought at promo price rm2999 at harvey norman. emm c how la..

Anyway, is it so much diff btween 1080i n 1080p ? Dont want to throw away cash for just slightly improvement  sweat.gif
The difference would be noticeable but depends mostly on the source. Like in the case for Xbox360, u won't see any difference btwn even 720p and 1080i since it's actually scaled from 720p to 1080i as well. The source has to be in true 1080p, then only you would notice the difference. Blue Dragon for the Xbox360 is claimed to support 1080p, but it's still not confirmed if it's rendered in 1080p or scaled from 720p.
redbull_y2k
post Jan 24 2007, 08:35 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 24 2007, 08:03 PM)
i believe the reason it doesn't look difference is more because of the size (29"), not because scaled or not.
Trust me, u can see the difference even on a 24". Why else would pc users use 1920x1200 on a 24" lcd monitor if u can't see the difference. For movies, yeah the difference is very minor, almost unnoticeable. But for games and desktop usage, the difference is very obvious. I suggest u try one before even comparing. cool.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jan 25 2007, 09:00 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 25 2007, 08:43 PM)
24" Monitor. not on TV. TV has less dots per-inch, unlike Monitor. i was talking about TV.
And I was talking about the noticeable difference off 1080p on anything lower than 29", which currently only available on lcd monitors. For lcd tv, the smallest 1080p panel available currently is 37". It doesn't matter what the size is, as long as the panel itself is 1080p, then you'd see the difference dude. sweat.gif
redbull_y2k
post Mar 10 2007, 10:37 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 10 2007, 09:08 AM)
no lah, its stated in the manual, it supports up to 1080i lah
The old Z30 series? Those can only accept 720p/1080i at 50Hz (PAL) only while the newer Z40 series can accept 720p/1080i at 60Hz (NTSC) and 50Hz.
redbull_y2k
post Mar 10 2007, 12:28 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 10 2007, 11:22 AM)
aisheh... meaning PS3 kenot support PAL 1080i ar?
Nope, unless you're using a PAL PS3 which is not launched yet. tongue.gif
redbull_y2k
post Apr 6 2007, 02:00 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Apr 5 2007, 11:57 PM)
i heard that bro ninja dah beli LCD Sharp.. laugh.gif siap beli 2 lagi.. ngan ana... oii bila nak buat kenduri kesyukuran.. tongue.gif
Went to midvalley with ninja, ana, raoul and feroz. Siap bawak PS3 and Xbox360 and tried tweaking display setting stuffs sampai pening. rclxub.gif Got the best deal in town too.... nih gambo sneak preview. tongue.gif laugh.gif

Next, evohahn and raoul.... bile lagi? brows.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by redbull_y2k: Apr 6 2007, 02:04 AM
redbull_y2k
post Apr 9 2007, 07:57 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(prominen @ Apr 9 2007, 07:37 PM)
just go to best denki today and guest what? Samsung 32 R7 has drop price again...

You can get one for as low as RM3,499 now. brows.gif
redbull_y2k
post Apr 11 2007, 12:49 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(Klez @ Apr 11 2007, 12:03 AM)
hi.. sorry.. 1080 setting on ps3.. which the best lcd monitor under 2.5k budget? connect from hdmi to dvi? unsure.gif
The your only choice would be the Dell 2407WFP 24" monitor.
redbull_y2k
post Apr 11 2007, 11:07 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Apr 11 2007, 10:22 AM)
When are you gonna get another LCD from me?  rolleyes.gif
When 1080p series drops down in price and when i can afford one. tongue.gif
redbull_y2k
post Apr 18 2007, 01:59 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 18 2007, 11:24 AM)
Panasonic launched its new 32" LCD TV last Friday with 2 model; 32LX70 and 32LE7. Both price range is expected to be from RM3.3K+ to RM3.K.
Interesting... 2 HDMI, 2 S-Video, 3 Composite.... but 1 Component? Aiseh... sweat.gif Sweet price though. rclxms.gif
redbull_y2k
post Apr 18 2007, 09:14 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Apr 18 2007, 07:30 PM)
Those on the torrent sites are heavily compressed.  sweat.gif
Theres are some TS streams which are not heavily compressed on some torrent sites. The same one used for demo purposes. But unfortunately most torrent sites have a limit to the number of registered users so u can't register unless you're invited or they open the registration again. If QT HD and WMVHD can't please u, then your only choice would be to get either a HD-DVD or Bluray player. tongue.gif

I've downloaded Open Season movie in 1080p from torrent. It's ripped from Bluray and the quality is excellent, not exactly perfect but good enuff. rclxms.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by redbull_y2k: Apr 18 2007, 09:14 PM
redbull_y2k
post May 22 2007, 10:45 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

It's not the movie but the PS3 itself. To play BD movie, u have to set the output to either 1080p or 1080i only. Everything else will downscale to 480p. sweat.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jul 23 2007, 06:01 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

Actually if your LCD doesn't support HDCP, u won't get any display with the PS3 at all even for gaming. sweat.gif
redbull_y2k
post Jul 25 2007, 07:51 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Jul 25 2007, 07:23 AM)
I beg to differ.  The HDCP is needed only for outputting resolutions higher than 480p.  You can still use ur PS3 only that Blu-Ray movies will be in 480p like a DVD.

If your TV doesn't support it, PS3 will output at 480p only.  Not too sure about games cos AFAIK they don't use HDCP.
Have u tried it on a non-HDCP lcd monitor? I did, and that's why i've made that earlier conclusion.

Example:

Dell 2405 - non-HDCP : No display at all, had to use the component input instead.
Dell 2407 - HDCP capable : Supports up to 1080p with PS3 thru HDMI-DVI adapter.
redbull_y2k
post Aug 15 2007, 02:33 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 15 2007, 02:18 PM)
It depends also on the input of the LCD (maybe Dell 24" component input is only up to 1080i). Better wait for redbull to confirm as he owns Dell 24" and he's getting 1080p with his X360.
Yeah, Dell 2407WFP can only support up to 1080i thru component but u can stil get 1080p using vga cable. So far BenQ FP241WZ can accept 1080p thru component. Ask fair-pley. tongue.gif
redbull_y2k
post Aug 16 2007, 11:23 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

It means the scaler in your lcdtv can accept 1080p input and then rescale to your panel's resolution. tongue.gif
redbull_y2k
post Aug 20 2007, 03:19 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 20 2007, 09:06 AM)
glau, it accepts 1080p signal, but using a 1366 X 768 panel?
another gimmick?
Not exactly a gimmick. A 1080p downscaled to 1366x768 would still look better than a 720p signal upscaled to the panel's resolution. nod.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0456sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:23 AM