HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

Lord_Ashe
post Dec 15 2005, 10:41 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Dec 15 2005, 10:22 PM)
erm...wanna ask a Q...

can i have progresive scan mode from a progressive scan dvd player via a component cable??

normal crt tv do support 480p?
Normally you'd have to enable progressive scan mode on your DVD player AND have a progressive scan-TV. Be careful though, once you enable the prog scan on your DVD player, there's a possibility no image will be present if you connect it to non progressive component inputs. On normal CRTs, using component cables won't unlock prog scan, but you'll definitely see an increase in picture quality.

agingamer: There used to be super good forum at dvdmalaysia.tk. It kinda died a while back, but it may be resurrected. That was a really good AV forum, IMHO.
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 16 2005, 05:36 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 16 2005, 04:34 PM)
Aginggamer: Interested in ur gadget...what it is suppose to do? Send wireless signal to ASTRO DMT unit??
If i'm not mistaken, it allows two tvs to share one DMT and you can change channels by pointing the remote to any one of the two. I think it's cool myself.
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 16 2005, 06:12 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 16 2005, 06:02 PM)
Wooi yoh! Got such thing ah!! I'm interested!! My ASTRO is connected to 3 TV's (ha ha! Try beat that! ) When i'm upstair i cannot change channels as the remote is downstair!

So anyone has actually a working unit of this kinda gadget?? Where can buy this? Pasar Road??
Heheh...AFAIK my dad uses it at his house to connect one DMT to 2 TVs, and all he had to do was to call his friendly electrician. I'm pretty sure most electrical supply shops have some flavour of the thing (I've seen at least 4 kinds). I dunno about three TVs though..heheh. How did you pull it off?
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 19 2005, 10:19 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 19 2005, 06:54 PM)

the name progressive really will mislead people that it will display better picture. while the tv really was displaying it in progressive, what the user actually getting is nothing more than "line doubler"
Hehe..true. In fact, Pixel Plus 2 is just that - a very good line doubler tongue.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Dec 20 2005, 09:56 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 20 2005, 09:23 AM)
Actually, some line doubler does really good job, and in Pixel Plus 2 case...exceptional job! (although the images does look a bit hyper realistic at time...but i can't say that's a con).

SONY uses DRC (Digital Reality Creation), another propriatery algorithm which does a good job.

TOSHIBA recently promote their METABRAIN tech...same thing, different algorithm.

IMO, line doubler is okay. But things like "100Hz" is just frame doublers!!!!
Yeah. PP2 can make some DVDs look like they were shot on video. But somehow I love the effect!

DRC IMHO is the best kind of tech for non HDTV sets as even crappy signals look a bit better on Sony CRTs with DRC.

Haven't seen the Metabrain, must check it out!
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 4 2006, 03:17 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 4 2006, 03:15 PM)
BTW, anyone knows where to find COMPONENT cable selector and how much?? The TV only got 2 component input...I need 3 currently and maybe more in the near future.

Any recommendations?
I bought my component cable selector from Lik-Sang. Reasonably priced including shipping. I had to use it because even though I have 3 component inputs, two of them only accept 480p and above signals, leaving only one for regular component. Check for the Farmer brand - it's quite cheap.

BTW congrats on the Sony purchase! Have fun!
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 5 2006, 09:03 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(silkworm @ Jan 4 2006, 05:44 PM)
Cheap 20-30 ringgit PS2 component cables should do the job. Even at 1080i mode in GT4, the PS2 doesn't need that much bandwidth to call for exotic cabling. Just got one myself, RM25 from Imbi Plaza. To go with my (dad's) HD-ready 42" Plasma. biggrin.gif

Can't help on the Component mux (that's short for multiplexer), though. If the wallet can handle it, maybe tack on a proper AV surround amplifier. That ought to let you switch between a few component channels...  For dedicated "game" multiplexers, you'll probably have to shop online.

The last time I bought stuff from Lik-sang I had pay by wire transfer, which was an extra RM20+ bucks transaction fee, and I forgot if the bank in HK charged me as well.  blink.gif
Yup agreed. Mostly cheap component cables do the job well enough.

If you already have a HT setup then all you need is a pair of audio splitter cables (is that what they're called?) to feed them into your receiver/amplifier.

Last I checked, Lik-sang deals with PayPal - although I bought mine when they were still using credit card transfers only. Still, I've used PayPal on and off with no adverse effects. Efficient so far and safe.

Good luck on your purchase, hope this helps!
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 12 2006, 11:20 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 11 2006, 08:44 PM)
yes, 21" might not much different with branded from china brand. but with 29" you could see how worst the china brand display quality. and the china brand has no extra function to give more value for money. branded you might get line doubling (100Hz) and better speaker for the tv. from what i heard that to cut cost some china brand manufacturer create 29" tv using 25" tv tube (the electron gun behind the tv).
Yeah I agree. If your budget is RM 1k, then better get a 21incher from Samsung/Philips - my old 21" Philips came at RM700, had component inputs, and really good sound. 29" and above...well it's really difficult to recommend anything around that price.
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 13 2006, 09:20 AM

1,495 posts

Wah Matrix! Reading your adventures in 720p-land makes me so envious!

Definitely a good buy lah your Sony...wish I'd seen it earlier, but was too bedazzled by my friend's Pixel Plus 2....no 720p though.
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 13 2006, 10:18 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 13 2006, 10:15 AM)
Does that means all the XBOX360 and PS3 games will be 16:9 on a 4:3 HDTV??  shocking.gif
PS: Btw, i saw XBOX360 (inside a box) at Sg Wang at one shop.
That's probably going to be the case, mate...so until we finally get a widescreen display those bars are here to stay - but who cares when you're already gaming in HD?

Lord_Ashe
post Jan 13 2006, 11:19 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 13 2006, 11:09 AM)
Yar-loh...cannot be too greedy with a limited budget...LOL.

But the font size about small ...like trying to see 1024x768 resolution on a 15" monitor. laugh.gif

I think if those got a bigger budget, go for 34" 4:3 hdtv...at least you'll get a bigger screen when in 16:9 format. But last i check the 34" SONY TV spec is gasp..79kg....i have a hard enough time moving off the old 29" TV from my TV cabinet...wah 79kg...almost my weight liao...and probably heavier than some of u here!
My Pixel Plus 2 is exactly 72kg. Almost broke my back trying to move it...
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 13 2006, 11:43 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 13 2006, 11:26 AM)
Urs is 34" or 29"? My SONY 29" is only 49kg according to spec. But i dun think i'll want to move it around unless when i shift house!

Wow...u can move 72kg! I wouldn't wanna risk breaking my back!! (or dropping 70KG+ of TV onto my foot!! )
Mine 29" only! And even that I think it was sheer excitement that fueled me and my poor gf to lift the thing into my apartment!

flex.gif

They say love makes you do weird things...
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 15 2006, 09:31 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 14 2006, 08:14 PM)
Lord_Ashe, since your tv doesn't support 720p, does that means if the tv being feed with 720p video it wouldn't display anything? or would it upscale/downscale it to 1080i/480p?

can your tv display Soul Calibur 2 in720p?
According to my research, the Pixel Plus 2 sets will automatically upscale to 1080i (depending on the ahemness of the game, someone told me).

So even when I tested Soul Calibur 2 it did that, although initially it came out at 480p due to me setting the Xbox Dashboard to also display at that res.

Anyway have fun with your Sony! I think it's awesome!
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 16 2006, 08:34 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 15 2006, 09:57 PM)
so the philips will accept 720p video, only that Pixel Plus 2 will automatically upscale to 1080i, is that correct?

btw, what an *ahemness games got to do with displaying 720p or any other resolution? i mean, the games is just an exact copy of the ori rite, so nothing changed.
Yup the Philips will accept 720p video - only it upconverts it to 1080i.

As for the ahemness of the games, some sources tell me that ahem games sometimes don't copy ALL the content of the ori - which also means the progressive scan/HD quality video sometimes gets left out. This was based on some problems a few of my friends had with ahem copies of games like GT4, so YMMV.

Lord_Ashe
post Jan 17 2006, 02:54 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Jan 16 2006, 08:21 PM)
still nobody reply me about hdtv @ rm4-6k...please give some guides...
-widescreen...16:9..muz have...
-1080i,720p
-HDMI/DVI input...
You'll be hard pressed to find such specs in a sub 6k TV. It's always a choice between widescreen/1080i or some such combination. As for HDMI/DVI that's even more difficult AFAIK since those connections are considered to be upper level specs...
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 25 2006, 08:48 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Jan 25 2006, 12:52 AM)
Thanx for clearing this up. I have the budget, but need to spend it wisely sweat.gif . If you are refering the samsung widescreen 32", maybe that's the new model, CS-32Z30HE SlimFitTM HDTV, isn't it? That cost around RM4k. How about Samsung CS29Z30BP 29" Flat Slimfit? It says it have 1080i HDReady, DNIe and Digital Scan 100hz. It so confuse to find the right product that truely claim HD these day. This one around RM2k plus.
Having seen the Samsung slimfit picture quality, I'll have to say you'd better do some comparisons with the Sony model matrix and xxboxx have or a PixelPlus2 set, like mine. Somehow the slimfit image quality isn't as good as I'd expect a DnIe powered TV to be. Widescreen is all well and good - but at then end of the day what it comes down to is your satisfaction with the purchase. I'd advise you to look these units up and then do a side-by side comparison, then choose the one you think has the best picture quality for your budget. You may even have to bring along your own component cables/DVDs, but since this is a major buy, it pays to be major choosy.

My 2 sen.
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 26 2006, 09:41 AM

1,495 posts

Definitely surprised to hear that Philips LCD beats the Bravia - but all the best to your purchase and don't forget to let us know the outcome!

Cheers!
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 26 2006, 05:03 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 26 2006, 04:57 PM)
For those who already have the TV, post more screenshots so that I/We can drool in awe  drool.gif
Actually screenshots can hardly do a good TV justice. Best way is to get yourself invited to a place with one of these sets and have a hands on demo. I know I changed Prince of Persia's mind with my little demo on his 360 with composite cables...
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 27 2006, 10:04 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 27 2006, 09:47 AM)
Hey, thanks for the reply biggrin.gif

After some thinking i totally agree with you that it's a pure waste getting this tv juz for playing PS2. Some more i don't even have a ps2 yet tongue.gif

I understand how you feel man. Honestly though, if you have Astro at home and like to watch DVDs, those two reasons are enough to switch to a better TV if you can afford it. However I also agree with your points that it won't be such a great idea to buy it for the sake of having a PS2 alone - but if you intend to watch a lot of TV/play games/DVDs/impress people with your sub-3K TV, then maybe a little investment is worth it...
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 28 2006, 07:36 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 28 2006, 02:26 AM)
Dear All, I have one question. Can i use the Sony TV as a monitor? Since it supports 720p and 1080i, can i use my video card's video out and display HD on the TV? If it's possible, can i use S-Video out to display the HD resolutions?

Will the image be blur like conventional PC-TV out? or will it be better? Can someone try it out?

If i use S-Video out from PC to watch divx and dvd on the tv, will the quality be nice?

Will it spoil the TV?

Please advise. Thanks biggrin.gif
Technically, you CAN use almost any TV with an Svideo input as a monitor. However please bear in mind that you cannot transfer HD quality video over S-video. There's just not enough bandwidth in that connection.

For HD on your TV, I'd recommend a TV with DVI in, or some way you can force the HD vid into a component input to stream to your TV. Otherwise, if you decide to watch divx files on your S video connection, with a little tweaking the image will be quite acceptable (especially on Pixel Plus 2 sets) BUT you'll have to remember to route the audio into the TV too, since you don't want to watch on a 29" but have to listen thru your laptop speakers...

hope this helps!

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:31 AM