QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 27 2006, 10:50 PM)
My set has ONE optical input, but no coax (which is fine, anyway).The only time I used the optical was for my old Xbox. Now waiting for something else to be plugged in there...
HDTV FAQ, For all Console users
Mar 28 2006, 08:14 AM
1,495 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Damansara Perdana - KL |
Mar 28 2006, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 28 2006, 08:47 AM) ps2 also can use optical input rite? other than that have to wait for next gen console or hd-dvd/blu-ray player. or a good sound card with optical out. Yup. PS2 definitely supports optical in, although there are more Xbox games with Dolby Digital 5.1 then the PS2, which has more Dolby Pro-Logic games. So pairing an optical input with my PS2 ended being kinda underwhelming. |
Mar 30 2006, 08:31 AM
You may want to use an s-video connection for your Astro. It DOES make a difference.
Mar 30 2006, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Jonlam @ Mar 30 2006, 11:19 AM) I am using s-video for the the Astro and components for the DVD. Astro images are pixelated. I need to customised and reduce the sharpness setting of the TV to reduce the pixelation. Its not the TV fault as I have seen similar images on Plasma and LCD TVs. It just that Astro compression method and broadcast signals are bad. Yup. Astro broadcast quality sucks. Additionally you may want to turn on the DRC feature on your TV (like my Pixel Plus 2) to make it softer. |
Apr 25 2006, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(wb4j @ Apr 25 2006, 01:44 PM) I have been looking for a 29" TV and I found the Panasonic TX-29F350MK has been impressive. The price range is around RM1.5-1.6k range. It is cheaper than the great Sony DB29M61. Both are HDTV but Panasonic edge Sony with its full 100Hz Digital Scan/Progressive Scan. There is another model JVC HV-29JH24 which has similar features selling at the same price range. I am quite surprised to read ppl complaining about Panasonic. I am not convinced until I see evidence. Anyone? Honestly speaking, do a side by side comparison between the Panasonic, Sony with DRC enabled, and a Pixel Plus 2 Philips set. There's a reason why the Panasonic model is cheaper - and the Sony and Philips are more expensive: the pixel doubling technology; not to mention the HDTV modes.You'll find that the Philips and Sony make short work of the Panasonic. Why? Simply because 100Hz scanning doesn't compare with DRC or Pixel Plus 2. In fact, my Philips set DOES have 100Hz scanning mode, but I disable it because: I can see every other scanline. Turn on Pixel Plus 2, and suddenly: no more scanlines, the picture is well, just freaking amazing. I can't put it into words, but in this forum look for PrinceofPersia and he'll confirm it - he's seen both my Philips and a comparable Sony. This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Apr 25 2006, 03:32 PM |
Apr 25 2006, 04:44 PM
Interesting.
It's weird that for a HD-ready set they don't publicise the types of HD modes supported. Maybe google will be kinder with info. Then again, another model: http://panasonic.com.my/PRODUCTS/VISUAL/ta..._29F350MK_2.htm has these: Type 29 Flat Colour TV HD Ready (1080i) 833i (75 Hz) Mode GIGA 100Hz Super Digital Scan/GIGA Progressive Scan 3D Y/C Digital Comb Filter (PAL/NTSC) Digital AI Naturalizer DPNR (Digital Picture Noise Reduction) Digital VM Circuit Hammer Drive Sound System Audio Output: 20W Virtual Dolby Surround Sound Two Component Video (DVD) Inputs Multi Window (2-tuner Picture-in-Picture) Universal Remote Control For RM 1899.00 that looks like an interesting offer; and it's ACTUALLY HD-capable. This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Apr 25 2006, 04:47 PM |
Apr 26 2006, 08:39 AM
It's highly doubtful that a CRT set can display true 720p (with rare exceptions) but for the most part, I think that if a model CAN display that resolution, it would be a strong advertising point.
In the meantime, like xxboxx said, check the DRC features. AFAIK, the DRC and Pixel Plus 2 features go beyond reducing flicker, but still it depends on your personal preference. |
Apr 26 2006, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 26 2006, 10:29 AM) As for the 800 series, i dun think those qualify as HDTV...what the hell is 833i?? Where got hw/software support for this mode?? It's useless. And since the HDTV mode spec of the new Panasonic isn't printed clearly, better check out what mode it support before making a purchase. Dude, relax. 833i is a different resolution than we're used to see, and there's a good discussion athttp://www.gpforums.co.nz/thread/316071/2/?s= According to EISA's website for 2003/2004 at http://www.eisa-awards.org/history/2003-2004/video.html Television PANASONIC TX-36PD30 Panasonic's TX-36PD30 92cm wide screen set renders the highest picture resolution ever seen on a TV screen. This is partly due to a new "Quintrix-SR" picture tube, which utilizes a superfine shadow mask to deliver higher contrast and brighter pictures; but it's also the result of unique "Acuity" picture processing technology, which intelligently computes TV material up to a resolution of 2376 x 833i pixels at 75Hz. With 10-bit processing this ensures a perfect, flicker-free picture without visible scan lines, exhibiting finer detail and smoother color representation. And thanks to its component video input, the TX-36PD30 recognizes Progressive Scan signals in PAL and NTSC. So while 833i MAY be a valid HD resolution, I suppose it'll depend on the material you're gonna play on the set? |
Apr 27 2006, 07:36 AM
Definitely reminded of the slimfit marketing hype. Thank God I didn't fall for that one. Sticking with my Philips...well at least till I can afford a plasma/LCD.
May 3 2006, 08:34 AM
Sorry for the late reply, Quasi-Suave.
Most people here will swear by the Sony DBM - and with good reason. FYI, I'm using the Philips Pixel Plus 2 29" CRT - with support for 480i/p, 576p and 1080i (sorry no 720p, although from what I've read no CRT really supports that mode). I got it for RM 2300, and I guess I picked it solely for the Pixel Plus 2 mode. Like the Sony, it's bulky and weighs about 72 kg - so get a friend to help you if you can. Good luck on your HDTV selection! |
May 3 2006, 03:17 PM
Hi there.
I'm biased towards Philips' products myself, but IMHO you have to compare the tvs side by side to make a fair judgement. Personally I find the Pixel Plus 2 processing better, as it creates more lifelike images even through S-video inputs. You'll have to check out Sony's DRC as it's not a slouch either. I'm sure our friends on LYN can attest to the Sony - and you won't go wrong with either. Like you, I'm puzzled as to why Philips left out the 720p - either through a technological issue or a budget one, but buck for buck I'm loving mine. |
May 4 2006, 08:40 AM
IMHO you don't really need the integrated tuner in the second one since we don't have any HD broadcasts yet - but at the end of the day if the price difference is negligible then go ahead - the RGB input may come in handy.
May 5 2006, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(cuoreboy @ May 5 2006, 12:49 AM) lol no one wanna help me Actually cuore the difference between S-video and Component is VERY BIG. Try reading the earlier pages in this thread and you'll find this has been repeated over and over again.i just wanna know got any different S-VIDEO with Component bcoz wanna get a component AV cable |
May 15 2006, 01:19 PM
May 19 2006, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 19 2006, 07:11 PM) HD Ready and HDTV i heard before. never heard of "true HD". what is that? Yup agree with xxboxx. What's this "true HD" you're speaking of? Unless of course you're referring 1080p as the TRUE HD and everything else being, well, NOT-HD?HD ready can support 720p/1080i, but cannot receive broadcasted HD signal, which is not a loss since malaysia still haven't broadcast in HD. |
May 23 2006, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(mikelee @ May 23 2006, 09:06 AM) A question to all, I am planning to get a lcd tv soon. However i wanna ask is HDMI input really all that important? For future use? I know ps3 will have HDMI but however will component connection gives me the same display quality or not? AFAIK, technically component video CAN handle up to 1080p (from Wikipedia). However, the impact of HDMI will only be seen once 2 things happen:1) HDDVD or Bluray wins the format war; 2) Hollywood finally implements their HDCP-ICT anti-piracy initiative HDMI is just digital video with audio built into a single cable. For now, that's the only thing it is. However, when (2) happens, any HD media that has ICT implemented will automatically be downgraded to 540p when it detects an analog (ie component) connection. Sure, it's better than 480i, but do you really want to be stuck with 540p when you KNOW you're missing out on 1080p (Sony we're looking at you)? That aside, in terms of quality, and while Hollywood makes up its mind whether to use ICT and when, on a sub 50" TV component/HDMI/DVI won't look much different. So it depends on whether you want to be future proof, or just decide to not worry about it until the time comes. Having said that, I guess it's better to invest wisely... |
May 23 2006, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(mikelee @ May 23 2006, 09:42 AM) So are you saying that we need to have a HDCP capable tv to avoid the downsized to 540p? So with HDMI input also useless cause it will not be capable to produce 1080p quality (for example) for HD-DVD movies? Actually yes, we DO need to have a HDCP-compliant Player/TV to enjoy true HD quality from next gen HD media. If you have HDMI/DVI input, then you're safe - but any TVs without it in probably 4-5 years time will not be able to produce 1080p (well at least if we discount the fact that some Chinese uberhacker will come up with a cable to fool the HDCP). |
May 23 2006, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(mikelee @ May 23 2006, 09:55 AM) However if we do get a tv with HDMI input, but its max resolution is 1366 x 768, isn't the tv will not be able to produce up to 1080p of display quality? or am i wrong? Heheh. NOW you're catching on. AFAIK, there are very few TVs out there that natively support 1080p - the ones that claim to be (or so I heard) mostly achieve that thru upscaling. So yeah, at the moment if you REALLY want to be future proof, invest in one of those 70" LCD/plasma panels from Westinghouse or similar and by then MAYBE you'll be able to boast "true" 1080p support.Otherwise, if you're a regular person who just wants a little bit extra quality I suggest you get the best you can afford. A 40" Bravia will take care of your needs for at least several years. |
May 23 2006, 10:28 AM
LoL.
Well I applaud your sensible thinking, bear in mind also that this only applies if you're buying the Vanilla PS3. But if you're planning on getting the Premium version you'll be stuck without HDMI! It's a tricky issue but at the end of the day only spend what you're willing to for quality you will definitely accept. Whatever TV you buy will be staring at you for at least 3 years... |
May 23 2006, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(mikelee @ May 23 2006, 11:53 AM) I see that you have a pixel plus tv. Does it have HDMI? Are you getting ready for PS3? or getting the Wiiiiiiiiii? Yup. All the consoles you have should be supported if not, it's gonna suck big time.I do have a Pixel Plus 2 CRT - no HDMI, but I've got 2 component Hi-Def inputs that SHOULD cover my potential 360 purchase and even the Wii eventually. If the Wii doesn't go beyond 480p I may have to share my other "regular" component connection with my DVD player - worst case scenario is I have to downgrade my DVD player connection to S-video, but that seems crummy. |
| Change to: | 0.0341sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:29 PM |