5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

A professional mistake, Enjoy the joke SPECIALLY for big 4!!!

ICDeadPeople
post Nov 17 2009, 08:36 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Nov 17 2009, 12:35 AM)
i for one is discomfort with a person who is or does complain about his job.
The usual rants
A complain comes only if the person does not know how to deliver the job,

A complain comes only if a person does want to investigate what happen to prior to complaining about the issue.

A complain comes when he is given a task, even worse if he doesnt know how to deliver the task!

Let me share with you this,

1. you are a employee, your boss gives u a task, why does he give you?
because you are paid to do so. right? why complain?

2. why he doesnt gives it to another person? because he knows you are good with your work or u have time to spare (positive/negative its your choice)

Now if you are indeed very tight down with work, talk to your boss about it, let him know that you are tight down with your load, ask him for more time, if he insists that you to take it. Negotiate with him. give him a solution instead ask for an answer, tell him you need X amount of time to finish your work nicely n live to it. Now if he does not gives u ample time to finish your load, Spend more time working, because at the end of the day your CV will be much nicer. biggrin.gif and its time for an employer who pays you more because of your more beautiful CV. Therefore it pays to work hard smile.gif.
Agree. And why this situation is happening? because he/she dont really like their job in the first place.
Why he/she didnt like their job? because its the only appropriate job for all those degree and certificates that their accumulate through out their study year.
Why studying something that you dont enjoy? Well, you know why.
goldfries
post Nov 17 2009, 04:22 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(shoppinglah @ Nov 17 2009, 12:01 AM)
not fair to calculate like dat lar man...so many other possible figures leh...wat if continue calculating to 10 years, 20 years...who knows the limit or progress of a dip. salesperson and a professional.  other than working attitude and knowledge, other unforeseen and beyond control aspects are there, such as opportunities right?
haiyoh simplified already to get the point through la.

if you want to include all the variables (meaning, all the IFs in life) then no need to post already. the in this world no need to argue / debate already because we'll have a never-ending loop of "what ifs" smile.gif

shoppinglah
post Nov 17 2009, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 17 2009, 04:22 PM)
haiyoh simplified already to get the point through la.

if you want to include all the variables (meaning, all the IFs in life) then no need to post already. the in this world no need to argue / debate already because we'll have a never-ending loop of "what ifs" smile.gif
laugh.gif true oso lar...
XP750
post Nov 24 2009, 12:29 AM

324 posts

it's exactly like my gf's diary
sweet_pez
post Nov 24 2009, 11:36 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Nov 16 2009, 06:32 PM)
yup ... totally agree ... but mostly its influence from parents / relatives ....

most parents n relatives aka older generation ( including mine ) will always tot that having a popular job is a guaranteed success ... when i failed to get my degree i worked as sales b4 .... n during CNY everyone juz ask me wats my job , i told them sales they'll either say "oh,sell wat?" or "thts y la , lazy so din get degree" .... while other cousins , their parents will gather up n start boasting "wah,my son now auditor" , "my daughter goin to b dentist" , " my son engineer in a very big company"

so is it being a sales a humiliation? well at least to these ppl perspective , a job without a popular title n big company attach together means u r either low paid or u haf no bright prospect ... even once i got an offer to b officer in a mnc , pay is like 2-3k , but all ppl say no future n condemn me kaw-kaw ...
Don't waste any time or breath to be bothered by relatives like that. All of them had too much time to spare ard gossiping abt others. In time they'll understand the situation.

Sales isn't a humiliation. They are very much appreciated by companies coz they bring in revenues. You chose your job and path, so be proud of where you're walking. If you seem to think it's humiliating, then it is.

Why bother what others say? They told u there's no future coz they don't know. I'm sure you know better. If you make a choice based on what other ppl think/ say then that's really too bad.
gecodine
post Nov 25 2009, 10:57 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Nov 16 2009, 09:15 PM)
Being in Big4 for around 2 months, i can confirm that what TS said almost 99% is real but he or she forgot to mention one thing.
Why everybody whom already knew about the horror of Big4 (from anyone who cares to share) still WANTS to join.
Most that goes in armed with the objective of getting as much as they can before they got their professional title (3-4 years) then leave for for good.
The firm ALSO acknowledge this and unleash a full barrage of dung to juniors. The problem is can you absorb and handle it. So the manager thinks how mush s(he) can PUSH you and how much you can PULL from them. Its a situation where "You used me and I use you back". Win-win scenario or scratching your back is gross understatement.

In Big4 if you are dealing with Top40 MYS companies, then it will be true hell & nightmare for auditors (loads & loads of subsidiary to handle + lack of staff ). Some may think that if you finished your job than you can go home, yeah as soon as you finished it, another will kicks in and then another one. Not to mentioned the journey to client (if its far). My client is around 20km from my house (40km back & forth + traffic jam + toll).
Ok, if it really true.. Wut do u expect when u going out from Big4??? Just asking...
NoiZy
post Nov 26 2009, 11:29 AM

460 posts

Funny, but not exactly applicable to all though. Haha. Thanks for sharing
suz84
post Nov 26 2009, 04:46 PM

42 posts

Why everybody whom already knew about the horror of Big4 (from anyone who cares to share) still WANTS to join.
as a young person myself, i'll say, we tend to have this stubborn trait in us to want to try things out. tho we've heard of horror stories abt the amt of work / stress from working in a big firm, we'll still go head on with it... kind of like a point to prove that we can take it... or a challenge to ourselves that we'll survive. perhaps you could call it innocence or naive wink.gif

QUOTE(koht04 @ Nov 16 2009, 10:35 PM)
lol... u should try working at oversea... it's different....
not necessarily... as mentioned by others, nothing is easy in this world... we've to fight to survive or be successful. no doubt life overseas may be more laid back... where there's more work-life balance but it still doesn't mean that they don't work like shit or are assigned less-glamorous jobs such as photocopying etc... we've to pay our dues 1st before we can reach a comfy level

QUOTE(noonian @ Nov 17 2009, 02:08 AM)
the best is when a person complains about the job being boring n unsuitable...then blames the boss, the company n the whole wide world...

but when asked "what do you want to do then?", the answer is a "i dunno"....  doh.gif
truly just feel like smacking them in the head or shaking them to wake up huh!!! biggrin.gif
geo
post Nov 26 2009, 05:08 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

thanks for sharing smile.gif
moody5
post Nov 26 2009, 05:38 PM

296 posts

this article sounds true in most of the working life.. I think people just get too comfort and get bored over doing the similar things for too long

But, the company won't 'die' even the CEO left the company

after complaining still need to work

this is working life biggrin.gif
cherylds
post Mar 21 2011, 10:19 PM

78 posts

a very nice article smile.gif

I was from the Big 4 ,, in the IT dept my pay was just average but the workload is alot. Therefore , I left and joined by previous line, Service Desk Analyst for 30 % pay rise and less workload

My parents were furious at me for leaving the Big 4 . For me at the end of the day, the pay cheque that matters most cos that's the one that gonna support my live hood .

Don't get me wrong, i have nothing against the Big 4 .
cks
post Mar 22 2011, 12:39 AM

934 posts

totally agree... but i think most of the fresh grads will experience this.. this is life.. almost everyone will ned to experince it this way.. anyway.. 24 hours aday.. its fixed.. it is depend on us to plan and fully utilise it!

SUSMaterazzi
post Mar 22 2011, 08:15 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 16 2009, 06:01 PM)
If you go and ask form five or college kids what they want to be, most of them will say engineers, doctors, lawyers, accountants. Any other profession is not considered as successful. I think its the lack of knowledge on careers that most malaysian have. I remember all my matriculation mates wants to be in medical (eyes, teeth, Pharm, etc) or engineering. Whether they know what engineers do is different matter. When i told one of my teacher im taking Geology, he even asked me how bad my final examination are.
petroleum engineer,pilot, IT engineer earns more

Added on March 22, 2011, 8:26 am
Being in Big4 for around 2 months, i can confirm that what TS said almost 99% is real but he or she forgot to mention one thing.
Most that goes in armed with the objective of getting as much as they can before they got their professional title (3-4 years) then leave for for good.
The firm ALSO acknowledge this and unleash a full barrage of dung to juniors. The problem is can you absorb and handle it. So the manager thinks how mush s(he) can PUSH you and how much you can PULL from them. Its a situation where "You used me and I use you back". Win-win scenario or scratching your back is gross understatement.

In Big4 if you are dealing with Top40 MYS companies, then it will be true hell & nightmare for auditors (loads & loads of subsidiary to handle + lack of staff ). Some may think that if you finished your job than you can go home, yeah as soon as you finished it, another will kicks in and then another one. Not to mentioned the journey to client (if its far). My client is around 20km from my house (40km back & forth + traffic jam + toll).
haha...I'm not in big 4 but I'm provided to live at 4-stars hotel since their place is too far,so I work in hotel and the meals are free.
I have worked for 5 months (freshie) A1, and I have handled Advance, advance to sales payable account receivable, account payable, other receivable, other payable,accrued expenses, summarize the tax, payroll,summary the annual general meeting, fixed assets, vouching, print, photocopying, lead schedule, reporting ( TB to working paper), discuss and follow up with clients, some consolidation, disclosures, analytical review,planning, do materiality, understanding clients' business,review.. this month I clock up to 2 a.m to absorb all learnings just within 6 months. I wanna quit audit line, I just suck up for learning, which one I have not learned??? so buddies, is my experience lots? 70% already? I have experience with client with revenues more than USD$4 billions or just $500K-10 million.

the first 2 months, I didn't learn anything.

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Mar 22 2011, 08:29 AM
kidmad
post Mar 22 2011, 10:38 AM

4,482 posts

Cool story but that's just typical imo. The person who wrote the article had failed to see the plus point which he gained through out the course.

For my case when i came out, i never thought of Big4 or top IT Services recruiter. I just need a job which is challenging enough for me. True enough working on weekends and late night occasionally but as a freshie i tend to take all this opportunity as a learning curve.

Well, i got the recognition, more responsibility and stress level just increases day by day but yet the pay i am receiving is not adequate to the job i am receiving. This had became the major factor for me to move on. I insisted to continue on what i am doing as it seems i really like what i am doing. I am doing different things daily, other people's problem had became mine. Basically my job scope is to solve and provide customers with solution to their issue (Business not personal).

The sales rep are being paid so well (2-4 times my salary) but i can see their stress level is so much more higher. Chasing for figures daily, working till late night most of the time and more importantly doing things which i don't like. Being screwed by their boss and clients day and night had became a norm to them. The company offered me a sales specialist job with higher benefit and salary with commission but unfortunately i can't imagine myself working without pride.

I left the company eventually and thanks to the persistent which i had, i landed with a job which is so much more easier and paid so much better compared to my previous job. In 3 years time, i've double the gain from my 1st job.

*What is most important to me is having pride doing what you are doing, love what you are doing and know what you are best in.

*Many would see the other field has greener grass and tempted to jump over to the other field without any experience playing on it. What causes them to lose out is actually they have failed to see what's better in their own field and they've actually failed to excel on it.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Mar 22 2011, 10:40 AM
magiclover
post Mar 25 2011, 08:35 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Mar 22 2011, 08:15 AM)
petroleum engineer,pilot, IT engineer earns more

Added on March 22, 2011, 8:26 am

haha...I'm not in big 4 but I'm provided to live at 4-stars hotel since their place is too far,so I work in hotel and the meals are free.
I have worked for 5 months (freshie) A1, and I have handled Advance, advance to sales payable account receivable, account payable, other receivable, other payable,accrued expenses, summarize the tax, payroll,summary the annual general meeting, fixed assets, vouching, print, photocopying, lead schedule, reporting ( TB to working paper), discuss and follow up with clients, some consolidation, disclosures, analytical review,planning, do materiality, understanding clients' business,review.. this month I clock up to 2 a.m to absorb all learnings just within 6 months. I wanna quit audit line, I just suck up for learning, which one I have not learned??? so buddies, is my experience lots? 70% already? I have experience with client with revenues more than USD$4 billions or just $500K-10 million.

the first 2 months, I didn't learn anything.
Wow! So much experience eh? Very great wor, power.
So what's your point??????
singa89
post Mar 25 2011, 11:39 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

his point is that he wants to quit audit.....
magiclover
post Mar 25 2011, 12:32 PM

285 posts

First boast about 4 star hotel, free meals and extensively Long list of jargons, saying that he learnt 70% of audit, then say he learnt nth in first 2 months, meanin he learnt 70% of audit within 3 months?? Isn't it great ? How much can an auditor learn by taking the dates description number and amount of invoices??
areola
post Mar 25 2011, 12:46 PM

56 posts

Nice post TS. Should print and hand out to those collecting their SPM results the other day..
seantang
post Mar 25 2011, 01:05 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Mar 22 2011, 08:15 AM)

In terms of impact to the success of an audit assignment, that's probably 5%. In terms of being a full A1 that a senior can depend on to work independently during field work, maybe 40-50%.
SereneAshley
post Mar 25 2011, 04:25 PM

95 posts

Oh god..reading this just scares the hell outta me rclxub.gif . I just finished my pre-u with good results and here i am thinking where to do my accountancy degree. But after reading this, it really forces me to reconsider cos i don't even know what i want to do in the future. I chose accountancy for the same reasons, good prospects,stable job etc.

Since most of you have working experience, would you still advice me to join the accounting profession?I'm supposed to make my decision by July.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0231sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:00 PM