Travel All About Hong Kong V2, A place to share things about Hong Kong

moody5
post Sep 22 2011, 12:23 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 22 2011, 11:42 AM)
walao, ur 6nights = rush and my 3nights = cant make it at all

After reading and i find my 4d 3n definitely not enough.
Initial plan,

Day 1 - Arrived MAcau in the morning then gonna spend it in Macau.
Day 2 - Wake up early for breakfast then leave macau to HK around 10pm. Mostly will be Wax, the symphony of lights then peak then LKF.
Day 3 - Disneyland / shopping around at night.
Day 4 - Ocean park / Shopping and leave to airport around 9pm biggrin.gif

Should i just make it Macau one day without spending a night there?
wax museum is located at The Peak
moody5
post Sep 22 2011, 05:23 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Sep 22 2011, 02:14 PM)
Well, the one that got 1st class treastment in HK nowadays are the China tourists!  They don't even have to wear nice branded shirt and speak mat salleh english for that.  Seems like it is Ok if the HK shopkeepers do not speak English, but must know how to speak Mandarin!  After 1997, the China tourists are treated like Emperor/God/Goddess coz of their strong buying power.  Ironically, people go to Mainland to buy fake branded goods but the mainlanders go over to HK to buy the real branded goods!
yea..

if you look like typical Chinese and those staffs in Tourism places will talk to you using their lousy Mandarin.. biggrin.gif
moody5
post Sep 28 2011, 09:15 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 27 2011, 05:53 PM)
any nice and budget stays to recommend for 1nite in Macau? Nearby to majority of the attractions will be good biggrin.gif

I dunno should i take the night ferry to HK, so i can save the waking up early to catch the ferry to HK next day.
Metropark Hotel
Metropole hotel

make sure you don't put up a night in Macau during weekend as the weekend pricing is at least 30% more than weekday
moody5
post Sep 28 2011, 11:28 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 28 2011, 10:27 AM)
thanks!
Will check on this.

Sorry for so much questions.

Best Pork Burger in Macau??? biggrin.gif
There is one famous one in Taipa (you just need to tell the taxi driver: Tam Zai Zhu Pa Bao)and another one in Macau City center near to the street which sell biscuits.
moody5
post Sep 28 2011, 03:34 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 28 2011, 02:48 PM)
Taxi everywhere in Macau?? Not really for my last trip. I have to stand and wait for like almost 45mins before we get a cab.

Because the place we wait is not a bus/taxi stand hence people are waiting for cab here and there, no queues and whatsoever . Besides cab that pass through us is really limited
wow where was it?

Added on September 28, 2011, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(leonghan @ Sep 28 2011, 02:50 PM)
i see, but the Macau cab maximum are 5 passengers rite ?

i wish to book Cotaijet but failed and now i have to travel from Tsim Sha Tsui to Sheung Wan and take Turbojet to Macau....swt~
If you are in Tsim Sha Tsui, you can take First Ferry

http://www.nwff.com.hk/eng/fare_table/loca.../?section=Macau

This post has been edited by moody5: Sep 28 2011, 03:36 PM
moody5
post Sep 29 2011, 09:07 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(hax123 @ Sep 28 2011, 08:25 PM)
guys,
between turbojet, cotai and first ferry, what's the different?
in terms of journey time, and comfort.

and also, i saw there are different class, normal and first class or something like that. does that make a difference? there seem to be not much info on the websites.
major different is, their departure and arrival pier.

If you are traveling from Macau Downtown to Central (HK) then take Turbojet (Better way if you are staying in HK island)
If you are traveling from Macau Taipa to Central then take Cotai
If you are traveling from Macau to Kowloon Island (HK) then take first ferry (Better way if you are staying in Kowloond island)
moody5
post Oct 3 2011, 03:21 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 3 2011, 02:11 PM)
SCB should be quite common in HK rite? hahaa
SCB = standard charted?

Not really..
moody5
post Oct 3 2011, 05:55 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Oct 3 2011, 04:30 PM)
ya SCB = Standard Chartered.

Really? hmm i tot SCB used to be very strong in HK for asian region.
nope. they weren't common at all.
moody5
post Oct 4 2011, 06:56 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Magician @ Oct 4 2011, 12:53 PM)
anyone know the temp in Hong kong right now?
Its cold, do need to wear coat/jacket a not.

The temp will it be colder than genting?
around 26°C

definitely warmer than genting
moody5
post Oct 5 2011, 09:27 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Oct 4 2011, 09:32 PM)
What abt early Nov?Say 1st wk of Nov?Shud be ard Genting temp? hmm.gif
around 20°C like that

erm.. i wear short sleeve and short pants even it was around 20°C during day time.
Only put on cardigan when i was at The Peak at night
moody5
post Oct 7 2011, 02:56 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(phangphang @ Oct 7 2011, 02:46 PM)
Not Ding Ding... Ocean Park increases the entrance fee to HKD 300 now..
no choice lo coz they renovated and brought in new thing to Ocean Park
moody5
post Oct 10 2011, 05:57 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(may_saw87 @ Oct 10 2011, 04:32 PM)
2. the last time i went seafood was quite expensive there though.  (well if you compared it here) So i never tried.
biggrin.gif actually Hong Kong people source their seafood from Sandakan

This post has been edited by moody5: Oct 11 2011, 09:24 AM
moody5
post Oct 13 2011, 08:50 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(cynnz @ Oct 13 2011, 01:14 AM)
Thanks XiuKeong...i will buy from Ding Ding Travel...

meanwhile, may i know, for the crystal cabin, is it to be shared with others, or i can choose to have it for only 2 persons (me & my sis) ?

and does anyone know how much is the price difference between "One way crystal + one way normal" AND "Both ways crystal" ?

T hanksssss!!!
You can't choose to be alone unless you pay to be alOne. The staff there will arrange for you.
moody5
post Oct 18 2011, 03:28 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(deqna @ Oct 18 2011, 02:20 PM)
how's the currency exchange rate in hong kong?
is it cheaper to change in malaysia or hong kong ?

i just went to wawasan at midvaley today, HKD and RMB already increase compared to last week.. now 100HKD - rm40.30, even RMB also high.. 100RMB - RM50..

Anybody knows where is the cheapest money changer in KL for HKD and RMB ? I'm going to HK and Shenzhen this weekend..
cheaper to change in Malaysia

thats the current rate already as ringgit weakened againts USD caused we need to pay for to get HKD and Remninbi
moody5
post Jan 17 2012, 10:22 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jan 17 2012, 02:36 AM)
I'm departing for HK/Macau for a 6days vacation....

I would to ask how much should i top up the octopus card given that my group will mostly use MRT, buses.... Should i buy a prepaid card for HP??

Is the budget of RM2k -2.5k per person is enough? (not including accommodations)

Since i'll be there during winter, 10kg for luggage sufficient??
ur budget is enough for food, transport, drink and little bit of shopping

Re octopus card, if you are using it to buy drink or snacks from convenient store too, i think you can top up 200 HKD first
moody5
post Jan 18 2012, 11:54 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jan 17 2012, 08:04 PM)
Thx moody5, I think i should top up more for the octopus card cuz can buy snacks from convenience store...

I wanna ask anyone with experience in HK during winter, wat to expect in terms of weather and crowd?
you can top up a bit by a bit i.e 100HKD one time
coz it is very easy n convenient to top up!

you can check the weather here
http://www.wunderground.com/global/stations/45007.html
moody5
post Jan 19 2012, 11:26 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jan 18 2012, 05:51 PM)
when i at HK, i straight top up HKD500 when i bought it, end up not enuf top up another HKD500 biggrin.gif

when back refund back HKD100+ or so

spend so much coz buy beer, also when I dine at a place that accept it, i will use it because i dont want all those coins

you were drinking a lot and dine at place that accept it, sure lah!

Normally i top up HKD200-300 for 5 days (i didn't buy new card)
moody5
post Jan 19 2012, 02:44 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Jan 19 2012, 12:14 PM)
what's the best way to travel around hong kong?
bus? train?

should I plan my route before going or is it easy to travel around HK?
MTR
http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/homepage/cust_index.html

you can use this page to plan your route
moody5
post Jan 26 2012, 04:25 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jan 26 2012, 03:30 PM)
Got some questions to ask:

1. Is the Octo card applicable for ferry rides to Macau and vice versa?
2. Ferry recommendations betw HK-Macau if I want to depart/arrive at TST?

1. NOPE
2. First Ferry
moody5
post Feb 9 2012, 10:24 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 7 2012, 11:20 PM)
reporting in from HK now. Mongkok to be exact. weather is freaking cold now. yesterday is around 20 degrees. a bit hotter than Genting coz i went to Genting on Saturday. But today, weather forecast shows its 12 degrees outside, with a bit of rain, its really cold, don't even dare to open the window.

btw,  i have went to The peak, Avenue of Stars, Mongkok lady street. will be here for another 2 days before departing to Macau. Any other nice place to visit?
I am travelling alone, so didn't plan to go any Disneyland or Ocean Park. And got any special food that is a must try in HK? tried their curry fish ball, not really that good. The fish ball is like our keropok lekor, soft soft 1.
Must try:
Fei Je Snack in Mongkok
Fu Gei's Zha Liong + Porridge for breakfast then Roasted Goose + Char Siew + Ngao Yok Hor for lunch!
Roasted Pigeon from Tai Ping Koon Restaurant
Guai Ling Gou

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0516sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:30 PM