tripleB
post Jul 16 2015, 03:35 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 16 2015, 03:25 PM)
i remember my cousin had one of those
didn't use carts but cassette tapes
some radio thinggy hooked up to the tv
Gonna go out on a limb and say it's the Atari 2600. Because I remember reading it was also referred to as the Atari VCS (Video Cassete System).
tripleB
post Jul 16 2015, 06:23 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 16 2015, 04:50 PM)
actually it is "video computer system"

had one of those last time, dunno it still works or not  hmm.gif

LOL I must have mixed up VCR and VCS
tripleB
post Jul 17 2015, 07:19 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Jul 17 2015, 04:53 PM)
tripleB can you scout for prices for battle garegga & batsugun as well?

in case radiant silvergun is not available?

budget remains at max JPY10000 for complete w/spine card...
Saturn jugak ke? Dulu dapat beli Radiant Silvergun untuk Gundamalpha. Harga tak ingat pulak
tripleB
post Jul 22 2015, 06:23 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 22 2015, 09:18 AM)
LOL!

yeah! still wondering about the mystery console
Gee I feel silly now. Your mystery console wasn't that mysterious at all. Notice the Aquarius writing on the cassete? I just decided to google it, and found this

http://www.geekvintage.com/mattel-aquarius-cassette-list.php

It's the Mattel Aquarius home computer. That page even has the same pictures you used. I never, ever saw or used one of these before. I was using an IBM XT clone running DOS back then.
tripleB
post Jul 22 2015, 11:30 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(chinsc @ Jul 22 2015, 06:48 PM)
Bro tripleB, can carry in a system?? PC FX.....
Oh, consoles are not possible, sorry. The bigger the item, the more likely kena flag for customs checking (in Malaysia). If I try to smuggle in without declaring, and get caught, it's gonna be troublesome. On the other hand, if I do declare, and kena tax, it might be more expensive than you are willing to pay.

I need to limit items to games and accessories only. Meaning controllers, memory cards, batteries etc are still fine. Portables are still fine, like Gameboy or 3DS.
tripleB
post Jul 23 2015, 09:42 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 23 2015, 09:17 AM)
well i dunno if it is the aquarious or not because i remember it just looks like an old skool radio

drills was only an example  sweat.gif
Oh haha my bad. I thought you specifically meant what console/system played these games. There were quite a few computer systems that used cassette storage, including the Commodore 64. Back in the old days, I used to read the instruction manuals on computer games front to back, and I always read something about the LOAD command for the C64. It had a cassette drive as an I/O medium.

The thing is, I never knew anyone with a Commodore back then, let alone use one. I only decided to google it since I'm also curious about which cassette system you are looking for. Could this be it?

tripleB
post Aug 3 2015, 01:17 PM

201 posts

Eh, Sega MD consoles cannot play Genesis titles kan? Tangan ada gatal nak bawak balik console satu. Belum decide nak ambik the actual consoles or one of those hybrid third party consoles.
tripleB
post Aug 3 2015, 06:45 PM

201 posts

Oh most likely Japanese NTSC version. Since I go there all the time, it would make the most sense. Easier to bring back new haul
tripleB
post Aug 9 2015, 10:01 PM

201 posts

Ok just getting things moving again. As a reminder, I'm leaving for Japan on 16 September. It's just slightly more than a month until go time. I'm going to be compiling the list of items that I'm going to look for. If you have anything to ask, it has be before my departure date.
tripleB
post Aug 11 2015, 08:33 AM

201 posts

Have to look around of course. Hopefully it's still in circulation.
tripleB
post Aug 12 2015, 12:32 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 12 2015, 10:17 AM)
back then major hardware makers all dabbled in making consoles too i remember apple pipen and philips had one too but forgot the name
Brrrrrr. Bro, you're talking about the Philips CD-i. The console that managed to make a Zelda game horrible. Just in case you're not familiar, there's a licensed Legend of Zelda game called Link the Faces of Evil. Try looking it up. That game more or less sums up the issues with the CD-i
tripleB
post Aug 12 2015, 09:07 PM

201 posts

Yeah back when the console crowd kept using "bits" as a measure of power. When the first Xbox came out, it was "only" running an Intel x86 architecture, with a 32-bit processor. Predictably, the PS2 diehards were like lololol Xbox suk only 32 bits lolol.

Still, even if it really was a 64-bit console, the Jaguar had shit games, with that awkward controller. It was just never gonna fly. But it DID give the world Alien Vs Predator, which looked really awesome back in the day.
tripleB
post Aug 19 2015, 05:27 PM

201 posts

Donno why I was so obsessed with consoles. Even when my PC could already play Mortal Kombat (with no sound card!), for some reason I still envied those with Megadrive or SNES. Heck I still wanted a Micro Genius! Maybe it was because my old PC only had like 40MB hard drive, no sound card, no CDROM drive.
tripleB
post Aug 29 2015, 05:10 PM

201 posts

Which PlayStation packaging is that?
tripleB
post Sep 3 2015, 06:27 PM

201 posts

2 weeks left till go time! Now would be a good time to recap what you guys want me to look for. Or, if there's anything else you want me to check out.
tripleB
post Sep 7 2015, 07:07 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Sep 7 2015, 05:55 PM)
while you are at it, can you find out for me if those shops also buy your stuff?

meaning they buy stuff from foreigners?
Yes, but ONLY Japanese titles. I've sold some stuff before.
tripleB
post Sep 8 2015, 12:20 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Sep 7 2015, 08:34 PM)
is it possible if I want to sell some thru you?

so I just need to top up some extra cash for the items i'm considering buying...
Tak sempat la bro. Next week gerak dah. Kalau cakap awal2 boleh arrange ambik barang. Nak jual game ke?
tripleB
post Sep 8 2015, 01:47 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Sep 8 2015, 12:23 PM)
yup. tapi ok lah, at least now i know they do buy stuff from tourists.

dia bagi store credit ke cash money? store credit also ok, cash even better...

maybe one day if enough money i'd bring stuff there bcos too many stuff that i no longer play/enjoy...
Dia bayar cash. Biasanye jual kat Super Potato. Tapi harga tak lumayan la. Sebab dia akan assess lepas tu bagi kita harga. Kalau setuju dia akan mintak passport, lepas tu proceed ngan purchase process.
tripleB
post Sep 15 2015, 10:29 PM

201 posts

Flying off tomorrow~~~~ rclxm9.gif Ohhhhh I really need this vacation. Now then, I've compiled the list of stuff that I will be looking for and put it in a nice checklist on my phone. In case there are still others, you can add it here or PM me. I will have even less time to check out electronics this time, as I am bringing someone around for the first time. And this trip includes both Tokyo AND Osaka, so a lot of time will be spent traveling.

tripleB
post Sep 16 2015, 08:06 AM

201 posts

The 3DSLL and new 3DS battery right?

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:07 AM