Golden Oldies, In memory of...

tripleB
post Oct 19 2014, 07:08 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 19 2014, 12:50 AM)
famicom = micro genius?
Well, the Micro Genius was a Famicom clone actually. It became so popular in Malaysia, even I thought it was a legit console. The Famicom was the original 8-bit Nintendo console, renamed to the US as the Nintendo Entertainment System, with a reworked cartridge shape to make it look less like a toy.
tripleB
post Oct 19 2014, 07:13 AM

201 posts

Just sharing some of the stuff I got this time. The only item I did surprisingly come across is Guardian Heroes for Saturn. The rest are fairly common, just to add to my collection. And uhh, Azel the Panzer Dragoon RPG was accidentally bought twice. This is what happens when you don't go through your stuff hmm.gif In case anyone wants to buy it off me, just let me know.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
tripleB
post Oct 19 2014, 11:43 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(killermall @ Oct 19 2014, 10:57 AM)
PE only 200¥? Damned cheap
Damaged spinecard. But still, I don't remember finding it at that price either. The first PE is one of the games I loved from Square back then. The current Squeenix, as they are right now, would just further anime their stories. Anyhow, I acknowledge that there are people who liked PE2 and even the 3rd Birthday, but I still consider PE1 as the best in the series.
tripleB
post Feb 4 2015, 10:48 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Jan 29 2015, 10:39 PM)
some recent items:

[attachmentid=4322825]

Did you know 2014 was the 25th anniversary of the release of Final Fight in the arcades?

They released this 6 disc collection to celebrate.

Featuring Final Fight music and a special DVD featuring superplay (longplay) of Final Fight and a recent tournament for Final Fight Revenge (!)...

[attachmentid=4322829]

Also got these for cheap (well just before the MYR crashed...)

this will probably the last items purchased for now.

MYR - USD rates pretty much suck right now.
Cyberbots! I really need to play this game one day. It's probably the only Capcom fighter I didn't play from the 90s, and I've played them all, including Final Fight Revenge when it came out in 1999. I think I have the Saturn version, can't remember though. Need to look through my stash of Saturn stuff.
tripleB
post Feb 4 2015, 11:21 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Feb 4 2015, 10:56 AM)
Didn't you know? Cyberbots is Capcom's No. 1 game! ~ Devilotte
LOL. I only know Devilotte because of Puzzle Fighter, and I know Jin Saotome (and Blodia) from Marvel VS Capcom. And to think I know all of Capcom's creations sweat.gif
tripleB
post Feb 4 2015, 03:09 PM

201 posts

Yup. Two of his Infinity moves are Blodia Punch and Blodia Vulcan. I loved that the Blodia Vulcan switches to a view from within his mecha when it connects.

tripleB
post Feb 10 2015, 10:06 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 9 2015, 12:48 PM)
wow i didn't know about this game, never seen it here at the arcades.

checked the wiki it has a pretty cool storyline how could i have missed this, the graphics and gameplay seem to be in the same era as capcom vs marvel  hmm.gif

certainly better than this robot game dry.gif

Officially, Cyberbots was Japan only. I know that our arcades didn't really care whether it was Japan-only or whatever, but I never found a Cyberbots machine back then. I think it came out around 1997 or 1998, during Capcom's CPS2 days. Perhaps Capcom thought the west wasn't ready for this kind of game?

As for Rise of the Robots, well, the game did suck. But man, those were some killer graphics back in the day. Back when everyone used hand drawn sprites or digitized graphics, these guys were using 3D Studio, and boasting about using ray tracing techniques. I remember drooling over magazine previews for the game, and couldn't believe such graphics were possible. Too bad the game played like balls. Like, even the stupid special moves were hard to successfully perform.
tripleB
post Feb 11 2015, 07:11 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Feb 10 2015, 01:59 PM)
I remember there was a couple of cyberbots arcade in Sungai Wang way back in the day, there is actually 2 cyberbots game. It started with a beat them up (final fight type) first then moved on to VS fighting.  Can't recall if Sungai Wang have both or one of the other.  biggrin.gif
Holy shit I was wrong. Cyberbots was a 1995 game! No wonder I never saw it. I was not actively playing in arcades during that time. Form 2 student, no access to "friendly" arcades. Seriously, who the hell thought that only 18 year olds and above play games? doh.gif

As for the prequel game, it was something called Armored Warriors (Powered Gear in Japan). Yet another Capcom game I missed, due to the 18 years only thing. Blodia's first appearance was in this game apparently. Well, the more I know!
tripleB
post Feb 12 2015, 04:51 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Feb 12 2015, 02:14 PM)
Fren, I was also in secondary school during the 90s but I can also masuk arcade .. hehehehe  tongue.gif . I remember you cannot go in with school uniform only (some went to the toilet to change shirt) during weekdays and I was mostly there in Sungai Wang arcades on the weekends. Fun times before the arcade purge in the late 90s.
Hehe I also curi-curi, but specifically during 1995-1997, I never touched an arcade. Not convenient to go to Sg Wang back then, and the only arcade near my place is the one next to my tuition center. Wheee. But yeah, those were the fun times. I miss the arcade era of the 80s and 90s. cry.gif
tripleB
post Jun 11 2015, 10:25 AM

201 posts

Hey guys, it's me again. Just giving a heads up that I'll be in Japan again for my annual trip. This time I'll be in both Tokyo AND Osaka. I'll be flying in to Tokyo on 16 September, then leaving for Osaka on 19 or 20, and will fly out of Osaka on 23 September.

As usual, I'll be checking out Akihabara and DenDen Town to check out games and other stuff. If you guys have any requests, feel free to let me know. Standard rules, only limited to games or small items. Handhelds are okay, for example. Games and accessories are okay. Consoles are off limit, purely because of size. Besides, it might get flagged during customs check.

There's still close to 3 months before my trip, so there's plenty of time to reach me. Just update to this thread, or PM me for requests. Thanks!
tripleB
post Jun 11 2015, 09:15 PM

201 posts

The Retron 5 is a real product, capable of playing NES/SNES/Famicom/Super Famicom/Genesis/Megadrive and Gameboy all the way to GBA. But I've been reading negative reviews of the Retron 5, because it breaks easily. The cartridge slot pin breaks easily after just a short amount of use. I also was interested in it, until I read the negativity surrounding it. That was last year though, I'm not sure if they're fixed that issue.
tripleB
post Jun 13 2015, 01:07 PM

201 posts

16 September like I mentioned. Bringing someone as tour guide again.
tripleB
post Jun 14 2015, 01:41 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jun 13 2015, 11:08 PM)
Read that its actually an emulator (android) running with hardware pinout for controllers and cartridge slot. Summore the make just copy the open source emulators without giving credit to the open source community.

I prefer to run on actual hardware for nostalgia sake smile.gif (not those nes on a chip kind)
Well, to be fair, most modern clones are just running emulators instead of the actual hardware, or at least a derivative, like the old days of Famiclones. I'm the same, prefer to have them on actual hardware. I might be looking at a Megadrive or Super Famicom for this trip. Either that, or buy one of those Famicom/Super Famicom machines. Hmmmm decisions, decisions.
tripleB
post Jul 2 2015, 04:09 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Jul 2 2015, 12:20 AM)
if radiant silvergun w/ spine card is selling for JPY10000 or less, hook me up...
Cuba cari nanti la. Sometimes beli kat Trader, sometimes kat Super Potato. The Char Aznable 3DS dulu beli kat Trader.
tripleB
post Jul 6 2015, 11:22 AM

201 posts

I have no idea. Super Potato does carry stuff like stickers, plushies and toys, but not too sure about those items. I can try looking for them though.
tripleB
post Jul 7 2015, 10:12 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Jul 7 2015, 10:15 AM)
TripleB just want to know if is possible to buy 3DSLL battery and handcarry to airport. Will the Japan kastam confiscate or let you go? My 3DSLL battery is dead, looking for a replacement but want to get a Original one.
I helped buy quite a few battery packs for the 2014 trip, should be no problem. Better to stow in luggage though, I've never tried to handcarry these stuff. It's the internal rechargeable battery for 3DSLL right? Just in case there are other types.

Oh wait, you're just asking me if it's possible to handcarry the battery pack to the airport? Not asking me to look for you?

This post has been edited by tripleB: Jul 7 2015, 10:14 PM
tripleB
post Jul 7 2015, 11:10 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Jul 7 2015, 10:17 PM)
Yes. If possible can you help me to get one 3DSLL rechargable and one new3ds rechargable battery? A total of 2 battery. Boleh?
Sure. Just need to make sure I have the right product. So 3DSLL is the old one, and new 3DS is the new one right? Or is there such a thing as new 3DSLL? I'm not that familiar with 3DS.
tripleB
post Jul 9 2015, 05:15 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 9 2015, 02:43 PM)
maybe can help me wif the usb?
Need to find of course. USB drives are sold almost everywhere, but I'm not sure about novelty ones. If you know the name of the store selling it, it will make my search easier.
tripleB
post Jul 9 2015, 08:27 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Jul 9 2015, 07:29 PM)
tripleB kena bayar you dulu the battery? Or tunggu you balik?
No need for payment yet. Belum tau the ringgit to yen conversion. That's why I always buy first, ask for payment later. Oh, just in case anyone is not familiar with my modus operandi. I don't take any profits off this, just helping fellow gamers out. Instead, I'll just take a flat RM10 fee from your total purchase. No matter the price of the item, I will just ask for RM10. Postage will be borne by the buyer of course. Otherwise, you just pay me back the total amount + RM10.
tripleB
post Jul 16 2015, 03:05 PM

201 posts

Never used one of these, but I know about the old systems where you stored the games on cassettes. Must have been very cool stuff back the day.

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0607sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:15 PM