TS you are just unlucky..i have many only child friends and they are treated just like any other person
Is it a sin to be the only child in family ?, ( Anak Tunggal ) Serious Talk
Nov 6 2009, 01:50 AM
2,150 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
TS you are just unlucky..i have many only child friends and they are treated just like any other person
Nov 6 2009, 09:43 PM
454 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(markerpen @ Nov 5 2009, 05:57 AM) the fact that you're trying to hide your status further amplifies the situation. Really good advise for someone that experienced ittake me for example, instead of being an only child, im the last child of 4. imagine having a brother and 2 sisters as your elders. people tease me, yea i cannot avoid that. but i try working around it. instead of being a sponge and absorb everything, i at least pull off some punches. like making jokes about someone's nose, or something something. u see, if you point out something worth making fun of out of the people who makes fun of you, it kinda almost turns the table. and most importantly, they will know that you're not just a sponge. i try to hide my status, yes i dont doubt that. but when someone knows, i just act like its no big deal. i never tell, if no one ever asks. if someone knows, and ask me, i just go 'yea, its true. so..?' u know, things like that. This post has been edited by Sifha238: Nov 8 2009, 11:15 PM |
Nov 6 2009, 10:01 PM
15,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Heights |
This is probably one of the weirdest crap I ever heard of. What is there to talk about anak tunggal? I don't see how funny can this be and what is wrong being anak tunggal?
Nov 8 2009, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Nov 6 2009, 11:01 PM) This is probably one of the weirdest crap I ever heard of. What is there to talk about anak tunggal? I don't see how funny can this be and what is wrong being anak tunggal? No until you experienced it yourself This post has been edited by Sifha238: Nov 8 2009, 11:15 PM |
Nov 8 2009, 10:27 PM
304 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Well, i understand that they call anak tunggal manja and spoilt but otherwise it shouldn't be too much of a problem. Some of my friends call me spoilt(i am kinda spoilt heh) and although it kinda sucks sometime but it's never something i take so seriously because it's so petty. So yeah i do have experience and i think there's more to it than just anak tunggal.
btw /k/ what does 'face problem' mean? |
Nov 8 2009, 10:29 PM
952 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
yah... pls go dai..
Nov 8 2009, 10:40 PM
86 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Utter nonsense here, i'm the only child and yet i do not get all these treatments, there are so many friends and yet i haven't gotten any comments from them, and besides why do you even care what ppl say , just be yourself and care the rats ass about what ppl have to say abt u
Nov 8 2009, 10:54 PM
85 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Nov 4 2009, 10:11 PM) Is it a sin to be the only child in family ( Anak Tunggal ) ? Grow some balls and get some real friends with balls.The problem start when I was 7 years old ( standard 1 ) till now 21 years old ( working ) Primary school - Tend to get bully by some student because of my status. Things only get better when I'm in Standard 5 & 6 due of my physical (tall and a bit muscle) and also I be friend with some "bad student". Secondary school - I want but can't lie about my status because lots of my neighbour are in same school. No bully this time but student look down on me just because of that. Always call me pampered child ( anak manja ). As usual things get better after 2-3 years when they really know me ( not pampered ). I go to other school ( my father transfer ) when at Form 3. Things ok there because I lie to all my friend about my status. No one there ever think I'm the only child because they judge my by my attitude without knowing my status. College - I lie about my status at the first place but they know it later ( cannot avoid ). And as usual they start to change the way they look at me. They accuse my parents did all my stuff for me. From iron my shirt to wash my underwear ( which is not true ). I can get " all things in the world " etc. Things going well when I having Industrial Training for 6 month at this company. I taught things different between study time and work time, they really didn't care who you are. What matters is what you are. Work - I get caught at the first place when the interviewer ask my about my family status. I really hope she won't tell anyone in the office, but she did it. I hope working environment different from school / college but it's not any better. One of my college is "mulut celupar". She is the oldest in family so she kind of "hated" any youngest child in family ( never mention only child ). Guess what ? same old same old Things only gone wrong when people around me know I'm the only child in family. My life is consider stable right now but my friend will sometimes bring up the issue ( likes it's even an issue ) Is it a sin to be the only child in family ? |
Nov 9 2009, 07:52 AM
Nov 19 2009, 09:54 AM
684 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
TS, i really pity those people. Maybe they were brought up in such a situation where they judge the only child of the family to be gold spoon fed all the time.
Don't make it hard on yourself, just take it easy. As long they don't get in your way, you have nothing to lose. I come from a family of 2, my parents maintain perfect balance on both of us(there is no such thing as extra love or less love from parents). Even if you are spoon fed(I know you are not), so what? f**k em' ps: i know it's outdated but I just feel bad not commenting. This post has been edited by sameer27: Nov 19 2009, 09:55 AM |
Nov 19 2009, 09:59 AM
980 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Kuantan, Pahang |
Nov 19 2009, 10:07 AM
1,685 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I'm the only son.
Kindergarten: I'm the bully in school, like to bully the girl sitting next to me, make her cries. (Which I regret for what I did) Primary school: I got a bunch of 'brother' to hang out & we likes to talk pervert stuff in the school & was sent to the headmaster. (Which I never regret for what I did, just regret didn't pay attention in class). Secondary school: I got a bigger bunch of 'brother' to lepak-lepak in school. (Which I never regret making friend with them, just regret didn't pay attention in class.) Uni: I got a wide variety of friend and I think uni life is fun. (never regret having fun in uni, just regret didn't go after the girl I really want.) Work: Non of my customer know my status, but they knew my dad is my boss This post has been edited by gs20: Nov 19 2009, 10:09 AM |
Nov 19 2009, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(gs20 @ Nov 19 2009, 11:07 AM) I'm the only son. You father is a boss, you must be from rich family. No wonder la bros like to hang out with you. You must be the one that buy the cigarette for themKindergarten: I'm the bully in school, like to bully the girl sitting next to me, make her cries. (Which I regret for what I did) Primary school: I got a bunch of 'brother' to hang out & we likes to talk pervert stuff in the school & was sent to the headmaster. (Which I never regret for what I did, just regret didn't pay attention in class). Secondary school: I got a bigger bunch of 'brother' to lepak-lepak in school. (Which I never regret making friend with them, just regret didn't pay attention in class.) Uni: I got a wide variety of friend and I think uni life is fun. (never regret having fun in uni, just regret didn't go after the girl I really want.) Work: Non of my customer know my status, but they knew my dad is my boss Lucky you This post has been edited by Sifha238: Nov 19 2009, 08:55 PM |
Nov 19 2009, 08:01 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam, USJ |
TS,
I guess I experienced something like you. Was picked on for some period in various stage of my life. I was an only child like u too. When u're in school, almost every single kids had bro n sis, and had stories of fighting with bro n sis over something, or parents bias towards a bro or a sis, but we don't have. U tell stories that ppl could never understand, and ppl tell stories that u could never understand. Because u're different. Given the maturity of a typical school kid, they wun be able to understand and accept, they'll just judge n think u're weird. Given YOUR maturity at that time, u also cannot understand why they're picking on u, u only know they pick on u and assume something is wrong with u. There is nothing wrong with u. Probably nobody in ur life ever told u this, (nobody in ur life that u trusted at least), my parents also never gave me this reassurance n I also never asked, so I just wander around like lost soul, and so u judge urself based on wat happened in ur life. The more u start hiding urself, the more u live in fear co's u're afraid ppl will know ur real person n do nasty things. Now in the working world, ppl r more mature and accepting, sure u'll get some assholes like those u mentioned, but generally ppl r ok. My boss is an only-child, and we had a blast talking about our only-child experiences. As u meet more ppl, u start to understand it's no big deal. Shit happens. So, stop hiding. Next time ppl ask u "eh u got any bro n sis?" just answer "nahh.. only child ler .. four walls is my bro n sis lol". If u dun think it's weird, ppl wun think it's weird. law of attraction dude. Added: oh and once u stop hiding who u r, its time to start enjoying ur status. I have met a lot of only-child ppl that r immensely street-smart, independent and has high sense of autonomy. This post has been edited by LanEvo7: Nov 19 2009, 08:17 PM |
Nov 19 2009, 08:05 PM
27 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
why all people u meet really childish
even at work? so funny man |
Nov 19 2009, 08:06 PM
620 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
ure thinking too much.its in yr mind.
Nov 19 2009, 08:43 PM
184 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
i think only you having the only child problem
i dont behave differently if my friends are the only child |
Nov 19 2009, 08:52 PM
740 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Land of Smiles. |
nottu disu shittu agen. Srs talk - U just perasan. Seriously.
This post has been edited by xeda: Nov 19 2009, 08:52 PM |
Nov 19 2009, 09:46 PM
Nov 19 2009, 09:49 PM
1,279 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: behind you... |
u still dont see the reality of outside world dude...more harsh than what u experience...
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0182sec
5 queries
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:26 AM |