TS,
I guess I experienced something like you. Was picked on for some period in various stage of my life. I was an only child like u too.
When u're in school, almost every single kids had bro n sis, and had stories of fighting with bro n sis over something, or parents bias towards a bro or a sis, but we don't have. U tell stories that ppl could never understand, and ppl tell stories that u could never understand. Because u're different.
Given the maturity of a typical school kid, they wun be able to understand and accept, they'll just judge n think u're weird. Given YOUR maturity at that time, u also cannot understand why they're picking on u, u only know they pick on u and assume something is wrong with u.
There is nothing wrong with u. Probably nobody in ur life ever told u this, (nobody in ur life that u trusted at least), my parents also never gave me this reassurance n I also never asked, so I just wander around like lost soul, and so u judge urself based on wat happened in ur life.
The more u start hiding urself, the more u live in fear co's u're afraid ppl will know ur real person n do nasty things.
Now in the working world, ppl r more mature and accepting, sure u'll get some assholes like those u mentioned, but generally ppl r ok. My boss is an only-child, and we had a blast talking about our only-child experiences.
As u meet more ppl, u start to understand it's no big deal. Shit happens.
So, stop hiding. Next time ppl ask u "eh u got any bro n sis?" just answer "nahh.. only child ler .. four walls is my bro n sis lol". If u dun think it's weird, ppl wun think it's weird.
law of attraction dude.
Added:
oh and once u stop hiding who u r, its time to start enjoying ur status. I have met a lot of only-child ppl that r immensely street-smart, independent and has high sense of autonomy.
This post has been edited by LanEvo7: Nov 19 2009, 08:17 PM
Is it a sin to be the only child in family ?, ( Anak Tunggal ) Serious Talk
Nov 19 2009, 08:01 PM
0.0112sec