QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Feb 16 2010, 04:16 PM)
can but only as stereo output. not real 5.1 surround because PS3 only supports stereo analog output.PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V3, Comparison and advice needed.
PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V3, Comparison and advice needed.
Feb 16 2010, 08:36 PM
2,193 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Feb 16 2010, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Feb 16 2010, 09:32 PM) so thats mean i dont get the real 5.1 surround..but i heard of Matrix mode..nvm so hard to explain.......>,< i know matrix mode. yea u can only get that upmix. not real surround. depends on your budget and your requirements...erm anyone know good 2.1 speaker ? actually my gaming room is large. should i get 5.1 or 2.1? |
Feb 21 2010, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(McRyan @ Feb 20 2010, 11:09 PM) guys, i plan to get vs4121 sooner or later, but i heard tat the current black version's sound is crap compare to previous one, is it true ? i came to a friend house, and setup his speaker after he move house. its the VS4121 gray with blue LED. the sound is terrible. i dont know is it because its already spoil or not. but to be sure the satellites are rubbish. i gave him my old Edifier X300 and the X300 satellites sounds better in comparison.in other place, i have listened both the gray and black version. subwoofer is boomy as usual. but since the satellites isnt good, overall experience it's like listening to the boom and the pitch only. vocal not clear, bass is not articulated as well, midrange is so thin. however it should be suitable for those using as first-person shooter gaming speaker. L4D and CS series will BOOOOOOOMMM in the VS4121 |
Feb 25 2010, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(Dai Li @ Feb 25 2010, 02:34 PM) hey guys.im thinking of getting a new speaker for my pc.been using my altec acs33 since like forever.plus the left speaker died about 2 years ago.been listening to song n movie thru one speaker n woofer only.lol.as for now..im not sure on getting either a 2.1 or 5.1..mostly gonna use for listening music, then movie..not much of a gamer tho. if u already have 5.1 capable sound card, then try 5.1. its better than 2.1 if you know how to configure it, only add some mess in your room.if i were to get a 5.1 system...will normal mp3 song get the surround sound effect?or do i have to use flac instead to make full use of the 5.1 speaker? regarding for the stereo mp3, u can upmix it by certain software or this and u get full 5.1 mp3s. |
Feb 25 2010, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Dai Li @ Feb 25 2010, 03:08 PM) so if i were gonna go for the 5.1, in order to have the rear/center and woofer produce sound, i would hav to get a soundcard rite?let say after getting the soundcard, is there anything else need to be done in order to have the surround sound for listening music? if you're using desktop, then most probably u already have the basic 5.1 onboard sound. if you're using laptop, most probably u need to buy an external 5.1 capable soundcard. after the soundcard u need to turn on the upmixing software so stereo mp3s will be upmixed to 5.1 sound.upmixing software is usually included in the soundcard. but most of them would be pretty basic, check here if you've acquired your 5.1 speakers. |
Feb 25 2010, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(Dai Li @ Feb 25 2010, 03:46 PM) ic.thanks for clearing that up for me. mostly it depends on your ears and also it depends on what is your previous system. if you're looking for a "huge" upgrade, then probably Edifier S550 or Logitech Z5500 fits the requirement. otherwise, something like Edifier R501 (rm400) should be good enough. one of the key points from the Logitech Z5500 is that it has versatile connection, it accepts optical and digital input such as if you're using PS3 or X360. an advantage if u have PS3 or X360.so there z5500, s550 and x540. the price kinda different kinda huge from the x540 and the other 2.or i shud get those 2.1(rm500-rm600) instead?is the x540 any good? |
Mar 6 2010, 02:57 AM
QUOTE(darkcurves @ Mar 6 2010, 02:20 AM) Hmm, not sure if that is sarcastic reply or what but from what i can see, when i play loud music, my roof vibrates, glass/mugs/plates vibrates in the kitchen and also sometimes it can shift things on my computer table. From outside my room, sounds like the woofer koyak already because windows are rattling so much. i agree that with 8" sub from pc speakers can shake lots of thing. when i used 4 5.25 6.5 inch pc speakers they never caught my neighbor attention. not even the gmx with well known boom. i don't know why people like this kind of vibration so much, even many posted them on youtube. it's noisy and disturb the music / movie. im doing the opposite, im trying to find cheap stuff that can help isolate this vibration.Bass wise very satisfied but they could have done a little better with the satts. If i wanna watch movies, i usually turn down the bass, or else the bass clouds the vocals. The reason i didnt go with Edifier is because i have a couple of friends who have them and all spoilt after warranty finish. To be fair, this was few years back, maybe they have improved their quality now. Hope this Logitech will survive. |
Mar 12 2010, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(darkcurves @ Mar 12 2010, 01:27 PM) Creative are prone to suddenly rosak? Sounds like same quality with Sonic Gear. I was considering Creative before my Z2300 but not many discuss about Creative speakers here. the volume control in wired remote is quite weak. if u turn it everyday it will give static. but just spray some WD40 its gone. i have one creative 2400 its workin perfectly after the spray. |
Mar 25 2010, 01:21 AM
i don't think so. S530 is far better than C3, at least in the shop.
Mar 31 2010, 01:57 PM
for <RM300 edifier, try the E3100 and HCS2330.
Apr 1 2010, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(thken @ Mar 31 2010, 09:36 PM) well i actually purchased a M1310 for my friend. comparing it to E3100 which uses similar subwoofer, 12W RMS and 5.25inch bandpass config, the E3100 slaps M1310 away easily. M1310 can be compared to X300 but i prefer X300.HCS2330 would be better, with improved power rating (from C2) and universal switching power supply. subwoofer is bigger, most likely sounds better than M1310. and the satellites also seems to be much better. the price is more than 2x of M1310 so performance will be definitely better. |
Apr 3 2010, 06:01 PM
then u can try the logitech z cinema or creative S750.
Apr 5 2010, 12:18 AM
with that budget (600) you are strongly encouraged to use PC speaker instead of home theater. altec lansing MX5021 or Logitech Z2300 or Edifier S530 may be suggested, please check it in your nearest stores.
Apr 5 2010, 02:10 AM
QUOTE(harrychoo @ Apr 5 2010, 01:23 AM) Thanks for ur suggestions. with the same price, see that most HT include dvd player and some other unessential features (e.g. design). so u decide, what makes it sound better than no frills PC speaker that ultimately serves as a speaker, not a dvd-player and speaker combo. Edifier S530, DA5000Pro and Altec MX5021 have wireless infrared remote. both has its strength and weaknesses.Do those models come with remote? It is a must as it will served as my 'home theater'. Actually what make those PC speakers better than home theater? what are you looking for? great bass? wide soundstage? clear voices? movies can be anything, everyone is not looking at the same objectives. |
Apr 5 2010, 11:45 AM
Edifier R501. i have one. clear voice, acceptable bass, infrared remote. RM400
Apr 20 2010, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Apr 20 2010, 06:15 PM) hi guys im looking advice to get a pc speaker i found my current speaker no good enuf esp the clarity is super sux after i listen to my frenz aego m but i dun think my budget allow me to get aego m im asking is edifier C3 good enuf (good clarity) i mean?im a music lover but i need at least some bass to ply some movies and games or any alternatve choice? QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Apr 20 2010, 06:41 PM) for edifier brand (rm400) try the S330, it has good tweeter.or the R501, decent performance with 5.1 channels for gaming and movies. |
May 7 2010, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ May 7 2010, 04:41 PM) Just went to LowYat to do some auditioning just now. i saw the A7 being sold already recently. too bad no chance to demo it. i know sonic gear quality is doubtful, but still i want to know what has they come up with. how was the A7? lol. T3 is sure quite nice, perhaps for edifier, you should try the S2000 or S2000V. it's the only thing i'm impressed with.It was pretty hard to hear as they're mostly playing crap music with either heavy metal or boring bass oriented dance hiphop stuff. But in between, there are a few songs that is actually music, from which i can at least try to derive some opinions. Edifier RL19000III - Frankly, not impressed at all....sound is way too muffle. Creative T-3 - Quite impressive. I think it's the best of the lot of all the speakers there...but of course, price also very best. Sonic A5 and A7 - Can't manage to hear much stuff as most are bass/heavy metal stuff when i try this. But the A7 does sounds better, IMO. But the sub is way too freaky big.... I dunno if it's just me...i've never been impressed with any Edifier speakers.....i tried auditioning them a while back....not impressed then, not impressed now. Hmm.... Too bad there's no Creative T20 or T40 on demo....sigh... i didn't see any Aego M speakers either...hardly any of the big stores carry this?? |
May 12 2010, 06:19 PM
^ do consider the Edifier MP210 as well. it's nice, miniature version of S2000V. for louder i think x mini max 2 will be loud.
May 12 2010, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(chingwooi @ May 12 2010, 09:00 PM) It's not the sub that makes the Edi S730 beats the Mako, it's the SQ of the speakers that makes me choose the S730 over the Mako. agree, the reason i did not really impressed by the S730 is because after long waiting from the news (S2.1 MK2) the 10" subwoofer doesn't actually sound as big. it's louder than most 8" but not deeper. of course, the satellites is very good, much much better than S330.p/s: Do you hv a better speaker to recommend over the S730? QUOTE(MusicForLife @ May 12 2010, 09:43 PM) no problem, all sound card should do well. but if you're using desktop you could actually get the PCIe xonar instead. |
Jun 8 2010, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(iCHiH @ Jun 8 2010, 08:30 PM) for computer speakers, usually the smaller will sound good in small rooms. because they are designed to. for bigger speakers are then designed for living-room listening, which is usually a medium / large room. but it does not entirely depends on the size. it depends on the engineer of the speakers itself. |
| Change to: | 0.0647sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:46 AM |