QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 5 2009, 10:16 AM)
yes i knowi just want to divert the attention to Hifi cos ...
if Digital 0/1 can have audio difference between different brands....
then what about Digital 0/1 in Video quality???
HDMI Cable Quality?, Really make a diffrent?
Nov 5 2009, 10:27 AM
1,409 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 5 2009, 10:16 AM) yes i knowi just want to divert the attention to Hifi cos ... if Digital 0/1 can have audio difference between different brands.... then what about Digital 0/1 in Video quality??? |
Nov 5 2009, 10:31 AM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(moomoos @ Nov 5 2009, 10:27 AM) yes i know then that;'s even more simple, just use a good digital camera and snap a shot each for A/B testing..i just want to divert the attention to Hifi cos ... if Digital 0/1 can have audio difference between different brands.... then what about Digital 0/1 in Video quality??? just like how they compare projector picture quality for video noise and artifacts etc.. then no need to argue anymore.. |
Nov 5 2009, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 5 2009, 10:26 AM) get it from reputable dealer lor... so detailed eye to notice the minute difference in HDMI quality between cable but cannot notice imitation products meh? can differentiate.....edited but imitation very difficult to tell launtil now i didnt say an expensive HDMI betters a cheapo HDMI ... correct!!! i just stress/debate that... there is a difference!! what i mean is if you pay few hundreds for a "pressumed original" not knowing its an imitation (you get a heartfelt erie feeling being conned, y take risk for monster) at the end of the day, not necessary an expensive HDMI will better a Cheapo HDMI, and neither did i say a cheapo HDMI will better an expensive one it all boils up to system compatibility my point here is just to debate there is actually a difference in HDMI cables.. phew !!!! gracias Added on November 5, 2009, 10:58 amaudible signals are much easier to differenciate when you hear a thunder, you can roughly tell how loud it is, but when you see the lightning flashes, you couldnt tell it brighter, fatter or thinner you just notice the flash ... correct??? but there is a difference This post has been edited by moomoos: Nov 5 2009, 11:35 AM |
Nov 5 2009, 11:18 AM
5,533 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Area 51 |
Nov 5 2009, 12:32 PM
Nov 5 2009, 01:22 PM
Nov 5 2009, 01:26 PM
Nov 5 2009, 01:35 PM
Nov 5 2009, 01:42 PM
better transfer to V4 thread later kena tembak for OT.. (apart from copy and paste malpractices)
Nov 5 2009, 02:20 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Nov 5 2009, 02:29 PM
2,289 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Stairway to Heaven |
QUOTE(moomoos @ Nov 5 2009, 09:00 AM) this topic.... very nice debating indeed.... Ok let me see if i can convince you.my fren, a sony technician and me did confirm there is a change, one HDMI seem to display clearer PQ than the other, and also for AQ the ambience is different As for me i believe there is a difference, but at the end of the day... The Decision is Yours Do you know how binary (0, 1) system works? A LCD tv is made of millions of pixels (or dots). 1920x1080(2 million pixels) for a FullHD tv Each pixel is encoded by binaries. If you see your GC properties, there is an option to choose 32-bit color or 16-bit color, this is what represents a pixel. 32 bit means 32 (0 or 1) to represent the color that a pixel can display. So take an example that you are displaying a fat straight line with some blur around the edges (which means grey pixels around it) These grey pixels can never becomes black pixels which will make the line looked clearer. WHY?? Because the cable can never know what encoding to make it display a black pixel. It doesn't have a chip/DSP for such algorithm. Similarly, if the picture is a well defined straight line with no grey pixels around it, a capalang cable can never make the pixels grey in color. At most (if the build quality is lousy), the encoding for that particular pixel got lost during the transmission and the TV will just display a weird color for pixel (white i think). Similarly is for audio. Do you know how analog signal is encoded into digital form? |
Nov 5 2009, 02:35 PM
1,006 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(fun_feng @ Nov 5 2009, 02:29 PM) Ok let me see if i can convince you. I am even more confused after hearing your opinion Do you know how binary (0, 1) system works? A LCD tv is made of millions of pixels (or dots). 1920x1080(2 million pixels) for a FullHD tv Each pixel is encoded by binaries. If you see your GC properties, there is an option to choose 32-bit color or 16-bit color, this is what represents a pixel. 32 bit means 32 (0 or 1) to represent the color that a pixel can display. So take an example that you are displaying a fat straight line with some blur around the edges (which means grey pixels around it) These grey pixels can never becomes black pixels which will make the line looked clearer. WHY?? Because the cable can never know what encoding to make it display a black pixel. It doesn't have a chip/DSP for such algorithm. Similarly, if the picture is a well defined straight line with no grey pixels around it, a capalang cable can never make the pixels grey in color. At most (if the build quality is lousy), the encoding for that particular pixel got lost during the transmission and the TV will just display a weird color for pixel (white i think). Similarly is for audio. Do you know how analog signal is encoded into digital form? |
Nov 5 2009, 02:43 PM
Nov 5 2009, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Nov 5 2009, 02:35 PM) Try to understand how pixel works http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PixelUnderstand how pixel is represented by 0,1(binary). THen u will know why a cable cannot affect the colors it is showing. Only the TV/GC/etc... can make the picture "better" using Digital Signal Processor (DSP)/software/etc.... A chipless HDMI cable can do nothing By "better", i mean the picture is not original but is "modded" to be more comfortable for human eyes |
Nov 5 2009, 02:54 PM
78 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
HI! i just bought my CPU yesterday and my graphic card has HDMI port and Display port (also optical connection for audio). I also have DELL 2408WFP at home with DisplayPort Cable already include. I also have 2.1 Speaker with optical Audio connection (but does not have HDMI I think). Now my question is, do i still need to buy HDMI cable for a more clearer FULL HD quality video, or is DisplayPort cable enough already? Is there alot difference if I also buy the optical cable for my sound?
Nov 5 2009, 03:08 PM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Nov 5 2009, 02:54 PM) HI! i just bought my CPU yesterday and my graphic card has HDMI port and Display port (also optical connection for audio). I also have DELL 2408WFP at home with DisplayPort Cable already include. I also have 2.1 Speaker with optical Audio connection (but does not have HDMI I think). Now my question is, do i still need to buy HDMI cable for a more clearer FULL HD quality video, or is DisplayPort cable enough already? Is there alot difference if I also buy the optical cable for my sound? Suffice to say, Display Port shd be enuf. |
Nov 5 2009, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(fun_feng @ Nov 5 2009, 02:29 PM) Ok let me see if i can convince you. lets say a HD 1080p of 1920×1080 native resolutionDo you know how binary (0, 1) system works? A LCD tv is made of millions of pixels (or dots). 1920x1080(2 million pixels) for a FullHD tv Each pixel is encoded by binaries. If you see your GC properties, there is an option to choose 32-bit color or 16-bit color, this is what represents a pixel. 32 bit means 32 (0 or 1) to represent the color that a pixel can display. So take an example that you are displaying a fat straight line with some blur around the edges (which means grey pixels around it) These grey pixels can never becomes black pixels which will make the line looked clearer. WHY?? Because the cable can never know what encoding to make it display a black pixel. It doesn't have a chip/DSP for such algorithm. Similarly, if the picture is a well defined straight line with no grey pixels around it, a capalang cable can never make the pixels grey in color. At most (if the build quality is lousy), the encoding for that particular pixel got lost during the transmission and the TV will just display a weird color for pixel (white i think). Similarly is for audio. Do you know how analog signal is encoded into digital form? means to say i would have 2,073,600 pixels correct !! so it will have est 2.7million dots of either a binary 1 or a binary 0 like ppl say digital is either a 1 or 0, means you get or dont get correct so if a LCD depends on only one digital signal of 0 or 1 to turn "ON" or "OFF" i truly understand but now so many million pixels meaning to form a picture, so its common maybe few thousands pixels cant decide whether is a 0 or 1, so it just passes out what it think it is or dont pass out at all,, meaning you still get a few thousands of "unstable correct" 0 or 1 signals... during this state of malfunction unstableness, what will happen??? you still get a picture right, but not getting the FULL picture. Am i correct to say??? Added on November 5, 2009, 3:19 pmCables do have resistance, maybe its the resistance that decide to let the 0 or 1 to pass thru or not or just left it idle.. Added on November 5, 2009, 3:28 pmDecision time 10101010101010110101010010110010101010100100100101010011010101010101001010101010101001010100101101001010 eg 1 10101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010101010 eg 2 looks identical correct, if yoo really count the pixel you compare you can see correct eg 2 is original signal and eg1 is the receiving signal so what if the HDMI cable cant decide and just alters the signal... ? cant imagine if you have 2.7million pixels gracias This post has been edited by moomoos: Nov 5 2009, 03:31 PM |
Nov 5 2009, 03:33 PM
78 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Nov 5 2009, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(moomoos @ Nov 5 2009, 03:13 PM) so what if the HDMI cable cant decide and just alters the signal... ? so you need to explain how this digital data loss due to HDMI, translate to analog video (what you see on the screen) being less "nice".. |
Nov 5 2009, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(moomoos @ Nov 5 2009, 03:13 PM) lets say a HD 1080p of 1920×1080 native resolution Firstly each pixel has 32 bits (0,1), so a FULL HD 1080p is 2 million x 32 bits = 64mil bits.means to say i would have 2,073,600 pixels correct !! so it will have est 2.7million dots of either a binary 1 or a binary 0 like ppl say digital is either a 1 or 0, means you get or dont get correct so if a LCD depends on only one digital signal of 0 or 1 to turn "ON" or "OFF" i truly understand but now so many million pixels meaning to form a picture, so its common maybe few thousands pixels cant decide whether is a 0 or 1, so it just passes out what it think it is or dont pass out at all,, meaning you still get a few thousands of "unstable correct" 0 or 1 signals... during this state of malfunction unstableness, what will happen??? you still get a picture right, but not getting the FULL picture. Am i correct to say??? Assume a 60Hz refresh rate which means 60x64 mil bits = 3.84Gbps + additional bits for CRC, audio and god knows what... is well within the range of HDMI 1.3 (10.2 Gbps) YOu must understand 0 or 1 is not ON or OFF this simple in this case. These 32 bits represent a coding that the TV understand so that it will project a color to the pixel. Then you must also understand something call CRC (Cyclic Redundancy Check). These bits transmit throught the cable in "packets". Any corrupted bits in the packets gets detected by the CRC algorithm which the TV calculates. Now the TV know that the packet for this particular pixel is spoilt, the TV will most probably display a default color for it, white if i am not wrong. You are correct you will still get a picture, but not getting the FULL picture. But if a few thousands pixels are corrupted, most probably your picture will have white patches on it. You will not get clearer picture, red is redder, sky is bluer etcc.... Anyway, the probabllity of getting corrupted bits is probably 0.0001%. |
| Change to: | 0.0312sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:34 PM |