TSEiraku
post Nov 7 2009, 09:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Somebody asked for a map? A quick trip to Paint.NET gave me this... biggrin.gif

Sorry, I'm crap at drawing, even on the computer... sweat.gif

Will be updating FP when I get a stable connection. I don't really trust my Celcom Broadband as of now... Don't want it crapping on me mid post.
TSEiraku
post Nov 7 2009, 09:29 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ Nov 7 2009, 09:07 PM)
Wa , so many ppl joining , still able to add 1 more ppl ?  tongue.gif

That day if my college imagine cup can finish before 3pm then i should be come to join it  laugh.gif
Come come, the "lepak with sifu and get poison at Starbucks" part of the gathering isn't attendance limited per se, it's just we're afraid that the shops won't take in too many people.... biggrin.gif

We're roughly at around 16-17 people right now (AKG audition + Crazy Poisoning Session)... Have to do a proper head re-count later... hmm.gif

I really didn't think it could swell up this much though... sweat.gif

I wonder how LYP would react to the sudden onslaught of cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 12:39 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Just to update for those interested, my Fuze LODs (yes, plural - I got two, somehow) are on the way. Hopefully they'll arrive on time for the meet, so we can all see if it DOES bring about a difference in how the Fuze sounds like.
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 01:38 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 8 2009, 12:58 AM)
how much is it bro? if price is right i might be interested!!!
I paid RM240 for 1 LOD + Express USPS shipping (the other LOD was a "failed experiment" or something, he said, and threw it in as a bonus). Price should come down closer to RM200 (even below maybe) if we have enough people in a bulk.

But first, I have to figure out the whole "Sorry, but your payment won't go through. To make it work, you'll need to add funds to your PayPal account" problem with PayPal first... mad.gif

It's really driving me completely nuts and hampering my chances to arrange for a bulk with the guy making this... sweat.gif

Oh, and funny that my first virgin Credit Card online transaction EVER is spent on audiophile stuff.... This doesn't bode well for my future... sweat.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 01:50 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 01:39 AM)
can clip+ be LOD? haha..
and thanks for the maps.. already saved..
i think i can understand the map and ur instruction.. haha..
hopefully..
Nope, no dock connector for Line-Out... biggrin.gif

Unless someone mods the Clip+ to output an LO signal through the Headphone Jack... sweat.gif

Taking into consideration that the Fuze is retailing at RM290, it makes the Fuze one of the cheapest LOD-able DAPs out there - even if pure SQ wise, it would probably lose to the iMod / iTouchMod (which both costs FAR beyond the Fuze; even a stock unmodded 4th Gen iPod goes for like what, RM400 now? Granted it has 30GB vs the Fuze's 8)... biggrin.gif

A good starting place for the budding audio-freak I'd say. Though it's also bad news for the wallet... cry.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 8 2009, 01:53 AM
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 02:19 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 8 2009, 02:01 AM)
wow thats expensive LOL~

cant afford it for a cable at the moment haha
Waiting to test out Eterna then grad either Eterna or RE0, when Skins for Fuze arrived, then get IEM, then get Fuze Case, with E5. The ultimate best sound lowest budget combo is complete!
Yeah, I'd agree. iLODs also run at around RM150 only, then again there's nobody who would make a Fuze LOD out here in M'sia any more... biggrin.gif

I'd probably be able to run it down to about RM190 with enough people in a bulk... If we're lucky... But even then it's an expensive cable indeed... biggrin.gif

For me, I have 3 choices for the future:

a) The Crazy Route = Eterna --> Fuze Case --> Sell organs --> Pico Slim ---> Sell even more organs ---> Telcast T21 ---> Sell Car ---> JH13Pro => Happiness.

b) The (slightly) more realistic route = Eterna --> Fuze Case ---> iBasso T4 ---> UM Quads => Slightly less but comparable Happiness.

c) The most realistic route = Eterna --> Fuze Case --> STOP SPENDING ON THESE THINGS LARRRRR, HAIIYO! => Even less Happiness, but more money in pocket.

I'd probably go for B... Happiness is important! brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 8 2009, 02:26 AM
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 02:33 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 02:20 AM)
too bad then..  sad.gif
if Fuze being LOD it would become fat rite? will the LOD Fuze able to be at TT soon?
SLIGHTLY fatter only, and granted, the amp I use will ensure just how fat the final franken-combo will be... Buuuuut, I only have the E5 anyhow... sweat.gif

So, it's not THAT bad... biggrin.gif

And yeah, if all goes well (Fuze + LOD should arrive this week), the LOD Fuze should be at the meet.
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 04:42 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 04:06 AM)
cant wait to see the LOD thing with my own eye..
but.. when LODed.. will the portability lost it sense?
yeah even its slightly fatter.. must be heavier or a bit bulky to bring along..
Should be a tad bulkier, but still very much portable.

Keep in mind though, SQ improvement also varies wildly from person to person... Ranging from "extremely subtle" to "mindblowing"... biggrin.gif

To the point that some guys fought over it at HF, some calling it a placebo - others saying it works wonders... Granted, it's not gonna be the SQ jump iTouch/iPod owners got with THEIR LODs... sweat.gif

Well, I haven't tried it yet. Here's hoping I'm buying a placebo that works! brows.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 11:14 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Nov 8 2009, 11:02 AM)
is really funny...why we need to split the event.....is better to stick together right???...even in lowyat starbucks is really small ....i think coffee bean is good enough for everyone...
Thank you. I haven't been to LYN for a while, to the point that I can't remember how big CB is. If you think CB is big enough to fit us all... No problem then, we'll just have 1 gathering at 3PM at CB... biggrin.gif

That's why it's tentative, was just afraid that 20++ people suddenly storm CB, manager go panic... sweat.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 11:22 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 11:15 AM)
because bro akgmalaysia only want around 10 or so peoples coming for the audition.. maybe he don't want a crowded situation.. but unexpectedly.. the participant is exceed the limitation.. so TS think its better to split up to 2 groups.. akg product audition and poisoning session..  sweat.gif
Yes, this is also true. But the main reason is actually I was afraid CB would be too small to fit us. That was the main reason why I split it into 2 groups...

If we can have 2 groups of people, the AKG audition and the Poison people in the same shop (a bit farther from each other also can - to make sure it's not to crowded and bunched up), without causing us to be kicked out - then it's best.

Will ask bro akgmalaysia later about this... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 11:42 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 8 2009, 11:25 AM)
i think if each of people buy a drink they would not mind us.. i think..
Lol... biggrin.gif

Maybe ask the people at CB if they have party packages... laugh.gif

Waiting for akgmalaysia's response so I can update first page. In the meantime, do chime in on your thoughts about the meet. Separate places? 1 place? You know a better location? Just chime in! I would want your thoughts and ideas so that I can make this meet a good one - I'm not really well versed at the art of "getting a whole lot of people together".

Prolly the only thing that is safely set is the DATE and that by hook or by crook, I'm gonna make this TT happen (even if it means I go listen to my LOD Fuze alone at CoffeeBean on the 21st - if it ever gets to that). Everything else remains tentative at this point.
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 12:50 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Fred86 @ Nov 8 2009, 12:17 PM)
I think if every participant will buy a drink from them and don't make so much noise, it wont be a big problem. Or can we contact the person in charge and ask them reserved a corner for us, so that we won't disturb other customer?

Eiraku, i want to join also, can ar? hehe
Can, come come... biggrin.gif

Seriously, we need to make this a properly organised, annual event, with events/promotions done by all the relevant parties... Kinda like an audio-fair for head-philes in particular... hmm.gif

MY Can Jam 2010? brows.gif

Oh, just got the reply from akgmalaysia, he doesn't really mind the extra people - though he also expresses the same concern over 20 of us fitting Coffee Bean without it troubling the management.

THUS, back to ONE meet, 3pm on the 21st.

Now let's decide on WHERE we wanna do it?

ORIGINAL PLAN: Coffee Bean LYP.

PROBLEM: Is it big/quiet enough to hold 20 audiophiles comfortably (lets disregard the "troubling the management" part for now).

akgmalaysia's suggestion: BTS Krispe Donuts?

Akabane@DrJackal: Thinks that the Coffee Bean would do fine.

Me: Thinks that Coffee Bean would do just fine myself (crammed like 15 crazy Alpha photographers on the Pavilion top floor Starbucks - which is small, no, tiny - and it was STILL okay IMHO), but will go to LYP / BTS next weekend just to survey and make sure.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 8 2009, 12:52 PM
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 01:17 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Fred86 @ Nov 8 2009, 12:59 PM)
To avoid we get kick out from coffee bean last minutes,why don't we just call up the coffee bean and make the arrangement first? may be we can get a special rate for our coffee? tongue.gif If they don't allow then we still have time to find for another venue  smile.gif
Hmmm... biggrin.gif

Will try... Anybody up to go check if Coffee Bean LYP is okay with the idea of hosting 20pax customers at one go?
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 04:18 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(amon_meiz @ Nov 8 2009, 03:34 PM)
well,for the krispy creme at BTS.it  got upper floor.so maybe wont disturb much/or the manager wont notice if we crowd the place.
Hmmm, interesting. Is Krispy full of people most of the time? Take into consideration we're gathering at around 3pm... hmm.gif

If it's not that busy, sounds like a good plan.
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 05:16 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(ji_en @ Nov 8 2009, 04:56 PM)
wow. are there any more space?

can i join in the fun too?and get 'poisoned' as well

i can bring a pair of recabled MS1.
I think we're beyond limiting attendance... biggrin.gif

Come on and drop bye! Lets show KL what happens when cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif decide to gather... brows.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 06:20 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 8 2009, 05:59 PM)
Goshh...This is spreading like wild fire! hahaha..

Why don't you guys gather around some audio shop? It's good publicity for the shop, and maybe they'll gladly offer some discounts when you guys get something there too tongue.gif
Good point. If we had something like Jaben over here, I'd gladly hold the gath near the shop. Sadly enough, I really don't know of any head-phile oriented shop like that in the BTS/Lowyat Plaza area.

Plus, 20 pax near an audio shop isn't really fun per se, unless the shop is well equipped to handle such a riot.

But as of now, we do have retailers in our midst: akgmalaysia, Akabane@Drjackal and Edifier. Although I'd think most of them would want to just sit back and enjoy poisoning, I do think they might just entertain retail questions regarding their products.

Anyway, combing through the forum to add on names for a final headcount right now. Been thinking of holding a "just-for-fun" (read: cable tidies, extra earbuds, petty stuff like that) raffle/cabutan bertuah (or Most Poisonous Attendee Award) just for the heck of it too.

Edit: FP edited with more info and updated attendance list!

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 8 2009, 06:34 PM
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 06:36 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(amon_meiz @ Nov 8 2009, 06:34 PM)
well,i been there twice on sunday,at it almost no people.maybe like 4-5 people.so not so crowded la.people love to take-away their order tongue.gif
Hmm, good then. Hopefully they have power sockets for us to suck (under the pretext of wifi and using laptops... brows.gif )... biggrin.gif

Krispy Kreme BTS is looking to be a good alternative venue in terms of size compared to Coffee Bean... Will research more before committing any form of venue shift.
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 09:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(amon_meiz @ Nov 8 2009, 07:10 PM)
yes,and i second on the part of contacting the manager of venue first.eventhough if we just buy a cup of coffee(in krispy creme case,its donut tongue.gif )it wouldnt cause any prob.coffee in bulk ftw biggrin.gif .should be cheaper brows.gif
Will try doing that during the course of next week... But my work schedule's tight, and I might not be able to do anything until the weekends (need to take care of some kids going to a state sports meet)... biggrin.gif
TSEiraku
post Nov 8 2009, 11:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(hoho1222 @ Nov 8 2009, 11:49 PM)
Kl sentral starbucks is quite a good idea..
Starbucks, maybe, but the parking rate (as chicaman said) is killer and the area is generally FULL of people.

So, no go IMHO... sweat.gif

Good suggestion anyways, thanks!
TSEiraku
post Nov 9 2009, 12:59 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 9 2009, 12:08 AM)
Well IMHO sat and sun LYP going to be fully packed with people. I used to work there and the crowd is pain in da @ss.

TimeSquare, what bout their food court? IIRC the place is quite big and not sure if there are many people or not though. (i havent been up there for quite sometimes already). TimeSquare is a potential place cause it may be crowded and it may also be less people at certain part of the mall. So if we could find a place with less people, it will be cool biggrin.gif

Besides, I am not sure if anyone could make it to the place or not. There is a mall at PJ SS2 Tropicana City Mall. The place is less crowded at during sat and sun, there are plenty of parking and the parking is cheap. There are also plenty of shops where we could sit there and order some drinks and start playing with these TOYS biggrin.gif but transportation could be a problem for those who do not posses transport.

Anyway just my suggestions. Can ignore it if it is a bad idea. Cheers!
Agreed about LYP being full with people on weekends. Main reason why I stopped going there on a regular basis and went to the PJ Digi Mall instead.

About the SS2 Tropicana mall, main issue is going to be transport; so no dice.

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Nov 9 2009, 12:15 AM)
Try looking for options in Pavillion KL. Under worst case scenario, The Gardens next to Midvalley offers a good, quiet enviroment. smile.gif
Hmm. Pavi. Not that far from LYP either, though some of the more high profile attendees seem to have shown interest the meet at the beginning BECAUSE it was held in LYP.

And, I agree as to Gardens being a worse case scenario option, as it's relatively deserted most of the time.

------

Anyways, a new venue option to ponder:

The Times Square Food Court

- it's bound to have quite a number of people in it at any given time, but a quiet corner MIGHT be available for 20 or so pax (say, 4-5 tables); considering how HUGE it is. Especially post lunch-hour (2-3pm). Usually the far corner near the LYP Ramp Side lifts are relatively empty.

- Plus point is that we don't have to worry about freaking the management out, because it's not a SHOP/CAFE/RESTAURANT per se.

- Huge choice of whatever you want to drink/eat at okay prices.

- Minus point is it's at the highest shopping mall floor in BTS, so going up might be a tad tiring - though you can use elevators to cart the A/V equipment up. Also, securing plugs might be a problem.

ALSO, Chicaman is right. Back in those days when I used to regularly go to LYP like every weekend, I noticed that there are certain floors of BTS that are comparatively deserted. I still hope that's the case and they have a good cafe (that is STILL not bankrupt) up there in the more deserted bits of BTS.

----

As for a poll, would rig up something tomorrow... Need to go rest now... yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 9 2009, 01:06 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0316sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:55 PM