A bit OT, but the RE0 is on sale on head-direct! Its only like RM300 SHIPPED right now!
-
Might not get it for myself though, being the basshead that I am.
Headphones Psuedo-Audiophile Teh Tarik Session, 21/11, 3PM @ LYP Food Court
Nov 9 2009, 09:03 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
A bit OT, but the RE0 is on sale on head-direct! Its only like RM300 SHIPPED right now!
- Might not get it for myself though, being the basshead that I am. |
Nov 9 2009, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 9 2009, 09:41 PM) For a headphone some Head-Philers prefer over the IE8/W3? No joke... Think "Highly-Evolved RE0"... Shame I HATE the design, and I like my music highly exaggerated and larger then life, lol... ---- Preferably somewhere in the klang valley and within easy access of public transport? The idea of a house based TT is GREAT actually, if we can find somebody with a house to fit 20 people, and the graciousness to host this meet. Don't think my parents will be thrilled with the idea of 20 odd Audiophiles descending onto the small house... And my own place in Kuala Lipis ain't exactly strategic either... Ideas people? Or anyone willing to sacrifice their place? This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 9 2009, 10:36 PM |
Nov 10 2009, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Top-Gun @ Nov 10 2009, 10:29 AM) Second the Times Square Food Court or Krispy Kreme 2nd Floor idea. -Most importantly is that when you guys are testing the open-type headphones you need to have at least some quietness if not you're not gonna enjoy it (in my experience) Point of me going there is to actually try out the Sansa Fuze LOD since OP said he bought one, gonna see if there's any significant difference. Though the idea of a house TT is really nice, myself I'm considering the BTS food court to be front runner in my mind right now, due to the fact that it's specious, and there's no shop management that we'd bother with such a large number of attendees. - Will be making my final call after checking it out, though. - In the mean time, more ideas, opinions and views are much appreciated. - @top-gun: I'll actually be bringing TWO, one with AVX caps and another with aluminium electrolytic caps - each with their own sound signature supposedly. - Keep in mind though, the difference between HPO and LO might be really subtle for the Fuze. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 10 2009, 11:28 AM |
Nov 10 2009, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(chingwooi @ Nov 10 2009, 05:11 PM) Don't think the food court is a gd idea, unless you wanna add some effects into ur audio listening(Ppl screaming and roller coaster sound~ bet it'll be very loud coz the 360* overturn is there xD) To accommodate as many as 20 ppl... you seriously need a very large space for that, still remembered last time when I'm meeting with Xjian and Enig in starbucks, only 3 of us ady need 3 tables to place those gadgets~ So don't think starbucks is an ideal place xD May be you guys should do it at Pavillion after all coz i think it's the most quiet place out of the 3 malls~ -Crikey, totally forgot about astro-world being there. So back to Krispe Kreme being the prime candidate for now. - Will also scout out potential places nearby when I'm there this weekend, pavilion included. |
Nov 12 2009, 02:25 PM
Nov 13 2009, 04:25 PM
Dun worry, I have a cikai DSLR. Tho cikai it should be plenty enough.
- Currently at the donut shop, BTS. Should be enough for our needs, provided the top floor is near empty on TT day. There are lotsa plugs too. - Moving on to check the other options. |
Nov 14 2009, 02:52 AM
Can, I guess...
Okay, other places I surveyed and notes on each. 1) Coffee Bean LYN - Too small actually to hold 20 people. 2) Food Court LYN - It's HUGE. If it's not TOO filled with people on TT day (which means that it won't be too noisy), it'll be a good place to consider. 3) *something* Penang Cafe (used to be Uncle K's Kopitiam) BTS - On the far end of the Sony Style side of BTS, tucked in a far corner of BTS. Out of the way and not that noisy. A lot of seating space, relatively. No idea if there are plugs around. 4) Food Court BTS - Should be crap busy on a weekend, though not really filled with people when I was there. IMHO, no 2) and 3) are the best choices besides Krispe Kreme. What do you guys think? Will be going again tomorrow for another look. @ chicaman: This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 14 2009, 02:58 AM |
Nov 15 2009, 09:57 PM
Okay now guys, the TT is a week away: time to reconfirm attendence and decide where we should gather and - in the event that that place is swamped full of people, a backup venue.
Possible Venues checked on the 13/11, ranked by suitability IMHO: 1) Crispe Kreme BTS - Should be enough space for the meet upstairs, IF the place is not swamped with people come next Saturday. More then enough electrical outlets. Noise level low - though they have ambient music. IF we DON'T enter all at once and make too much noise (haha, audiophiles making noise), there shouldn't be much problem with the management - as long as we all order stuff. 2) Priceless Penang (or something) Cafe on the far corner of the Sony BTS side - Enough seats and lotsa space, didn't see any plugs though. Didn't seem THAT busy. Average noise levels due to it's out-of-the-way-ness. Again as per above in terms of management issues. 3) LYP Food Court - Average-High noise levels (crowd noise mostly) but didn't seem crowded on Fri. No plugs seen. Lotsa seats and space. 4) Mr Teppenyaki LYP - It's a restaurant, so not really a place to lepak. But it's deserted most of the time. 5) BTS Food Court - Last resort. Noisy due to roller-coaster, and should be packed on Sat. Checked out Coffee Bean LYP, it's TINY, so it's out. Will be starting a poll for venue, please check Front Page and vote. I'll just take the place with the most votes as the primary venue and 2nd finisher as 2ndary. AND, attendees please RECONFIRM your attendance so that we'll have a FINAL namelist and expected turnout. PM me your confirmation (or denial of attendence) and also your contact number (so that I can pass along info - "We're moving to another place!"), before THURSDAY (19/11). Thanks! EDIT: Poll is up: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1228457 This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 15 2009, 10:23 PM |
Nov 17 2009, 07:34 PM
My number is on front page people, if you guys ever need it...
And if you have mobile access to the net, check Front Page of this thread or my Twitter at www.tweeter.com/eirakkun for up to date info on the meetup... |
Nov 17 2009, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Nov 17 2009, 08:17 PM) I'm going to attend this one since Zul never contacted me about grabbing the Amp from my hands and then pass it to you :| Sure, come and join man! He's probably too busy. I'll send it directly to you instead. Hey guys, can I joinz? Stuffs: -hd650, er6i -MPA 2.5 Discrete Folded Cascode Amplifier from hohodiy -dBM Desktop Amplifier (most likely only Rioven's unit) Wish I could bring the Gamma1 but it's in australia at the moment and I don't even have time to finish the Gamma2 that has just arrived. EDIT: I'll most likely come, pass some stuffs to Rioven and then dump some equipments and then zao. My friend's getting a new pc anyway. I won't clog the place lol. EDIT2: I'll be back and take back the items once you're done with em. EDIT3: Top Gun, if you're reading this, would you mind if I send in the boards and stuffs you wanted to grab from me on that day? Oh, bring along some porta-amps if you have any already made, if you can? Or anything close to portable... Wanna try out them CMOYs... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 17 2009, 10:25 PM |
Nov 17 2009, 10:23 PM
Come along lar bro Wala... If you're referring to the other Audiophile Mini TT voting thread, that actually refers to this one...
Poison us with your stuff... Or at least send an emissary (bro Yuheng)... Bring the VB too eh, if you can... Dying to try it out against my PR2... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 17 2009, 10:28 PM |
Nov 17 2009, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Nov 17 2009, 10:29 PM) So very sad then...Oh yeah guys, those you think you CAN come... Please drop me a PM confirming your attendence and also your contact number? Need to update the estimated turnout list... I have a feeling Crispe Kreme will have a helluva time - the numbers should be beyond 20 pax by now... The contact number is to that I can provide last minute updates regarding venue or anything like that for those involved (if not just check my twitter feed and/or this thread for updates)... Mine's up top on front page if you don't feel comfortable with sharing numbers on the net... |
Nov 17 2009, 10:48 PM
The time is 3pm, fixed.
I'll be there at around 11-12am, making sure that everything is in order... And updating info as necessary... |
Nov 17 2009, 11:43 PM
Urk... Crispe Kreme will die...
Will go around asking them if we can book the top floor... Even then it would be a tight fit if everyone showed up all at once... And in a worst case scenario (we can't fit) will have to either go to Food Court LYP or BTS unfortunately - due to the fact that there's plenty space there... Most probably LYN Food Court because there's no annoying "waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh" from the roller coaster.... Next time I do something like this, much, much more intricate planning will be needed. AND, proper sponsors and stuff + a large, empty space = Can Jam Malaysia 2010 anyone? EDIT: In regards to venue, though the running vote shows Crispe Kreme to be a clear winner, there is simply not enough space to fit 30 odd audiophiles inside Crispe Kreme without scaring the management shitless. Hence, the meet will be done at the Low Yat Plaza Food Court, basement floor, Low Yat Plaza - simply because it has the most space. And for those who need more quietness then the Food Court can provide (it's really not that bad, unless your auditioning KSC75's or fully open backed Grados or something), smaller groups can move - as need be - to Coffee Bean or Starbucks or Old Town LYP. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 17 2009, 11:59 PM |
Nov 18 2009, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Nov 18 2009, 12:19 AM) i have been waiting to try Silver Amp for a loooooong time... Hopefully... But I've seen the same thing happen myself, plus the fact that people eat OUTSIDE LYP most of the time (correct me if I'm wrong).i think LYN foodcourt will be fine coz it is after lunch hour so the crowd will most probably gone by that time ohyea remember to bring your own source like CD, Mp3 Player, CDP, Laptop and etc But yeah, oodles of space in the LYP food court. |
Nov 18 2009, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(akgmalaysia @ Nov 18 2009, 09:59 AM) -LYP Food Court, boss. Too many people edi, though most are coming simply to TT - those wanting to audition the AKG samples still around 10 pax I think. - @kamikraze: That's sad to hear. Will be taking pics and keeping you informed |
Nov 18 2009, 01:29 PM
I'm still a tad busy with school closing duties over here, so will put up the confirmed namelist as soon as I can find some time.
Nov 18 2009, 06:11 PM
Nov 18 2009, 07:40 PM
Nov 18 2009, 08:21 PM
Roger that...
Will update FP maybe tomorrow once I've done with all the closing school forms that I need to fill up... Clerical work is hell itself... |
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:18 PM |