4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V4, All About Tennis (gears, courts, etc)

praetorian
post Nov 14 2009, 02:29 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 14 2009, 12:54 PM)
Is it me, or is Topspin starting to really take some other's strings and then re-market it as their own (like they did with the Unique Big Hitter)?
The Black looks awfully similar to the signum-tornado.... maybe it's just me.
I didn't want to say anything about it but I agree, there is another string I suspect that looks like it ripped off Signum's Tornado and that is MSV Hepta Twist, pics are below:

Attached image(s)
praetorian
post Nov 15 2009, 06:19 PM

866 posts

wooooi this pinky kuat tidur one kah :-p
praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 05:54 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Nov 16 2009, 05:44 PM)
i wanna eat penang fried kueh tiaw!!!haha
Wah don't kuat kipas leh!!!

Here heavy showers, today tennis session burn leh, *drools* a nice hot plate of cha kway tiaw with cockles and shrimp paste belachan ......drink with limau kasturi....

But today so quiet leh...must be Monday blues lol
praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 08:18 PM

866 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Welcome to lowyat tennis, people here are friendly ,have fun!!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by praetorian: Nov 16 2009, 08:46 PM
praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 08:59 PM

866 posts

PSSSSSST Battousai, I just saw this on tt-warehouse.....Youtek Head Prestige Mid, was the one you posted yellow, this one more sexier leh....red somemore...pic is here, this was taken from tennis-warehouse.
Got a price for this racket?!!

praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 09:17 PM

866 posts

Yhaa those are called "caps" almost all the old Head rackets esp the "prestige" series had em, I dunno if the Microgel series had caps or not, never seen them personally.
^$%$*O%*&% on Head's pricing!! >:-(
Refuses to spend RM1000.00 on a racket, even if Roger Federer signed it , thanks but no thanks........oh well, hopefully price will be 'better' once officially released :-p
praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 09:34 PM

866 posts

Hmm Head must of removed them then, when I first tried the original Head Prestige Classic 600 ,in the late 80's Goran's racket already by then I think all Head rackets had caps, if I recall correctly.

Pinky: Even Raikkonen's signature for RM1000.00 is too much!
I only like Kimi coz he is dead stone cold, zero emotion, much more colder than Hakkinen, Kimi would make a good terminator :-p
praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 10:24 PM

866 posts

Babolat got sponsor any local player/coach or not!?

praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 10:28 PM

866 posts

If you can find Gosen synthetic strings I recommend those, esp Gosen OG Sheep micro those are highly recommended cross strings if you have a poly as a main, however they may cut into the cross's especially if you have textured strings ie Blackcode,Tornado.Try it!!! <3
praetorian
post Nov 16 2009, 10:43 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Nov 16 2009, 10:31 PM)
ok will do ...

hey prae...
the cross (for hybrid) .. is it true .. any soft syn will just do ? as the crosses are just more for the feel good right ? the one doing all the biting n spinning is the mains ? correct me if i'm wrong...

coz i used the othe rracq with the xcel comfort rm89 and another racq with the dunlop comfort (rm5)... for hybrid.... i dun feel much diff...
you will need a 'soft' string as a cross, as it 'supposedly' gives a user more feel, and is less harsh on the arm than a full poly set up, plus it keeps your string bill low, also Xcel comfort is that a Babolat multifilament? tt-warehouse doesn't seem to have Xcel Comfort...., if its anything like Xcel Power or Xcel Premium, I would not recommend stringing that as a cross as its a multifilament string, general consensus say they don;t mix well,multi's will break so fast you'd cry,stick with a cheaper synthetic!

Good nite peeps!
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 06:43 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Nov 16 2009, 10:55 PM)
opps my bad.. it's xcel premium ... yah i hav it setup with luxilon alu rough on the cross...
the ohter racq i hav msv hex with dunlop comfort...  so far feel is quite soft .. take the harshness away fr the luxilon alu rough ... wink.gif
i'm just wondering if i try the alu rough with a cheaper multi like the dunlop comfort .. will it also still hav almost there feeling ... meaning on the cross we dun hav to spend so much on the cros as any cheap soft multi will do ?
Yhaa string with a cheap synthetic, not multifilament, please don't confuse the two :-p. though I know Dunlop Comfort is a multi, I have no idea how you got for so cheap lol RM5.00?!! You must have big oki lobang for Dunlop then.
This is not set in stone though , Poly mains use synthetic cross's, not multifilaments , though if it works for you, then it works for you, then use it, but do try poly mains and a cheap synthetic gut, like hybrids some use natural gut mains and poly cross's or poly mains and natural gut cross's.

For sure will feel softer, the cost of your strings go way down 1 set can last you 2 string jobs since you will only string em in mains , if you use Dunlop max Comfort (RM5) for cross's thats also 2 string jobs,all in all example 1 set blackcode at RM46 courtesy of Kevin and 1 set Dunlop Max Comfort at RM5, total RM51, for 2 string jobs works out to be RM25.50 for 1 racket NOT inclusive of labor charges to string the racket, its cheap rite?

Also I noted bro you like to string your cross's tighter than the main, you can try 2 lbs lower than main, see how that works out for you, have fun!
:-p
QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Nov 16 2009, 11:31 PM)
got..but dont expect them to have it too la laugh.gif
Alamak, spoiler leh , potong stim ....
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 10:14 AM

866 posts

yan if you like crisp & pop sound at contact, don't go hybrid use full poly set up, try Signum Tornado in full poly set up on your PSGT at 58 lbs even don't string diff tension between main & cross, I think you will <3 it, hopefully its not too high for you.

Just saw your siggy, if you have chance try this set up,

On your PSGT you have one strung with Blackcode at 58 lbs, try Signum Tornado full set up 58lbs on the other stick, naturally only change to this set up when either your original strings break or when you are bored with this set up :-p.

On your Pure Drive Roddick GT since you are using MSV, 18G at 58lbs, try dropping to 52lbs.This setup has been magical for ALOT of people.

This post has been edited by praetorian: Nov 17 2009, 10:22 AM
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 11:30 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Nov 17 2009, 10:58 AM)
@ angel ice

Anyway need to thank angel ice very much for taking me to play at lelucky's place in kulim last saturday. he picked me up form the ferry station in butterworth and drove me up to kulim and back. i really had a great game there and really enjoyed the diferent environment and the company there. Lelucky and his frens are all very friendly also. Really hope can go there again, and once again thanksto angel ice for driving me there and back.

Added on November 17, 2009, 11:19 amWant to share my experience in penang:

I was there last friday nite til monday evening. although weather wasnt good and traffic there was quite hectic, but i must say penang is a very nice place, because it has PLENTY OF FOOD AND PLENTY OF TENNIS COURTS!!! Although i dun know how to book those courts... but im sure if a local penang person will know how to book one of these many nice courts!

Since we have so many friendly tennis lovers here, we shud have a LYN tennis weekend getaway in penang. We can play tennis in the morning, then whack lunch, then bath at the waterfall, then go lepak, evening whack tennis ball again and then whack supper. Im sure we will be able to get some courts cuz there was really many many courts around penang, even the balai polis also got tennis courts!!! shocking.gif or, we can also always take a ferry to mainland and play at angel ice's place or at lelucky's place. Really food and tennis heaven!!!

For food,theres popiah, shrimp noodle, nyonya kueh, lobak, fry kuey tiaw, grill fish and grill lala, clam and cockle noodle, curry mee, shrimp wantan, fruit rojak, lok lok (steamboat), porridge, oil fried ghost (fried doughstick).... and many more... all very delicious and fresh!!!

For those who take halal food, theres lots of nasi kandar there and lots of mamak food too! I tried the famous butter chicken and the tandoori chicken at Kapitan, was really really good! something u cant find in KL at all lah!!!

and dont forget there have plenty of fresh fruits and ABC and chendol to quench ur thirst!!!
WALAU CARTO!!!
I just ate....and now I see this, make me wanna eat AGAIN!!

praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 01:12 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Nov 17 2009, 12:40 PM)
[
pmed ya
ini macam bleh kena buang keja da

kenot mix pleasure n business
Learn lah, then you become pro mix business & pleasure and Pleasure & Business!!! rclxms.gif

Wah angel you damn heng leh.... tempat kau banyak leng lui (heard Penang leng lui very cun one, again most Mrs Malaysia, at least got 55% come from Penang...how come leh, naturally Penang food is famous one, damn untung sial, may be I should build my retirement home in Penang ....

This post has been edited by praetorian: Nov 17 2009, 01:13 PM
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 01:44 PM

866 posts

Penanglite lah.... :-p

....j/k
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 02:06 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Nov 17 2009, 02:01 PM)
no la
where got heng

until no, got no amoi wanna be friend with me~~ rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Yhaaa lor no amoi, but AMOI'S )plural)!!!!
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 07:47 PM

866 posts

Bro better just bite the bullet and buy a new k6.1 tour, trust me, its my weapon of choice at the moment, I would welcome any one who wields this mighty weapon of mass destruction!!

Also price should be cheaper soon, coz new Wilson BLX 6.1 tour coming out, if that happens I also have to stock up on k6.1 tours.Not gonna change rackets ever!
praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 08:30 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Nov 17 2009, 07:49 PM)
damn .. i gotta work extra doubly hard to poison u ...haha...
Huh? You lost me , bro lol I veri senang lost one, esp in supermarket too many leng lui.......
Kennot be you kipas me more k6.1 tour, thats a given lah....
Got other racket you kipas?!!
Alamak if APDC GT that one also no need, that should be a given too :-p

QUOTE(PINK_MING @ Nov 17 2009, 07:50 PM)
haha..icic...for me de k6.1. tour is kinda heavy to serve wif..maybe cuz i hadnt warmed up yet..but to tel de truth,i miss my old pure drive roddick..de non-gt version...anyone wanna sell??haha..
To be honest, the heavier the racket the easier it is to serve, the end result means you should have a heavy ball, fast ball depends on a few factors, I use the heaviest racket which doesn't inhibit my racket acceleration , if it does that means its too heavy for you. KIPASSSS!!!

QUOTE(inv @ Nov 17 2009, 08:04 PM)
or maybe the yonex rdis 100 mid instead? i'm tempted by it's Made in Japan but i wonder how it plays compared to the k6.1 tour..
Wilson Quality Control is a piece of $hit!!! I was a previous Yonex user , I <3 Yonex in the mid 80's, my weapon of mass destruction was this the Yonex RX-37 sounds like a car nowadays, I used their isometric racket as well, but crack too many, stuck with RX37 that racket was a horse, it took my temper tantrums and scoffed at me,it truly was a GREAT racket, sighs if I ever go to Japan again I must find this racket, I have so many good memories with this racket.

praetorian
post Nov 17 2009, 09:09 PM

866 posts

Nyuk nyuk.....wah look like someone selling his rackets leh, I cannot believe he is selling his 2 treasures!!! If like that, mati lah kita ni....I wonder who kipas him :-o.

Must be he kipas himself to buy APDC GT as well, lol!!!
Want to see next week what new 'weapon of mass destruction' he got, sure he saw something and decide to buy, if not APDC GT I suspect Kev batu api him Tecnifibre racket!!!
praetorian
post Nov 18 2009, 06:36 AM

866 posts

LOL that why have to extra careful when near him, just imagine while playing a game, he just shouts and says LEEEELLLLONG!!! I want to sell my PSGT!!! HUH?!!! how to play game???
Worse if you have wife or g/f, and anniversary coming up, already kumpul duit already, this bugger come to you and say bro selling my Prince RM390, strung up with Prince Recoil at RM129, tali free lah....better yet buy both rackets I can nego one , kau kau somemore!!

Tell wife dear I am having affair with 2 other beauties, hehehe, be prepared to kena kicked out of bedroom/house labelled as crazy bf or husband, rite....

Yan hope you not trying to poison me.....hehehehe

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0229sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:31 AM