1) i heard the taxable income had increased to RM3500 from RM2500
2) another is the timeframe of GST implementation
Budget 2010: 1Malaysia, Together We Prosper, Summary & Discussion
Oct 23 2009, 10:13 PM
Validating
2,073 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: last visited |
and 2 items missing...
1) i heard the taxable income had increased to RM3500 from RM2500 2) another is the timeframe of GST implementation |
Oct 23 2009, 10:13 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
The RM50 is going to have the least impact on those who are the least prudent in their spending.
If you are already not prudent, what's another RM50? Just more imprudent spending. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:19 PM
1,285 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Oct 23 2009, 10:19 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 23 2009, 10:28 PM
6,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
QUOTE(tgrrr @ Oct 23 2009, 10:02 PM) Uh the RM50 thing on credit card is stated as a government service tax. I think that means it's taxed by government? Sounds like a government's idea to tax the moderate to higher income rakyat. Can't they at least limit it to the second card and so on. Having at least one credit card is useful and beneficial. QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 23 2009, 10:19 PM) While I agree with this point, the government would just say there're always debit cards, which is as handy, and as per their cause, avoids debt. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:33 PM
21 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(! Love Money @ Oct 23 2009, 10:13 PM) and 2 items missing... u sure about this? government will lost a lot of income taxes since alot middle incomer come from this range1) i heard the taxable income had increased to RM3500 from RM2500 2) another is the timeframe of GST implementation i just apply my credit card, now i have to cancel it..stupid decision from the government. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:40 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
"Offer a netbook package, including free broadband service, to university students for RM50 per month for 2 years"
I wonder what broadband they provide? |
Oct 23 2009, 10:42 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@Gen-X,
Yup I too am quite satisfied with the stuff you're satisfied with. Hm.. 25% instead of 26% huh? Well look on the bright side, U've saved 1% *smiles* I definitely don't reach it so that doesn't benefit me So.. u going to move over to Johor?! *grins* @ak.hazwan, The RM500 is just a tax relief; it helps and is better than nothing *smiles* @klang-valley, The T&C to your new CC is no longer updated; will have to wait for new direction and instruction from the bank pending today's Budget announcement. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:45 PM
Validating
QUOTE(sam0919 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:19 PM) QUOTE(love.beginner @ Oct 23 2009, 10:33 PM) u sure about this? government will lost a lot of income taxes since alot middle incomer come from this range i heard it from radio discussion... i heard it clearly...i just apply my credit card, now i have to cancel it..stupid decision from the government. bcoz najib said that he wish to transform this country to a high income country... |
Oct 23 2009, 10:47 PM
@tgrrr,
I'm quite sure the banks will come up with something; maybe embed it as part of the annual fees and be stricter with FFL cards *shrugs* Your guess is as good as mine but we'll just haf to sit and wait to see what's going to happen. @sharinginfoz, I'm sure a lot of people will be cancelling cards. I know for a fact there are forummers here who hold up to 15 different credit cards. With this announcement, I'm quite sure they will no longer want to just keep those CC for keepsake. @! Love Money, You're absolutely right. I sort off expected some form of announcement on GST but I guess we're just not ready. This is good news for us; and really I don't think it's a good time to introduce GST lah. Imagine if we had to pay 10% extra for everything we purchase? I mean come on lah..... we're just still getting used to the increased in everything else due to the stewpid petrol issues ! @bingozero, It only makes sense if our MY government used our own infrastructure hence I would v much think it'll be TM. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:50 PM
2,804 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(tgrrr @ Oct 23 2009, 10:02 PM) Uh the RM50 thing on credit card is stated as a government service tax. I think that means it's taxed by government? Sounds like a government's idea to tax the moderate to higher income rakyat. Can't they at least limit it to the second card and so on. Having at least one credit card is useful and beneficial. QUOTE(clsia1001 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:07 PM) make it 2 will be better.. first 2 CC no need GOVERNMENT service tax Yeah, should make it free for the 1st two CC. It always useful to have another one for backup since sometimes the reader cannot read the smartcard.Added on October 23, 2009, 10:09 pm come on, 1Malaysia, apply to all lar.. |
Oct 23 2009, 11:30 PM
1,680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 23 2009, 10:40 PM) "Offer a netbook package, including free broadband service, to university students for RM50 per month for 2 years" should be the basic...sufficient for online info looking is enof...probably the 384kbps plan...I wonder what broadband they provide? jz wonder majority Undergrad is now on 3years programme, if not 4 this offer to undergrad is valid for 1st year, or from poor... what will happen when they reach 3rd or 4th year? regarding CC thing.... i doubt it would works.... who knows....bank actually will absorb it based on what group of user u are... like how they waive the annual fee for u.... its a hard economy still...."moving good" is what says by the official, not realistic at all... bank is realistic...obviously wont want a policy which can stir their client away to impact them.... they will find a way...to waive or absorb it.... frankly oso...this onli make those who already on smart/budget-conscious user mad (what?! i paid on time stil wanna tax me this) those who have a huge debt on their card and always never clear off the debt 1 is the one they need to after....and for this group of ppl...adding RM50 to their total debt per year probably jz a small amount... LOL |
Oct 23 2009, 11:38 PM
Validating
QUOTE(ak.hazwan @ Oct 23 2009, 09:49 PM) just checked theedge news...QUOTE Govt proposes individual taxpayers be given tax relief on broadband subscription fee up to RM500 a year from 2010 to 2012. so means u will able to substract up to RM500 from ur taxable income... |
Oct 23 2009, 11:45 PM
@! Love Money,
It's not a RM500 rebate, it's a RM500 tax relief. |
Oct 23 2009, 11:54 PM
11,086 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
as for the RM50 tax on credit cards, it's not something new.. it was introduced in 1997 and later removed in 2001.. so now in 2010, it's re-implemented.
I don't believe the bank will absorb RM50 for the customer simply because there are round about 11mil cc holders in 2009. If all the banks were to absorb, RM50 x 11mil. You do the math! Secondly, I believe the government will not allow banks to absorbs as that would actually go against the whole idea of promoting prudent spending. |
Oct 24 2009, 12:07 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(sharinginfoz @ Oct 23 2009, 10:09 PM) Based on data, the current cards in circulations are 11 million, let say if 50% is main card and the other 50% is supplement, the govt will get service charges of RM412.5 million. A friendly reminder, please use signature function for the blog site link and do a favour don't include in every post made. <-- overly misuse can be irritating to other. sharinginfoz http://sharinginfoz.blogspot.com/ Thank you for the cooperation. |
Oct 24 2009, 12:26 AM
1,680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Oct 23 2009, 11:54 PM) as for the RM50 tax on credit cards, it's not something new.. it was introduced in 1997 and later removed in 2001.. so now in 2010, it's re-implemented. u see..tats the thing...I don't believe the bank will absorb RM50 for the customer simply because there are round about 11mil cc holders in 2009. If all the banks were to absorb, RM50 x 11mil. You do the math! Secondly, I believe the government will not allow banks to absorbs as that would actually go against the whole idea of promoting prudent spending. promote prudent spending.... how u measure or justify tat.... number of credit cards???? wat if we put such scenario: a person, with 3-4 CC, but paid up all bills every month; another one, one, or may b two CC, but owing debt of 10k+ in those cards. so, promote prudent spending by charging tax on number of card???? a tax on card don help, those who already prudent spending will remain so, and those who don, will still never, regardless how many card there lame excuse to say this is to promote that.... |
Oct 24 2009, 12:27 AM
3,887 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Oct 23 2009, 11:54 PM) as for the RM50 tax on credit cards, it's not something new.. it was introduced in 1997 and later removed in 2001.. so now in 2010, it's re-implemented. Gov never failed to take advantage of the situation.I don't believe the bank will absorb RM50 for the customer simply because there are round about 11mil cc holders in 2009. If all the banks were to absorb, RM50 x 11mil. You do the math! Secondly, I believe the government will not allow banks to absorbs as that would actually go against the whole idea of promoting prudent spending. |
Oct 24 2009, 12:46 AM
Validating
Oct 24 2009, 12:47 AM
@andrekua,
It could haf been worst if they introduced GST in 2010! |