14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Phone Interview from Baker Hughes

mar_ware
post May 14 2010, 07:38 PM

299 posts

Ic, since u have a valid visa, it wont be a problem. U can make ur chance greater by opting to work in Malaysia. The pay is lower, of coz, if u dun mind. If u happen to be out of UK by the time they arranged an interview, the only solution is to drop wadever u do n go back to UK. Air travel n all else should be covered by them so no worry. Mind u that most companies wont reschedule interview unless they are looking for highly experienced n rare talents. The question is "are u one of them?".

Roughly it would take months to complete the selection process. Since ur phone interview is on April, safe to say u wont be called right away for maybe another 2-3 weeks. Baker Hughes would probably wait for the end of the study year, for more potential candidates. So u looking at next selection process around June/July. That's wad they do in Malaysia, at least. There is a chance they follow the same strategy. If they do, though, u would have to wait longer. Keep ur hopes high. I waited for 4-5 months since my phone interview. It is a common practice by lots of o&g companies to filter out under-qualified candidates. One way of avoiding this painful waiting period is to get someone on the inside of HR dept. So called "lobang" can make u hired in less than 2 weeks.

Glad to help smile.gif
Harlem
post May 15 2010, 02:04 AM

Hi everybody over here! I have just found your forum and defenetly have the same situation - still waiting... after the interviewer`s having called. So what to say. I got my phone interview in late april, the talk accounted for 20 minutes 00 sec=)(with no any minute more or less really=)).

There were some questions alredy mentioned in here such as um.... well.... "would you be so kind to tell us about your strong points and bla bla bla... ; what working place would you select, eather with a lot of money or working conditions and so foth..... (if interesting may tell you about that in detais a bit, if remember =)).

But what i did not like really is that that the line was of the bad quality... That was so much complicated to hear her that i can not even describe. So she also hested somehere, don not know....um.... wheather that was so much complicated to talk a bit louder or sothing .... (i told her about... that she was heard poorly, so she was just like "OK, i will be talking louder" ) But anything was repited once again.....i had to reask her some questions she did not even really spell correctly. I understend English very good but the way she was talkig was like "Hello is there anybody there on the end of the wire hah? blink.gif =) " I gues she could speak in the way louder a bit... that would have been OK - In respect to my Non American origin though smile.gif . But the girl defenetly was reading by the paper (that was understood by her fast pace with some sophistigated expressions and qustions . That is why that (the interviewer) did keep the fast reading pace )

So ok ....At the end the interviewer asked me something... I did not hear (which is sad) and then she sad buy an Ok.....

So My questions(with the answers short rather if posible)
1 If i am invited to the second tour interview? what shoul i expect mmm? (applied as a Junior Fied Engineer) For instanse the math test or just a talk ah?
2 How much to wait?(Found withing trhis forum somethoing like a 6 month period - which is daaaaaamn( wink.gif ((()

This post has been edited by Harlem: May 15 2010, 02:16 AM
mar_ware
post May 17 2010, 10:03 PM

299 posts

@Harlem: first and foremost, i gotta say i had a hard time reading ur post. no offense intended, mate. u better brush up on ur english or use it properly. coz if u are selected for next round interview, they would look at ur english proficiency, written or oral. so take some extra care on that.

answers to ur questions:
1. u should revise on wadever u have learned in university. make sure u noe quite well the basics of every modules u learned. they may benefit u in many ways later. u dun have to master all of them to the extent that u noe them by heart. just the basics will do fine. there are some tests, commonly known as aptitude tests. try them online or buy a book to noe roughly wad to expect on these tests. practice makes perfect.
2. waiting time differs from one another as u have read here. some people get a month but most wait more than that. i cant really give an exact date but be prepared to wait for that long.

there is an easy way to find out whether or not u are selected for the next round. within this coming 2 weeks to 6 weeks, if there is no email, no status update on ur online application or no phone call saying that u are rejected, u are most likely on their shortlist. once u are in that shortlist, ur chances of getting through are high. if u dun hear from baker after 6 weeks or so, u can write to them asking about ur applications. the main point is "no news is good news". as long as they dun say u are out, u still have a chance to be selected. simple as that.

since there gotta be a long waiting period, u can research on interview questions. get prepared as early as possible. u may also want to research on baker. wad they do, who they are, their aims n etc.
Harlem
post May 18 2010, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(mar_ware @ May 17 2010, 11:03 PM)
@Harlem: first and foremost, i gotta say i had a hard time reading ur post. no offense intended, mate. u better brush up on ur english or use it properly. coz if u are selected for next round interview, they would look at ur english proficiency, written or oral. so take some extra care on that.

answers to ur questions:
1. u should revise on wadever u have learned in university. make sure u noe quite well the basics of every modules u learned. they may benefit u in many ways later. u dun have to master all of them to the extent that u noe them by heart. just the basics will do fine. there are some tests, commonly known as aptitude tests. try them online or buy a book to noe roughly wad to expect on these tests. practice makes perfect.
2. waiting time differs from one another as u have read here. some people get a month but most wait more than that. i cant really give an exact date but be prepared to wait for that long.

there is an easy way to find out whether or not u are selected for the next round. within this coming 2 weeks to 6 weeks, if there is no email, no status update on ur online application or no phone call saying that u are rejected, u are most likely on their shortlist. once u are in that shortlist, ur chances of getting through are high. if u dun hear from baker after 6 weeks or so, u can write to them asking about ur applications. the main point is "no news is good news". as long as they dun say u are out, u still have a chance to be selected. simple as that.

since there gotta be a long waiting period, u can research on interview questions. get prepared as early as possible. u may also want to research on baker. wad they do, who they are, their aims n etc.
Sorry for the first time). I was hurrying a little bit trying to express anything i remembered then. Oh.. but still stay dessapointed with the bad phone link(. And that is not groundless because have some experience of talking with the other representative who was clearly heard and in a good way.
Honestly saying i expext some tests like in Sclumberger (I `ve been waiting for the reply from them also sweat.gif ) and would you be so kind to tell me (if you know of course) whether these tests may be the same or not? You seem to me to have already passed all the interviews no? So well you know about hiring. Sorry in advance if i am wrong mad.gif .

And thank You once again for such a detailed explaination. I will take your notes and do my best in the way you recomended. Anyway they have not called yet so there is a little hope that they will reply later rolleyes.gif At least i am not alone which makes me feel ok with all you guys.

And the last . I understend this forum is BH devoted but if someone has heard something about Gyrodata called service company please also share with me if not difficult. Want to try this option too. There are some discussions about companyes mentioned abobe in our country as well but not as good as here. Nice to see the alive nod.gif forum

Criticize me please (that is wellcome all time) and i will improve my English faster with your help as i want to be a good engineer, no metter how innocent this may sound)

This post has been edited by Harlem: May 18 2010, 03:37 PM
abbychan87
post May 18 2010, 11:33 AM

382 posts

what are the baker hughes ?
vikka
post May 19 2010, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(caga @ Mar 10 2010, 04:06 PM)
Hi Ali
I am from Azerbaijan.I had phone interview with BH.And still waiting for reason during this time I made application to the BP.I think they are more global that BH.In my phone interview wit BH they asked me question like question which I found in tihs forum.I think BH have same interview shape.I have friend which pass face 2 face interview.(but in Azerbaijan for field engineer position)He said they asked;
general question.What do you know about this position ? your future goal?
And IQ test.and basic geometri(circle rectangle).basic electric  (solution of resistance in a circuit).How does transistor work(if your most qulified as electronic engineer).That s all.I wish God be with you.(ofcourse you must study hard smile.gif )And dont forget about my question offers.if you wanna I have slb interview test in word format.
Hi caga, May I know what is the slb interview test like if you don't mind sharing?
caga
post May 22 2010, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(vikka @ May 19 2010, 09:33 AM)
Hi caga, May I know what is the slb interview test like if you don't mind sharing?
here,please
in attachment

Attached File(s)
Attached File  schlumberger_test.doc ( 497k ) Number of downloads: 943
eng.memo
post May 27 2010, 05:22 AM

QUOTE(mar_ware @ May 17 2010, 02:03 PM)

answers to ur questions:

Hi
im expecting an interview with haliburtion soon the job is field engineer Logging and Perforating could you please help me if you know what kind of questions they may ask, they need junior or one year exp engineer for this position.
If you have any idea about this position (Logging and Perforating) it would be really great. Also i wounder what is the salary average in haliburton for field engineer the position based in middle east.

thank you in advance smile.gif

This post has been edited by eng.memo: May 27 2010, 06:45 AM
King_a_1
post Jun 1 2010, 10:37 AM

I had a phone Interview 2 weeks ago with baker huges but I haven't got any reply until now and my status in their web site didn't change .
Can any one tell me if this is mean that i failed or I have to wait more ?

thanks in advance
simple person
post Jun 28 2010, 09:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mar_ware @ May 17 2010, 10:03 PM)

answers to ur questions:

Dear buddy,
Just wish to ask dat usually after the phone interview, how long it takes to know the result?
If fail the interview, how long will it takes for us to know the outcome?
i jus went through the interview last Monday.
Hence, wish to know usually when wil i able to track de result.
Anyone of u ord went for the 2nd interview? how is it?
Is anyone from here currently work at BH?
Thank you.

kenzo lee simmons
post Jun 29 2010, 04:41 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(simple person @ Jun 28 2010, 09:21 PM)
Dear buddy,
Just wish to ask dat usually after the phone interview, how long it takes to know the result?
If fail the interview, how long will it takes for us to know the outcome?
i jus went through the interview last Monday.
Hence, wish to know usually when wil i able to track de result.
Anyone of u ord went for the 2nd interview? how is it?
Is anyone from here currently work at BH?
Thank you.
hey simple person~
when did u apply? how long it took before bh respond to ur application? smile.gif
simple person
post Jun 29 2010, 06:48 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kenzo lee simmons @ Jun 29 2010, 04:41 PM)
hey simple person~
when did u apply? how long it took before bh respond to ur application? smile.gif
Hi Kenzo,
I applied on middle of May.
It takes about 1 month for BH to respond my application.
Meanwhile, anyone from BH or ord attended for 2nd interview?
Thank you.

Rgds,
Simple person
Harlem
post Jul 9 2010, 03:28 AM

Now also waiting whether i have been succeseful with BH 1 recruitment interview or not. There are not any results still. But as some of this forum recomended me, expecting may take for too long (up to several months). When there is the free time(if it is)i would suggest not concentrating your attention on this company only and keeping on searching for some other profitable options... nod.gif

It is badly when do not khow how to check out the 1st phone interview results. sad.gif Well maybe to call or write them? Any ideas?
Some say that if they have not replied to you earlier that your condidature (for examle) is not appropriate, there is the chance that you will be invited to the second tour interview. But according to my experience (i am talking about not BH) it is not often so. Not calling may be not being succeseful within the 1st inerview=(

Once againg asking people aware - maybe to show initiative on my own and send an email??? hmm.gif
kenzo lee simmons
post Jul 9 2010, 02:27 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Harlem @ Jul 9 2010, 03:28 AM)
Now also waiting whether  i have been succeseful with BH 1 recruitment interview or not. There are not any results still. But as some of this forum recomended me,  expecting may take for too long (up to several months). When there is the free time(if it is)i would suggest  not  concentrating  your attention on this company only and keeping  on searching for some other profitable options... nod.gif 

It is badly when do not khow how to check  out the 1st phone interview results. sad.gif  Well maybe to call  or write them? Any ideas?
Some say that if they have not replied to  you earlier that  your condidature (for examle) is not appropriate, there is the chance that you will be invited to the second tour interview. But according to my experience (i am talking about not BH) it is not often so. Not calling may be not being  succeseful within  the 1st inerview=(
Once againg asking people aware - maybe to show  initiative on my own and  send an email??? hmm.gif
Hi Harlem,

When was ur phone interview? and when did you apply on the web site?
simple person
post Jul 9 2010, 04:53 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Harlem @ Jul 9 2010, 03:28 AM)
Now also waiting whether  i have been succeseful with BH 1 recruitment interview or not. There are not any results still. But as some of this forum recomended me,  expecting may take for too long (up to several months). When there is the free time(if it is)i would suggest  not  concentrating  your attention on this company only and keeping  on searching for some other profitable options... nod.gif 

It is badly when do not khow how to check  out the 1st phone interview results. sad.gif  Well maybe to call  or write them? Any ideas?
Some say that if they have not replied to  you earlier that  your condidature (for examle) is not appropriate, there is the chance that you will be invited to the second tour interview. But according to my experience (i am talking about not BH) it is not often so. Not calling may be not being  succeseful within  the 1st inerview=(
Once againg asking people aware - maybe to show   initiative on my own and  send an email??? hmm.gif
I have just received a reply from BH. Base on what they stated, there is no opening at Malaysia branch yet.
Hence, kindly be patient and you may reapply on year 2011.
Thank you.

This post has been edited by simple person: Jul 9 2010, 04:54 PM
Dia_ametzeala
post Jul 21 2010, 04:52 AM

QUOTE(MHKing @ Nov 5 2009, 04:02 AM)
i think so. no right or wrong. but a minute of not producing means millions of loss. so i just say fix it first. investigate later. hope it helps.
The right answer is to analize first and only after to repair it, like this the costs will be lower. You must see why it happen that, that will not happen' again. I said also firts reparing and to analize in the same time, but was wrong. I spoke with somebody who is working in this industry.
luyut
post Jul 25 2010, 12:48 AM

178 posts

that does make sense.investigate first to avoid any error/miscalculation when trying to/after fix it.

This post has been edited by luyut: Jul 25 2010, 12:51 AM
kenzo lee simmons
post Oct 10 2010, 12:05 AM

49 posts

hi all.

i heard BH did some interview at utp last week. any news on their opening?
byed
post Oct 22 2010, 12:08 PM

QUOTE(kenzo lee simmons @ Oct 10 2010, 12:05 AM)
hi all.

i heard BH did some interview at utp last week. any news on their opening?
from their website also, they did mention that they are having a recruitment at UTM (skudai). anybody knows anything? or any openings? brows.gif
bEcoz_OF_u
post Oct 27 2010, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(caga @ May 22 2010, 07:12 PM)
here,please
in attachment
hi caga

do u have sample of schlumberger's interview test for finance/account?

thanks in advance.

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:15 PM