so it takes roughly 3 months after the phone interview to get a go ahead to round 2. Anyone know how many steps involved before they hire you? and also explain how each step was like please!!
Phone Interview from Baker Hughes
Mar 10 2010, 06:08 PM
235 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
so it takes roughly 3 months after the phone interview to get a go ahead to round 2. Anyone know how many steps involved before they hire you? and also explain how each step was like please!!
Mar 10 2010, 07:22 PM
1,061 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Я мир |
if you think logically, if you were the candidate they looking for, they would've hire you immediately after the actual interview (yourself and head of dept). therefore, you should perform or at least do your homework before you even go for the 1st interview.
the actual process only come in if you are the normal candidate after they do all candies screening. but fyi, the process from phone to f2f take quite sometimes as all GCC forummer suggested. if you desperately wanted to know the actual process, i suggest you to do some search/googling and you will find your answer you wanted. cheers |
Apr 1 2010, 08:43 AM
113 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
anyone know the starting pay for BHI fresh field engineer in Malaysia? hw about allowance and rotation?
Apr 1 2010, 04:37 PM
25 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
do they have any opening in IT field like wintel or unix platform?
or maybe hardcore networking? i know BH main concern is on O&G but i have friends working in IT field with SBG which also main concern is same as BH. |
Apr 2 2010, 09:53 AM
113 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
hey guys, i am offered a job from Halliburton as a completion engineer. Based in Kemaman, salary RM3000. During training no offshore allowance, complete training only manager decides for you. work rotation, going to which country not sure, inform u upon complete training. Have to be bonded 1 year or up to 2years depend on the training.
anyone know hw much is the offshore allowance for Halliburton fresh field engineer? Shud I take up the offer? Currently I work in OnG consultant company, office job with Rm 2600. by the way, anyone know BHI starting pay is hw much, allowance? |
Apr 6 2010, 12:07 PM
306 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(poosk @ Apr 2 2010, 09:53 AM) hey guys, i am offered a job from Halliburton as a completion engineer. Based in Kemaman, salary RM3000. During training no offshore allowance, complete training only manager decides for you. work rotation, going to which country not sure, inform u upon complete training. Have to be bonded 1 year or up to 2years depend on the training. my friend working with shlumberger also as field engineer.. his offshore allowance for a month can reach to 5 digits RM..anyone know hw much is the offshore allowance for Halliburton fresh field engineer? Shud I take up the offer? Currently I work in OnG consultant company, office job with Rm 2600. by the way, anyone know BHI starting pay is hw much, allowance? not sure abt Halliburton. gud luck bro |
Apr 6 2010, 06:09 PM
32 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Hey guys, jz wanna ask a question...wats the email tat u all send to when inquiring bout ur application status??...cant seem to find the email at the website, sorry for the noob question ya...
Apr 7 2010, 02:18 AM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(iwanong @ Apr 6 2010, 10:09 AM) Hey guys, jz wanna ask a question...wats the email tat u all send to when inquiring bout ur application status??...cant seem to find the email at the website, sorry for the noob question ya... graduates@bakerhughescareers.comgood luck |
Apr 7 2010, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(eng.memo @ Apr 7 2010, 02:18 AM) ok, thx a lot ya!!!...gd luck 2 u too if u r applying... Added on April 8, 2010, 1:34 pmHey guys, the phone interview wil ask a lot bout technical question??...normally the interviewers call on time, or will be earlier/later??...kinda a bit nervous here hope to hear from u guys soon ya!!.. All de best to u guys too!!!... Thank you... This post has been edited by iwanong: Apr 8 2010, 01:34 PM |
Apr 11 2010, 02:50 PM
299 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Phone interview just asking some questions u have answered in the questionnaire. Perhaps just to double check, confirming the answers. Not technical question. Mine at least no technical questions at all.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by mar_ware: Apr 11 2010, 04:08 PM |
Apr 12 2010, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(mar_ware @ Apr 11 2010, 02:50 PM) Phone interview just asking some questions u have answered in the questionnaire. Perhaps just to double check, confirming the answers. Not technical question. Mine at least no technical questions at all. Thanks a lot bro for such a long explanation » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « yeah, inititally i was afraid thy gonna ask me tech. question, luckily its jz normal interview question gettin 2 noe u more...bt seems tat all of you hav been thru the questionaire..as for me i nvr did the questionaire b4, i just apply n the next step is phone interview...find kinda weird...anyway i apply for the university engineer position...act wat does tis position n the field engineer differs??...nt vy sure... For the next assestment, hw is it like,should much tougher rite...f2f interview on technical question??..i read some forumers say that hav written exam/ IQ test oso, is it true??...n wher was ur assestment held??... so tis assestment suppose to be the last round n if u pass tis means u get the job??...sorry ya asking a lot... yeah its true SLB its much tougher the interview than Baker, but i heard tat working ther is oso much stressful... ya i understand tat waiting s*cks a lot, tats y i m on full time job oso nw, cant stand doing ntg for few monts,will die... still no news so far?...all de best 2 u man n may God bless u... |
Apr 12 2010, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(iwanong @ Apr 12 2010, 11:08 AM) Thanks a lot bro for such a long explanation i read in ur past comments, u applied for field engineer. now u saying u applied for university engineer. did u apply for both? well, whichever u choose, u most likely end up as candidates for entry-level field engineer. not sure y u get to skip questionnaire part. one possible reason could be that the date for the assessment event was drawing near. so they decided to call u up n skipped that part. the next assessment is, no doubt, tougher. so be prepared. every candidate gets different questions n the questions vary from and comprise of technical, logical n some non-technical ones. so make sure u brush up on ur technical knowledge or u would be gunned down instantly by the assessors. they came from different headquarters of BH so they expected nothing less than perfection.yeah, inititally i was afraid thy gonna ask me tech. question, luckily its jz normal interview question gettin 2 noe u more...bt seems tat all of you hav been thru the questionaire..as for me i nvr did the questionaire b4, i just apply n the next step is phone interview...find kinda weird...anyway i apply for the university engineer position...act wat does tis position n the field engineer differs??...nt vy sure... For the next assestment, hw is it like,should much tougher rite...f2f interview on technical question??..i read some forumers say that hav written exam/IQ test oso, is it true??...n wher was ur assestment held??... so tis assestment suppose to be the last round n if u pass tis means u get the job??...sorry ya asking a lot... yeah its true SLB its much tougher the interview than Baker, but i heard tat working ther is oso much stressful... ya i understand tat waiting s*cks a lot, tats y i m on full time job oso nw, cant stand doing ntg for few monts,will die... still no news so far?...all de best 2 u man n may God bless u... let me remind u that u r in tough competition. the assessors gave rough figures of more than 1000 applicants, of coz only few will be finally selected. they want the best of the best. so u definitely have to be competent in technical area n show qualities demanded by the job. this job is no joke. however, to get in this field is even tougher. well waiting is also the tough part about this. |
Apr 12 2010, 02:15 PM
actually i did apply for both position; applied for field engineer on Dec 2009 then university engineer on March 2010...then sent an inquiry asking bout the field engineer application status...the next day they reply me bek asking for phone interview for university engineer position...so tats hw it is...
yeah its goin to be very tough competing wif thousands of applicant...anyway roughly noe hw many ppl thy taking??..20?50?... |
Apr 12 2010, 03:23 PM
I did ask but wasn't told. But there weren't many who got invited to the event. Roughly about 20. So logically, out of those 20, maybe a few would be selected. Not many I suppose. After all, this is not a new company so they won't be taking a lot of new ppl. Plus, they did mention there that they ONLY wanted the best of the best... So if u assume about 99% percentile being the best out of 1000 ppl, u looking at 10 vacancies, plus minus 1-2 ppl... The good news is there are lots of o&g companies. Lot smaller than MNC players but could be a step closer for better career. FYI, I sent lots n lots of CVs. Some I did sent twice or more. I guess lots of fresh grads engineer did it as well. Unless they decided to further study for PhD or Masters. Tough getting into this field.
This post has been edited by mar_ware: Apr 12 2010, 04:17 PM |
Apr 18 2010, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(mar_ware @ Apr 12 2010, 03:23 PM) The good news is there are lots of o&g companies. Lot smaller than MNC players but could be a step closer for better career. FYI, I sent lots n lots of CVs. Some I did sent twice or more. I guess lots of fresh grads engineer did it as well. Unless they decided to further study for PhD or Masters. Tough getting into this field. yeah, its damn tough gettin into tis industry especially for fresh grad...i myself also throw in lots of application, bt no reply at all,sad...haiz... even those small small 1 oso hard,haiz... |
Apr 18 2010, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(iwanong @ Apr 18 2010, 07:15 PM) yeah, its damn tough gettin into tis industry especially for fresh grad...i myself also throw in lots of application, bt no reply at all,sad...haiz... agree. most (like 98%) looking for an engineer wif minimum 3-4 years of experience... so fresh grads really having hard time looking for one. except for some ppl who got contacts on the "inside" of the companies or some others who performed quite well during internship. i did well for mine but not sure wanting to continue. wasnt really o&g companies - related but not directly... maybe i should have accepted... even those small small 1 oso hard,haiz... only few companies state something like "fresh grads are encouraged to apply". even so, if they managed to get experienced ones, they wont bother to ask fresh grads for interview or such... also, there are instances that fresh grads are subjected to super low pay wif odd n long hours due to lack of experience. how these companies expect us to be equipped wif years of experience just after uni graduation never ceases to amaze me... if they counted 4 years of uni life as experience, well, i doubt so... most of my uni-mates ended up working in different fields of engineering (even plantations) or shifted to business-oriented ones. including myself. hopefully i can get a chance to join o&g companies... but as time passes, i understand that my chances are getting ever slimmer. ironic for someone who spent 4 years in engineering courses ended up working in services companies... should have taken some business or management course instead n save all those hours understanding n memorizing complex equations... anyway it has been awhile since the event n i havent heard back from them. kept hoping they change their minds or something... so most likely i'm not selected... i'm still hoping otherwise but gotta realize that chances are pretty slim atm. ahhh... the hardship of life... *sigh* waiting for some small o&g companies n let's see how it goes. This post has been edited by mar_ware: Apr 18 2010, 09:49 PM |
May 6 2010, 07:43 PM
Hey mar_ware, i just received invitation for the 2 days evaluation...so nervous and excited!!...so this round suppose to be on technical stuff rite??wat type of technical question will thy ask, regarding oil n gas stuff??pls need ur advice here...from the email seems tat wil hav some hands on test...other than that any other things to take note of??...pls giv sum advice, really dun wanna miss this chance, hope 2 do well in this round...waiting 4 ur reply ya...thanks a lot!...
May 8 2010, 12:15 AM
2 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(iwanong @ May 6 2010, 07:43 PM) Hey mar_ware, i just received invitation for the 2 days evaluation...so nervous and excited!!...so this round suppose to be on technical stuff rite??wat type of technical question will thy ask, regarding oil n gas stuff??pls need ur advice here...from the email seems tat wil hav some hands on test...other than that any other things to take note of??...pls giv sum advice, really dun wanna miss this chance, hope 2 do well in this round...waiting 4 ur reply ya...thanks a lot!... Hey Iwanong, congrats and hope to read that u passed this next stage soon.I want to find out when u applied for the university graduate thing in March.I also did same in March, done the fone interview in early April and still expecting to hear or read from baker.Just anxious here.I am trying to know the delay btw when u applied n when u r called.I actually want to leave the UK now for Malaysia but cant as I made the application and interview in the UK. Time is running out now.I dont want to be in Malaysia only to find out that my interview is to take place in the UK.Hoping and hoping anyway.Nice news u brought in here.I am next to share the good news.Thankx |
May 10 2010, 06:17 PM
Congrats iwanong. Well, not sure the assessment will be the same. Wad i did are some tests, interview, group presentation, kinda "problem solving" activities n some technical challenges. They cover pretty much everything. It was rather intensive stage for me. Not to worry, just brush up on your university-level knowledge. The one you learned before. If they asked those you dont know of, just politely say that you havent covered it in your course. Something along that line should be fine. They dont expect you to know everything so no pressure. Just make sure you dont relax n take things for granted. Make sure you are well prepared. As for abib3107, which country u applied the job for? UK or Malaysia? I think they will cover your travel expenses if they do interview in UK. So, no worry there. However, u must have proper working visa to work in UK prior to getting interview request. They wont apply visa for you. Which is why they asked beforehand which country you are legally able to work. Since you have UK student visa, i think getting working visa there would be more convenient. As for the "delay", it will most likely by a few months. In some cases, weeks. Sorting out thousand of applicants is not an easy task I assure you. So you are looking at 1-3 months waiting period, at least. |
May 14 2010, 01:46 AM
2 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(mar_ware @ May 10 2010, 06:17 PM) Congrats iwanong. Well, not sure the assessment will be the same. Wad i did are some tests, interview, group presentation, kinda "problem solving" activities n some technical challenges. They cover pretty much everything. It was rather intensive stage for me. Not to worry, just brush up on your university-level knowledge. The one you learned before. If they asked those you dont know of, just politely say that you havent covered it in your course. Something along that line should be fine. They dont expect you to know everything so no pressure. Just make sure you dont relax n take things for granted. Make sure you are well prepared. Hello Marware, I actually applied for the UK position as I have a post study visa in the UK.This visa enables me to work for upward of 2 yrs in the Uk without being sponsored by any company.After which I can switch to any other work visa based on my earnings.But my fear is that I need to be home for something, so in the process I dont want to be called for an interview in the UK, so u see it will mean I fly back to the UK maybe at a tym I am yet to settle down to attend to that same thing. I sent a mail to the graduate office y/day was told the same thing u wrote here, that they have thousands of application to sort out n will get back to me asap.I am still waiting anyway.Thankx again for d tips u provided.As for abib3107, which country u applied the job for? UK or Malaysia? I think they will cover your travel expenses if they do interview in UK. So, no worry there. However, u must have proper working visa to work in UK prior to getting interview request. They wont apply visa for you. Which is why they asked beforehand which country you are legally able to work. Since you have UK student visa, i think getting working visa there would be more convenient. As for the "delay", it will most likely by a few months. In some cases, weeks. Sorting out thousand of applicants is not an easy task I assure you. So you are looking at 1-3 months waiting period, at least. |
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:23 PM |