Hardware CPU comparison list
TSastria
Aug 17 2010, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Aug 17 2010, 10:54 AM) hi guys..i want to ask something... when we are playing dual core optimize games using core i7 quad cores, only 2 cores will be used and the other 2 will just be in idle state rite? at this moment, do turbo boost will overclock those 2 working cores, making its clock speed higher? i dont have the core i7, but it is nice to know about this. thank you  assuming that no other programs will take up too much of the other CPU resources, yes, Turbo Boost will kick in and shut down 2 of the cores and overclock the other 2... however, the clock speed probably match that of a 400M or 300M CPU only...
hidz7
Aug 17 2010, 11:02 AM
owh..thanks for the explanation, so the turbo boost will only works if there is no any other application is using the other 2 cores?but that's is very unlikely..lol so thats explain why core i5 and i7 620m perform much better in most games. thanks a lot.
Fantasia
Aug 17 2010, 12:05 PM
so far only 1 game utilise HT, that's is RE5 ^^
hidz7
Aug 17 2010, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 17 2010, 12:05 PM) so far only 1 game utilise HT, that's is RE5 ^^ so it means my p8700 still relevant for today's standard rite?or no?lol
Fantasia
Aug 17 2010, 12:31 PM
for games, yes
TSastria
Aug 17 2010, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(hidz7 @ Aug 17 2010, 12:30 PM) so it means my p8700 still relevant for today's standard rite?or no?lol  of course it is...  besides, the architecture of Nehalem is basically the same as Core, main this is ditching FSB and moving the memory controller closer to the CPU, thus increasing memory performance... raw processing performance wise, there's not much difference between the 2...
hidz7
Aug 17 2010, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 17 2010, 12:31 PM) QUOTE(astria @ Aug 17 2010, 12:31 PM) of course it is...  besides, the architecture of Nehalem is basically the same as Core, main this is ditching FSB and moving the memory controller closer to the CPU, thus increasing memory performance... raw processing performance wise, there's not much difference between the 2... thanks a lot astria and fantasia, u guys have been a great help for me in understanding this intel stuff
Fantasia
Aug 17 2010, 12:40 PM
dont thank me, thank astria. we dont call him master for nothing ^^
PeterYeapCB
Aug 21 2010, 02:52 AM
hello all sifu!
RiderEternal
Aug 22 2010, 05:06 PM
i7 FTW !!
jl@ying
Aug 23 2010, 11:42 PM
can ur guys help me to choose an dell studio 14 laptop with good specification, my purpose is for war3, movie and music, online and simple ms office, choose i5 or i7 better? and if adding creative sound blaster and 9 cell battery, will it be better? thx for ur guy suggestion. appreciate..=)
TSastria
Aug 24 2010, 01:08 AM
even i3 or Pentium is enuf...
breaker84
Aug 24 2010, 06:12 AM
in term of power consumption, which one better for performance and lower power usage which bring the lower heating???
miahahaha
Aug 24 2010, 06:23 AM
QUOTE(breaker84 @ Aug 24 2010, 06:12 AM) in term of power consumption, which one better for performance and lower power usage which bring the lower heating??? The newer Core i series  ..though if you really want something that won't heat-up pretty easily then there's ULV proc  Added on August 24, 2010, 6:25 amQUOTE(jl@ying @ Aug 23 2010, 11:42 PM) can ur guys help me to choose an dell studio 14 laptop with good specification, my purpose is for war3, movie and music, online and simple ms office, choose i5 or i7 better? and if adding creative sound blaster and 9 cell battery, will it be better? thx for ur guy suggestion. appreciate..=) Adding the creative won't do any improvement (well, maybe a bit)....9 cell battery if you extra life for your laptop  ...what is your budget?? Go here for more experts help -----> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1437249This post has been edited by miahahaha: Aug 24 2010, 06:25 AM
alvin8866
Sep 13 2010, 10:29 AM
@astria and other sifu
I am currently using Intel T9550 (2.66Ghz, 6MB L2 cache) and 8GB DD3 1333Mhz RAM. => Doen't support HTT (2 cores, 2 threads)
I plan to change notebook which comes with processor Intel i5-540M (2.53Ghz, 3MB L3 cache) => 3.066 GHz (Turbo) , HTT (2 cores. 4 threads)
I run heavy usage programs/applications such as Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop, Premiere Pro, After Effect), AutoCAD, Visual Studio, Zend Studio, Eclipse, and many developer tools (>3GB capacity).
What is your suggestion?
Thanks in advance...
This post has been edited by alvin8866: Sep 13 2010, 10:37 AM
TSastria
Sep 13 2010, 10:34 AM
well, depending on the lvl of HTT optimization of the programs, u'll get up to 30% performance improvement with 540M... so the qn here now is, is the 30% performance increase worth the extra investment?
alvin8866
Sep 13 2010, 10:40 AM
Thanks for your reply.
So, will I get up to 30% performance improvement with 540M? Lol..
Sounds sweet...
This post has been edited by alvin8866: Sep 13 2010, 10:41 AM
TSastria
Sep 13 2010, 10:46 AM
yup, but key word here is "up to"
it may be 30%, 20%, 10%, or may ve no improvements at all...
alvin8866
Sep 13 2010, 10:58 AM
What is your suggestion then?
TSastria
Sep 13 2010, 11:02 AM
well, moving on to 520M from T9550, it's not really an upgrade imho...
if u re really so concerned abt performance with these programs, i suggest more cores instead, such as Phenom II x3 or Core i7 quad