QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 1 2009, 01:00 AM)
LOL~ the 1st day since i took my dugong it's been raining ... everyday sure hav rain... LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!
LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!
Nov 1 2009, 01:56 AM
3,140 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sitiawan, Perak |
Nov 1 2009, 02:27 AM
2,872 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KLANG |
same as my dugong...
but now my car just came out from workshop about a month... left at home to collect dust for 10 days.. cause got polished as well... then my sis drove it... so dont bother much to clean the car... maybe will take it to wash tomorrow |
Nov 1 2009, 01:46 PM
385 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Just done the AutoFoam in my car yesterday. The first impression is the door closing sound, it sounds much more solid and comfortable, unlike the closing door sound last time. Second that, I sit inside the car without the car moving, I can't feel anything. Once I start the engine, yes that kind of "relax" feeling is coming, I can totally feel that the engine noise is not circulating around the ride interior, but the engine noise is only come from the front (firewall). Desmond had show me and other customers by comparing 2 Perodua Kenari, one with soundproofing and AutoFoam, while another is stock car. Inside that modified Kenari, it's much more comfortable, engine noise is also come from the front.
Well, I went for the first test drive with his worker, I still can hear the "klock klock" sound when go over uneven roads, Desmond tells me that it is probably cause by the absorber mounting and other that related to the absorber system. I'll go back to Penang to have a check on my absorber, thanks Desmond for the advice. When on the way back to Penang, the driving speed on 110km/h is totally sounds big different than before! It was like you are driving 80km/h! LESS floating, LESS body flexing, LESS rolling, LESS noise, TIGHTER steering, BETTER steering response. Then I try to push my car to 160km/h, chasing a Civic 2.0 and a Perdana V6. I can catch with them together 3 cars without worries. (On that time was 7.45pm, the weather is dark, suppose don't have speed trap.). After I reach Penang, I went to fetch my girlfriend. I've ask her about the result of my car, she said that the interior cabin is much more quiet then before, and then the motorcycle pass by also less noise already. I had a really good experience when I was at Desmond's workshop. He is like my lecturer, sitting down together and teach us how to use the soundproofing materials. From his information, there are a lot types of soundproofing materials, where and where to use this type, and there is to use this type. Simply buy and use the soundproofing materials and use at the wrong part, it doesn't help at all. Another thing is, from what I see when they AutoFoam-ing my car, the steps are hard and a lot of work need to do and take care. It is advisable that DO NOT DIY the AutoFoam in your own car if you don't have any experience. End up it will cost you a bomb or have a hard time to remove those unwanted or accidently sticked foam on your car. Today morning I wake up and check my car, the foam is still expanding, I still can see two bunch of babies came out from my undercarriage. Still have to wait until Thursday to get my car fully cured. PS: I do not receive any commission from anybody from KL Auto or Desmond for posting the result. The result is posted with the real experience. More to write but I still have to think. The car gets a lot better, I might be missing out some improvement parts. |
Nov 1 2009, 01:57 PM
3,140 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sitiawan, Perak |
QUOTE(oec88 @ Nov 1 2009, 02:46 PM) Just done the AutoFoam in my car yesterday. The first impression is the door closing sound, it sounds much more solid and comfortable, unlike the closing door sound last time. Second that, I sit inside the car without the car moving, I can't feel anything. Once I start the engine, yes that kind of "relax" feeling is coming, I can totally feel that the engine noise is not circulating around the ride interior, but the engine noise is only come from the front (firewall). Desmond had show me and other customers by comparing 2 Perodua Kenari, one with soundproofing and AutoFoam, while another is stock car. Inside that modified Kenari, it's much more comfortable, engine noise is also come from the front. wah... where u did the AutoFoam ? how much it all cost ? to think of juz a soundproofing can improve that much of things... im consider to do it too~Well, I went for the first test drive with his worker, I still can hear the "klock klock" sound when go over uneven roads, Desmond tells me that it is probably cause by the absorber mounting and other that related to the absorber system. I'll go back to Penang to have a check on my absorber, thanks Desmond for the advice. When on the way back to Penang, the driving speed on 110km/h is totally sounds big different than before! It was like you are driving 80km/h! LESS floating, LESS body flexing, LESS rolling, LESS noise, TIGHTER steering, BETTER steering response. Then I try to push my car to 160km/h, chasing a Civic 2.0 and a Perdana V6. I can catch with them together 3 cars without worries. (On that time was 7.45pm, the weather is dark, suppose don't have speed trap.). After I reach Penang, I went to fetch my girlfriend. I've ask her about the result of my car, she said that the interior cabin is much more quiet then before, and then the motorcycle pass by also less noise already. I had a really good experience when I was at Desmond's workshop. He is like my lecturer, sitting down together and teach us how to use the soundproofing materials. From his information, there are a lot types of soundproofing materials, where and where to use this type, and there is to use this type. Simply buy and use the soundproofing materials and use at the wrong part, it doesn't help at all. Another thing is, from what I see when they AutoFoam-ing my car, the steps are hard and a lot of work need to do and take care. It is advisable that DO NOT DIY the AutoFoam in your own car if you don't have any experience. End up it will cost you a bomb or have a hard time to remove those unwanted or accidently sticked foam on your car. Today morning I wake up and check my car, the foam is still expanding, I still can see two bunch of babies came out from my undercarriage. Still have to wait until Thursday to get my car fully cured. PS: I do not receive any commission from anybody from KL Auto or Desmond for posting the result. The result is posted with the real experience. More to write but I still have to think. The car gets a lot better, I might be missing out some improvement parts. This post has been edited by StarNet: Nov 1 2009, 01:58 PM |
Nov 1 2009, 07:41 PM
6,413 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong Not For Human Live One.... |
Soundproofing does improve comfort levels when driving. Well thanks for the detailed review oec88
Btw how much it cost? |
Nov 1 2009, 09:28 PM
1,131 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: K.L. |
Nov 1 2009, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(StarNet @ Nov 1 2009, 01:57 PM) wah... where u did the AutoFoam ? how much it all cost ? to think of juz a soundproofing can improve that much of things... im consider to do it too~ Location: http://www.autofoam.com.my/autofoam/index....id=54&Itemid=37Please do not misunderstand that AutoFoam is just a soundproofing materials. It's a soundproofing materials too but the main priority job of this AutoFoam is to strengthen your car chasis/body. Imagine, a car with hollow chassis and running 100km/h, the wind is circulating around the pillars (A, B, C, side), so the car will feel floating, not stable. After you put the AutoFoam inside, your car chassis is filled up with something inside, the wind cannot go into the chassis, so that the car will not float much. It really does improve when you running at high speed, especially above 90km/h, you can notice the difference very easily. My girlfriend again tell me that when my car running above 80km/h, there will be a "airplane noise", sounds solid, just like sitting inside the airplane cabin. The comment on the product is based on real experience, I don't bluff you guys. QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 1 2009, 07:41 PM) Soundproofing does improve comfort levels when driving. Well thanks for the detailed review oec88 RM2680 - RM2980. Call Desmond for best price.Btw how much it cost? PS: AutoFoam pricing is based on your car size. Added on November 1, 2009, 9:39 pm QUOTE(JAYworm @ Nov 1 2009, 09:28 PM) For me, I will say yes. It will like upgrade another level for your ride. From my own opinion, it will be more on performance side. Better in handling and cornering, stable when running high speed. For noise, the noise frequency will hardly circulating in your car hollow pillar areas, so your car will be less noise, enjoying a relax feeling in your ride.This post has been edited by oec88: Nov 1 2009, 09:39 PM |
Nov 1 2009, 10:26 PM
1,357 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam |
oh shoot... Auto-Foaming is quite expensive...
Nov 1 2009, 10:32 PM
Nov 1 2009, 11:39 PM
2.5K is quite steep for me. I rather spend the money for some decent tyres n rim upgrade together with lower springs. Well that gonna cost more than 2.5k for sure
Nov 1 2009, 11:58 PM
1,131 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: K.L. |
oec88 is not into performance, he is prefer more comfort ride
well i prefer both |
Nov 2 2009, 12:30 AM
2,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Muddy Confluence |
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 1 2009, 11:39 PM) 2.5K is quite steep for me. I rather spend the money for some decent tyres n rim upgrade together with lower springs. Well that gonna cost more than 2.5k for sure Lowered springs ? I just had mine replaced with Tanabe GF210 after carefully reading feedbacks from most forums including TVCM and also my friends hearsays. Seriously if you don't mind stiffer ride (yeah I do mean it) compensated with better handling then go for it. I've experienced my beloved bottom scraped at my house. Maybe the tanabe's is too low or you can opted for adjustable coilovers but it's still stiff for non-maniac like me. Serious suspension upgrade is a must if you a track 'kaki' otherwise it would be waste on our pariah roads. Titan custom adjustables maybe a good option for comfy ride with decent handling. How low is low for a Tanabe GF210 ? Mine is like below. ![]() This post has been edited by igor_is300: Nov 2 2009, 12:38 AM |
Nov 2 2009, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(JAYworm @ Nov 1 2009, 11:58 PM) Wow how you know my favourite? Yes I'm more on comfort side. Anyway I like performance too but not now because I don't have so much money for performance, so I go for comfort first. Unless in future I got money, then I'll go for continental rides. QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Nov 2 2009, 12:30 AM) Lowered springs ? Wow...poison. Nice looking!I just had mine replaced with Tanabe GF210 after carefully reading feedbacks from most forums including TVCM and also my friends hearsays. Seriously if you don't mind stiffer ride (yeah I do mean it) compensated with better handling then go for it. I've experienced my beloved bottom scraped at my house. Maybe the tanabe's is too low or you can opted for adjustable coilovers but it's still stiff for non-maniac like me. Serious suspension upgrade is a must if you a track 'kaki' otherwise it would be waste on our pariah roads. Titan custom adjustables maybe a good option for comfy ride with decent handling. How low is low for a Tanabe GF210 ? Mine is like below. ![]() |
Nov 2 2009, 09:26 AM
677 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: PJ / KL |
HI guys.
It's been some time since i logged in due to work & moving house. Great to know that there is now an official club in LYN for our car. I'm driving the new model S spec. Got it in March '08. Hope that i can have my name updated in the list too. |
Nov 2 2009, 02:25 PM
41 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(jmunchar @ Nov 2 2009, 09:26 AM) HI guys. Hihi...It's been some time since i logged in due to work & moving house. Great to know that there is now an official club in LYN for our car. I'm driving the new model S spec. Got it in March '08. Hope that i can have my name updated in the list too. Welcome to this thread to become our family member... |
Nov 3 2009, 02:10 PM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Reporting in...'96 Vios Black G spec.
Did your guy have issue when "load" & "unload" passengers? My rear "suspension / spring" got lots of sound... SC said is the hand brake, they clean it...but only last for 1 week... Any advice? |
Nov 3 2009, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(SK_C @ Nov 3 2009, 02:10 PM) Reporting in...'96 Vios Black G spec. I got that problem too, especially heavy passengers. Did your guy have issue when "load" & "unload" passengers? My rear "suspension / spring" got lots of sound... SC said is the hand brake, they clean it...but only last for 1 week... Any advice? Now I have to check my absorber mounting, got sound when go over uneven roads, annoying. |
Nov 3 2009, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Nov 2 2009, 12:30 AM) Lowered springs ? Nice, well i plan to put Tanabe lower springs when i upgrading my tyres t 16 inch. I okay with stiffness but hopefully not as bad as my previous myvi with gab springs + absorbers which is awfully hard.I just had mine replaced with Tanabe GF210 after carefully reading feedbacks from most forums including TVCM and also my friends hearsays. Seriously if you don't mind stiffer ride (yeah I do mean it) compensated with better handling then go for it. I've experienced my beloved bottom scraped at my house. Maybe the tanabe's is too low or you can opted for adjustable coilovers but it's still stiff for non-maniac like me. Serious suspension upgrade is a must if you a track 'kaki' otherwise it would be waste on our pariah roads. Titan custom adjustables maybe a good option for comfy ride with decent handling. How low is low for a Tanabe GF210 ? Mine is like below. ![]() Btw what tyre size are urs? And mind adding u inside the list? QUOTE(jmunchar @ Nov 2 2009, 09:26 AM) HI guys. Welcome!It's been some time since i logged in due to work & moving house. Great to know that there is now an official club in LYN for our car. I'm driving the new model S spec. Got it in March '08. Hope that i can have my name updated in the list too. QUOTE(SK_C @ Nov 3 2009, 02:10 PM) Reporting in...'96 Vios Black G spec. Welcome, added u both inside the owners list.Did your guy have issue when "load" & "unload" passengers? My rear "suspension / spring" got lots of sound... SC said is the hand brake, they clean it...but only last for 1 week... Any advice? About ur suspension, did u try pushing ur car's boot? When u see ur rear springs are bouncing alot, it means it;s time to replace the absorbers. This post has been edited by travis_ckf: Nov 4 2009, 10:31 AM |
Nov 4 2009, 12:11 AM
2,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Muddy Confluence |
QUOTE(oec88 @ Nov 2 2009, 01:08 AM) Wow how you know my favourite? Lol, it's unintentional poison lah Yes I'm more on comfort side. Anyway I like performance too but not now because I don't have so much money for performance, so I go for comfort first. Unless in future I got money, then I'll go for continental rides. Wow...poison. Nice looking! I only wanted to show the actual height once it's slammed I still remember your nick in tvcm, you're driving a black tom's right ? Btw, nice autofoam review there. QUOTE(jmunchar @ Nov 2 2009, 09:26 AM) HI guys. I can sense the Guang Dao power It's been some time since i logged in due to work & moving house. Great to know that there is now an official club in LYN for our car. I'm driving the new model S spec. Got it in March '08. Hope that i can have my name updated in the list too. QUOTE(oec88 @ Nov 3 2009, 07:44 PM) I got that problem too, especially heavy passengers. Another tedious job, you have to dismantle the rear seat to check out the mountings Now I have to check my absorber mounting, got sound when go over uneven roads, annoying. QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 3 2009, 10:05 PM) Nice, well i plan to put Tanabe lower springs when i upgrading my tyres t 16 inch. I okay with stiffness but hopefully not as bad as my previous myvi with gab springs + absorbers which i awfully hard. 2nd gen vios wheel's arches are bigger than the 1st gen. Maybe you can use higher profile tyres like '50' instead of '45' to retain some comfort and less risk of getting rims bent when accidentally hitting potholes. AFAIK GAB is known for its super stiff characteristic. I heard some of the owners were complaining of the harsh ride. Tanabe, Eibach and Tein are the most sought after lowering solutions. Btw what tyre size are urs? And mind adding u inside the list? I'm using 195/55/r15. Fat and safe selection when driving in potholes laden roads of KL and pocket friendly too when shopping for tyres. Yeah sure, I'm driving a 06 facelift 1st gen E spec. This post has been edited by igor_is300: Nov 4 2009, 12:25 AM |
Nov 4 2009, 07:27 AM
3,887 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(oec88 @ Nov 1 2009, 01:46 PM) Just done the AutoFoam in my car yesterday. The first impression is the door closing sound, it sounds much more solid and comfortable, unlike the closing door sound last time. Second that, I sit inside the car without the car moving, I can't feel anything. Once I start the engine, yes that kind of "relax" feeling is coming, I can totally feel that the engine noise is not circulating around the ride interior, but the engine noise is only come from the front (firewall). Desmond had show me and other customers by comparing 2 Perodua Kenari, one with soundproofing and AutoFoam, while another is stock car. Inside that modified Kenari, it's much more comfortable, engine noise is also come from the front. How is that suppose to improve these things you explained? If soundproofing can do these, then those aftermarket performance parts manufacturers close shop liao...Well, I went for the first test drive with his worker, I still can hear the "klock klock" sound when go over uneven roads, Desmond tells me that it is probably cause by the absorber mounting and other that related to the absorber system. I'll go back to Penang to have a check on my absorber, thanks Desmond for the advice. When on the way back to Penang, the driving speed on 110km/h is totally sounds big different than before! It was like you are driving 80km/h! LESS floating, LESS body flexing, LESS rolling, LESS noise, TIGHTER steering, BETTER steering response. Then I try to push my car to 160km/h, chasing a Civic 2.0 and a Perdana V6. I can catch with them together 3 cars without worries. (On that time was 7.45pm, the weather is dark, suppose don't have speed trap.). After I reach Penang, I went to fetch my girlfriend. I've ask her about the result of my car, she said that the interior cabin is much more quiet then before, and then the motorcycle pass by also less noise already. I had a really good experience when I was at Desmond's workshop. He is like my lecturer, sitting down together and teach us how to use the soundproofing materials. From his information, there are a lot types of soundproofing materials, where and where to use this type, and there is to use this type. Simply buy and use the soundproofing materials and use at the wrong part, it doesn't help at all. Another thing is, from what I see when they AutoFoam-ing my car, the steps are hard and a lot of work need to do and take care. It is advisable that DO NOT DIY the AutoFoam in your own car if you don't have any experience. End up it will cost you a bomb or have a hard time to remove those unwanted or accidently sticked foam on your car. Today morning I wake up and check my car, the foam is still expanding, I still can see two bunch of babies came out from my undercarriage. Still have to wait until Thursday to get my car fully cured. PS: I do not receive any commission from anybody from KL Auto or Desmond for posting the result. The result is posted with the real experience. More to write but I still have to think. The car gets a lot better, I might be missing out some improvement parts. |
| Change to: | 0.0307sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:18 AM |