LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

andrekua
post Oct 12 2009, 11:12 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Vios G 2005 batch...

BTW, you guys better buy Kayaba/Toyota Genuine absorber when wanna change. Gone through a nightmare with Asuki absorber through a sparepart shop recommendation. Totally not worth. It was lousy that it was barely doing its job after 3-4months. Even the one I claimed warranty after just one month is acting up. First problem is the free play for the shaft. It cause all sort of noise when travelling through uneven surface. Secondly is the rebound. After few months, the front failed to rebound back when press down and the rear is too easily compress but only can compress 70% and then very hard to press down which explained why the rear is so stiff.

End up have to dig pocket to change back to Kayaba. So sad... normally claim company but because its just 3months, scare tio scold by boss...
andrekua
post Nov 4 2009, 07:27 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(oec88 @ Nov 1 2009, 01:46 PM)
Just done the AutoFoam in my car yesterday. The first impression is the door closing sound, it sounds much more solid and comfortable, unlike the closing door sound last time. Second that, I sit inside the car without the car moving, I can't feel anything. Once I start the engine, yes that kind of "relax" feeling is coming, I can totally feel that the engine noise is not circulating around the ride interior, but the engine noise is only come from the front (firewall). Desmond had show me and other customers by comparing 2 Perodua Kenari, one with soundproofing and AutoFoam, while another is stock car. Inside that modified Kenari, it's much more comfortable, engine noise is also come from the front.

Well, I went for the first test drive with his worker, I still can hear the "klock klock" sound when go over uneven roads, Desmond tells me that it is probably cause by the absorber mounting and other that related to the absorber system. I'll go back to Penang to have a check on my absorber, thanks Desmond for the advice.

When on the way back to Penang, the driving speed on 110km/h is totally sounds big different than before! It was like you are driving 80km/h! LESS floating, LESS body flexing, LESS rolling, LESS noise, TIGHTER steering, BETTER steering response. Then I try to push my car to 160km/h, chasing a Civic 2.0 and a Perdana V6. I can catch with them together 3 cars without worries. (On that time was 7.45pm, the weather is dark, suppose don't have speed trap.).

After I reach Penang, I went to fetch my girlfriend. I've ask her about the result of my car, she said that the interior cabin is much more quiet then before, and then the motorcycle pass by also less noise already.

I had a really good experience when I was at Desmond's workshop. He is like my lecturer, sitting down together and teach us how to use the soundproofing materials. From his information, there are a lot types of soundproofing materials, where and where to use this type, and there is to use this type. Simply buy and use the soundproofing materials and use at the wrong part, it doesn't help at all. Another thing is, from what I see when they AutoFoam-ing my car, the steps are hard and a lot of work need to do and take care. It is advisable that DO NOT DIY the AutoFoam in your own car if you don't have any experience. End up it will cost you a bomb or have a hard time to remove those unwanted or accidently sticked foam on your car.

Today morning I wake up and check my car, the foam is still expanding, I still can see two bunch of babies came out from my undercarriage. Still have to wait until Thursday to get my car fully cured.

PS: I do not receive any commission from anybody from KL Auto or Desmond for posting the result. The result is posted with the real experience. More to write but I still have to think. The car gets a lot better, I might be missing out some improvement parts.
How is that suppose to improve these things you explained? If soundproofing can do these, then those aftermarket performance parts manufacturers close shop liao...

andrekua
post Jan 10 2010, 08:13 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(xenothrix @ Jan 6 2010, 11:31 AM)
my wear pattern is only at 2 edge of both front wheels. at first i thought i didnt fill up the air properly n therefore hv this kind of issue. but after checking with SC, they quickly give a conclusion that can change for me without charge for the tyres and only charge alignment which makes me feel kinda weird. i hv been asking SC to adjust suspension noise at almost every service appointment. when they mention tightened screws, noise problem get better and then eventually will return after a period of time.
like u said, another possibility is i take corner too fast. but in terms of speed, unless vios j is so imbalanced, dont think the tyre wear out so fast as the fastest i take corner is 60km/h, which is only at smooth curves. but i do hard brake at times, but i feel the wear out pattern is strange.

another phenomemon i still fail to convince SC to check for me is my front part of the car vibrate when breaking from 80/100km/h to 60km/h. the vibrate only happens at range of 65-60km/h and none at braking after or below. now i m hoping changing to new tyres will solve this, or mayb not.. waiting for the sign to bcome more obvious n consistent.
There is a problem with their tyre selection and they are keeping mum about it in order to reduce the cost of replacement or avoiding a total recall for Vios J. My bro's J also experiencing it. It has to be the tyre. Another colleague of mine who also bought J does not have this problem when he changed his tyre and rims. Obviously UMW is trying to cut one corner too much and are gonna pay for it. If you corner a lot, yes, the edge/side will wear faster but not this fast. The wear rate of the side is just too much. I also urge my bro to fight for it as he also did allignment on every visit.

As for vibration, it could be your wheel is not totally balance or the wear on the brake disc is not even. Im not sure if it works for J. My 1st gen Vios also have this problem. High speed braking is prone to vibration. Doing an on-wheel balancing does reduce the vibration by quite a lot.

Added on January 10, 2010, 8:16 am
QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jan 7 2010, 10:08 AM)
Hey guys wanna ask the price of used Toyota Vios 2005 G spec... Is 57k higher/lower than the market price ?
Vios resell value is quite high IMO. Some still prefer the first gen looks which explained why it was priced higher I think.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Jan 10 2010, 08:16 AM

0.0472sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:55 AM