125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Stock Market V41, OCTOBEAR vs OCTOBULL - Who's d winner?

David_Brent
post Oct 2 2009, 10:55 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Oct 2 2009, 10:51 PM)
yah.. earnings is the king... but also need to take note that things will eventually come back to those corporations when there is less and less consumers able to buy their products/services..  hmm.gif

also, from what i heard on bloomberg, they are blaming SME for not hiring enough ppl....  laugh.gif
-------
on the other hand, i wonder what headline they'll put later...
now is "Stocks fall as job losses rise more than expected"  To "Stocks recovered despite mounting job losses" ?  laugh.gif
You're absolutely right. Long term jobless-ness is a big worry.
And also - there is growing evidence that many companies have cut-back too brutally and may need to re-hire very soon...as you said.
Short-term it's good for earnings though.... drool.gif
mazda626
post Oct 2 2009, 10:59 PM

2,335 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Oct 2 2009, 10:51 PM)

also, from what i heard on bloomberg, they are blaming SME for not hiring enough ppl....  laugh.gif

Time to look at mesdax he he he.... rclxms.gif

The Mark Twain effect is the phenomenon of stock returns in October being lower than in other months. The name comes from the following quotation in Mark Twain's / Pudd Wilson: "October. This is one of the peculiarly dangerous months to speculate in stocks. The others are July, January, September, April, November, May, March, June, December, August, and February."

The 1929, 1987 and 2008 stock market crashes roughly occurred in October.

This post has been edited by mazda626: Oct 3 2009, 12:16 AM
GregPG01
post Oct 2 2009, 11:25 PM

4,966 posts

"Stocks fall as job losses rise more than expected" --> "Stocks recovered despite mounting job losses" --> "US Stocks Modestly Lower After Paring Earlier Losses" --> ???
claricecmw
post Oct 2 2009, 11:30 PM

412 posts

America is the 1st country to be eliminated for the Olympic bid!
.:BreT:.
post Oct 2 2009, 11:33 PM

wTf~~~! |'m a NerD!!?
1,302 posts

hoooray!!! today finally dare to clear my super junk S A A G and bought gens-c1 @ 0.3...
currently only two stock in hand...g.13 and gens-c1.....

This post has been edited by .:BreT:.: Oct 2 2009, 11:35 PM
mopster
post Oct 2 2009, 11:34 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

QUOTE(claricecmw @ Oct 2 2009, 11:30 PM)
America is the 1st country to be eliminated for the Olympic bid!
Tokyo also out.. its between Rio and madrid now..
IMHO they should give a chance to Rio de Janeiro... first Olympic in South America~~~
lets see is DJ is affected by the news...
TSzamans98
post Oct 2 2009, 11:38 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ Oct 2 2009, 11:33 PM)
hoooray!!! today finally dare to clear my super junk  S A A G and bought gens-c1 @ 0.3...
HOW much you sponsor to BURSA? -5K?
yktan83
post Oct 2 2009, 11:40 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ Oct 2 2009, 11:33 PM)
hoooray!!! today finally dare to clear my super junk  S A A G and bought gens-c1 @ 0.3...
if i were to buy call warrant, would go for klk-ch / cimb-cf with close to zero premium, slow and steady, or can also consider bursa-cl/cn...
few ppl around me kena stucked in gens-c1, suffering mental torture everyday even though if holding for long term should be fine smile.gif
post Oct 2 2009, 11:43 PM

wTf~~~! |'m a NerD!!?
1,302 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 2 2009, 11:38 PM)
HOW much you sponsor to BURSA? -5K?
yup 5k.... hehe no eye see liao doh.gif
zaman do u plan to sell?

QUOTE(yktan83 @ Oct 2 2009, 11:40 PM)
if i were to buy call warrant, would go for klk-ch / cimb-cf with close to zero premium, slow and steady, or can also consider bursa-cl/cn...
few ppl around me kena stucked in gens-c1, suffering mental torture everyday even though if holding for long term should be fine  smile.gif
i thk anyhow definitely better than saag.... if hold long term still ok!

This post has been edited by .:BreT:.: Oct 2 2009, 11:44 PM
Adelaide
post Oct 2 2009, 11:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Oct 2 2009, 10:14 PM)
yup~  flex.gif
hope can get leave on 21st to attend the AGM... atm not confirmed yet...
eh eh.. if buy from maybank2u then not entitled to go for AGM 1 ar??
what if buy via OSK?
TSzamans98
post Oct 2 2009, 11:46 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ Oct 2 2009, 11:43 PM)
yup 5k.... hehe no eye see liao  doh.gif
zaman do u plan to sell?
Not yet, still calculating the odds.. -11K is a big sum for me..
jasontoh
post Oct 3 2009, 12:10 AM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 2 2009, 11:46 PM)
Not yet, still calculating the odds.. -11K is a big sum for me..
Can la....restart, then earn more from others. 11K easily cover back, if you have about 100K capital

Added on October 3, 2009, 12:16 am
QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ Oct 2 2009, 11:43 PM)
yup 5k.... hehe no eye see liao  doh.gif
zaman do u plan to sell?
Long term for call warrant? Mana ada people play like that?

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Oct 3 2009, 12:16 AM
post Oct 3 2009, 12:22 AM

wTf~~~! |'m a NerD!!?
1,302 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Oct 3 2009, 12:10 AM)
Can la....restart, then earn more from others. 11K easily cover back, if you have about 100K capital

Added on October 3, 2009, 12:16 am
Long term for call warrant? Mana ada people play like that?
nola hehe my long term is half year, only got 20lot... if warrant zzz means my g.13 oso byebye cry.gif

This post has been edited by .:BreT:.: Oct 3 2009, 12:23 AM
cherroy
post Oct 3 2009, 12:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Oct 2 2009, 10:55 PM)
And also - there is growing evidence that many companies have cut-back too brutally and may need to re-hire very soon...as you said.
Short-term it's good for earnings though.... drool.gif
This is indeed true, at my area, factories and company are struggling to hire back people to meet the sudden rise in orders. They are having not enough people to produce.

You can't blame the brutal cut back early in the year, as there is almost no order or little order across and price of goods are tumbling fast, even my company's one of raw material, price tumbling near 50% over 3-4 months time, imagine those stock up a lot one, surely suffering.

You don't cut your expenses, you might not survive if there is no huge stimulus package to stimulate the economy. Company need to act quick whenever situation change. Company might earn less due to unable to meet the demand, but if company doesn't react in the first place to cut, if situation doesn't turn better, without the cut, company might not able to survive in the first place.

David_Brent
post Oct 3 2009, 12:32 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 3 2009, 12:23 AM)
This is indeed true, at my area, factories and company are struggling to hire back people to meet the sudden rise in orders. They are having not enough people to produce.

You can't blame the brutal cut back early in the year, as there is almost no order or little order across and price of goods are tumbling fast, even my company's one of raw material, price tumbling near 50% over 3-4 months time, imagine those stock up a lot one, surely suffering.

You don't cut your expenses, you might not survive if there is no huge stimulus package to stimulate the economy. Company need to act quick whenever situation change. Company might earn less due to unable to meet the demand, but if company doesn't react in the first place to cut, if situation doesn't turn better, without the cut, company might not able to survive in the first place.
Well - that's absolutely right.
Good companies will respond very fast which may mean suffering for employees.
But it is a survival game. And the fittest survive.
Cost/Overhead cutting is where most of the last quarter earnings come from in good companies - productivity is increased and higher efficiencies....IMHO

Also: management must focus on real issues.

Hiring and training new workers will take some time.
My point is that for investment these so-called unemployment numbers may not be a bad thing.

Also - good companies with astute management will emerge leaner, fitter and more profitable.... drool.gif

<Just my opinion only>

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Oct 3 2009, 12:34 AM
cherroy
post Oct 3 2009, 12:39 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Oct 3 2009, 12:32 AM)
Well - that's absolutely right.
Good companies will respond very fast which may mean suffering for employees.
But it is a survival game. And the fittest survive.
This is where most of the last quarter earnings come from in good companies - productivity is increased and higher efficiencies....IMHO

Hiring and training new workers will take some time.
My point is that for investment these so-called unemployment numbers may not be a bad thing.

Also - good companies with astute management will emerge leaner, fitter and more profitable.... drool.gif

<Just my opinion only>
Yup, this is what happening now, increase productivity and squeeze out more from existing left workforce.
For shareholders POV, this is good thing.

Economy, stock market, company is not charity game, always must react quick for survival.

After all, it is not totally bad thing. Every event happening has its good face as well. Just like if not the 1997 Asian crisis and its lesson, Asian countries won't be that resilience to face the current global crisis.

But for broader and longer term sense, it is not that good, without more people being employed, you don't increase the demand as no job, no money to buy new toy. There is limit how much you can cost cutting and productivity increment, you always need increment in sales to bring the profit to a new higher level. Without more job being created, the sales prospect won't be that good.
David_Brent
post Oct 3 2009, 12:45 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 3 2009, 12:39 AM)
Yup, this is what happening now, increase productivity and squeeze out more from existing left workforce.
For shareholders POV, this is good thing.

Economy, stock market, company is not charity game, always must react quick for survival.

After all, it is not totally bad thing. Every event happening has its good face as well. Just like if not the 1997 Asian crisis and its lesson, Asian countries won't be that resilience to face the current global crisis.

But for broader and longer term sense, it is not that good, without more people being employed, you don't increase the demand as no job, no money to buy new toy. There is limit how much you can cost cutting and productivity increment, you always need increment in sales to bring the profit to a new higher level. Without more job being created, the sales prospect won't be that good.
This is the biggest worry - no doubt.
But - if you're treating a patient with multiple injuries, your first job is to keep him alive and breathing. Then get him walking and eating properly.....

The 100meters race or training him for the marathon can come later.

The toxic debts and derivatives that created this whole mess are going to take years to get rid of....
As investors, we have to react to circumstances as we find them...but I agree with you - without consumer demand - the recovery will be very fragile... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Oct 3 2009, 12:46 AM
mopster
post Oct 3 2009, 12:47 AM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

QUOTE(Adelaide @ Oct 2 2009, 11:45 PM)
eh eh.. if buy from maybank2u then not entitled to go for AGM 1 ar??
what if buy via OSK?
depends. from what i know is:
if your's a direct cds account then toto will mail agm papers/dividend directly to u.. and the proxy form is there too..
but if your account is a nominee account then im not sure what to do... maybe like other forumer said, u gotta go to maybank and get the form, etc..

epalbee3
post Oct 3 2009, 12:49 AM

1,345 posts

Officially I am Citibank shareholder now holding 115 shares.

So I am the boss now.. wink.gif
David_Brent
post Oct 3 2009, 12:51 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 3 2009, 12:49 AM)
Officially I am Citibank shareholder now holding 115 shares.

So I am the boss now.. wink.gif
Hope you do a better job for the shareholders than the current numb-nuts who is sitting in the boss's chair! laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:23 PM