TSdavidgary73
post Apr 28 2009, 06:43 PM, updated 15y ago

Music Producer
4,903 posts

iTunes AppStore Applications

Please post your recommendation on AppStore Application and what you feel it's a 'must have' application for all iPhone users.

Please refer to iTunes AppStore for all applications pricing.

If you would like to do a full review on a application, please post your reviews @ https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/803666

If there's any queries on certain Applications, do post it in this thread.

For Games recommendation, please refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1013537

Recommended Applications

Productivity
QuickOffice Mobile Office Suite - edit, view,create excel and words document.
Documents To Go - read and edit Microsoft Word, Excel and Power Point
Dropbox - view documents only (Free)
Homebudget - good for budget & expense planning
ExpenseIT - set the budget allocated for the month and the user will be able to put in his expenditures of each item into this app
Dictionary
WordWeb
Mover - allows you to transfer images and contacts to other nearby iPhones via Wi-Fi networking
KTdict C-E (Chinese-English Dictionary)

Social Networking
Beejive
Twitterfon
Tweetie
IM+
Twitterlator Pro ****

Utilities
Shazam (Music)
Groups - place contacts into groups.
TouchTerm
mBox Mail
Wiki Mobile
Contacts by Number
LogMeIn Ignition - best remote app for controlling ur PC
Voice this - simple voice dialing for iPhone

Lifestyle
buUuk - shows restaurant near you

Photography
QuadCamera
Night Camera
ColorSplash - editing with gray and colorful feature

Entertainment
TVForecast

Travel
FlightTrack - handy tool for checking flight info and the world
FlightTrack Pro

Music
iShred
Guitar:Play and Share
ClearTune (Tuner)
DigiDrummer
GuitarToolKit
Ocarina

Books
NIV Bible

Toys
Koi Pond
Bolt

Health and Fitness

iFitness and Muscle Gain - good example of your trainer and nutritionist.
MotionX GPS and B.iCycle - track your distance/track/speed your workout
Gym Free - application for weights training guide

Forex
Bloomberg
http://wapnews.mobi/bursa/ (Not the best solution but well you get the real time stock quotes using this simple website..) posted by iori57

** Dataman is a nice app to monitor your Cellular and Wifi usage in real time and get notified when you reach a threshold. [by tzxsean]
---
Q&A

Q: Can i make purchase in US iTunes account with M'sia Credit Card?
A: You will not be able to make purchases from the US iTunes Store with a Malaysian credit card. The solution to this is to get the iTunes Gift Cards which you can use to redeem for store credit. You can buy these gift cards locally by looking for sellers in the Garage Sales section. (To redeem: iTunes Program>iTunes Store>Quick Links>Redeem)

Q: Can i use M'sia Credit Card to purchase Applications?
A: Yes you can and only valid for M'sia AppStore.

Q: M'sia AppStore sells in Ringgit or US currency? Any handling fee for international transactions using M'sia CC?
A: All transaction will be done in US currency and your respective CC provider/bank will impose a 1% charge on top of that amount paid.

Application price: $0.99 = around RM3.70
Total amount paid with 1% transaction fee using M'sia CC = RM3.74
* For more enquiries, please refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/998251

Q:How To Download Games from AppStore
APlease refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/998251

Q: Nike+ application works with iPhone 3G?
A: NO. Nike+ only works with Nano and 2nd Gen iTouch, not the 3G iPhone. 3GS works because it has a built in receiver.

* The list of applications will be updated on the first post by your recommendations. Will be placing them in categories when we have more recommendations.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 30 2010, 02:11 PM
TSdavidgary73
post May 1 2009, 03:09 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Dictionary - with Thesaurus from dictionary.com
Groups - place contacts into groups
BuUuk - look for local restaurants in different categories and added with reviews.

TSdavidgary73
post Jun 10 2009, 12:04 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(Zavier18 @ Jun 10 2009, 11:58 AM)
Is there a Chinese Dictionary app that allows you to search for a Chinese character by writing the character out on the virtual pad ?
Not sure if there's an app for it but you can access the Chinese character via your iPhone.

Go to Settings/Keyboards/Select International keyboards.

You can select both Chinese Simplified and Traditional or just one and then toggle Handwriting and Pinyin.

Go to your SMS text and create a new message. Press the globe icon on the bottom left screen. You should see the available functions

TSdavidgary73
post Jun 10 2009, 12:15 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(Zavier18 @ Jun 10 2009, 12:08 PM)
Yes, I have already enabled this. Since I have crappy command of Mandarin, I love to have a Dictionary app that could let me find the meaning of a certain character.
Try this: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=291179703&mt=8

Here's another: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=310552109&mt=8

Hope this is the app you're looking for.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 10 2009, 12:19 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Jun 22 2009, 07:59 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Pleasse keep this thread for only AppStore discussion and not Cydia applications. Please reedit your post or will reedit them later.

Thank you
TSdavidgary73
post Jul 1 2009, 04:44 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

eBuddy is a new application available for free in 'AppStore through which you can chat with your friends directly from iPhone / iPod Touch. This is an instant messaging program that supports the push notifications that will allow you to stay in touch with your friends on MSN, Yahoo, AIM, ICQ, GTalk and Facebook.

Link: eBuddy (Free)

BatteryLife 1.0: check the battery status | AppStore

LInk: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=319885658&mt=8 (Free)

TSdavidgary73
post Jul 9 2009, 11:35 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Tweet Reel Lets You Tweet Videos From Your 3GS

A new app called Tweet Reel is promising to change the way you share video on your iPhone 3GS. Dubbed the TwitPic of video, the iPhone app allows you to record video on your iPhone 3GS and attach it to a tweet to be uploaded, just like other image sharing services do. It also supplies an interface to embed and share videos on the web and elsewhere. It's a little like YouTube, except you can type out the tweet yourself instead of having YouTube generate it for you. You can download Tweet Reel from the App Store for $2.99 (3GS only).

Link: http://tweetreel.com/

GPush To Create Push Notifications For Your Gmail Inbox

GPush has been submitted to the App Store for review. If it is accepted it will be available for $.99.

via iClarified
TSdavidgary73
post Jul 14 2009, 06:21 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

AlarmTunes

APPLICATION DESCRIPTION

Finally, the ability to wake up to music from your iPod library is now avilable for iPhone and iPod Touch.

Please note: As with all third party applications, AlarmTunes must be open for the alarm to function. AlarmTunes can run in sleep mode, just be sure not to leave the application by pressing the home button.

Link: AlarmTunes [USD 0.99]

PhotoBeamer: share photos via Bluetooth thanks to Peer-to-Peer!

PhotoBeamer is a brand-new application available in 'AppStore through which you can exchange photos between two iPhone or iPod Touch 2G, using technology, Peer-to-Peer over Bluetooth. Here are details on the operation of PhotoBeamer.

Link: PhotoBeamer [USD 0.99]

'Resident Evil 4' Mobile Edition Video Leak

Will be available soon.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jul 14 2009, 06:42 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Jul 18 2009, 08:01 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

New Version of Fring With iPhone Push Notification

Fring has announced a new version of their iPhone application which supports push notification. Fring lets you communicate on all your favourite social networks including Skype, MSN Messenger, Google Talk, ICQ, SIP, Twitter, Yahoo! and AIM.

What does it do? When you log out of fring, it keeps you in “online” status so your buddies can contact you, and you can choose whether to respond to an alert notifying you that someone is trying to chat, call, send you files, etc.

How does it work? Whenever someone calls/chats you, you’ll receive a beep sound, as well as a pop-up window, telling you that your friend is trying to contact you. Once you click on that pop-up window, it’ll log you back into fring and take you straight to the relevant window.

How do you register? Push Notification is enabled by Apple itself; once you download the new version, you’ll be asked whether you’d like to enable this option for fring, click ‘enable‘ and you’re ready to go.

If you choose to temporarily disable this option you can simply click on ‘more‘ and then on ‘go offline‘; so once you log out of fring, Push Notification will be disabled, until next time you log in.

You can download fring from the App Store at no cost.

Link: Fring [With Push Notification]

Nimbuzz With iPhone Push Notification

A mobile social messenger, combining instant messaging, geo-presence and VoIP, recently announced its new iPhone and iPod touch updates (with a brand new desktop client for Apple Mac computers).

http://www.nimbuzz.com/en/mac

Nimbuzz [With Push Notification]

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jul 18 2009, 08:07 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Jul 28 2009, 03:47 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(bitbytes9 @ Jul 28 2009, 03:27 PM)
Where to get this application
Remote Control Application (Remote Desktop) for iPhone 3G
Get it at iTunes AppStore. Just serach for "Remote" and you will get the results you need. Here are some links:

http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=288362053&mt=8

http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=288362576&mt=8

http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=289316916&mt=8

http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=299002339&mt=8
TSdavidgary73
post Aug 2 2009, 01:43 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(doctorpopcorn @ Aug 2 2009, 01:24 PM)
I tried to get this app but I can't because its not in the Malaysian App Store. Is there a way to get around this?
Give crxr a call or pm. Not sure he still has those iTunes Card but worth a try: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1058253
TSdavidgary73
post Oct 18 2009, 12:57 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 17 2009, 11:16 PM)
Guys, any good music instrument apps to intro? Browsed through iTune and found that there is quite a lot but i wander which is the better / best. Were actually looking for guitar playing apps.
iShred is a great electirc guitar app as my band used it to perform in Mac & iPod Discovery Week back 3 months ago and for acoustic guitar, try Guitar.

Links below.

iShred: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=301203136&mt=8

Guitar: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=291921788&mt=8
TSdavidgary73
post Aug 3 2010, 12:27 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@bangsar

You're noted/listed/reported/tagged for piracy discussion to all mods.

Please read the LYN and iPhone subforum Rules.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1080223

--

Guys, i told you so why we disallow JB discussion hence you see the reason.
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 26 2010, 10:11 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@vexus

You're noted/listed/reported and tagged for piracy discussion to all mods. Warning will be seerved by LYN Staff.

You're here since 2003 and should know the rules well enough. Please read the LYN rules and iPhone subforum rules:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1080223

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 26 2010, 10:13 PM
TSdavidgary73
post Sep 30 2010, 04:50 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(lordsapt @ Sep 30 2010, 04:47 PM)
i got a noob question. how do i know what currency the price is? for example PAPAGO! in my itunes is $19.99 <--- is this RM or USD?
Please read the first post. Answers provided in Q&A section.
TSdavidgary73
post Oct 1 2010, 01:00 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@gwendelyn89

After numerous warnings asking you not to double post, you still persistently continue to double post.

Now, you're noted/listed/tagged and were reported twice for piracy discussion to all mods.

Warnng will be served by LYN Staff. Next offence, account suspension.

Pleae read the rules:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281

TSdavidgary73
post Jan 22 2011, 03:41 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

New thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1727465

Thread Closed