Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

ktek
post Mar 30 2015, 09:14 AM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 30 2015, 08:21 AM)
But as i can see the avr have individual setting for front, center, surround n sub. So how to get the best hz setting for individual but my sub got setting button for hz too.
80hz is guide line not necessary to follow exactly.
actually not that simple, need to adjust together with channel level.

give u one example, my main spkr use dual 5.5" floorstanding. center and surround are 4" mini bookshelf type. a 10" subwoofer set to bypass all control to avr.

auto calibration give front 60hz, tilt up center 80hz, surround at rear corner 80hz. bass lfe crossover inside receiver is 120hz, not adjusted by auto calibration.
while many foreign forums says leave 120hz as is, to contain full signal from 5.1 movies. the result is shaking boom.
decrease sw channel level helps in movie but music become lean bass no kick.

so i experiment adjusting lfe crossover to 110, 100, 90, 80, 60, 40 by ear using rock music. 80hz was the best until i add acoustic foam, 90hz become more natural to blend in room.
increase sw channel level to match with main spkr.

for front spkr crossover, i tried 80hz voice is over energetic (not realistic). of course it depends on your taste whistling.gif
those frequency that peak in between front 60hz and sw 90hz has been taken care by acoustic foam.

This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 30 2015, 09:31 AM
ktek
post Mar 30 2015, 09:29 AM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 30 2015, 07:59 AM)
In theory is you need to know the lowest frequency your speaker can go and what is the highest frequency your sub can go. The middle point of the speaker and sub is your cross over. If you set it wrong then certain frequency will go missing or hear it.
natural roll off nod.gif
ktek
post Mar 30 2015, 07:24 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 30 2015, 11:28 AM)
I set reverse phase on the sub side n avr normal but when i set avr to to reverse n sub side also reverse no sound from sub. Anything wrong or my setting is incorrect
recommended way.
subwoofer in front of u, normal 0 phase
behind u, reserve 180 phase

QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 30 2015, 03:56 PM)
5007? Marantz?

If it is Marantz SR-5007, connect the rear speaker output and place the spk in ceiling firing down does not make atmos run as it need a newer AVR which can decode the extra layer of atmos info that being added to the primary Dolby TrueHD layer

If you just use the rear spk out to firing down from ceiling, you are merely let the audio of the rear surround to sound from the ceiling, which will be weirdly sound  sweat.gif
yup, marant 5006, 5007 can support front height. U reverse the wiring will alter the in--out phase
ktek
post Mar 30 2015, 11:00 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 30 2015, 08:30 PM)
I feel that setting sub to reverse phase seem better than normal n yes setting to 80hz have a better bass too. Thanks to forummer for info
i guess your sub has a reflex port?
sometimes it may need reverse 180 phase to correct it back

This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 30 2015, 11:01 PM
ktek
post May 1 2015, 11:51 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ May 1 2015, 10:19 PM)
Can explain in more details, bitstream yes n decode no.tq
Atmos must run true hd in bit steam. Old player set it will do.
if cannot means player decode in lpcm the atmos light off
ktek
post May 11 2015, 10:32 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(K4iz3n @ May 11 2015, 10:04 PM)
This one from Monitor Audio looks nice:

http://www.monitoraudio.co.uk/products/trimless-200/ct265

Just wondering without atmos audio, the ceiling speakers are not used then?
can set your receiver to dolby surround mode or yamaha presence mode (dsp processing)
ktek
post May 31 2015, 09:34 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(K4iz3n @ May 31 2015, 08:46 PM)
I see. I thought it would upscale  atmos. Let me see if I can find the forum I read before.
the name called dolby surround.
ktek
post Oct 5 2015, 01:52 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(bakrul @ Oct 5 2015, 11:43 AM)
hi to all sifu....
how much d price for rx-v379?
looking for that amp
SEE HERE https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3166814&hl=

V377 got offer by desa home. very good price

This post has been edited by ktek: Oct 5 2015, 01:59 PM
ktek
post Oct 6 2015, 02:34 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 6 2015, 02:03 PM)
Well, mostly AVRs that at the same series will be using the same output power, only some minor features update, if budget come first, always get last year models(I'm more cheapskate, 2 years old clearance from Desa HT only I buy).
same to me tongue.gif
ktek
post Oct 19 2015, 02:28 AM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(Evo8020 @ Oct 18 2015, 09:17 PM)

just bought a v477 during the recent desa home theatre promotion. This is my first venture into home theatre setup, away from HTiB.

I'm shopping for 5.1 speakers. Can sifu in this forum recommend a few options? Mainly used for astro and Apple TV. Might consider listen to music more, after having a Yamaha avr.  biggrin.gif

Anyway, my budget is 1.8k +-. Thanks for any input.
if u are not rush, start with 2 unit of very good first. center & rear can add afterward.

else u got yamaha surround set like p40, boston soundware xs, wharfedale dx10, jbl entry set.
ktek
post Oct 28 2015, 05:13 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(HITMAN316 @ Oct 28 2015, 03:27 PM)
Does Yamaha Malaysia have any year end sale or warehouse sale at Kelana Jaya?
wait news from http://msiapromos.com/
ktek
post Oct 30 2015, 11:09 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Oct 30 2015, 10:08 PM)
sorry that not really understd. which model of apm? monitor audio...means?
good start from RX-V477(5.1 surround) to RX-A850 (7.1 surround + dolby atmos) & more.
monitor audio is speaker brand from uk. model are bronze series, silver series.

QUOTE(Dennos @ Oct 30 2015, 10:36 PM)
Yamaha NS-SW300 Subwoofer Rosewood
Any comment? Thanks
Add on to 477 ?

yamaha sw is closer to soft side.
general music & rumble ok but movie unable give very theater kick that shake ur pant

ktek
post Nov 8 2015, 12:56 AM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

incoming 'enemy' from ceiling bruce.gif
ktek
post Jan 16 2016, 08:54 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ Jan 16 2016, 08:11 PM)
Hi. I found a Yamaha RX-V379 and Yamaha NS-P40 5.1 Speakers for around RM2000 for both. Would it be a good combination for a beginner like me?
good for small room
ktek
post Jan 17 2016, 12:48 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ Jan 17 2016, 01:08 AM)
I'm using it for my apartment living room. It is considered small I guess?
yup. if u have free space & budget in the future, u can upgrade front channel too.
ktek
post Jan 26 2016, 02:58 PM

小喇叭
13,207 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ Jan 26 2016, 12:01 PM)
After going to Desa in Lyp, they directed me to their kepong branch and I got the A2040 for rm4250 cash there. Damn heavy and now both my arms are aching like anything. Will be setting it up in the next few days replacing my v663.  smile.gif Thanks for your recommendation. Desa lyp has moved to first floor.
welcome to atmos brows.gif

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0504sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:55 AM