6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined

bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 07:58 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 14 2009, 07:53 PM)
just tried that as well, the thing is the large rom file is large as u know, but it transloads partially and what i'm getting is only bout 40/50mb  ohmy.gif
unless i'm missing something.. its okay i am trying still.

update: okay now I notice... its transloading (upoading) to its server... will be done soon... muakzzz, thanks bluhound!! ur a geniuz!!  icon_rolleyes.gif
I take it you're downloading IJC? As I just tried to transload PDA_I8000NXXIJC.part1.rar the site shows it has already been transloaded and the filesize is correct, 191MB.

EDIT: Didn't realsie you edited your post.. tongue.gif Glad to hear it worked..

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 14 2009, 07:59 PM
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 08:52 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 14 2009, 08:10 PM)
yeah that was me!!! Done transloading to the site. Thanks again!! Btw, u know hw long will it be active after transloading?  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
I am not sure but assume that the files will be there less than a day... the first site rsplug only gave 1 1/2 hr.
Best is to Tansload and DL straightaway, if large files, well...planning needed.... smile.gif
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 09:21 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Nov 14 2009, 09:12 PM)
just wondering...i've nv flashed my phone b4..currently still stays at

PDA: I8000XXIH5
CSC: I8000XSOIH1
PHONE: I8000DXIH2

can i straight away flash it to the IJC you guys are talking about?
Yes, you can flash to any version but only with specific firmwares released by sorg and Secany as those are internal releases where there are no security lock which prevents certain upgrades and downgrades.
Do this at your own risk though. If you're not up to it, its best to wait until Samsung release an official WM6.5 update to the local Service Centres.
bluhound
post Nov 21 2009, 11:49 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(exiakitt @ Nov 21 2009, 10:23 AM)
secany has posted IK5 ROM biggrin.gif
Yep, anybody tested it yet? Does it have the end task 'X' problem?
From Modaco, somebody mentioned they only notice some improvements at viewing pictures in landscape mode.... Other than that, nothing.
Now using IJC. Until there is a huge improvement over IJC, then it'll be worthwhile to move to IK5.
Lazy to customise the setup again...
bluhound
post Nov 22 2009, 11:05 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Nov 22 2009, 08:25 PM)
winmo 6.5 lock screen

Added on November 22, 2009, 8:26 pm
secany is the creator of the rom..google for more info.
it would be pages long if u dun even know what rom means.. sweat.gif
He is not the creator the ROMs, more like the distributor for them. He releases Samsung manufacturing default ROMs, not cooked ones.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 22 2009, 11:06 PM
bluhound
post Nov 30 2009, 10:23 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(copperhead @ Nov 30 2009, 09:35 AM)
hi bro,

u can go to Bukit Tinggi Klang Shopping Center. Last 2 days i bought rubber casing for my Omniooo 2 similar like the picture u sent. but the color is Black Transparent. Nice!!

Added on November 30, 2009, 9:37 amhi guys,

anybody knows where is the cheapest area to Install GPS Garmin software?? thx.. last 2 days i servey they want to charge me rm120... is it normal price?
WOW!. Before you go around paying to get it done, search around Google. The instructions are everywhere and *ahem* free *cough*...
As for maps, there are 3 major maps available for Malaysia, MalsingMaps, MalFreeMaps and the orignal Garmin NT.

MalsingMaps and Garmin NT are not free but *ahem* *cough*...... tongue.gif
As for MalFreeMaps...go figure why they add the word 'Free' in.... smile.gif
bluhound
post Dec 27 2009, 11:10 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(uchiha_sauffie @ Dec 27 2009, 07:20 PM)
need help here! my opera keep insisting on connecting trough gprs or 3g! I want to connect trough WIFI but cannot find it!
You can use NoData to disable the all Access Points except MMS to force Opera to use Wifi.
Another reason is that it possible that you may have set your Wifi to 'My Work' instead of "The Internet" during the initial Wifi set up to your router.
Deleting the profile and recreating it might work.
bluhound
post Jan 25 2010, 11:33 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Jan 25 2010, 11:07 PM)
i8000XXJA5 (Windows Mobile 6.5)

Credit to secany @ WinMo @ MoDaCo

25.Jan.10
Newsest version so far

Phone:
http://rapidshare.com/files/339675865/Phone_I8000XXJA3.7z

PDA + eBoot:
http://rapidshare.com/files/339679197/PDA_i8000XXJA5.7z.001
http://rapidshare.com/files/339681995/PDA_i8000XXJA5.7z.002
http://rapidshare.com/files/339684678/PDA_i8000XXJA5.7z.003
http://rapidshare.com/files/339686408/PDA_i8000XXJA5.7z.004

CSC:
http://rapidshare.com/files/339675427/CSC_I8000NXXJA5.7z

Same old rule: NO MIRROR!!!!!
Enjoy

Added on January 25, 2010, 11:15 pm>>I found more free RAM. Total 144.17 MB. It is very good. I will test more.
After reboot I have 66,40 MB with Touchwizard on.

>>CSC file for JA5 has got error, use JA1

>>http://jacekchmiel.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!3692A0833F1D2477!437.entry

>>THE BIGGEST ADD-ON
'Samsung Today' which is found in Omnia Pro now included in the ROM.
Much improved memory management... I get about 70MB RAM with 'Samsung Today' on and touchwiz off.
CSC problem can be fixed either by using the new Octans Downloader 2.13 (just used it to flash the new csc on my O2) or using wes' Omnia II Kitchen to extract single CSCs from the original multi CSC file. More details explained in the Modaco forum.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Jan 25 2010, 11:35 PM
bluhound
post Feb 23 2010, 01:37 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Feb 20 2010, 11:41 PM)
wa quite cheap lo. any freebies u get?  biggrin.gif

i ask from the samsung shop at the mines cost for 2.4k leh  cry.gif
QUOTE(mvck1030 @ Feb 21 2010, 01:31 AM)
i bought rm1950...not rm1850...

but i heard ppl can get rm1850...

rm2400? really exp la...how come like that de?
QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Feb 21 2010, 12:54 PM)
lol i know u bought for rm1950.  nod.gif
but did u get any freebie ? brows.gif

lol. not sure bout that . so shock when tat salesgirl tell me tat cost rm2400. doh.gif
RM2399 is Smasung's Official Recommended Retail Price as well as introductory price. My Omnia II cost that much when I got it back in August 2009.
Should've waited a couple of months. Now for the same price I could've gotten a HTC HD2.... sigh...
Anyway, love the AMOLED screen.. biggrin.gif

@ lk_chin: Official WM 6.5 version for Malaysia is IJ9. Not sure for the CSC version though. Others say is XSOIJ9 but when I got mine from PDA Expert (that time it was still WM 6.1 but not relevant as product codes are universal for all WM builds) it was FAMIG1 so I am not exactly sure on that one.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Feb 23 2010, 01:38 PM
bluhound
post Feb 23 2010, 01:50 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Feb 23 2010, 01:43 PM)
The CSC would be XSOIJ9 for the official 6.5 ROM.

At least that was mine before I went to JB1.
Thanks. That clears thing up..somewhat.... smile.gif
Still, my old firmware was FAM, not XSO. Since XSO represents Singapore/Malaysia, what does FAM represents?
FYI, my phone is a unbranded one from FMG.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Feb 23 2010, 01:51 PM
bluhound
post Mar 1 2010, 12:54 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(titan-x @ Feb 27 2010, 12:08 AM)
Has anyone tried to overclock this phone? (i mean using it for 24 hours normal usage).. sounds fun but risky...  biggrin.gif

http://www.modaco.com/content/i8000-verizo...lock-o2-solved/

would like to try, but of coz want to know first if any user here had some bad experience playing with this..  notworthy.gif
I have been running my phone at 950Mhz for over a month now. Also with FPU Enabler on.
Any higher than that and I get random crashes. FYI, it is safe to overclock your phone. The worst case is that your phone locks up and requires a reset. No burnt chips or something but of course do it at your own risk...

As a result, TouchFLO 3D ( I am using TouchFLO 3D 2.0) is A LOT smoother as well as WM start menu's scrolling speed.

There are also improvements with other apps, most noticeably is Garmin. It managed to cope up with GPS guiding as well as track recording.
UNO also plays smoother... biggrin.gif
bluhound
post Mar 1 2010, 11:13 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Mar 1 2010, 11:29 AM)
any adverse effects on battery life? smile.gif
Definitely. Before overclocking, my phone's power can last for almost 3 days. After overclocking, its an average 1 1/2 day.
Not really a problem for me as I charge my phone's battery almost every night.
bluhound
post Mar 2 2010, 09:24 PM

192 posts

Why not try out Gary Crutcher's new custom ROM (based o February ROM).
Its running on WM 6.5 with 99MB free RAM (he modded pagepool to 8MB) and 144MB free space on Main Memory.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Mar 2 2010, 09:25 PM
bluhound
post Mar 3 2010, 11:11 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(mrdvil @ Mar 3 2010, 10:06 AM)
My 2nd hand omnia i8000 come with unofficial ROM(weird ROM) sad.gif

PDA: I8000NXXJA5
CSC: I8000XSOJA5
Phone: I8000XXJA3

Question is how to flash back the original samsung Omnia II ROM(Win 6.5)? I prefer use the original interface smile.gif
Actually, JA5 is an excellent firmware. What do you mean by original interface?
Is it showing Samsung WidgetPlus, Samsung Today or a third party UI?

Anyway, the "Official" firmware for Malaysia/Singapore is IJ9. Use OCTANS and flash your PDA and CSC (XSOJA5 CSC is a custom CSC, created by an individual. Not from Samsung) section back to IJ9. You can leave the rest as is.
bluhound
post Mar 4 2010, 09:47 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Mar 3 2010, 11:17 AM)
really , that is good for me , have you tried it ? any problem ?
I just looked at it , he removed almost all Samsung programs , even adobe and office everything , well i don't use those much anyway ,
Weel, I had to revert to Kuanchai's JA5 Lite. The reduced 8MB pagepool had a huge performance hit on my phone.

QUOTE(titan-x @ Mar 3 2010, 10:30 PM)
As I expected.. just a lil bit worried since i compared it with pc's cpu overclocking  tongue.gif
I did try running my phone at 900MHz for past few days... works fine and speed improvement can be seen like what u mentioned with an exception that occasionally my phone hang and need to soft reset..  laugh.gif
Is it correct if I say ROM version could affects our phone stability after overclock it?  hmm.gif

My ROM: All Secany's JB1

By the way... can anyone enlighten me if there is any googletalk app for our phone?  notworthy.gif
Regards.
That I am not exactly sure but based on my experience, I aceived better overclocking stability with "lite" firmwares.

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Mar 3 2010, 10:45 PM)
Palringo is your all in one IM solution =P
I use IM+. Works just as well... biggrin.gif
Supported accounts in IM+.

QUOTE(mrdvil @ Mar 4 2010, 10:44 AM)
Ya..I like the samsung Widgetplus.  wub.gif Now this ROM dont have it sad.gif

Where can download the IJ9 firmware. It is stable? You mean I need to flash my PDA and CSC only? Both using IJ9?

Sorry for many question. Newbie here.
useless..It go back same thing.
Yup..u r right.  thumbup.gif
IJ9 available at Modaco, Omnia I8000 subforum. IJ9 is stable.
You can flash eboot and phone also bot not necessary unless you want your phone to be a Malaysia/Singapore stock solid phone. Yess all IJ9.
bluhound
post Mar 11 2010, 09:10 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Mar 11 2010, 02:03 AM)
i only have xp and win7 rig with me...so i have no idea leh.. doh.gif
why not just use the window way for your vista?
I have been using Vista and Windows 7 (32 and 64 bit) to flash my phone for a while already. The trick here is to set OCTANS to Windows XP Compatibility mode only then it'll detect your phone..
bluhound
post Mar 29 2010, 06:26 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(moxshax @ Mar 29 2010, 11:20 AM)
Hard reset restores rom to original state. As fresh as it was when you first installed your rom. And yes, it wipes out your "My Storage" but your "Storage Card" remains intact.
FYI, there are two methods of hard reset:-

1. Switch off mobile phone. Hold these buttons together (Volume Up + Lock Button + Pickup button + Hangup button) until a screen pops up asking confirmation.

2. With mobile phone switched on, enter phone menu and enter this code *2767*3855#

Method 1 only resets internal storage but does not clear "My Storage".
Method 2 clears both.
None of them clears "Storage Card".
bluhound
post Mar 30 2010, 11:50 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Mar 30 2010, 09:08 AM)
method 1 does not clear my storage?
what would happen for those program installed in my storage, but have some files store in internal storage?

also, wat is the performance of ur battery?
mine is depleting fast, imo.
it would reduce 1% every 5-10 mins of using....
normal using, on 2G network(i disable 3G), no wifi no bluetooth, no music, no video playing...
QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Mar 30 2010, 10:23 AM)
saw this...
here
i wonder this is the reason why my battery life is short-lived...
The programs will not function properly if you do that. Think of your Omnia II as an actual Windows PC. You can't just simply copy the program folders and run it directly as there could be some dependencies tied to it (e.g. shared system files installed during setup, registry etc.)

As for Battery performance, I have used TouchFLO 3D 1.3/2.0, Sense 2.5.1920/2.5.2011. Now using SPB Mobile Shell 3.5.3 with WM7 skin. Never used TouchWiz. Phone can last up to 2 days with occasional usage on 3G. If I use WM6.5's stock Titanium, battery life is longer.
The reason is that 3rd party shells uses Hardware Acceleration (aka OpenGL ES v1 and v2 depending on which shell you are using). Think as if you are playing 3D games on your notebook while running on battery power. Does it drain quicker than usual?
Titanium does not use any hardware accelerator.

Anyway, safe practice is to charge it every night right before you head to bed. Learned it the hard way when the phone battery died out during an important phone call... rclxub.gif

*some of you might say that it is not good to charge the phone battery every day as it degrades the battery. Well, based on my experience, I have done this for years with all kinds of phones and average battery lifespan is 2 years. Seems fair enough. Also mobile phone batteries are now reasonably priced unlike last time.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Mar 30 2010, 11:54 AM
bluhound
post Mar 30 2010, 12:55 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Mar 30 2010, 12:49 PM)
any way for me to sms number OTHER than mobile in contact??
In the phone book, tap and hold on the desired phone number. A menu will pop out. Select "Send Message".
bluhound
post Mar 30 2010, 06:47 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Mar 30 2010, 01:51 PM)
i am noob...what a noob i am...
thanks my dear~~~ rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
one more thing, i am using prompt s'skin as my lock screen...
at 1st it works flawlessly...
but then now it lag a bit, when i wake up my phone from sleep
it went to the main screen(and i can tap the icon) for 1 sec
then back to the lock screen, and then i can unlock it...
nonetheless, when i am charging it...
it work without the problem again....
any idea what cause the lag???

beside, my sms scrolling is laggy...
Used to use promt s'skin. Love the animated figure with the heart. Tilt the phone and he slams against the side... tongue.gif
Now went back to default WM lock screen. Had a problem where the lock screen still pops out even after I have plugged my phone to the TV via TV out (yep..I am also using my phone as a portable divx player... smile.gif )

Sounds like a performance setting issue. During charging mode, CPU Performance is set to High. On battery mode, it automatically sets to Auto.
From what I have experienced, when it is on AUTO my phone becomes sluggish.
Try overriding it by heading to Samsung Settings-> Power and Performance -> Performance -> CPU Performance : HIGH.
The above method applies to never firmwares. If you are using older firmwares (e.g. IJ9, IJC etc.) the Samsung Settings layout is different but the Performance tab is still there...somewhere....

Note though, by setting it to HIGH your battery will drain faster but it is unnoticeable.

QUOTE(hy0302 @ Mar 30 2010, 05:58 PM)
Wat is the market price for this phone now??thx
Depending on what items are provided. If everything is provided, it should be just shy of RM2.1k. Everything as in:-
1. Phone (duh...)
2. Phone pouch
3. Screen Protector
4. 8GB MicroSD
5. Bundled Software (especially AGIS NavFone GPS Software)
6. MicroUSB Data Cable
7. Wall charger
8. TV Out cable
9. Hands-free kit
10. Software CD
11. Official Warranty Card
12. Samsung Fun Club mini leaflet
13. Unlimited viewing of latest manga releases for 90 days (aka free 90 day subscription). Details on a manga prepaid card.
14. and of course a nice black box.

Well, this is what I got last August '09. Was so into the phone at that time till I totally forgotten about the manga subscription.
Now it has expired... cry.gif

This post has been edited by bluhound: Mar 30 2010, 06:58 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0232sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:17 PM