bluhound
post Oct 15 2009, 09:53 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Oct 15 2009, 08:45 AM)
Yes from him.

If problem send it back to him. Why do you ask? =x

Anyways, anyone here using Invisible shield? How is it? I'm planning to get one.
I tried using it but it makes the phone cheap as the shield has a slightly yellowish tinge and the shield edges collects dirt.
Also, the front screen protector is a little too tacky, slightly difficult to use the touch screen.

Right now the best combination for me is:-
1. Invisible Shield for O2 but only use back plate
2. Matter Screen Protector
3. Slim leather case (Either black or white)
Black
White

It makes the phone real classy.
bluhound
post Oct 19 2009, 12:15 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(binqo89 @ Oct 18 2009, 11:52 PM)
a problem here. guess most of the people using garmin mobile xt?
will your phone connect to 3G when u launch the garmin mobile xt ?
anyone with the solution ?
thanks  notworthy.gif
In Garmin Mobile XT, access Garmin Online in the settings menu and check whether it is disabled or not.
Also, install NoData and use it to disable all access points except MMS.
By doing that, you will still be able to receive and send MMS but won't be able to access the internet via 3G/EDGE/GPRS except via WiFi.
bluhound
post Oct 19 2009, 10:37 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 19 2009, 09:15 AM)
Just disable the A-GPS in the Samsung TouchWiz menu. It is called 'XTRA something'. Anyway, an A-GPS lock will only cost you 10 cents or so. No big deal.
Actually, A-GPS for O2 will only connect once the XTRA data expires, which 7 days after receiving an update.
You can try this:-
1. Still use NoData to disable all access points except MMS.
2. Enter XTra settings menu.
3. Select these settings:-
a. Enable XTra server
b. When connected to PC via ActiveSync.
c. Make sure "Enable SNTP Server' is not selected.

What that setup will do is that every time you plug your O2 to your PC, it will update AGPS via your PC's Internet and the updated XTRAA data will be valid for 7 days.

To be sure, note the 'Download Time' and 'Valid Time' just below the 'Download XTRA Data' button.
As what Matrix said, you can turn off XTRA but since if there is a way to make use of it, why not?
bluhound
post Oct 21 2009, 04:41 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Oct 21 2009, 03:00 PM)
just drag and drop into your phone.
what avi files? should be playable..

Added on October 21, 2009, 3:02 pm
yes u are correct. nod.gif
Strange, mine can't play XVID files. I have to change the FourCC code from xvid to DX50 in order to work.

BTW, for those who wishes to sync music and videos similar to iPhone style, use WMP Sync.
bluhound
post Oct 21 2009, 06:40 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Oct 21 2009, 05:53 PM)
it doesn't matter. i just want to flash back the original malaysia firmware before send for checking.
The safest bet would be either G1, G6 or G7.
bluhound
post Oct 22 2009, 06:04 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Oct 21 2009, 11:45 PM)
all are malaysia firmware ?

can you show me your device setting ? your's is original factory firmware ? can show me the screen capture?

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:47 pm

ya i remember that before i flash my rom is H3 something.

i want to know the CSC/PDA/PHONE no for the original set.

can you show me ?
G1, G6 and G7 are official Malaysia firmwares. H3 too.
My factory firmware was G1 but no longer using it. Now using Wm 6.5 IJ6.
bluhound
post Oct 24 2009, 12:44 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(DarkAce @ Oct 24 2009, 11:06 AM)
do you guys know how to activate the divx?
DIVX is already preactivated even after a hard reset. To double check, goto Settings -> General Settings -> DivX Registration.
If there is a registration code, it means it has been activated.
If you still can't play your avi files (e.g. torrent ones), its because its in xvid.
Quick fix is to use FourCC Code Changer and change the FourCC code from xvid to DX50.
bluhound
post Nov 2 2009, 07:58 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(CrisisX @ Nov 2 2009, 06:05 PM)
hi guys

any1 tried the TITANIUM thingy in winmo 6.5?
i tried playing around, it looks nice
but a bit complicated to configure (adding new plugin)
Yep, I have modified my Titanium home screen and yes at first it took me a while for me to learn it. Had to hard reset my phone several times due to some crazy mistakes I did.

All pays well though.... cool2.gif

FYI, check out the Modaco forum. The OpenGL V1 compatibility layer has been released (still buggy but shows promising results).
As a bonus, GinKage and Chainfire managed to run TouchFlo3D on the O2.
They will release it very soon to the public.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 2 2009, 07:58 PM
bluhound
post Nov 3 2009, 04:52 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Nov 3 2009, 10:59 AM)
dude you need to go to setting and Disable Touch Wiz UI , than click start go to settings , you will see it there, after you assigned the button , you can enable touch wiz ui in the settings again.

Added on November 3, 2009, 11:02 am
any link for that , i am also interested in TF3D , as long as it doesn't take lots of main memory space ? cause those Manila take like 30 mb, ??

i am also interested to get that HTC keyboard the second generation implemented on HTC touch pro 2 , and Diamond 2. anybody knows where to get it ?

1. Not necessary to disable TouchWiz (WM 6.5 in default already has touchwiz disabled) as long as you have modified the registry settings. Once modified, you can change the button functions directly from Samsung's customised Settings menu. Its under one of the submenus. Phone's on low battery so I can't give you the exact directions to the submenu as yet.

2. Check Modaco forums in "Omnia i8000". As for keyboard, you can try EzInput (I have not tested it myself) or FingerKeyboard (Using it now, quite handy especially the arrow keys).
bluhound
post Nov 3 2009, 08:12 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 3 2009, 07:30 PM)
just changed to WM6.5, cnnot see chinese and cannot input chinese how?
This is due to either:-
1. The firmware (PDA Part) does not support Chinese
2. CSC does not support Chinese
3. Both of them.

If you used the WM6.5 firmwares provided by Secany from Modaco, those are not Chinese supported. You need a third party software (not sure which one but if I'm not mistaken its Plum SIP or something, search around)

If you updated it from Samsung Service Centre, then either request for Chinese. If none, then temporarily downgrade to 6.1 first until a Chinese one is out. (FYI, there is also a Chinese 6.5 FW somewhere in i8000 Modaco forum but its an older revision of WM 6.5, might have some bugs).

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 3 2009, 08:13 PM
bluhound
post Nov 4 2009, 08:00 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ Nov 4 2009, 05:27 PM)
I like and I want!  rclxm9.gif Wonder how much is the memory usage.
For me, the mem usage hovers around 10-15MB. Tried it for a day but decided to remove it 'cause it made my phone slightly sluggish. Expected though, its only the first technical release.

Note though, when I installed it, I lost Wifi functionality. Had to do a hard reset to get it back... sad.gif
Using IJ9 FW.
bluhound
post Nov 5 2009, 12:09 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(72nd @ Nov 5 2009, 11:38 AM)
ok i have a battery problem like the one someone had mention before. it feels hot at the back and the battery runs out fast. however, sometimes the battery ok and its not hot. its being bothering me for 2 weeks now. kejap ok, kejap x.....

my steeaming player kinda gila already. it was ok last week, but suddenly kantoi. it would say 'data or sever time out' or it would buffer half-way only or it would play, but no visual comes out and the audio would be like when we fastfoward something... or sometimes it would play ok.
today it even stuck or lag when i open streaming player.  ihave turn off the phone to stop it.
my phone ikut mood if ut wants to run smoothly is it? lol

can i go to any samsung store to try and fixed this problem? because i bought this phone at LWP and i live in kedah~
thanks^^
Sounds like there are a lot of background applications running on your phone, which explains the lags, crashes and heating up. The heat is most probably due to the CPU constantly running at full load. Had this problem before when I lent my O2 to my friend. When I got it back it was sluggish and the phone was warm all the time, batt ran low in several hours. Fired up Task Manager and shockingly found several apps and games running in the background.

Did you change the function of 'X' button in Settings menu?
Try it. Set it in a way that when you hit the 'X' button, it closes the application instead of minimising it to the background. It should help.

Note though, WM phones are unlike normal phones where by pressing the 'Hang Up' key exits the application. Instead, WM only minimises it.
As for the Streaming player, till now I have not even got it to work the way I want it.... sad... sad.gif

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 5 2009, 12:12 PM
bluhound
post Nov 9 2009, 11:08 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Nov 9 2009, 10:55 AM)
hey guys a question, i was browsing through my memory setting and found "main storage" and "my storage"..my "main storage" has only 512mb and my garmin, spb, and games are all under that...what's the difference between both storage?

will that slow my phone down?possible to switch/move all under 'main storage' to 'my storage'?

thanks notworthy.gif
Main Storage is the main phone memory where the OS is installed. It has a total of 512MB but 3/4 of it is reserved for the phone OS. Its like our PC hard drive which contains Windows folder in it.

My Storage is the 8GB storage which is built in to the Omnia II.

Traditionally, its best to install all applications to the 8GB section except the important system applications (install them to the 512MB location).
Based on your examples, install Garmin and games to My Storage and SPB to Main Storage.
Also, Main Storage tend to be slightly better in performance than My Storage but its not noticeable.

Added on November 9, 2009, 11:17 am
QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 01:08 AM)
QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 5 2009, 10:11 PM)

I suppose no one has any idea bout the youtube streaming failure.
currently using the youtube.cab from youtube website, working well.
I believe your problem is on the streaming player, right?
I have answered this question many times. The latest post here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...20&p=29376662&#
I have port forwarded it too on my router but I still get the same problem. As I am using Celcom, Celcom's settings added a RTSP proxy server in streaming player, which explain the timeout everytime I use WiFi so I removed it.

After removing the proxy server, I was able to play Youtube files but a day later I get different errors, "RTSP Bad Reply".
So, I too gave up and ended up using youtube.cab from YouTube itself. Have to admit that after using it, I like it WAY better than the default streaming player.
I am able to search, preview, read details directly from app and it loads quickly too! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 9 2009, 11:24 AM
bluhound
post Nov 9 2009, 10:24 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 10:06 PM)
No doubt, the Samsung UI (called Samsung WidgetPlus) is laggy which affect all of us. The dream will come true once you disable it and use other UI (ex. SPB MSH).
I8000 with AMOLED, 800MHz processor, 3.7" touch screen, fully compatible with WM6.5, 3.5mm headphone jack, TV-Out (never tried)....etc. You make your chioce.... tongue.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:14 pm
I'm interesting on your issue  biggrin.gif  and would like to simulate your problem and thrown it to Samsung to fix it, if it's a bug issue.
Btw, "RTSP Bad reply" is the exact error appear? or RTSP Bad request?
lol..yep its its 'RTSP Bad Request'... May bad.....

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(lord @ Nov 9 2009, 02:10 PM)
Thanks.  biggrin.gif I just deleted my games and reinstalled one to "my storage" but when I go back to the memory setting the game is still @ "main storage". I'm not sure how to check the memory consumption for each application but when i install i only got 3 places to install which are "my device", "my storage", and "storage card". I already picked "my storage" but it still appears at "main storage" rclxub.gif

btw for garmin, do you guys use bluetooth signal or gps intermediate driver?
Sozz... I forgot to explain this part too....
That is one quirk in Samsung's Settings app. No matter where you install your stuff (be it in main storage, my storage or storage card) it will still show under Main Storage but actually its installed in the location you selected. There are a handful of apps though which install in multiple places which skymade has mentioned.

Anyway, if you are curious on where your apps are installed, you can try using file manager and browse though Program Files folder in all drives and find the name of the app you just installed....

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 9 2009, 10:29 PM
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 08:23 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Nov 14 2009, 07:47 AM)
IJC is newer and I think it is better than J9.
I have been using JC for almost a week now.

+ Rock solid stable
+ Slightly more responsive than IJ9 (negligible)
+ New keyboard colour scheme
+ Newer WM build than IJ9 (IJC is using WM 6.5 build 21868)
+ 'X' works as it should depending on settings (That's for sure as this does not have the bug....yet (found on IJD)... smile.gif

- So far none yet. Except during the first day of using IJC I got tmail.exe crashes but surprisingly it disappeared on the second day onwards.

As an extra, what I did to make my phone more responsive:-
1. Set CPU to constantly HIGH
2. Using FPU Enabler. Helps in Garmin's map drawing (a significant) and 3D performance via GinKage's OGLESv1 (only a little)
3. Using Lock Screen mod to move unlock slider down. It removes the 2 second delay once screen wakes up from lock.

With the above two settings, on IJC I am able to use my phone for 3 days with occasional calls, SMS and WiFi. And by 3 days I mean by battery level of 100% to 53%, I can use it longer but...meh better not... tongue.gif
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 10:17 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Nov 14 2009, 10:02 AM)
Would you mind posting your device versions here?

Where did you get the lock screen mod?
PDA: I8000NXXIJC
CSC: I8000EUIJC
PHONE: I8000XXIK2
EBOOT: I8000NXXIK1

As for the LockScreen, the original version is from Modaco but it does not really fit the screen layout of Omnia II well so I have modified to make it fit.
I have attached the modified lockscreen. Overwrite into Windows folder and soft reset, at your own risk.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  LS_LockScene_480x800.zip ( 2.07k ) Number of downloads: 22
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 12:27 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Nov 14 2009, 11:14 AM)
16GB akan datang...but no one knows when...it's like never waiting endlessly..

Due to the 2 second delay once screen wakes up from lock,i revert back to s2u2..haiz..
I like S2U2 too but there is one bug where I can't find a way out of. I usually set Caller ID to full screen but when there is an incoming call, S2U2 and WM default screen overlaps which looks kinda messy. I have already tried GDI, Raw, and DirectDraw, none worked the way I want.
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 03:18 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 14 2009, 02:37 PM)
i've been trying t download IJC from rapid for the past 2 days.. speed not more than 3/4kbps.. so pissed of when gets disconn after a while (Streamyx la!!!). Other downloads are at good speed tho.
Any suggestions guys?
http://rsplg.com/
Try this, it works for me.
Rapidshare to a temporary server so you can download with accelerators. File will only stay on server for 1hr 30 mins.
And if you're thinking of what I am thinking, no, it does not violate Secany's wishes for no mirrors as we are still downloading using his links.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 14 2009, 03:19 PM
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 03:42 PM

192 posts

FYI, I have just used a couple of hours ago.
There are two available servers. Select one which has a green status.
If it still says "Error List", try again soon, the server may be overloaded.
Avg speed I get from this is around 90KB/s which definitely better than the 3-4KB/s...

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 14 2009, 03:45 PM
bluhound
post Nov 14 2009, 07:49 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 14 2009, 07:08 PM)
icon_idea.gif  thanks for the link dude. but I'm too getting the error thingy. will try again soon.
What about http://ngising.net/ ?
Its an alternative service.
I just tried it with a rapidshare link. Tested with a 43MB file. Took only less than 20s to transload to the temporary server. Download to computer was around 160KB/s.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:53 AM