bluhound
post Sep 30 2009, 08:51 PM

192 posts

[quote=Omnian,Sep 30 2009, 07:12 PM]
yup..its normal.. notworthy.gif
[/quote]
shocking.gif No, it's not.

The new SIM card message only appear the first time you insert it, then it will ask you whether you want to load your SIM contacts and Server settings into your device.

Choose to download the Server settings and anything regarding the SIM contacts, after that it will not show the new SIM message anymore.

Added on September 30, 2009, 7:14 pm
Get what? unsure.gif

[/quote]

Strange, mine a few other friends all have the same pop-up every time we soft reset our phones. As for me, the pop-up asks on what should the data transfer be on 2G or 3G.

The firmwares which I know happens like mentioned above are on G1, G6, G7(mine) and H3.

Added on September 30, 2009, 8:53 pm[quote=LuVz,Sep 30 2009, 08:04 PM]
how can i get [ New SPB Mobile Shell 3.5 in Samsung OMNIA II ]

is it themes or software ?

[/quote]

That one you can get it from here.
http://www.spbsoftwarehouse.com/products/mobileshell/
It costs 30USD.

If you want it free, you're on your own, no warez discussion here.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Sep 30 2009, 08:53 PM
bluhound
post Sep 30 2009, 11:38 PM

192 posts

I think he meant the picture above which you previously posted.

@Wii_hunter
First, add a picture into your default WM contact.
Then add a contact widget in SPB. The picture related to the contact will then be shown.
Correct me if I'm wrong....
bluhound
post Oct 1 2009, 12:02 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Wii_hunter @ Sep 30 2009, 11:43 PM)
ok thanks bluhound.
one more question to anyone who can help, how do u close spb? i need to close it so that the birthday/anniversary widget updates itself when i add more birthdays. i know how to open it, but dont know how to close it
To close SPB, tap Launcher, Settings -> Spb Mobile Shell -> Tap the icon bottom right of screen and then tap 'Exit Shell'.

QUOTE(Wii_hunter @ Sep 30 2009, 11:53 PM)
as far as the effects on my omnia,it doesnt do anything.when i tilt the phone, nothing happens.quite a shame actually.looks amazing
Yup, there is still no 3D hardware support for Omnia II yet. Everything you see on screen is software accelerated.
bluhound
post Oct 1 2009, 12:28 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 1 2009, 12:16 AM)
Without that, what's the difference with v3.0.1?
Taken from http://www.spbsoftwarehouse.com/pocketpc-s...ll/history.html
Version 3.5 (Sep 30, 2009):

* New widgets:
          o Tasks
          o Picture frame (widget and fullscreen slideshow)
          o Facebook status
          o Twitter status
          o Birthdays reminders
          o Four instant wireless switches (WiFi, Bluetooth, Flight Mode, and Phone Switch)
          o Internet search
          o Operator's name
          o Date
          o Alarm
    * Updated widgets:
          o Contact: ability to choose the default action
          o Wireless manager: icon shows current states, and popup shows current states
          o Weather: support for more advanced skins with detailed forecast and current weather conditions
    * 3D email and SMS viewer
    * Access to online catalog in the "Change Background" dialog box
    * Streamlined background change (with cropping and easy to view local gallery)
    * Current weather conditions (in addition to forecast)
    * Gravity sensor support in the 3D carousel
    * Improved 3D carousel design (e. g. added reflections)
    * New "Add Widget" dialog
    * Widget skin selection with preview
    * New skins for most widgets
    * Widget-based Professional home
    * Option to have only one home screen (lifestyle or professional)
    * Option to change the number of screens in lifestyle or professional layouts
    * Weather in Agenda
    * Tactile feedback on tap-and-hold
    * Option to choose the default tab for Contacts and Launcher
    * Improved design of most dialogs (popup menus, settings, etc.)
    * Category filter in the contact list
    * Improved widget edit mode (widget can be dragged to other pages, recycle bin for easy delete etc.)
    * Color themes support on Windows Mobile 6.5
    * Integration with SPB Weather and SPB Traveler via widgets
    * Improved "Choose Shortcut" dialog box with similar look to SPB Menu
Of course it currently won't work with mskip's widgets. Version 3.5 was only released two days ago..... doh.gif
Give them time....
bluhound
post Oct 1 2009, 09:52 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 1 2009, 01:01 AM)
I mean, how many of those mentioned was not already in v3.0.1?

Look at what they've replied to my enquiry:

They've build this version with only HTC in mind.

We, Omnia owners also paid for the license and they made it only for HTC???

v3.0.1 was my first purchase and the next "FREE" update is only support for HTCs!
I know that, and I'm only using mskip's skills to show that what we can already do with v3.0.1, which IMO, looks better than v3.5
If you have read the previous posts, it explains clearly why Omnia and Omnia II are not supported. Anyway, I'll explain it again.
First generation Omnia definitely won't support 3D as the hardware itself does not have a 3D accelerator chip.
Second generation, Omnia II has a 3D accelerator chip. However,:-
1. It is a Samsung accelerator and does not use Windows Mobile default display driver.
2. It supports OpenGL ES version 2.0 which is not backward compatible to the older 1.x series.

On previous post, I have posted a link about a group creating an OpenGL 1.x compatibility layer for the Omnia II. Still in progress and will take a while because of reason no.1, need to wait till Samsung release the API (something like a guideline) for the 3D chip so that the specific functions and features can be understood better, resulting in a nice driver.

As far as I know, SPB decided to stick to the older OpenGL 1.x because almost all WM phones are still implementing the older 1.x versions (e.g. Toshiba TG01 and HTC phones are still using 1.x). So far phones which I only know using version 2 OpenGL ES are Omnia II, Acer M900, IPhone 3GS and SE Satio.
Due to reason no.2, for the time being its better to design a software which will work with most phones rather than a few ones until OpenGL ES 2.0 becomes mainstream.

FYI, mskip's an independent person. Usually, companies tend not to benchmark themselves with them but create stuff and DEPEND on them to improve. To cut it short, maintain a group of enthusiasts to keep the popularity. E.g. HTC phones in stock may already feel good but to the hardcore ppl, it is not good enough, hence the existence of xda-developer providing out custom cooked roms and constant new hacks but did HTC look at them and create better newer generation softwares, I don't think so. Had before a HTC Touch and HTC Viva and recently used HTC Touch HD, I don't see any hige improvements in software.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Oct 1 2009, 09:59 AM
bluhound
post Oct 1 2009, 10:42 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(LuVz @ Oct 1 2009, 10:15 AM)
is there any software to make the SMS like iphone or blackberry ?
If you mean by threaded SMS then you check this one out, SMS-Chat.
http://vitotechnology.com/threaded-sms-messaging.html

In the Modaco forum, there is a thread mentioning that Windows Mobile has threaded messaging but Samsung disabled it by default. There is a way to re-enable it but you will lose MMS support.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Oct 1 2009, 10:43 AM
bluhound
post Oct 1 2009, 10:08 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(fhfoomelaka @ Oct 1 2009, 09:26 PM)
Just went to Samsung Service Center, they claims for overseas hand phone to upgrade will charge RM100, and if the Samsung becomes bricked in the process of upgrading, they will not responsible, then if the phone is upgrade here u will loss the warranty from the country of origin you purchase it.
Sounds good, huh?
That sucks... sad.gif
Well, I presume those who bought it from Singapore stays close by....
Weekend trip inclusive of phone upgrade? tongue.gif

Added on October 1, 2009, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(devil94 @ Oct 1 2009, 10:06 PM)
Can i noe if the phone flash to window mobile ......... will it got any function cannot use ?
got wat diference if flashed?
TQ
Err... that you need to check the changelog from other sources...
And btw, as far as I know, you can't flash a non-windows mobile phone to a windows mobile phone.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Oct 1 2009, 10:10 PM
bluhound
post Oct 2 2009, 12:39 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Oct 1 2009, 10:15 PM)
then first page there got teach us flash to window mobile ?
That is a firmware upgrade. Omnia II is already on Windows Mobile which justifies what I have just explained previously.
You can't flash a non-windows mobile phone to a windows mobile phone.
Firmware upgrades are only recommended if you are having serious problems and the newer versions fixes them.

If you are daring enough, you can update it yourself. However, one small wrong move will render your phone dead and will require professional service = money money...

To be safe, might as well wait for Windows Mobile 6.5 for Omnia II to be officially released by Samsung so that free service upgrades at service centres are available.

Hope this clarifies it... smile.gif
bluhound
post Oct 2 2009, 04:44 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 2 2009, 02:10 PM)
With [b]THIS, you won't miss the MMS.[/B]

Added on October 2, 2009, 2:15 pm

I knew that.

Anyway, IMO, it's an upgrade, new tech should be applied with backward compatibility.
Just what I need. Thanks! laugh.gif

Can't deny that its best backward compatibility is the best way to go. However, the changes between version 1 and 2 have been so great that its just either not possible or not worth it. It kinda reminds me back in the days when GeForce 3 was released with programmable shaders and had problems with older GeForce 2 which has fixed shaders.
bluhound
post Oct 3 2009, 02:34 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(arkana @ Oct 3 2009, 02:18 PM)
Hi Andrew & Bluhound ... I have a question for spb shell v3.5 .. do u guys encounter this problem .. touch screen unable to response if i click the program button and exit straight away with "x" button... it seems like the touch screen hang but if i press the phone button .. then it will be back to normal again ...

No issue with Spb shell v3.0

Wow, you have just found a bug! biggrin.gif
Yep, I am able to replicate it here. I assume your program button is the carousel button bottom left of the main screen is it?
Time to report a bug... tongue.gif
bluhound
post Oct 3 2009, 10:20 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 3 2009, 10:16 PM)
Nope, I never face this problem also.
Aiks, that means only arkana and I have the same problem??
Thats odd...

@ arkana:
What programs do you have installed on your mobile and what firmware version are you using?
bluhound
post Oct 5 2009, 11:03 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(fridzyaa @ Oct 5 2009, 10:23 PM)
is omnia II is a WVGA screen?
Yes its is.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 5 2009, 10:25 PM)
Help! I've installed spb 3.5...but how do i disable it to get back to Samsung's UI? i've already set enable Samsung UI, but it still shows me SPB shell!

rclxub.gif
Goto Launcher -> Tools -> Show Today Screen. That should take you back to Samsung's UI but SPB will still be running in the backgrouond.
To quit SPB shell Launcher -> Settings -> SPB Mobile Shell -> Tap bottom right of screen -> Exit Shell
As for disabling SPB after soft reset, I have not known of it yet. Anybody care to help on that?
bluhound
post Oct 9 2009, 12:13 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 9 2009, 12:04 PM)
In new Windows Mobile 6.5,  The Samsung touchWiz UI by default is disable, but you can't get the actual Settings from Microsoft also. I didn't find got setting Menu inside the new Microsoft Menu UI also. I doubt it has been disable by Samsung. (Maybe la, or it don't have one, I never play others WM 6.5 before. Actually OMNIA II is my 1st device base on Windows Mobile. I still new on it)

I get back all the default Windows Mobile setting (not Samsung one) from SPB Mobile Shell.
To re-enable traditional Settings menu

Open any registry editor, go to path:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Security\Shell\StartInfo\
Value 'HideSettings' Set to '0'.. and soft-reset

Credit goes to rodrigofd.
Taken from http://www.modaco.com/content/i8000-omnia-...e-samsungizing/
bluhound
post Oct 9 2009, 12:56 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 9 2009, 12:36 PM)
There...your "Settings"  blink.gif

[attachmentid=1239657]
That is Samsung's customised settings. What he meant is Microsoft stock settings menu, which has been disabled from registry. Like below:-
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by bluhound: Oct 9 2009, 01:06 PM
bluhound
post Oct 9 2009, 02:15 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 9 2009, 02:08 PM)
Can post screen-shot of where it goes  laugh.gif please  biggrin.gif
lol...give a min. I'll take the screenshots

EDIT: Here are the in-depth menu in Settings
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Its basically the bog standard Windows Mobile Settings menu.
You can also find it in Windows Mobile 6.1 by disabling touchWiz first to re-enable the classic Start Menu then Programs -> Then Settings (Note the difference in the logo).

This post has been edited by bluhound: Oct 9 2009, 02:23 PM
bluhound
post Oct 9 2009, 10:30 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Omnian @ Oct 9 2009, 02:29 PM)
Thanks, but not this one. This standard WM6.5, I know.  laugh.gif

The other one.
Where does it goes when you click on the other "Settings" icon?  unsure.gif
That one goes to Samsung's customised Settings menu, which most people see it.
bluhound
post Oct 11 2009, 10:20 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(proz4ever @ Oct 11 2009, 06:25 PM)
hey can i know how to disable gprs .only use wifi?for opera and window live messenger application
Use NoData from Modaco
http://www.modaco.com/content/pocket-pc-so...utility-nodata/

It works with both WM 6.1 and 6.5.
Tested it myself.
Install, run and disable all except MMS by selecting each one and tap 'toggle'.

One quirk though, on WM 6.5, after every soft reboot the Celcom 3G Internet (I am using Celcom, diff telco has different words....duh) enables itself again which means you need to disable it again.

Added on October 11, 2009, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(DarkAce @ Oct 11 2009, 08:52 PM)
hey,why i cant edit registry,when i go edit the HideOrientationUi from 1 to 0,but my access in denied
Try using Resco Registry (addon to Resco File Explorer) and edit registry directly on your phone. I found out that editing it remotely via your PC can give some weird errors.

This post has been edited by bluhound: Oct 11 2009, 10:21 PM
bluhound
post Oct 12 2009, 01:17 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Oct 12 2009, 12:49 AM)
well.. noted...
yes i sounded unhappy... i am unhappy...
just asking only...
ya i like the watever word noted ur comment/advice...

regards,
littlediana
Err... was reading through...
going off topic?? sweat.gif
Back to phone pls... tongue.gif
bluhound
post Oct 13 2009, 09:59 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(Mooshi @ Oct 13 2009, 09:23 AM)
You kena conned...FMG set now only retails for RM2050 in LYP.
Not exactly, it depends when he bought it. I also got mine for RM2,399 FMG set but that was in the beginning of August.
bluhound
post Oct 13 2009, 05:07 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Oct 13 2009, 10:10 AM)
If you read his previous post, you will know he got it yesterday.
oops, sorry, my bad......

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0441sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:28 PM