What's the best option for your child saving, Got a newborn and wanna start planning

TSawiekupo
post Sep 18 2009, 09:42 AM, updated 16y ago

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

Hi all,

I just got a baby last 2 months and we have accumulated some cash that were given to the baby. Unfortunately I'm not too sure what is the best way to maximize the profit for her future (education & etc). Some said I should join unit trust and some even advise me to buy a gold.. but can anyone help me with this? Since there are too many banks around and I'm not really good when it come to financial mgmt.

rakyat
post Sep 18 2009, 09:52 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 18 2009, 09:42 AM)
Hi all,

I just got a baby last 2 months and we have accumulated some cash that were given to the baby. Unfortunately I'm not too sure what is the best way to maximize the profit for her future (education & etc). Some said I should join unit trust and some even advise me to buy a gold.. but can anyone help me with this? Since there are too many banks around and I'm not really good when it come to financial mgmt.
Assuming this is for his/ her education funds, gold would not be the appropriate vehicle. It is more for preserving value. U want compounding interest or leverage to grow your investment.

Buy an afforatable property - more expensive then UT or education policy but you can get rental income and if the location is correct in 20yr time returns will be much better.
Toriton
post Sep 18 2009, 09:52 AM

274 posts

educational assurance???
TSawiekupo
post Sep 18 2009, 10:06 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Sep 18 2009, 09:52 AM)
Assuming this is for his/ her education funds, gold would not be the appropriate vehicle. It is more for preserving value. U want compounding interest or leverage to grow your investment.

Buy an afforatable property - more expensive then UT or education policy but you can get rental income and if the location is correct in 20yr time returns will be much better.
Thx rakyat,

Basically I just need something to maximize the profit without any attachment to a policy or whatsoever.. Something that can be withdraw anytime for her needs and not necessarily have to wait till she ready to go to the univ (Assuming that she does get accepted in the uni later..b ut that one is diff story)

House or other property is a bit too high for me.. Besides, I'm just planning to add few hundreds on monthly basis into her saving.. or is there any other way around to get a property with this kind of funding?

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Sep 18 2009, 10:16 AM
dreamer101
post Sep 18 2009, 10:13 AM

15,855 posts

Hi all,

awiekupo,

1) Money is money. So, why do you separate one savings from another?? It is ALL the same.

2) You have to SURVIVE first before you can THINK giving money to ANYONE. Much less a baby.

Dreamer
Toriton
post Sep 18 2009, 10:16 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 18 2009, 10:06 AM)
Thx rakyat,

Basically I just need something to maximize the profit without any attachment to a policy or whatsoever.. Something that can be withdraw anytime for her needs and not necessarily have to wait till she ready to go to the univ (Assuming that she does get accepted in the uni later..b ut that one is diff story)

House or other property is a bit too high for me.. Besides, I'm just planning to add few hundreds on daily basis into her saving.. or is there any other way around to get a property with this kind of funding?
if u can afford to add few hundred on daily basis... 1 month how many thousand u have in her account already???... so i think u can afford to buy lots of property for this purpose wink.gif

barista
post Sep 18 2009, 10:16 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

Open a SSPN account. Start saving for tertiary education.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/c/portal/layout?p_l_id=PUB.1.9
TSawiekupo
post Sep 18 2009, 10:17 AM

1,481 posts

opps.. sorry toriton.. typo therere.. duibuqi. duibuqi.. hehehe..

Added on September 18, 2009, 10:23 am
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 18 2009, 10:13 AM)
awiekupo,

1) Money is money.  So, why do you separate one savings from another?? It is ALL the same.

2) You have to SURVIVE first before you can THINK giving money to ANYONE.  Much less a baby.

Dreamer
1) cannot lah bro.. that money had been entrusted to baby.. u know.. like yr friend or family gave to the baby.. So cant really touch that one.. have to keep for her.. hehee..

2) at the moment its ok.. i can still survive.. for future dunno yet la..

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Sep 18 2009, 10:26 AM
cherroy
post Sep 18 2009, 10:26 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Toriton @ Sep 18 2009, 10:16 AM)
if u can afford to add few hundred on daily basis... 1 month how many thousand u have in her account already???... so i think u can afford to buy lots of property for this purpose  wink.gif
Property investment is different 'game' with secured saving, like FD or educational insurance.

Property investment is a liability as one took up housing loan to buy the property, unless one is paying in full cash.

There is no guarantee property investment must be making money (net with more than FD rate), nor the property is liquid when you want the cash time.

There is no guarantee one will be getting tenant or good tenants as well.

Don't mean property investment is not good but there are more variable risk involved.
It should be treat as investment as buying house using housing loan actually is a leveraged investment and you are commiting to the monthly payment of the loan which is a liability, not a pure saving. smile.gif
Toriton
post Sep 18 2009, 10:30 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 18 2009, 10:17 AM)
opps.. sorry toriton.. typo therere.. duibuqi. duibuqi.. hehehe..
he he he... anyway... good unit trust agent usually can help u get good returns from your investment. but this depend on the market actually... looking at your situation... u may go for long term investment... so the risk is lower...

coming to the part where u said u need the fund to be accessible anytime for her need... this has some drawback in term of the fund safety unless u are very discipline in taking care of the fund...

by saying "her need"... what do u categorize as her need???...
- primary/ secondary school expenses???
- Buy toys & clothes???
- Hospitalization???
cherroy
post Sep 18 2009, 10:34 AM

25,802 posts

You should ask yourself, can you withstand if the money invested turn out losing one?

If no, UT and gold is not an option.

Save the money in your saving/FD account is sufficient for near term. Your child still a baby, should be looking around what option you have and your financial situation, before commiting to anything.
Do not commit anything before you are unclear of. The first priority is to come out your personal plan aka each month save how much for your child future spending/education fund.
That's my advice. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 18 2009, 10:36 AM
rakyat
post Sep 18 2009, 10:56 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

If it is not for education fund only for 'pocket money' with a short term outlook then your best bet would be a combination of FD (liquidity) & UT (mid term growth)

But if its for college fees then u need a little bit more aggresive since a couple hundred per month will not take u far (assuming uni will cost at least RMXXX,XXX)

Being a new parent, I have looked into the options available and education policy seems to be 1 of the least attractive. Of course I also took up a small policy (premium RM3k end up with RM60k) in case any unforseen befall me.

Lets put it into pespective : what can RM100k (RM60k + some bonus) do in 18 yrs time? UTAR/ Multimedia college registration fees + 1 semester fees???

cynthusc
post Sep 18 2009, 11:08 AM

503 posts

Thx rakyat,

House or other property is a bit too high for me.. Besides, I'm just planning to add few hundreds on monthly basis into her saving.. or is there any other way around to get a property with this kind of funding?
It's great that you are thinking of your child's education early. I would advise NOT to put it in an instrument where you can withdraw anytime because usually when you do this you will tend to withdraw.

When my daughter was born I put in RM2K into Amanah Saham Wawasan for her. I also bought an education plan for her that is investment linked but the money is not invested in aggressive funds but partially with a bond fund with the rest in a balanced fund. The capital is guaranteed.
I have not touched any of her money but have reinvested the returns every year.

As she just turn seven, I intend to purchase a property around RM150K-200K with 30% deposit with a ten year loan and MRTA (this 30% I have been saving since she was born). Hopefully when she is ready for university there will be approximately RM200K-RM300K for her to start off with.

However, I am a great believer in not spoiling my child and have created a trust for this amount. If she refuses to further her education, she will not receive any of the money as the proceeds will go to charity if I am already dead but if I am alive, I am taking the money for a nice long holiday!
TSawiekupo
post Sep 18 2009, 11:12 AM

1,481 posts

aa.. thx for the input guys.. really appreciate it.. now I can see much clear... if got any other ideas/comment/input pls dont hesitate to share.. wink.gif
xuzen
post Sep 18 2009, 01:41 PM

4,436 posts

Hi all,

There is no best method, but a method that you are able to stick through it.

As for me, this is what I have done for my kid:

i) My wife and I both opened a SSPN a/c RM 3Kx2 p.a. mainly for tax benefit. By the time my kid reach IPT level, it should have abt RM 100K, ready cash

ii) Bought a Med Card (very important, you will definitely need it, cost of paying hospital bill is more than annual premium of the card, this I guarantee)

iii) Bought a Investment Link Life Assurance with Critical Illness Rider under my kid's name. I selected aggressive fund to maximize the rtn. Should have abt RM 60K Cash value by the time my kid reach IPT level.

iv) Continue to invest in equities on my own.

v) Withdraw from KWSP a/c 2 if there is any shortfall in the future.

vi) Avoid unnecessary big ticket spending. Bye bye to LV bags, no more Dunhill wallet or Tag Hauer watches or Starbucks... hello kopitiam.

Xuzen

x132755
post Sep 18 2009, 01:49 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

invest is the best way to make more cash.
small amount put in bank u c nothing.
small amount u invest hav chance to become big.
jphlau
post Sep 18 2009, 01:52 PM

1,202 posts

Keep in mind that education cost increases every year, might be higher than inflation.
Jordy
post Sep 18 2009, 02:13 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Hi all,

awiekupo,

Congratulations on your newborn. I believe you have received enough suggestions on the types of investments available for your baby. I am just going to add a few words of advice to help you in making your decision.

There is NO one best way in anything we do, especially when it comes to investment. Some might shine during good times, but to fall hard when bad times hit. We have just gone through a hell of a crisis in the last 2 years and I'm sure you are aware of it. Since it is for your child's education fund, we are looking at a timeframe of about 18 years. For that amount of time, we could see another 2 crises if we're not being careful.

So, what you need is diversification. Invest in a few of the options rather than limiting it because IF a crisis does hit, you would at least have a cushion. In the years to come, we could see another commodity burst or a currency burst, we don't know. So, it is wise for you to diversify across a few instruments.

Good luck.
c.o.o.l
post Sep 18 2009, 03:12 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 18 2009, 01:41 PM)

i) My wife and I both opened a SSPN a/c RM 3Kx2 p.a. mainly for tax benefit. By the time my kid reach IPT level, it should have abt RM 100K, ready cash

ii) Bought a Med Card (very important, you will definitely need it, cost of paying hospital bill is more than annual premium of the card, this I guarantee)

iii) Bought a Investment Link Life Assurance with Critical Illness Rider under my kid's name. I selected aggressive fund to maximize the rtn. Should have abt RM 60K Cash value by the time my kid reach IPT level.

vi) Avoid unnecessary big ticket spending. Bye bye to LV bags, no more Dunhill wallet or Tag Hauer watches or Starbucks... hello kopitiam.

Xuzen
You have quite a good plan. But (vi) is really not an easy thing to do. thumbup.gif
You having this plan all your kids? Or you only have one child currently.
ehl
post Sep 18 2009, 03:26 PM

141 posts

All investments are attached with its own unique risks.
If you are going for educational fund, my suggestion is to go for properties.

If you do it properly you should be paying for the downpayment + some inital charges only, there after the rental shall cover the monthly installments (net positive cashflow). This advantage give you lesser financial burden and some hedge against inflation and mild fluctuation of investment value.

Your major risk is location + tenancy, check out for good location with high tenancy.

Before you could go out and start buying, read some property investment book + ask those sifu sifu for opinion.

You got time do your research now maybe buy one year later. Decide properly as it involve your child future and your long term commitment.

Some said property is not liquid enought, to me is not true..check out the financial instrument available to finance your property, study and compare them properly, you will see that property is liquid.

rakyat
post Sep 18 2009, 03:42 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 18 2009, 03:26 PM)
All investments are attached with its own unique risks.
If you are going for educational fund, my suggestion is to go for properties.

If you do it properly you should be paying for the downpayment + some inital charges only, there after the rental shall cover the monthly installments (net positive cashflow). This advantage give you lesser financial burden and some hedge against inflation and mild fluctuation of investment value.

Your major risk is location + tenancy, check out for good location with high tenancy.

Before you could go out and start buying, read some property investment book + ask those sifu sifu for opinion.

You got time do your research now maybe buy one year later. Decide properly as it involve your child future and your long term commitment.

Some said property is not liquid enought, to me is not true..check out the financial instrument available to finance your property, study and compare them properly, you will see that property is liquid.
A very pertinent point converting property fr long term to a liquid investment - mortgage refinancing icon_rolleyes.gif
xuzen
post Sep 18 2009, 04:18 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(c.o.o.l @ Sep 18 2009, 03:12 PM)
You have quite a good plan. But (vi) is really not an easy thing to do.  thumbup.gif
You having this plan all your kids? Or you only have one child currently.
Gosh, I only have one kid. If I ever have an additional one, it will be back to the drawing board for me. Planning is the key to success.

Xuzen
arsenal
post Sep 18 2009, 04:38 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 18 2009, 04:18 PM)
Gosh, I only have one kid. If I ever have an additional one, it will be back to the drawing board for me. Planning is the key to success.

Xuzen
If only one kid, must be risky for your old age.smile.gif
xuzen
post Sep 18 2009, 04:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Sep 18 2009, 04:38 PM)
If only one kid, must be risky for your old age.smile.gif
How so?

Xuzen
ehl
post Sep 18 2009, 04:56 PM

141 posts

Xuzen
Your method is protection by saving method, why dont you create investment by self regenerating.
xuzen
post Sep 18 2009, 05:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 18 2009, 04:56 PM)
Your method is protection by saving method, why dont you create investment by self regenerating.[I]
What does investment by self regenerating. mean?

Xuzen
ehl
post Sep 18 2009, 06:03 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 18 2009, 05:26 PM)
What does investment by self regenerating. mean?

Xuzen
Old school - Investment in property (if you acquired the correct one).
Like what I have mention earlier.

Normally the property that you buy, you have to buy MRTA or equivalent. if anything happen to you the property will be fully paid.
your family will be protected from liability + they get the rental income for basic necessity. The best thing is that you could finance the MRTA,
your insurance is paid by your tenant too.

Half way thru, if you need money, refinance it again and the whole process restart.

You only need to buy medical & PA for yourself + family. Maybe some life insurance without investment value attached to it.

Invest in blue chip with high dividend yield.
princess_autumn87
post Sep 18 2009, 07:08 PM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

yes, education insurance is a good one since your baby jst new born and get a lets say 20yrs plan would be enuf for his/her uni fees by that time.
cherroy
post Sep 19 2009, 12:31 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 18 2009, 06:03 PM)
Old school - Investment in property (if you acquired the correct one).Like what I have mention earlier.

Normally the property that you buy, you have to buy MRTA or equivalent. if anything happen to you the property will be fully paid.
your family will be protected from liability + they get the rental income for basic necessity. The best thing is that you could finance the MRTA,
your insurance is paid by your tenant too.

Half way thru, if you need money, refinance it again and the whole process restart.

You only need to buy medical & PA for yourself + family. Maybe some life insurance without investment value attached to it.

Invest in blue chip with high dividend yield.
That's the major problem for a lot of people.

Also not every property can have good rental income. Some may facing tenants problem as well as rental collecting issue, which is not uncommon.

Property investment is good, if acquired the correct one.

We are now in low interest environment so refinance seems ok generally as for the last decade we haven't see spike in interest rate which people nowadays has been a bit complacency on refinance issue as we have not a property market crash since decade back at least locally. Previously US people has been hurt a lot due to refinance to 'liquid' or borrowing more money after property price boom.

When everything is ok, refinance is easy. But when something wrong, just like last year end, and beginning of this year, when bank tighten the lending practice, a lot of properties company went burst because cannot get refinancing.

Don't mean property investment is not good, in fact, my view, properties investment is one of a few good investment target (if and for the right properties), just raise some risk on properties investment which people should be aware of.
Not every properties investment turns out to be good one. We have seen lot of shoplot being abandoned due to lack of demand, properties developers abandon the project, or large number of case, properties price increment or net rental income is just comparable to what FD or bond is giving only.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 19 2009, 09:58 AM

2,948 posts

There is some sort of funds/bonds/insurance package that includes insurance, and when the kid is 18 years old he/she will receive certain amount of money. The interest rate is much higher than saving in banks.
TSawiekupo
post Sep 19 2009, 10:35 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 19 2009, 09:58 AM)
There is some sort of funds/bonds/insurance package that includes insurance, and when the kid is 18 years old he/she will receive certain amount of money. The interest rate is much higher than saving in banks.
I also heard about this but so far cant google much info bout this.. most of the time we have to setup a meeting with their agent and this sometimes makes me wonder what's up with all the secrecy Is there something to hide? coz I really dunwan to waste my team hearing some sales agent trying to sweet talk me over some product...

This post has been edited by awiekupo: Sep 19 2009, 11:47 AM
cherroy
post Sep 19 2009, 11:40 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 19 2009, 10:35 AM)
I also heard about this but so far cant google much info bout this.. most of the time we have to setup a meeting with their agent and this sometimes makes me wonder what's up with all the secretive? Is there something to hide? coz I really dunwan to waste my team hearing some sales agent trying to sweet talk me over some product...
There are lot of education insurance/plan out here.
But please remember there are clauses and commitment need to be made, which one should be clear of before committing.

Often a handful of agents (definitely not all) only tell the beauty story of it, but don't disclose potential issue if things are not happening as what had predicted. No offence to those agents, there are still a lot of sincere agent out there.

What actually people want is not the sweet part of the product but the whole picture of it. Whatever plan/investment, be sure about it, risk is always associated with any investment plan.

Cheers.
TSawiekupo
post Sep 19 2009, 11:54 AM

1,481 posts

exactly cherroy.. totally agree with u.. most of the time they like to divert from the potential issue..
ehl
post Sep 20 2009, 01:26 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 19 2009, 12:31 AM)

We are now in low interest environment so refinance seems ok generally as for the last decade we haven't see spike in interest rate which people nowadays has been a bit complacency on refinance issue as we have not a property market crash since decade back at least locally. Previously US people has been hurt a lot due to refinance to 'liquid' or borrowing more money after property price boom.

When everything is ok, refinance is easy. But when something wrong, just like last year end, and beginning of this year, when bank tighten the lending practice, a lot of properties company went burst because cannot get refinancing.

Liquidity is not borrowing.
1) Dont borrow if you do not have a plan on repayment.
2) Borrow for investment not for luxury.

If Property market crash.
1) Unless you want to sell your properties, or else no financial impact.
2) Rental income may drop, but i doubt so if its at good location (urbanised), I am much more concern with high umemployment rate and general economy condition.

Bank is just like any other company, profit motivated.
1) If the bank dont give loan and etc, they will not have profits.
2) With profitability as an objective, they have to give as much bank loan as possible to whoever qualified (tier 1 customer).
3) If the bank wants profit and dont want risk. How can we fullfill it? Give them security..but dont give them FD unless in return they give more than 1x of your FD.
4) Ask bank what sort of security they want...high chances, their first answer is "do you have any properties".
allenultra
post Sep 20 2009, 02:11 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 19 2009, 09:58 AM)
Yes, there are tons of this kind of package available. Interest rate is higher than FD, then way above saving interest.
Just that how many people basically willing to "stuck" a sum of money for so many years?

It will be good for those who are not discipline enough, who may "tangan gatal" and touch the education fund for other purpose (end up nothing for their children in the future).

Basically most of the insurance package (endowment plan more likely to be the name for it), may double the premium paid at year 20. Is it a lot? I have no comment.

If you have better investment vehicle available, please use that.
Else, can consider insurance package (non-investment link, traditional package I'm talking about, I think basically risk free? Just a matter of variable in term of dividend.)

About funds and bonds, I would glad if anyone can share with us about that.
I would say for education fund, should go for risk free plan (something like FD perhaps ?)
ehl
post Sep 20 2009, 02:26 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 20 2009, 02:11 AM)

It will be good for those who are not discipline enough, who may "tangan gatal" and touch the education fund for other purpose (end up nothing for their children in the future).

That's true.
allenultra
post Sep 20 2009, 02:46 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 20 2009, 02:26 AM)
That's true.
Couldn't agree more.

Working with my father now, under his company.
Been chatting with the workers, some of them basically every month money in, every month clear.

Is forced saving good for them?

Do check our lovely garage sales, its funny to see when someone sell their stuff because need to pay tuition fee, house loan, etc. What a joke!
ehl
post Sep 20 2009, 10:10 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Sep 20 2009, 02:46 AM)
Couldn't agree more.

Working with my father now, under his company.
Been chatting with the workers, some of them basically every month money in, every month clear.

Is forced saving good for them?

Do check our lovely garage sales, its funny to see when someone sell their stuff because need to pay tuition fee, house loan, etc. What a joke!
If one could control or manage their cashflow or expenses properly...direct investment is the best..
Bizmind
post Sep 20 2009, 11:13 AM

169 posts

What do you mean by the location is correct?
Can you elaborate more on this?
Maybe by giving some examples...
Thanks.. smile.gif

Added on September 20, 2009, 11:20 amActually there are ways to save and bargain in every aspects of our life. From cars, music, investments, phones, clothing, etc...
We just need to get the information about it.
And that what should you focus to.

This post has been edited by Bizmind: Sep 20 2009, 11:20 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 20 2009, 12:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 18 2009, 10:13 AM)
1) Money is money.  So, why do you separate one savings from another?? It is ALL the same.
QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 18 2009, 10:17 AM)
1) cannot lah bro.. that money had been entrusted to baby.. u know.. like yr friend or family gave to the baby.. So cant really touch that one.. have to keep for her.. hehee..
Firstly, congratulations on being a father.

Glad to know you planning for you child future. After reading your posts, I would like to comment as follows:

1. Differentiate between your baby's money and yours. Money given by you or others over the years to your baby's is her money. My suggestion is just go put the sum accumulated up to date into FD with her name (i.e. Joint) and whatever money she receives into a Child Savings Account (eg. HLB where the interest is higher than normal savings account) and then top up into the FD yearly.

2. Your own money you invest in whatever instrument with the intention to use it for her future needs is yours. In this senario I agree with Dreamer. Please note that all investment have risks.

3. You want maximum profit, go start reading investment books and read the threads in this section (on insurance, gold, unit trusts, FD, FOREX etc) and the stocks/share market section (on dividen paying stocks. etc). Property is not liquid and does not fit into criteria stated by you.

xuzen, I must thank you for posting above, especially the SSPN RM3K tax deductable, never occurred to me when I filled my Borang B this year. Going to open an account before year end and get tax rebate. Just to add, your Med-Card for your child is Edu Plan? Can get tax-rebate too for Edu Plan.

Haha, for LV, Sg. Wang got alot cheap cheap and nowadays kopitiam also got free wi-fi tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 20 2009, 12:10 PM
howszat
post Sep 20 2009, 05:25 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 19 2009, 12:31 AM)
That's the major problem for a lot of people.

Also not every property can have good rental income. Some may facing tenants problem as well as rental collecting issue, which is not uncommon.

Property investment is good, if acquired the correct one.

Exactly, too many "if"s.

If you acquired the right one, if you acquired at the right price, if you acquired at the right time, if you acquired in the right area, if you get the good tenants who don't damage your property, if you get good tenants that don't cause complaints from neighbours, if you get bad tenants you can kick them out easily, if you can collect rent on time, if they leave you can find good replacement tenants quickly.

If you can find such a good investment property and other investors haven't already beaten you to it.
SnarkySponge
post Sep 20 2009, 10:11 PM

To be honest, I would say invest in silver and gold. It is going to beat out any mutual fund, IRA, long term investment, hands down. I check http://www.pmex.net for the spot prices and you can invest or buy and sell gold on that site as well. I don't mess around with investing in the market, because it is too volatile.
Jordy
post Sep 20 2009, 11:22 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(SnarkySponge @ Sep 20 2009, 10:11 PM)
To be honest, I would say invest in silver and gold. It is going to beat out any mutual fund, IRA, long term investment, hands down. I check http://www.pmex.net for the spot prices and you can invest or buy and sell gold on that site as well. I don't mess around with investing in the market, because it is too volatile.
On what basis? Based on your own observation? Please do not post such misleading statements.

Added on September 20, 2009, 11:23 pmAn article from yesterday's StarBizWeek which sums up TS' query.

This post has been edited by Jordy: Sep 20 2009, 11:23 PM
cherroy
post Sep 20 2009, 11:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 20 2009, 01:26 AM)
Liquidity is not borrowing.
1) Dont borrow if you do not have a plan on repayment.
2) Borrow for investment not for luxury.

If Property market crash.
1) Unless you want to sell your properties, or else no financial impact.
2) Rental income may drop, but i doubt so if its at good location (urbanised), I am much more concern with high umemployment rate and general economy condition.

Bank is just like any other company, profit motivated.
a) If the bank dont give loan and etc, they will not have profits.
b) With profitability as an objective, they have to give as much bank loan as possible to whoever qualified (tier 1 customer).
c) If the bank wants profit and dont want risk. How can we fullfill it? Give them security..but dont give them FD unless in return they give more than 1x of your FD.
d) Ask bank what sort of security they want...high chances, their first answer is "do you have any properties".
Purchasing a property using housing loan which is for education plan is a borrowing or leveraged investment in the first place. I am not saying it is right or wrong, just one must understand taking up house loan or any loan, it is a long term commitment.

We are talking about children education plan by properties investment as proposed by forumers earlier. smile.gif

The liquidity part issue I raised, if one uses properties as children education fund/investment then, it could face liquidity issue afterwards when needed the money time.
You need to sell the properties when time due! if those money are needed for the education purposes.

The focal point of discussion is about children education plan, not properties investment itself. There is huge impact if the properties market crash or the properties is illiquid when time due.

Rental and location wise situation is something we can't control, today it might be highly sort after, but due to changing urbanisation plan, it could mean those properties won't have a buyer anymore after 10 or 20 years time, when the time for the education money. At least in my state, I had seen how a shoplot in the most prime area which cost more than 1 million 10-20 years ago, now more than 1/3 cannot find tenants, not to mention the buyer for it. Although the example is extreme and could be happen in low rate, it is something we must aware or understand of before commiting to it.
We are dealing a lot of 'if' which something we can't control nor can predict one.

Don't get me wrong, I am not against properties investment, just it is some issues which people should be understand of (especially for newbie in investment field), instead just advise other invest in properties will make good money, it is not as simple as that. No offence smile.gif

a) Ain't we just experience the worst financial crisis? See how many reit, properties company globally went under or need to fire-sale their assets because of inability to get refinancing from bank?
Banks are already well known, "lend you or push you the umbrella when it is sunny day, but refuse to lend the umbrella when raining day"

Yes, banks are always greedy one, they want to give as much loan as they can, because they can make more money. But when things change time, especially crisis time, situation become totally different.
When Lehman went under time, credit market was totally freezing up, nobody want to lend to each others even between banks because fear to each others.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 20 2009, 11:51 PM
ehl
post Sep 24 2009, 10:40 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 20 2009, 11:45 PM)
Purchasing a property using housing loan which is for education plan is a borrowing or leveraged investment in the first place. I am not saying it is right or wrong, just one must understand taking up house loan or any loan, it is a long term commitment.

We are talking about children education plan by properties investment as proposed by forumers earlier.  smile.gif

The liquidity part issue I raised, if one uses properties as children education fund/investment then, it could face liquidity issue afterwards when needed the money time.
You need to sell the properties when time due! if those money are needed for the education purposes.

The focal point of discussion is about children education plan, not properties investment itself. There is huge impact if the properties market crash or the properties is illiquid when time due.

Rental and location wise situation is something we can't control, today it might be highly sort after, but due to changing urbanisation plan, it could mean those properties won't have a buyer anymore after 10 or 20 years time, when the time for the education money. At least in my state, I had seen how a shoplot in the most prime area which cost more than 1 million 10-20 years ago, now more than 1/3 cannot find tenants, not to mention the buyer for it. Although the example is extreme and could be happen in low rate, it is something we must aware or understand of before commiting to it.
We are dealing a lot of 'if' which something we can't control nor can predict one.

Don't get me wrong, I am not against properties investment, just it is some issues which people should be understand of (especially for newbie in investment field), instead just advise other invest in properties will make good money, it is not as simple as that. No offence  smile.gif

a) Ain't we just experience the worst financial crisis? See how many reit, properties company globally went under or need to fire-sale their assets because of inability to get refinancing from bank?
Banks are already well known, "lend you or push you the umbrella when it is sunny day, but refuse to lend the umbrella when raining day"

Yes, banks are always greedy one, they want to give as much loan as they can, because they can make more money. But when things change time, especially crisis time, situation become totally different.
When Lehman went under time, credit market was totally freezing up, nobody want to lend to each others even between banks because fear to each others.
Investment in properties is consider a passive investment, but in reality, managing your investment is the challenging part. You need to understand how to protect your investment not to fall into the above mention situations. You have to consider it as a business rather than a passive investment.

US problem is more toward sub-prime loan issues, Those that are rich and solid, will not have a single impact if they want to borrow, if we can reach solid wealth stage, the bank will be most willing to lend you the money.

wodenus
post Sep 24 2009, 10:47 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 24 2009, 10:40 AM)
Investment in properties is consider a passive investment, but in reality, managing your investment is the challenging part. You need to understand how to protect your investment not to fall into the above mention situations. You have to consider it as a business rather than a passive investment.

US problem is more toward sub-prime loan issues, Those that are rich and solid, will not have a single impact if they want to borrow, if we can reach solid wealth stage, the bank will be most willing to lend you the money.
And they'll be the first to bug you at the first sign of trouble tongue.gif

klfong
post Sep 24 2009, 11:13 AM

Example of Real Estate crash, which the worse than you can imagine
http://www.generationaldynamics.com/cgi-bi...?xct=gd.e070220

Gold Price clearly crash after 80's recession
http://goldprice.org/30-year-gold-price-history.html

You can invest in REIT that gives about 10% dividend annually, and liquidate whenever you feel to do so.

There is no infinite rise or fall, the concept is simple. When you see infinite fall prepare to buy as much as you can, and sell to those who sees infinite rise in the future.

Since you have about 16 years horizon, keep the money in FD
and then....
when the next crash comes you will have the bullet to dump your money in stocks
Why gamble with property which is hard to liquidate and expenisve?
Keep 100% in cash and when crisis hits, you just need to use 25% of your money if you are conservative
keep remaining 75% as cash, invest 25%, and get 3 to 5x return from your 25%

then it is 75% + 25%X5 = 200%

US is now in deep trouble, so .... I think the opportunity is still there, when there is no trouble, you have to be careful. Remember 97 crisis in Malaysia, I have checked the history of Maybank stock price in 97. It is RM2 before 2x split and Sime Darby RM0.5, see their prices now.

This post has been edited by klfong: Sep 24 2009, 11:18 AM
cherroy
post Sep 24 2009, 11:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(klfong @ Sep 24 2009, 11:13 AM)
Example of Real Estate crash, which the worse than you can imagine
http://www.generationaldynamics.com/cgi-bi...?xct=gd.e070220

Gold Price clearly crash after  80's recession
http://goldprice.org/30-year-gold-price-history.html

You can invest in REIT that gives about 10% dividend annually, and liquidate whenever you feel to do so.

There is no infinite rise or fall, the concept is simple. When you see infinite fall prepare to buy as much as you can, and sell to those who sees infinite rise in the future.

Since you have about 16 years horizon, keep the money in FD
and then....
when the next crash comes you will have the bullet to dump your money in stocks
Why gamble with property which is hard to liquidate and expenisve?
Keep 100% in cash and when crisis hits, you just need to use 25% of your money if you are conservative
keep remaining 75% as cash, invest 25%, and get 3 to 5x return from your 25%

then it is 75% + 25%X5 = 200%

US is now in deep trouble, so .... I think the opportunity is still there, when there is no trouble, you have to be careful. Remember 97 crisis in Malaysia, I have checked the history of Maybank stock price in 97. It is RM2 before 2x split and Sime Darby RM0.5, see their prices now.
Sime never reach Rm0.50 as far as my memory serves. But CIMB did fall to RM1.80, this I can confirm.

The major risk and problem is not about picking when recession or crisis hit. The major difficulty (and weakness for most people) is picking the right stocks or properties (or any investment target) to invest during the crisis. Malaysia economy or stock market might recover from 1997, but certain properties and stocks might not. Eg. UEM Bhd has been delisted (impact of 1997) while for US, GM no longer exist. (Current GM is the new restructured GM, not the old GM, different company already, although it is still GM)
So even the economy recover afterwards if pick the wrong target, your investment won't able to recover. So must choose wisely is the key.

Same with properties, some shoplots were being abandoned during 1997 crisis, which after 12 years passed, and economy growth again, those shoplots still sitting there and being left to be rotten.

klfong
post Sep 24 2009, 11:35 AM

We can change the proportion, 50% cash + 50% index. Index return is not too bad either. biggrin.gif
But to get 3 to 4x, the only way is to identify survivors of the crash that have been beaten badly. So I think we should let a few big and significant companies to file bankruptcy first, then here comes the panic, when there is a government intervention, then be prepared to invest in a few companies that is too important to fail.

EDIT: GM balance sheet is in crisis even before the crisis, so I do not think it is a risk that I will take

This post has been edited by klfong: Sep 24 2009, 11:38 AM
Pai
post Sep 24 2009, 11:39 AM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

I agree with Rakyat and cynthusc to invest in properties for your kid's education. But like to clear the some misconcpetion that :

1. Properties are expensive -
Spend 20k d/p today on a 200k apartment and get 200k equity after 20 years(assume the property did not appreciate at all). One needs to invest at least 3 times more in UT or education policy to achieve the same 200k.

Some of us little or no $$$$ to buy properties, and that CANT be expensive tongue.gif

2. Properties are illiquid -
a. It should not matter as we r talking about a long term investment plan here.
b. If you can sell 5% below market price your property today will most likely sold within 1 month.
c. Depending on the interest rate situation after 20 years, one can always opt to refinance. Just need 3 months waiting period (assuming banking process did not improve at all over the next 20 years)

This post has been edited by Pai: Sep 24 2009, 11:41 AM
klfong
post Sep 24 2009, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(Pai @ Sep 24 2009, 11:39 AM)
I agree with Rakyat to invest in properties for your kid's education. But like to clear the misconcpetion that :

Spend 20k d/p today on a 200k apartment and get 200k equity after 20 years(assume the property did not appreciate at all). One needs to invest at least 3 times more in UT or education policy to achieve the same 200k.
What if... it depreciates to 100K? Then now cash seems to be a better investment. Supply and demand is a very complex thing, keeping real estate as an investment will finally end up with a crash. When everyone keeps an additional house and wants to sell it when they retire, suddenly there is a slew of supply, then no buyers (assumption: population does not grow by 2x 20 yrs later), the price is going to crash.

EDIT: I do not know the current status of real estate market of Malaysia, nor I have the price index, but anyway, there is no investment with guaranteed return, must understand what you want to invest thoroughly.

This post has been edited by klfong: Sep 24 2009, 11:52 AM
rakyat
post Sep 24 2009, 12:37 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

Guys this has turned into a debate btw market optimist & pessimist... there is no crash-proof guaranteed bestest investment vehicle. Every investment is vunerable to market conditions.

The gist of the matter is to set aside some $$$ and invest it in something that TS is comfortable with (based on his risk appetite) and mayb diversify a small percentage to riskier products for higher returns.

My advise is 'save 1st b/4 expenses' as oppose to 'expenses 1st then save what ever is left' and start now
ehl
post Sep 24 2009, 01:12 PM

141 posts

I agree with Rakyat and cynthusc to invest in properties for your kid's education. But like to clear the some misconcpetion that :

Some of us little or no $$$$ to buy properties, and that CANT be expensive  tongue.gif

b. If you can sell 5% below market price your property today will most likely sold within 1 month.
c. Depending on the interest rate situation after 20 years, one can always opt to refinance. Just need 3 months waiting period (assuming banking process did not improve at all over the next 20 years)
I agreed with Pai.

There is alot of investment in the world, all of us just have to weight the pro & con of each to me, i found that properties is the best.

Yet, you need to comprehend alot of stuff from choosing the right property to financing it to subsequent cashing out (not necessary selling it)
Not to mention, post acquistion of managing your tenant.

All the forumner are contributing toward the benefits of further understanding, what we are going to face when we invest in property or other investment.
cherroy
post Sep 24 2009, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(klfong @ Sep 24 2009, 11:35 AM)
But to get 3 to 4x, the only way is to identify survivors of the crash that have been beaten badly. So I think we should let a few big and significant companies to file bankruptcy first, then here comes the panic, when there is a government intervention, then be prepared to invest in a few companies that is too important to fail.

EDIT: GM balance sheet is in crisis even before the crisis, so I do not think it is a risk that I will take
AIG before crisis, everything look beauty and solid, nobody knows the risk behind of it, even its management board. So even though Gov must bailout AIG, AIG might not recover at all. AIG has been under reversed stock split 20:1, so even now surge to USD40, in actual sense, it is ony USD2, compared to more than USD60 years back.

So there is no guarantee the gov intervention will prevent the company share price from collapsing. Yes, they won't let the company fail, but it doesn't mean the company has rosy and solid defence for the economy fallout.

b) Not necessary across. Some areas which has passed its prime time, may not find buyer even lower 10-20% which you see lot of shoplots being abandoned one. This particular true on shop lots and those shopping mall that in non-strategic area one. The statement mostly true on residential properties generally which is not hard to find buyer, but for commercial real estate different story.

c) I would say we shouldn't be too complacency on the refinancing side, even though generally there is not much difficulty. As when there is real issue or crisis unfold in financial sector, banks can reluctantly to lend at all which clearly been shown in recent US financial crisis. Also over last decade, most people never experience the high interest environment, so refinancing can be costly as well. Although it is not the case for near term future. Just we cannot take for granted, refinancing will be easy and cheap to get smile.gif

QUOTE(ehl @ Sep 24 2009, 01:12 PM)
There is alot of investment in the world, all of us just have to weight the pro & con of each to me, i found that properties is the best.

Yet, you need to comprehend alot of stuff from choosing the right property to financing it to subsequent cashing out (not necessary selling it)
Not to mention, post acquistion of managing your tenant.

All the forumner are contributing toward the benefits of further understanding, what we are going to face when we invest in property or other investment.
Yup, there are lot of investment target around, not every single investment target is surely good, nor bad also not necessary suit to everyone. Everyone financial situation could be totally different which may suit or not suit to particular investment target.

Yup, whatever we discussed here is bring out the points of it, so that whenever we make decision, we have clear mind and knowing risk of it, instead of just pure saying properties investment is the one should be in which can make money one which could lead to newbie in investment field has the wrong mindset. No offence and don't get me wrong. I still view properties investment is one of good target, just it is not as simple and must be gaining money one even one has it over the long term. smile.gif
Pai
post Sep 24 2009, 04:46 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(klfong @ Sep 24 2009, 11:48 AM)
What if... it depreciates to 100K? Then now cash seems to be a better investment. Supply and demand is a very complex thing, keeping real estate as an investment will finally end up with a crash. When everyone keeps an additional house and wants to sell it when they retire, suddenly there is a slew of supply, then no buyers (assumption: population does not grow by 2x 20 yrs later), the price is going to crash.

EDIT: I do not know the current status of real estate market of Malaysia, nor I have the price index, but anyway, there is no investment with guaranteed return, must understand what you want to invest thoroughly.
Simple facts smile.gif :

1. Show me a decent place that has depreciated by 100k in the past few years apart from Bukit Antarabangsa and Lembah Beringin? Pls exclude unsafe properties.

2. Majority of population cant afford to buy a property in decent areas, but they can afford to rent.

Malaysia real estate market is not known for its speculative nature. Prices has been on the up albeit on a much slower pace VS say SG. In the past 4 years, I've yet to see even one new development that is selling below its developer's price, let alone 100k below.

Added on September 24, 2009, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 24 2009, 03:13 PM)
b) Not necessary across. Some areas which has passed its prime time, may not find buyer even lower 10-20% which you see lot of shoplots being abandoned one. This particular true on shop lots and those shopping mall that in non-strategic area one. The statement mostly true on residential properties generally which is not hard to find buyer, but for commercial real estate different story.

c) I would say we shouldn't be too complacency on the refinancing side, even though generally there is not much difficulty. As when there is real issue or crisis unfold in financial sector, banks can reluctantly to lend at all which clearly been shown in recent US financial crisis. Also over last decade, most people never experience the high interest environment, so refinancing can be costly as well. Although it is not the case for near term future. Just we cannot take for granted, refinancing will be easy and cheap to get  smile.gif
b. Agree with ya hence for this purpose I only advocate residentials. Maybe for this purpose one should not go for anything less than a completed highrise, with stable rentals.

c. My personal take on refinancing is that it will only get easier in the future, assuming a person maintains a decent credit standing. It will not be to difficult for TS to get cash out of his/her properties 20 years from now.

Added on September 24, 2009, 5:02 pmAnyhow, Im not saying properties is the bestest option for TS. However, properties offer TS the flexibility to use OPM to generate his education fund, unlike general savings, equities, UT, gold & silver etc whereby his has to come out with his own funds.

There a reason why banks allows so much leverage for properties, but not for any other *investments. wink.gif

*at least for the average joes, its diff if u r a private banking customer

This post has been edited by Pai: Sep 24 2009, 05:03 PM
ehl
post Sep 24 2009, 06:06 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 24 2009, 03:13 PM)

c) I would say we shouldn't be too complacency on the refinancing side, even though generally there is not much difficulty. As when there is real issue or crisis unfold in financial sector, banks can reluctantly to lend at all which clearly been shown in recent US financial crisis. Also over last decade, most people never experience the high interest environment, so refinancing can be costly as well. Although it is not the case for near term future. Just we cannot take for granted, refinancing will be easy and cheap to get  smile.gif

b) Not sure about where where is those passed prime time areas, but look at history, if you have properties in center of KL, its worth alot of money just for the land. Untill now they have not past their prime time.

If not mistaken, the decrease or stagnent properties price happen at non strategic areas (urbanised).

c) You must be able to control and monitor your gearing, dont over commit and must always have contingency plans for high interest and others factors.

klfong
post Sep 24 2009, 06:59 PM

QUOTE(Pai @ Sep 24 2009, 04:46 PM)
Simple facts smile.gif :

1. Show me a decent place that has depreciated by 100k in the past few years apart from Bukit Antarabangsa and Lembah Beringin? Pls exclude unsafe properties.

2. Majority of population cant afford to buy a property in decent areas, but they can afford to rent.

Malaysia real estate market is not known for its speculative nature. Prices has been on the up albeit on a much slower pace VS say SG. In the past 4 years, I've yet to see even one new development that is selling below its developer's price, let alone 100k below.

You are actually speculating that others' do not speculate. wink.gif

No la, I am just exaggerating. My main point is only invest what you really understand. You do not have to relearn others' mistakes.
ehl
post Sep 24 2009, 07:46 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(klfong @ Sep 24 2009, 06:59 PM)
No la, I am just exaggerating. My main point is only invest what you really understand. You do not have to relearn others' mistakes.
I agreed. If possible modify it to become better or tune it as the enviroment change. Mistake sometimes costly.
Bizmind
post Sep 25 2009, 12:43 AM

169 posts

Do you want to know what is the best investment?

Health.

When you take care of your children's health, they will grow up genius.

Another good investment to combine with health is leverage.
You help your children to be healthy. Your friends also wants their children to be healthy. You share with them. They are satisfied and also share with their friend. Without you knowing it, your investment become your career.

Good bye to your boss and hello to your freedom.
TSawiekupo
post Sep 26 2009, 08:48 AM

1,481 posts

Huhuh.. just back from holiday and finish going through all the replies. I must thank each and everyone of you for all the great advice and ideas. Hope u guys dun fight2 arr coz everyone hv their own opinions and experience so one might work for the others and one might not at all.. wink.gif

However I'm interested to learn more about this post from xuzen

i) My wife and I both opened a SSPN a/c RM 3Kx2 p.a. mainly for tax benefit. By the time my kid reach IPT level, it should have abt RM 100K, ready cash.

(Do you mean I have to dump 6k per year into SSPN to avoid the tax? Or what is the minimum amount that need to be deposited into the account to be eligible for the RM3k deduction every year)

(Any idea or site on where I can get this Med Card? And what kind of package that I should opt for? Is this different from company medical card because my company do give a mediclinic card but I think it only cover stuff and normal clinic visit)

(Err, again can share with me the url or any branch in KL/PJ that I can visit for more info)

(what does this mean?)
leecy
post Sep 26 2009, 01:47 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Sep 26 2009, 08:48 AM)
Huhuh.. just back from holiday and finish going through all the replies. I must thank each and everyone of you for all the great advice and ideas. Hope u guys dun fight2 arr coz everyone hv their own opinions and experience so one might work for the others and one might not at all.. wink.gif

However I'm interested to learn more about this post from xuzen

i) My wife and I both opened a SSPN a/c RM 3Kx2 p.a. mainly for tax benefit. By the time my kid reach IPT level, it should have abt RM 100K, ready cash.

(Do you mean I have to dump 6k per year into SSPN to avoid the tax? Or what is the minimum amount that need to be deposited into the account to be eligible for the RM3k deduction every year)

(Any idea or site on where I can get this Med Card? And what kind of package that I should opt for? Is this different from company medical card because my company do give a mediclinic card but I think it only cover stuff and normal clinic visit)
Dun mind share with you if you required.Surely different from your company one
(Err, again can share with me the url or any branch in KL/PJ that I can visit for more info)
Dun mind sharing with you. i can solve your queries
(what does this mean?)
This post has been edited by leecy: Sep 26 2009, 01:55 PM
DalphinuS
post Sep 26 2009, 06:06 PM

133 posts

Invest in equities on my own?

Means invest in aggressive investment funds.
High risk, but oso high return. No capital guarantee in investment, though.
Unless u diversify the risks.
Bizmind
post Sep 27 2009, 11:22 AM

169 posts

Tax people are ripping our money. If only there is no tax in this world..
Do you think life would be better? smile.gif
Syd G
post Sep 27 2009, 11:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

This is totally offtopic but

@Bizmind
If tax collection n spending is done correctly, our schools will be free, our highways will have no toll, our neighbourhoods will be cleaner, our healthcare system will be superb and we'll have less crime. But we all know that our money isnt going to places it shud be smile.gif . Scandinavian countries impose almost 50% tax on salary. But most of the citizens are happy because the money goes back to the people smile.gif
greatbargain
post Sep 27 2009, 03:22 PM

74 posts

Hi all,

Hi there,

I didn't have time to read all the replies here. I just give you my own thought about this (btw, i am not a unit trust or insurance agent tongue.gif ). Hopefully not too many duplication of info already provided

First off, I want to congratulate you on your newborn baby

Secondly, I want to congratulate you on taking the initiative to plan for your babies future

Anyway, back to the essence of this topic. Sorry if I am a bit off the original question as I think they are also some how related

#######

There are lots of aspect in the planning for your child's future such as

1) How much they need from now till they are independent including food, education (primary, secondary, tertiary), leisure, etc? Also you need to determine the inflation effect on this figure (RM1 now won't be worth RM1 in 20yrs time)

2) How many children do you plan to have? If you plan to have more than 1x, you should include the planning even starting now

3) How you want to invest to generate enough savings for #1 & #2 above (which is your main question)?

For #3, as some others had said, it should not be too risky as this is concerning your child's future. Having said that, I will give you some advice what you might consider to achieve the above

Bond

Bond is an excellent tool to generate the kind of return that is higher than FD, yet not as risky as equity. I have personally invested in bond for quite some time (mostly in unit trust form) and they can generate a healthy 7% - 8% per annum return.

YES, investing in bond also have risk of loosing money BUT comparing with equity the loss is much lower (though gain is lower too during peak time)

I monitor on a weekly basis the bond fund price offered by local unit trust company, so I know how is the performance

Capital Guaranteed Fund

As the title says, your capital is guaranteed but with potential higher return than FD. This is ideal for education fund

Make sure you avoid a very big trap that no agent will tell you. Check what is the maturity date. Some funds maturity date is 10 yrs shocking.gif . Which means if you want to cash out your fund before the 10 yrs period, your capital is not guaranteed

Another risk is you need to find out who is guaranteeing the fund. It must be an established bank or insurance company. Or else, forget it

Property

Although when mention about property, people will be scared by the big amount involved and "non" liquidity of the asset, in my opinion, it really depends how you invest

You can invest in low cost property such as apartment (about RM 100k). Also don't forget, you can always refinance the house to generate cash. You don't always have to sell

FD

You might be surprised I say FD because of the notorious return (low that is) of FD BUT it is very very liquid. It should be part of your consideration too

Education Insurance

Personally I don't put too much money on education insurance BUT I don't mention why (don't want to offend any insurance agents here). I have my reasons. Suffice to say you can consider this option if this kind of savings is suitable for you or not

LASTLY, the most important investment advice I can give to you (and anyone else for the matter), no matter how attractive any option is to you, NEVER EVER PUT ALL YOUR MONEY in ONE BASKET

That is THE WORST thing you can ever do

Hopefully you will find these information useful

This post has been edited by greatbargain: Sep 27 2009, 03:28 PM
leecy
post Sep 27 2009, 05:47 PM

53 posts

i agree with his statement. Diverse your expenditure. I dun mind share our capital guaranteed return fund or education insurance with you. Just a sharing.

You should diverse your saving in insurance, fd,property, amanah saham, bond, share ,saving account and emergency fund

This post has been edited by leecy: Sep 27 2009, 05:48 PM
xuzen
post Sep 28 2009, 01:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(DalphinuS @ Sep 26 2009, 06:06 PM)
Invest in equities on my own?

Means invest in aggressive investment funds.
High risk, but oso high return. No capital guarantee in investment, though.
Unless u diversify the risks.
Nope, not into funds. But buy the KLSE share directly.

Xuzen
Bizmind
post Sep 29 2009, 12:00 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 27 2009, 11:29 AM)
This is totally offtopic but

@Bizmind
If tax collection n spending is done correctly, our schools will be free, our highways will have no toll, our neighbourhoods will be cleaner, our healthcare system will be superb and we'll have less crime. But we all know that our money isnt going to places it shud be smile.gif . Scandinavian countries impose almost 50% tax on salary. But most of the citizens are happy because the money goes back to the people smile.gif
Sorry and thanks bro.. smile.gif

Syd G
post Sep 29 2009, 01:17 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 29 2009, 12:00 AM)
Sorry and thanks bro.. smile.gif
No need to be sorry la. Just be aware when making ur decisions @ the polling table in the future wink.gif

Back to the topic :

We're planning to hv children so I want to start saving. I'm currently saving it along with my own retirement fund but I think it's not really a good idea. Because typical age retirement is around 30 years to go but child edu fund around 18 years starting from now.

Or have I been doing it correctly? smile.gif
Jordy
post Sep 29 2009, 02:46 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 29 2009, 01:17 PM)
We're planning to hv children so I want to start saving. I'm currently saving it along with my own retirement fund but I think it's not really a good idea. Because typical age retirement is around 30 years to go but child edu fund around 18 years starting from now.

Or have I been doing it correctly? smile.gif
Syd G,

It really depends on your ability to save. Different people will have different strategies (i.e. having separate accounts for retirement and education concurrently, or doing it one after another).

As an example, if your combined income is RM5,000 and you are able to save RM500, you could still separate it into 2 accounts.

Education account: Save RM400 monthly for 10 years and subsequently reduce that to RM200 monthly for 8 years at a rate of 5%, you'll have about RM115,000.

Retirement account: Save RM100 monthly for 10 years and subsequently increase to RM300 monthly for 20 years at a rate of 5%, you'll have about RM160,000 extra for retirement.

Of course, this is very subjective. You can always increase your savings into your retirement account because RM160,000 is definitely insufficient for you to retire.

Nonetheless, it can be done concurrently. You just have to spend prudently for now.
vandetta
post Sep 29 2009, 04:08 PM

658 posts

Could not agree more with Jordy, what he said was true.
I believe it does not matter how you save, the most important thing is you do save money for future. In early days I start to work, I could not save more than rm200 per month. As time goes on I am able to save more each month as I starts to learn on how to manage my money and learn about money management.

Insurances, investments, educations, retirements, lifestyle.. everything is important to us. We can have it all if do it the right way biggrin.gif

BTW, this is the kind of thread that really helps and gives good idea to peoples.
Syd G
post Sep 29 2009, 04:18 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@Jordy
Thanks wink.gif Your strategy really made sense. I think I'll be screwed with more than 1 kid tho. Heh.

Jordy
post Sep 29 2009, 08:13 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 29 2009, 04:18 PM)
@Jordy
Thanks wink.gif Your strategy really made sense. I think I'll be screwed with more than 1 kid tho. Heh.
Syd G,

Lesson 1 in managing money. "Don't eat what you can't chew". If handling one child is hard, then don't think of having another one smile.gif
SUSStarJump
post Sep 29 2009, 10:55 PM

148 posts

From TS nick, if TS is Malay I think he should consider ASB. Heard returns for ASB is very good.
vandetta
post Sep 30 2009, 04:18 PM

658 posts

Why bother go to ASB anymore, I predict A1M will give return at least on par with ASB as Najib himself will surely want to promote that. In the other hand, everybody can buy A1M.
dreamer101
post Sep 30 2009, 07:12 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Sep 30 2009, 04:18 PM)
Why bother go to ASB anymore, I predict A1M will give return at least on par with ASB as Najib himself will surely want to promote that. In the other hand, everybody can buy A1M.
vandetta,

Your STATEMENT is WRONG. There is NO WAY that any other ASx will return better than ASB. Obviously, you don't know anything about ASx.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 30 2009, 07:13 PM
amerz
post Sep 30 2009, 07:14 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 30 2009, 07:12 PM)
vandetta,

Your STATEMENT is WRONG.  There is NO WAY that any other ASx will return better than ASB.  Obviously, you don't know anything about ASx.

Dreamer
care to tell us why? really curious here..
Jordy
post Oct 1 2009, 08:27 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(amerz @ Sep 30 2009, 07:14 PM)
care to tell us why? really curious here..
amerz,

Lets just say just because the fund has a "Bumiputra" suffix, it has special privileges and advantage over the rest smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: Oct 1 2009, 08:28 AM
morning06
post Oct 1 2009, 11:13 AM

869 posts

congratz on being a father ^^

ermm i've some plan if you dun mind hearing it... since there are some issues with agent so i think its better that i dun post anything here bout my company plans ^^"'

anyway i've sent you a pm about it, if you are interested just let me know.. i'll type the plan out and email it to you ^^''

no hard feelings ^^ just another options for you ^^
Bizmind
post Oct 3 2009, 12:25 AM

169 posts

Why not just share it here? smile.gif

ahkang77
post Nov 4 2009, 10:05 PM

107 posts

why I cant share with the saving plan I have for the excelpay 20?
putremas
post Nov 5 2009, 12:27 AM

21 posts

get insurance and saving. the best is invest in gold. appreciation 20-25% per year. need more info just call me.

hp: 012-9883445
email: putremas@ymail.com
kmarc
post Feb 26 2010, 04:36 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Anybody has any good info on "Public bank/ING One educate" saving fund?

I just opened one today for my daughter. As always, the agent laid out a nice package which was hard to ignore. sweat.gif

From what I can gather, these are some of its features:
1) Average interest of about 5%/year (might be more or less than this)
- interest will be compounded just like any other savings account

2) Fix savings per month e.g RM175, RM325 or RM488/month
- the savings is MY money, there are no charges or hidden charges

3) Cannot withdraw the money for at least 10 years
- if withdraw any amount before 10 years, will be charged 10%
- can withdraw after 10 years without any charges

4) Free ING insurance coverage (Errmm... I think it is TPD and life insurance, can't remember the details)

What do you guys think? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Feb 26 2010, 04:36 PM
weikian
post Feb 26 2010, 11:38 PM

106 posts

Its a normal low risk education saving plan for children. All the insurance companies provide more or less the same protection and interest. What's important is how the company perform.
kmarc
post Feb 28 2010, 02:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(weikian @ Feb 26 2010, 11:38 PM)
Its a normal low risk education saving plan for children. All the insurance companies provide more or less the same protection and interest. What's important is how the company perform.
I see. The agent told me that on average, it is about 5%. Even during the 2008 economic crisis, the fund still gave 3.1%, which is still better than FD.
almeizer
post Feb 28 2010, 02:47 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 28 2010, 02:17 PM)
I see. The agent told me that on average, it is about 5%. Even during the 2008 economic crisis, the fund still gave 3.1%, which is still better than FD.
The 5% is from the sum insured or total premium paid? Normally it was sum insured which the amount is just half of total premium paid. So actually is was 2.5% which is almost the same or lesser than FD.

Beside that the interest is not guaranteed and only base on historical record. The advantage is, it force u to save with the policy term and good for those who are not discipline of their saving. However, the bad thing is when u having difficulties to commit for the particular policy year or month, either u have to stop the policy or u have to borrow from family or friend to pay the premium.
weikian
post Feb 28 2010, 03:07 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Feb 28 2010, 02:47 PM)
The 5% is from the sum insured or total premium paid? Normally it was sum insured which the amount is just half of total premium paid. So actually is was 2.5% which is almost the same or lesser than FD.

Beside that the interest is not guaranteed and only base on historical record. The advantage is, it force u to save with the policy term and good for those who are not discipline of their saving. However, the bad thing is when u having difficulties to commit for the particular policy year or month, either u have to stop the policy or u have to borrow from family or friend to pay the premium.
It was based on the sum assured. But normally not half, its about 2/3 of the total premium paid. For example, premium paid of 150k and the sum assured will be 100k. Based on my experience, the interest rate for normal education plan was 5-7% which means that min is 5% max is 7% for certain companies.

I had to agree with almeizer that education plan was a method to force you to save money. However, please do not or transfer all your money from FD to this plan even if its better interest than FD. It can be used as one of the method to save your money. We must always diversified our money.

This post has been edited by weikian: Feb 28 2010, 03:09 PM
kmarc
post Feb 28 2010, 07:38 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Feb 28 2010, 02:47 PM)

Aikes! I didn't really ask them specifically about that.

The reason was that he said whatever money I put in is my money, and the interest will be paid yearly based on how much I put in.

I just assumed that if I put in RM200/month, I will get interest of RM2400 at the end of the year!!! sweat.gif

Damn, should have specifically asked him that. doh.gif

Oh another thing, he said yesterday was only a one day special promotion, where the insurance comes free...... dunno how true that is.... hmm.gif

QUOTE(weikian @ Feb 28 2010, 03:07 PM)
It was based on the sum assured. But normally not half, its about 2/3 of the total premium paid. For example, premium paid of 150k and the sum assured will be 100k. Based on my experience, the interest rate for normal education plan was 5-7% which means that min is 5% max is 7% for certain companies.

I had to agree with almeizer that education plan was a method to force you to save money. However, please do not or transfer all your money from FD to this plan even if its better interest than FD. It can be used as one of the method to save your money. We must always diversified our money.
5-7% is ok for me as SSPN only gives 3+% although we can deduct that from the income tax.

No la, FD is for emergency money and won't be touched for whatever reason. smile.gif
almeizer
post Feb 28 2010, 08:05 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 28 2010, 07:38 PM)

The reason was that he said whatever money I put in is my money, and the interest will be paid yearly based on how much I put in.

I just assumed that if I put in RM200/month, I will get interest of RM2400 at the end of the year!!!  sweat.gif

Damn, should have specifically asked him that.  doh.gif

Oh another thing, he said yesterday was only a one day special promotion, where the insurance comes free...... dunno how true that is....  hmm.gif
5-7% is ok for me as SSPN only gives 3+% although we can deduct that from the income tax.

No la, FD is for emergency money and won't be touched for whatever reason. smile.gif
Normally the interest is based on the sum insured and not the amount u paid. Rarely see insurance company pay the return or interest based on premium. Maybe u should ask for more details with the agent and read through the policy when u get it. Usually there is 15 days grace period for fully refund. U must make sure it's suit u and u can commit during the policy years.

Last day promotion is the tactic they use to create urgency so that ppl will buy without think too much.

If not mistaken, SSPN return is based on premium and not sum insured.

This post has been edited by almeizer: Feb 28 2010, 08:06 PM
HHalphaomega
post Feb 28 2010, 11:16 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 28 2010, 07:38 PM)

I just assumed that if I put in RM200/month, I will get interest of RM2400 at the end of the year!!!  sweat.gif

Damn, should have specifically asked him that.  doh.gif

Oh another thing, he said yesterday was only a one day special promotion, where the insurance comes free...... dunno how true that is....  hmm.gif

It's good that you've started a savings plan for your child. A steady return is what you should look for for education savings and 5% sounds good. Returns are usually based on sum assured so it would be good for you to check on that policy document again to be sure.

Like Almeizer says, it could be a case of urgency creation as that usually opens the purse faster.. smile.gif

kmarc
post Feb 28 2010, 11:37 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Feb 28 2010, 08:05 PM)
Normally the interest is based on the sum insured and not the amount u paid. Rarely see insurance company pay the return or interest based on premium. Maybe u should ask for more details with the agent and read through the policy when u get it. Usually there is 15 days grace period for fully refund. U must make sure it's suit u and u can commit during the policy years.

Last day promotion is the tactic they use to create urgency so that ppl will buy without think too much.

If not mistaken, SSPN return is based on premium and not sum insured.
I see. I will ask them tomorrow when I fax over the birthcert. Thx for the advice.

I did specifically ask the agent what the promotion was all about and he did specifically mention that the insurance was free only for that one day. Thanx for reminding me that there is a cooling off period. thumbup.gif Will read through the policy once it comes.

QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Feb 28 2010, 11:16 PM)
It's good that you've started a savings plan for your child. A steady return is what you should look for for education savings and 5% sounds good. Returns are usually based on sum assured so it would be good for you to check on that policy document again to be sure.

Like Almeizer says, it could be a case of urgency creation as that usually opens the purse faster..  smile.gif
Ok, will read through the policy once I get it. Thx! thumbup.gif
skiddtrader
post Mar 1 2010, 12:26 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 28 2010, 11:37 PM)
I see. I will ask them tomorrow when I fax over the birthcert. Thx for the advice.

I did specifically ask the agent what the promotion was all about and he did specifically mention that the insurance was free only for that one day. Thanx for reminding me that there is a cooling off period.  thumbup.gif Will read through the policy once it comes.
Ok, will read through the policy once I get it. Thx!  thumbup.gif
Hehe there was once an insurance agent told me about a 1 day deal as well. The moment he said that, I told him I wasn't interested anymore because I needed more than a day to decide(consult family), then he retract what he said and told me he can process it later because he has friends inside... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Mar 1 2010, 12:27 AM
HHalphaomega
post Mar 1 2010, 09:10 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Mar 1 2010, 12:26 AM)
Hehe there was once an insurance agent told me about a 1 day deal as well. The moment he said that, I told him I wasn't interested anymore because I needed more than a day to decide(consult family), then he retract what he said and told me he can process it later because he has friends inside...  sweat.gif
Customers are better informed nowadays to fall for the same trick over and over again esp the financial savvy ones. tongue.gif

hackwire
post Mar 1 2010, 10:15 AM

4,256 posts

i feel the best method to generate more income is through this method.

1) Save as much in the FD or SSPN.
2) When your child reach 15 years old above to 16 years old, i will teach him business. get him to start small business progressively. Start with Lemonade business. Feel the failure in life and success in life with small investment of RM 2K given to him/her.

3) 17-19 year old. New Business Plan . Investment of RM 5K given to him . Check his progress and see if he can manage his goal.

4) 20-22 years old . this is the time for self discovery. Invest 10K in his hobby and find out his career path. If he can makes the money from his career path, he can fight hard to get the education loan or work part time to reach his goal.

5) 23 - 28 years Should be the best time in the University.

I feel that many students fail to realize their dream and most go into college studying something they dont like. I think starting them older is better and they should be able to value their money and career more.

Really make no sense to save all the money and wasted on your child education when most typical malaysian were mostly preparing the child to enter the university but not letting your bird to explore their real food.

HHalphaomega
post Mar 1 2010, 10:36 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 1 2010, 10:15 AM)

2) When your child reach 15 years old above to 16 years old, i will teach him business. get him to start small business progressively. Start with Lemonade business. Feel the failure in life and success in life with small investment of RM 2K given to him/her.

3) 17-19 year old. New Business Plan . Investment of RM 5K given to him . Check his progress and see if he can manage his goal.

4) 20-22 years old . this is the time for self discovery. Invest 10K in his hobby and find out his career path. If he can makes the money from his career path, he can fight hard to get the education loan or work part time to reach his goal.

I feel that many students fail to realize their dream and most go into college studying something they dont like. I think starting them older is better and they should be able to value their money and career more.

Really make no sense to save all the money and wasted on your child education when most typical malaysian were mostly preparing the child to enter the university but not letting your bird to explore their real food.
A very Americanised style but that's a good approach to try since most kids do things for their parents than for themselves. This way would help bring the best out of them if they're mature enough otherwise it'll just break them apart.

attahun
post Mar 1 2010, 11:39 AM

593 posts

i like this. rclxms.gif

and point no 1 too, the baby is still a baby..the father could use the tax relief tongue.gif
kmarc
post Mar 1 2010, 12:30 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Mar 1 2010, 12:26 AM)
Hehe there was once an insurance agent told me about a 1 day deal as well. The moment he said that, I told him I wasn't interested anymore because I needed more than a day to decide(consult family), then he retract what he said and told me he can process it later because he has friends inside...   sweat.gif
It took me 10 minutes to decide. rclxub.gif sweat.gif

Anyway, I called the agent again today and he CONFIRMED that the interest will be the amount I put in as the one-day promotion included free insurance. I do sincerely hope it is true as this would be the best deal I ever got for an education fund!!! rclxms.gif

Hmmmm..... I like your concept.... of letting your child explore his/her potential first and then decides what he/she wants to do.

I feel somewhat "anxious" about saving money for my children and sending them overseas for further studies just to see them ending up becoming a salesman (for example, not to imply that degree holder cannot become successful salesman) due to various reasons e.g. recession...... sweat.gif

Anyway, my child is only 1+ year old so I still have lots of time to think about it. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 1 2010, 12:31 PM
hackwire
post Mar 1 2010, 02:02 PM

4,256 posts

This is probably the best i can think of.
We can save as much as we want but I feel your Child's Desire to turn something into money is more valuable than anything. Teach them about value and burning desire to love Money.

I seen some parent already let their child start their car workshop and modification... they learned through their passion in race car. Now they are CEOs of their own car workshop and even accessories catering to luxurios car.

The money we save also takes years to accumulate than their passion work.

kmarc
post Mar 1 2010, 06:53 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 1 2010, 02:02 PM)
This is probably the best i can think of.
We can save as much as we want but I feel your Child's Desire to turn something into money is more valuable than anything. Teach them about value and burning desire to love Money.

I seen some parent already let their child start their car workshop and modification... they learned through their passion in race car. Now they are CEOs of their own car workshop and even accessories catering to luxurios car.

The money we save also takes years to accumulate than their passion work.
Definitely will try to instill good values in them. However, I won't make them love money as that can cause a lot of problems e.g. earning money at the expense of others. Better to teach them the value of money and how to appreciate what you have as money is never enough (unless you're warren buffet...... biggrin.gif )

This post has been edited by kmarc: Mar 1 2010, 06:54 PM
TSawiekupo
post Mar 4 2010, 11:37 AM

1,481 posts

Wow.. I can't believe this thread is still active. Thank you very much for all yr input. Really really appreciate it.

At the moment I'm still learning bout property but I had started saving for my baby via ASB (thru my wife name) & ASW (baby's name - since u need to be 18+ yrs old to open ASB account).

Nevertheless, if you do have any idea to share please feel free to post it in this thread. I'm sure a lot of people had learn a lot thru this topic. smile.gif
post Mar 4 2010, 02:14 PM

55 posts

Bro , I really like your this post ! Thumbs Up MAN ! , wondering if nowadays parent can think wisely like you, but not just send their children to university blindly for giving them the higher education(in parent opinion), but which is some of teenagers loathed of it...

higher education is good but I think the mind thinking of their teenagers are more important than the education. They just throw few thousand K of RM for just a degree course which is locate at Malaysia's University/College . but just 10 out of 1 ppl can make the bigger value than those fees after graduated .

Parent should give what their children really desire on.. but not what the parent's hope..
Just my opinion about nowadays society, no offence. =D
xuzen
post Mar 4 2010, 04:01 PM

4,436 posts

I will want my kid to take up some professional program and work along the way. (CIMA, ACCA, CFA, CIM MAICSA etc)

This way I believe he/she can be exposed to the intricacy of working life as early as possible.

And if he/she is up to it, then can apply to do masters after a few year of working to enhance his/her marketability.

I do not wish for my child to be all academic but do not have real life experience as evidently many Masters holder nowadays.

Xuzen
hackwire
post Mar 4 2010, 07:22 PM

4,256 posts

education may not cost a single money at all if your kids can harness his talent and skill deep down in him.

life is not just about career and eduation.

Please watch this movie " Up in the Air". Many employees just work 20-30 years and still stuck with the job security and promises.

just let your child cruise along with his life , he could be the best in sports or anything that shake him up early as 6am in the morning.
m2chew
post Mar 4 2010, 07:29 PM

13 posts

My name is Merlyn. Im an AIA financial consultant agent. How about consider a long term child education saving plan? By the way, how old are you now and what job you are working as? I can prepare a proposal for you.

Merlyn

Added on March 4, 2010, 7:41 pmHi,

** In addition, what is your budget?

Merlyn

This post has been edited by m2chew: Mar 4 2010, 07:41 PM
hackwire
post Mar 5 2010, 11:12 AM

4,256 posts

for me long term education is not even possible , looking at the current salary scale and credit card debts, loans etc.

i don't why so many bankers don't listen and open up their mind.

They keep going after the average and middle income earners who are now living in debt mostly. Pls be more realistic lah. Now how many of you got good bonus at the end of the year. What did u do with the bonus at the end of the year.

Children education fees is not even the future stuff. its now.

Bankers , give me RM 300K now and i repay back slowly till i die. Can they do that?
jutamind
post Sep 14 2011, 04:22 PM

2,429 posts

i did a comparison of junior savings accounts by commercial banks in the market recently.

you can check the info here.

Durian MK
post Sep 15 2011, 09:27 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Sep 14 2011, 04:22 PM)
i did a comparison of junior savings accounts by commercial banks in the market recently.

you can check the info here.

Just thought of sharing with the rest.

My wife gave birth to my 1st child recently and I am already thinking for her future.

As I am not a person discipline enough to save at my own will, I have recently bought a saving plan for her after going through the options available in the market.

What I like about the plan is the short commitment of only 6 years, as compared to those edu/insinvestment plan of 20 years or more.

Though the premium is different, it is the feeling of committed to something for years that turn me off. Offcourse this is not applicable when I signed the marriage cert with my wife. Haha.

I am free to do what I want with the extra money after 6 year, what i deem best at that moment.

here is how the plan look like.

If you put in 10K each year for 6 years (Total saving 60K)
Calculation based on life assured whom is healthy 30 years old.
It is a 30 years plan, but these is what you will get if you decided to surrender the plan early.

This is what you will get. Guaranteed.
At 18 years: Min 88088, Max 115036
At 20 years: Min 94537, Max 127988
At 30 years: Min 132188, Max 216187

Normally you will get something in between.

You have the option of withdrawing your income and cash dividend out at the end of 1st year without surrendering your policy.
This plan is covered by PIDM as well.

Cheers.

wongmunkeong
post Sep 15 2011, 10:16 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Durian MK @ Sep 15 2011, 09:27 AM)

Just thought of sharing with the rest.

My wife gave birth to my 1st child recently and I am already thinking for her future.

As I am not a person discipline enough to save at my own will, I have recently bought a saving plan for her after going through the options available in the market.

What I like about the plan is the short commitment of only 6 years, as compared to those edu/insinvestment plan of 20 years or more.

Though the premium is different, it is the feeling of committed to something for years that turn me off. Offcourse this is not applicable when I signed the marriage cert with my wife. Haha.

I am free to do what I want with the extra money after 6 year, what i deem best at that moment.

here is how the plan look like.

If you put in 10K each year for 6 years (Total saving 60K)
Calculation based on life assured whom is healthy 30 years old.
It is a 30 years plan, but these is what you will get if you decided to surrender the plan early.

This is what you will get. Guaranteed.
At 18 years: Min 88088, Max 115036
At 20 years: Min 94537, Max 127988
At 30 years: Min 132188, Max 216187

Normally you will get something in between.

You have the option of withdrawing your income and cash dividend out at the end of 1st year without surrendering your policy.
This plan is covered by PIDM as well.

Cheers.
Good idea but the growth %pa compounded is less than 5%pa compounded, on average, from your data and my calc.
It barely stays ahead of inflation, thus may not be the only vehicle one wants to use to get there. Perhaps in combination with equity, bonds and REITs/property, heck, even perhaps commodities/metals.

Note: I'm also a father of a 5 year old little girl thus based on my extrapolation, i'll need like RM400K to RM500K in future value of $ by 2023 for her college/Uni (2+1 AU), based on 6%pa average inflation per year and 2009's cost of 2+1 programs.

Just a thought.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 15 2011, 10:23 AM
Durian MK
post Sep 15 2011, 10:44 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 15 2011, 10:16 AM)
Good idea but the growth %pa compounded is less than 5%pa compounded, on average, from your data and my calc.
It barely stays ahead of inflation, thus may not be the only vehicle one wants to use to get there. Perhaps in combination with equity, bonds and REITs/property, heck, even perhaps commodities/metals.

Note: I'm also a father of a 5 year old little girl thus based on my extrapolation, i'll need like RM400K to RM500K in future value of $ by 2023 for her college/Uni (2+1 AU), based on 6%pa average inflation per year and 2009's cost of 2+1 programs.

Just a thought.
Strongly agree with you.

We should always have a mixture in our portfolio, some with high return with high risk, some with low risk and reasonable return.
With the amount I saved and quoted in the calculation, it is definitely not enough for her furture/education.

But nevertheless, we have to start somewhere, start early, and according to our affordability.

That is why I think 6 years is reasonable, after that I can commit into other plan or do other investments with my extra money.
cherroy
post Sep 15 2011, 02:52 PM

25,802 posts

It is little difference with
6 years commitment vs 20 years commitment.

6 years one, you pay it more advance, hence premium is about 3x higher than the 20 years premium.

Both lock in period is roughly the same and inflexibility is roughly the same.
You still cannot touch those money even you are starving to death now or no money to buy a packet of foods, despite having millions on saving plan. tongue.gif

You only get those money and expected pathetic return after maturity.

But what I know, a lot of agent push more harder for 6 years one.... whistling.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 15 2011, 03:26 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 15 2011, 02:52 PM)

6 years one, you pay it more advance, hence premium is about 3x higher than the 20 years premium.

You still cannot touch those money even you are starving to death now or no money to buy a packet of foods, despite having millions on saving plan.  tongue.gif

But what I know, a lot of agent push more harder for 6 years one....  whistling.gif
Bad lar U bro Cherroy, straight for the jugular tongue.gif
PatEagle
post Sep 16 2011, 03:58 AM

305 posts

Thx rakyat,

Firstly, CONGRATULATIONS! Welcome to the world of parenting! tongue.gif
When my boy was a baby, i just couldn't wait for him to talk, walk and go biking with me. The years just flew by and now he's a fine young man of 17 with his own interests and friends. Enjoy your baby girl while it lasts. smile.gif

I had the same plans for my child and back then I bought a policy from AIA to ensure when he's 18, there's plenty of money for his higher education. Unfortunately, I could not continue paying midway and lost it all as I went through a bad patch for a number of years.

Today, I thank God for Genneva Gold Savings Plan based on Syariah Principles where I hold physical gold and receive assured monthly Hibah which I put aside solely for my son's education. You may like to do the same. Do read my Welcome Message to learn more.

Cheers and selamat menyambut Hari Malaysia! smile.gif
keithcky
post Sep 16 2011, 02:36 PM

1,135 posts

I bought some props during these few years most of them are for investments however Plan to give one or two for my children's education if they are not capable or getting any scholarships in the future smile.gif ..

Teach them the art of investment and how to make money work for them is my long term education Plan...

This post has been edited by keithcky: Sep 16 2011, 02:37 PM
kparam77
post Sep 16 2011, 05:00 PM

952 posts

education plan at http://www.pk31-edu.blogspot.com
Skidd Chung
post Sep 18 2011, 08:31 AM

479 posts

I'm also planning for this. Seems savings plan are just to 'force' people to save but I wonder if the cost of withdrawing early is worth it or not. Isn't unit trust better or is it because it is more risky that's why people prefer savings plan? At least unit trust can stop payment anytime am I right?

Added on September 18, 2011, 8:33 am

But what I know, a lot of agent push more harder for 6 years one....  whistling.gif
Is it because agents only get commision for 6 years of the policy? This would make sense why they pushed more for 6 year policies since it will benefit themselves more since every year a larger deposit is made. Not sure if savings plan also same like unit trusts in terms of comissions.

This post has been edited by Skidd Chung: Sep 18 2011, 08:34 AM
cherroy
post Sep 18 2011, 09:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Sep 18 2011, 08:31 AM)
I'm also planning for this. Seems savings plan are just to 'force' people to save but I wonder if the cost of withdrawing early is worth it or not. Isn't unit trust better or is it because it is more risky that's why people prefer savings plan? At least unit trust can stop payment anytime am I right?

Saving plan is about protection.
If you die pre-maturely before the saving plan matured, you get the full sum of sum assured, even you just pay RM1000 on the premium on the first year, which can mean your beneficiary get the full sum assured which can mean a couple of ten K.

If nothing happens until maturity then you get back the your premium paid + roughly comparable to FD rate.

Saving plan is not for one to chase after the return, as its return won't be higher much than FD rate, while very high inflexibility due to long term commitment.
kparam77
post Sep 18 2011, 09:22 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Sep 18 2011, 08:31 AM)

Added on September 18, 2011, 8:33 am

Is it because agents only get commision for 6 years of the policy? This would make sense why they pushed more for 6 year policies since it will benefit themselves more since every year a larger deposit is made. Not sure if savings plan also same like unit trusts in terms of comissions.
No, the commssions are diff.

both has pros and cons.

saving plan (insurance)
- more on health protection
- cannot stop halfway
- conservative on investment preservation.

unit trust,
- more on investment.
- hv free ins. (if any for certain funds)
- can stop halfway.
- preservation depends on type of risk factor. higher the risk, lesser the preservation.
- optional to swtich funds to lock profits and max the returns.

unit trsut can give higher return than ins saving plan over the time.

everybody should hv ins and unt trust seperatly.

if u interested on UT, u can PM me at kparam77@yahoo.com for more detail. pls read my blog on education plan http://www.pk31-edu.blogspot.com
chinyen
post Sep 21 2011, 12:06 PM

754 posts

you can invest on epf of your/ur husband's parents , to be safe (if they r still here, i'm sorry if they're not),

i'm sure by the time your child grows up and needs that amount of money, it will be ready for them for your/your partner's parents would be over 60 by then.

education insurance is considerable too, try consulting etiqa or other banks offering that insurance
DM3
post Sep 21 2011, 02:15 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,619 posts

i would say buy a house/property which would be as time goes by will fetch higher value(depending on locations) and if not the place for the kids to stay next time
Durian MK
post Sep 26 2011, 03:28 PM

53 posts

You still cannot touch those money even you are starving to death now or no money to buy a packet of foods, despite having millions on saving plan.  tongue.gif

Agree with what you said. rclxms.gif But again whether a plan is good or not does not fall purely on its return alone. Furthermore we can't guaranteed that the current FD rate will remain the same for the next 10-20 years. It may go down or up.

A good plan is when it meets our requirement/needs. There are certain people whom actually bought certain plan not because of its return, but because it is able to meet that person's needs.

One man's food may be another man's poison.

But off course if everyone is good in investment like our bros and seniors here, by all mean, invest!!! as the returns will be much much higher than these saving plans. Having say that, not many are gifted like our seniors or gurus here, otherwise everyone will be successful.

Just my 1 cent opinion. Cheers and happy investing/saving.
cynthusc
post Sep 26 2011, 04:00 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Mar 4 2010, 11:37 AM)
Wow.. I can't believe this thread is still active. Thank you very much for all yr input. Really really appreciate it.

At the moment I'm still learning bout property but I had started saving for my baby via ASB (thru my wife name) & ASW (baby's name - since u need to be 18+ yrs old to open ASB account).

Nevertheless, if you do have any idea to share please feel free to post it in this thread. I'm sure a lot of people had learn a lot thru this topic. smile.gif
Awie, you can open a ASD account in your baby's name and the returns are good too....average 5-6% per annum. Max investment is RM100K
justin_nys
post Oct 8 2011, 09:51 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Sep 26 2011, 04:00 PM)
Awie, you can open a ASD account in your baby's name and the returns are good too....average 5-6% per annum. Max investment is RM100K
well, this is only for bumiputra right? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
hackwire
post Oct 10 2011, 11:43 AM

4,256 posts

which is the best saving where as a child can withdraw the money out with ease in case the parent met with an accident. we are looking at the best method where the aunt or uncle could assist our child to draw the money out for his education .

This post has been edited by hackwire: Oct 10 2011, 11:43 AM
eXTaTine
post Oct 10 2011, 01:36 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Just open a Gold Savings account with UOB and make deposits regularly. Gold is in a long term bull market and it will do good for your kids, it will outperform any mutual funds and fd or amanah saham in the long run.

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Oct 10 2011, 01:37 PM

0.0637sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:58 PM