Looking for good piano teacher for adult

TSAiRseaL
post Sep 11 2009, 12:23 AM, updated 16y ago

236 posts

Hihi,,

I wonder if anyone know of any good piano teacher/piano centre around Puchong, Bukit Jalil, OUG or Sri Petaling?
Hopefully she teaches adult basis as i heard adult learner can skip some grades and advances faster.
Got such thing ar?
Kinda late for me to start now but really hope to learn music since young.
Friend advice to learn piano before learning other insrument like cello which i am interested in too.

Btw,, my time is not fix so really hope to find a home piano teacher so that i can organise time easier with her and go learn at her house as i dun have piano.
And teacher must be qualified to send me to official grade exams too.
Not too expensive oso la.

Cheers. biggrin.gif
little ice
post Sep 11 2009, 01:11 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

couldn't help with the question but...

you can never skip the steps when it comes to learning musical instruments. just like learning language, you'll have to practice practice and practice before you can read/write/comprehense/speak fluently.

it's always better to have a fixed routine/schedule for the lesson. unless you're already a musician to begin with (have piano grade 5 and wanna learn cello), learning music from zero is pretty boring without fixed routine. and it'll take you a year or 2 to thoroughly understand the basic of music and able to play some simple pop songs - and that's with plenty of practice with motivation/interests/passion. not to put you down, if you're pretty busy with many things, you'll be having a hard time to reach the goal. so if you really want to learn music, you have to sacrifice some of your free time and dedicate it to music. smile.gif
brownman90561495
post Sep 11 2009, 01:26 AM

Sangkar Nikolai will touch your National Treasure!
963 posts

^ agree. you just can't skip steps when learning ANYTHING in this world if you want to be good at it. you can't skip the foundation of your learning.

i agree with your friend that it's recommended to learn the piano first before learning any other instrument, well at least that worked for me. learning piano can help you visualise the concept of music better from the absolute scale - seeing the grand staff and exactly knowing where the middle C is. that should be a great start. i learned the basics of piano when i was six, then guitars at nine. a few years after, combining the skills from piano and guitar became really easy for me. then i learned the bass. tried self learning the violin - i quit not because it was hard but it gave me a neck pain. now i know i can take on any instrument i want to play.
TSAiRseaL
post Sep 11 2009, 11:22 AM

236 posts

little ice,, thanks for the info ya.. I don't mind learning from zero. Since young very interested in music,, love listening to music, ochestra and soundtracks.. Just didnt have the chance to learn until i start to have my own income and time lately.. Thought of starting soon because i know the older i get,, the harder for me to absorb new things..

waa,, brownman u started at 6 ar... i m 21......
brownman90561495
post Sep 11 2009, 03:28 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(AiRseaL @ Sep 11 2009, 11:22 AM)
you're 21 and you're still have a long way to go my friend smile.gif it's never too late to learn something you love. your passion and love for music will help you get there.

i hope you will be able to find your piano teacher who can help you on learning music. i wish i could teach you but i can't - i am fifteen hundred miles away from your country's capital city.

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:31 pmhey i just found a thread made by someone who wants to be a piano teacher. i think she's qualified to teach as she has a related diploma. she prefers to teach little kids but you might want to contact her. she's from PJ. here's her thread:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1158233

This post has been edited by brownman90561495: Sep 11 2009, 03:31 PM
oppsmun
post Sep 14 2009, 05:00 AM

hi there!
we are sharing the same thing
i'm 19 this year n i do vy interested to piano
sadly mum dun allowed when i were young
but now i dun care ady
since i'm studying outstation n as u noe, uni got many stuff to do like reports, assignments................etc etc etc

anyway i'm going to get a keyboard during this sem break
ok i noe keyboard is surely not as good as grand piano or anything lar
but it's affordable n since i'm going to learn the basic 1st
it wun affect much i think
the best thing is it can be carry to anywhere too =)
perhaps can find a teacher to teach me according to my time oso lar
the thing is u must keep practice, it's the only way should b

cheers yea! ^^
abcxyz
post Sep 14 2009, 03:45 PM

161 posts

hmm..
it's not skipping some lesson..

as an adult that learn piano from zero
I find it very enjoyable learning play by ear
any piano teacher specilizes in that?

I find learn piano by ear is more fun, but of course drawback from conventional is you cant play by the music notes.
For us adult, fun means we will play it. even though it's very hard at first.

This post has been edited by abcxyz: Sep 14 2009, 03:47 PM
brownman90561495
post Sep 14 2009, 05:14 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(abcxyz @ Sep 14 2009, 03:45 PM)
hmm..

I find learn piano by ear is more fun, but of course drawback from conventional is you cant play by the music notes.
it's good to have both of those skills. smile.gif

if you already can play by ear, reading notes can easily be learned. the other way around can be harder.
TSAiRseaL
post Sep 15 2009, 04:20 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(oppsmun @ Sep 14 2009, 05:00 AM)
hi there!
but now i dun care ady
since i'm studying outstation n as u noe, uni got many stuff to do like reports, assignments................etc etc etc

cheers yea! ^^
oppsmun,, u learning to play piano all by yourself ka?? if i were to start learning,, everyday i will be at my aunt house to pinjam their piano.. hehe!

hmm..

do u have a website or contact to those play by ear teacher?? i went to their website but its not the real one..
phooifun
post Sep 29 2009, 11:06 AM

25 posts

Hi, if u want to sit for official grades exam, then u need to learn from the basic n learn step by step.. Yes. every 1 may skip grades. except for grade 5 theory and grade 8 (ABRSM syllabus). However whether a student can skip any grade, or whether she can learn in a shorter time period, it all depends how fast she can cope, how much she practise, n also how talented she is.
It has nth to do with age, just tat normally an adult could understand the basic theory faster as compared to young kids... so in a way, they may progress faster atthe beginning stage.

Both listening and notes reading r important if u really want to be a competent pianist. u cant play well if ur not listening to what ur playing, i mean LISTENING, not just hearing.. n u won be able to read the music score n play without having good notes reading skill. I personally think u can improve these 2 skills at the same time in the learning process..just tat all these take time, n no1 can master tis in 1 or 2 days.. unless they r borned to be a music genius.

Yea, learing piano as ur 1st instrument is easier for u to cope with other instruments in the future...

M a piano teacher from Sri Petaling, u may PM me if u hav any inquiries. Thx

This post has been edited by phooifun: Sep 29 2009, 11:09 AM
May22
post Jan 15 2010, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(AiRseaL @ Sep 11 2009, 12:23 AM)
Hihi,,

I wonder if anyone know of any good piano teacher/piano centre around Puchong, Bukit Jalil, OUG or Sri Petaling?
Hopefully she teaches adult basis as i heard adult learner can skip some grades and advances faster.
Got such thing ar?
Friend advice to learn piano before learning other insrument like cello which i am interested in too.

Btw,, my time is not fix so really hope to find a home piano teacher so that i can organise time easier with her and go learn at her house as i dun have piano.

Cheers. biggrin.gif
so have, you find a teacher? smile.gif
apricot85
post Jan 23 2010, 11:18 PM

29 posts

oh my, I'm 25 this year & I wanna take piano lessons too. Is it too late? I also wanna look for personal teacher. Any recommendations?
Jaemmae
post Jan 24 2010, 12:50 PM

31 posts

depends, do you have any prior music experience?

If you can't read the notes, it might be tough and you'll have to start with kiddie songs 1st.
ml888
post Feb 9 2010, 11:16 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Jaemmae @ Jan 24 2010, 12:50 PM)
depends, do you have any prior music experience?

If you can't read the notes, it might be tough and you'll have to start with kiddie songs 1st.
There is an excellent piano school called the "Pianissimo School of Music" in the strand kota damansara. Visit their website at: www.pianissimo.com.my.

Hope it helps

sabzai0306
post Mar 17 2010, 11:28 AM

harloee..I am sabrina, I am just 20 years old.
however, I have a few years of teaching piano experiences.
I do teach children and adults piano.
yes indeed, there is an advantage for adult to learn piano because they are able to skip some of the grades and might be faster than a kid.

I do help my private students to register for the ABRSM exam.
I am staying at bukit jalil, vista komanwel C.

my fees is rm85 for adults and rm75 for kids .

It is not late to learn for a musical instrument.
I have a student who is already a housewife, just joined my piano classes.
she is much older than u guyzz I doubt.

Therefore, if u are interested with it. Do not hestitate anymore.
Learn it fast with no regrets.
I may not be ur piano teacher but I will still hv to wish u all gud luck in learning..!!! work hard and put in effort.
Skydrop
post Mar 17 2010, 01:24 PM

361 posts

Agree with sabzai0306. Go pursue your passion and dont let your age become a barrier! I'm not young too but started learning piano a year ago. Sooooo addictive!
cassiemissy
post Mar 17 2010, 05:16 PM

211 posts

Many music school actually offer lessons for adult piano also.. and you can choose between learning just for leisure or really want to go for exam..

and it is never too late to start the piano as long as you hav interest.. it is all about passion.. laugh.gif

just go ahead and persue you interest..

i'm currently learning and teaching in one of the music school in Seri Petaling.. tongue.gif: pm me if you wan some information! tongue.gif:
TSAiRseaL
post May 21 2010, 11:46 AM

236 posts

To all,, i alde started piano lesson ya in one of the music centre around puchong. Had to play kiddie songs at first but slowly started adult song and completing my first book alde.. biggrin.gif So will continue my pursue of my dream and hope someday can perform on a grand piano..

esmonde
post May 21 2010, 02:39 PM

510 posts

Me just started to learn last week. I did not take piano lesson but took keyboard lesson instead. Also playing simple songs... But I am taking 2 lessons only.... because of time constraint. Hope the teacher will be able to find a suitable time slot for me after this..
SUSMatrix
post May 21 2010, 02:49 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(AiRseaL @ Sep 11 2009, 11:22 AM)
little ice,, thanks for the info ya.. I don't mind learning from zero. Since young very interested in music,, love listening to music, ochestra and soundtracks.. Just didnt have the chance to learn until i start to have my own income and time lately.. Thought of starting soon because i know the older i get,, the harder for me to absorb new things..

21 yrs old still blardy young leh....I'm way older than you and just learnt to play a bit of 'Clocks' by ColdPlay last night after watching some Youtubes...haha.
Very nice and addictive song.

Gotta pratice and pratice!

Added on May 21, 2010, 2:52 pm
hmm..

Yeah...sight reading kills me...as long i can play some songs, i am happy liao.

Added on May 21, 2010, 2:55 pm
hi there!
but now i dun care ady

cheers yea! ^^
It's ok to start with keyboard...see how your interest goes....but after a while and your interest is still hot, you should proceed to piano. Digital pianos are pretty affordable and some are quite portable.

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 21 2010, 02:55 PM
abcxyz
post May 22 2010, 09:01 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(apricot85 @ Jan 23 2010, 11:18 PM)
oh my, I'm 25 this year & I wanna take piano lessons too. Is it too late? I also wanna look for personal teacher. Any recommendations?
I start @ 26.. now I'm 28

I dont believe there is an age factor in learning it.
Playing piano is my childhood dream. It's fun and it's living my dream.
so whats better thing you can spend your life for?

btw, learning by yourself (through youtube, books) is pretty hard.
until some level, I feel like I'm stuck somewhere.

yup.. I'm thinking to get a mentor/guru to hone my music skills.

Added on May 22, 2010, 9:08 am
QUOTE(AiRseaL @ May 21 2010, 11:46 AM)
To all,, i alde started piano lesson ya in one of the music centre around puchong. Had to play kiddie songs at first but slowly started adult song and completing my first book alde.. biggrin.gif So will continue my pursue of my dream and hope someday can perform on a grand piano..
haha.. nice one.
I can recall I'm learning "Brother John" until my roommate sing it along with me. tongue.gif and I learn it from youtube.
youtube is a great place to learn music that you like. 80% of my music lesson come from there. It cover from simple2 basic (finding middle c, fingering, etc) until playing some mindblowing classical song.

for piano. it takes a lot of practice.
there are times when I hurt my finger and my back (when learning new song, such as the notebook theme (from the notebook ost)), but I dont care, because I love to play em!

This post has been edited by abcxyz: May 22 2010, 09:11 AM
ethalion
post May 25 2010, 12:19 PM

150 posts

wow....
such a good thread...hehehe...im also guitar player..but seriously very interested with piano..but dunt have any time and also...dunt have any mentor to guide me to learn it...hmmm.....n im 25 year-old dis year.....so any recommendation to take the lesson...which 1 is better...home lesson or go to private music class...
xXMiLkYXx
post May 25 2010, 11:05 PM

24 posts

Hi all..i am 22 this year..interested in playing piano also..but parents do not allowed...and piano is expensive also >.< My uni offered piano classes during my 1st yr..so i take up the lesson and learn for 1 semester..but it was quite tough for me as i did not own a piano..so just depend on the piano at uni..practice for half and hour everyday..that time only 1 piano available..and I need to share with other students as well..so did not have much chances to practice..2nd semester onwards they did not offer any classes anymore...so i only know the very basic skill..now i wanna continue playing but i cannot afford to get a piano..i wanna ask...can i just use keyboard instead of piano? i only can afford cheap keyboard that cost few hundred bucks..If i go for piano lesson at music center then i use keyboard to practice at home is it ok??
affanaizat
post May 25 2010, 11:20 PM

40 posts

I have tips for you guys. Well probably this tips is not useful at all so i apologize if that happen. The first way to be able to play piano is to have own instrument. I am aware that piano instrument is quite expensive. But do not worry there are keyboard for your solution. For me i use midi keyboard control which have 49 key. which is not good for hard piece score but should be enough for beginner. I bought mine which cost few hundred. BTW i hook up my keyboard to PC with software KONTAKT4 (piano software) + MAUDIO GRANDPIANO VSTi. That goes one part for those who have instrument problem. The next one is just download the EMEDIA KEYBOARD METHOD. They have beginner till intermediate lesson with video. The lesson is very useful and probably in the first week you will have the basic fundamental of piano. Good luck
Jaroque
post May 26 2010, 12:01 AM

995 posts

I'm in melaka currently studying there...anybody in melaka wana learn i can giv cheap cheap lessons haha....

LOL SUDDENLY PROMOTING HERE XD
cassiemissy
post May 26 2010, 09:30 AM

211 posts

if really can't afford a piano, a keyboard will do for beginner, though not really recommended for pianist who play for some time already. Anyway, if piano is really out of your budget, go get a keyboard first. At least you have something to practice at home as learning an instrument without practicing at home is really troublesome. laugh.gif
ml888
post May 26 2010, 07:00 PM

209 posts

Info on keyboards, piano and classes, please view it at: http://thepianocollections.blogspot.com/
shareen
post Jul 20 2010, 10:49 AM

21 posts

Hihi,,

Got such thing ar?

Cheers. biggrin.gif
hai......

for me, i would suggest u to start learning piano before learning any other instruments, like cello.....

for adult, we can learn faster, coz we have better understanding in words and theory than children. not to say skip, it just can say that we can improves a bit faster. everything still needs to be follow steps by steps.

i am a piano teacher at Taman Desa, Old Klang Road. if you are interested, can PM me for more details.

thanks smile.gif
zainatim
post Dec 25 2010, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(sabzai0306 @ Mar 17 2010, 11:28 AM)
harloee..I am sabrina, I am just 20 years old.
however, I have a few years of teaching piano experiences.
I do teach children and adults piano.
yes indeed, there is an advantage for adult to learn piano because they are able to skip some of the grades and might be faster than a kid.

I do help my private students to register for the ABRSM exam.
I am staying at bukit jalil, vista komanwel C.

my fees is rm85 for adults and rm75 for kids .

It is not late to learn for a musical instrument.
I have a student who is already a housewife, just joined my piano classes.
she is much older than u guyzz I doubt.

Therefore, if u are interested with it. Do not hestitate anymore.
Learn it fast with no regrets.
I may not be ur piano teacher but I will still hv to wish u all gud luck in learning..!!! work hard and put in effort.
Hi Sabrina and everybody!

I am looking for piano teacher or for piano owner. I studied piano for 7 years, but it was ageas ago. Now I am 28 and need to recollect piano skills to perform one single Beethoven composition. I want to record this performace on video and send it to girl-friend as Birthday present. The birthday will occur on 17-Jan-2011, therefore I have only available period 8-14-Jan for recollecting and training.

I need 10-20 x 45min lessons or selflearning session (just access to piano). I am basing at Bukit Jalil, Vista Komonwel C as well. Probably, It will take me too long for recollecting, therefore my request is valid until the begin of Feb-2011.

Please, contact me via cell +6019 325 2096 or mail zainashev @ gmail.com

Hope to hear you soon. Thank you in advance.

Tim
nubJeff
post Dec 26 2010, 06:18 PM

Work for $, NOT for loyalty.
2,383 posts

QUOTE(shareen @ Jul 20 2010, 10:49 AM)
hai......

for me, i would suggest u to start learning piano before learning any other instruments, like cello.....

for adult, we can learn faster, coz we have better understanding in words and theory than children. not to say skip, it just can say that we can improves a bit faster. everything still needs to be follow steps by steps.

i am a piano teacher at Taman Desa, Old Klang Road. if you are interested, can PM me for more details.

thanks smile.gif
Wow,hey girl..may I know your piano class fees ..?pm me biggrin.gif
shareen
post Jan 2 2011, 01:34 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Dec 26 2010, 06:18 PM)
Wow,hey girl..may I know your piano class fees ..?pm me  biggrin.gif
just PM you the details smile.gif
strumento
post Jan 2 2011, 01:59 AM

Hihi,,

Got such thing ar?

Cheers. biggrin.gif
Hi AiRseal,

Strumento music house is located at bandar puteri puchong, providing piano, violin, guitar, vocal lessons for both adults and childrens.
We even have pop piano(play by ear) lesson for students at any range.
This piano lesson teach you from basic and also able to make you play songs that you like!
Some of our adult students even go for ABRSM exam after they really get interested and committed in our music lessons!
We provide quality and friendly teaching and also flexibilities for our students! We get alot of great feedback and I'm sure you'll feel worth of what you're paying for biggrin.gif
We even do house call at a reasonable transportation fee.
Please visit strumento music house @ facebook or www.strumentomusichouse.blogspot.com or call 012-3035263 for further details smile.gif

Strumento

Added on January 2, 2011, 2:19 am
hi there!
but now i dun care ady

cheers yea! ^^
Hi oppsmun,

Strumento music house is located at bandar puteri puchong, providing piano, violin, guitar, vocal lessons for both adults and childrens.
This piano lesson teach you from basic and also able to make you play songs that you like!
Many of our adult students even go for ABRSM exam after they really get interested and committed in our music lessons!
We provide quality and friendly teaching and also flexibilities for our students! We get alot of great feedback and I'm sure you'll feel worth of what you're paying for biggrin.gif
Our teachers even do house call and private teaching at a reasonable transportation fee.
Please visit strumento music house @ facebook or www.strumentomusichouse.blogspot.com or call 012-3035263 for further details smile.gif

p/s: keyboard is enough for you if you're playing pop songs or play by ear. but you have to see which keyboard u buying, you need to buy a keyboard that has solid full key and also with a pedal. If you're interested, you can contact us at 012-3035263. We even have showroom available for piano, keyboard, guitar and violin ^^

Strumento

Added on January 2, 2011, 2:24 am
QUOTE(apricot85 @ Jan 23 2010, 11:18 PM)
Hi apricot85,

Age is not a problem! Music is fun! biggrin.gif We even have students changing their profession to music at the age of 30++!
Some of our adult students even go for ABRSM exam after they really get interested and committed in our music lessons!
Our teachers even do house call and private teaching at a reasonable transportation fee.

Strumento

This post has been edited by strumento: Jan 2 2011, 02:24 AM
Emi1010
post Jan 3 2011, 12:49 AM

Hihi,,

Got such thing ar?

Cheers. biggrin.gif

There have a music house is located at bandar puteri puchong, providing piano lessons for both adults,that's Strumento Music House.The teachers there are very friendly teaching and flexibilities for their students!
The teachers even do house call and private teaching at a reasonable transportation fee!!Some of their adult students even go for ABRSM exam after they really get interested and committed in our music lessons!
Visit Strumento Music House at www.strumentomusichouse.blogspot.com or call 012-3035263 for further details!!javascript:emoticon(':thumbs:')
nubJeff
post Jan 4 2011, 09:59 AM

Work for $, NOT for loyalty.
2,383 posts

QUOTE(shareen @ Jan 2 2011, 01:34 AM)
just PM you the details smile.gif
I received your PM ,but still consider-ing ~
shareen
post Jan 8 2011, 11:05 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(nubJeff @ Jan 4 2011, 09:59 AM)
I received your PM ,but still consider-ing ~
ok............. no problem!
Erica Pekins P
post Sep 15 2019, 10:00 AM

Probation

Hi there,

Are you still looking for a piano teacher? If you are, I'm glad to offer you affordable lessons. I live in Bandar Sunway. I teach at my home or if it's more convenient for you, I can come over to your place. If I come to your place, I suggest you get a simple keyboard first. You can buy it at a very affordable price online. Further details are as below:

* Private Piano Lessons Available for only RM 100 per month!!
* Passionate and dedicated teacher with more than 10 years of experience in teaching and playing the piano with a band.
* Lessons include recognizing piano notes, reading chords and scales for both theory and practical.
* Not required to buy a piano.
* No Deposit, No Registration fees required to pay.
* Learn to play piano from Beginners to Advanced Levels.
* All ages are welcomed!
* Call or Whatsapp Ms. Erica Perkins at 0176274887

https://pictr.com/images/2019/09/15/5SJBV6.md.jpg
IzzyM P
post Jun 24 2020, 08:00 AM

Probation

Hello !

I am currently learning at WKMT London, and couldn't be happier ! They have a great courses, I am improving really fast ! Also, they provide online lessons, so it's perfect for anyone in the world.

I totally recommended, for beginners or advanced students!

Here where I found it: https://www.piano-composer-teacher-london.c...e-piano-lessons

0.0301sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:33 PM