Which is the best credit card in Malaysia and why?
Apr 25 2011, 01:55 PM
20 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
i wanted to apply for cimb direct access visa gold, under the graduate thing, but browse through the website, suddenly see the card link mysteriously disappear. can anybody confirm this? is it because they dont offer it anymore?
Apr 25 2011, 01:57 PM
6,056 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Suldanessellar |
QUOTE(bubbles182 @ Apr 23 2011, 04:36 PM) those who says use debit instead of credit card. here my Qs. Do your debit cards have the "MasterCard" logo and hologram on it?can debit card used for online payment? ive been using 2 debit cards now, and i dont think it is accepted for online payment - which lead me to looking for a credit card now. |
May 3 2011, 12:45 PM
41 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(khelben @ Apr 25 2011, 01:57 PM) I use 2 cards.i. Visa Maybank Debit Card ii. Mastercard EON Debit Card By hologram, do you mean the silver sticker-look-alike, with 2 earths with mastercard words on it? I tried to buy things online but Visa Maybank Debit cant be used |
May 25 2011, 02:50 PM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
i think not they don allow online purchase with debit card. because the merchant simply cant know whether does ur account have enough to pay for what you purchase.
May 26 2011, 12:55 PM
41 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
ohh anyway, i think it actually can now.
just purchased Apple products online using my debit card. |
Jul 20 2011, 10:08 PM
4 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(swissprecision @ Jan 10 2011, 02:52 PM) i agree with some people that real men only use cash. credit card is for po kai yau who thinks owing the bank money is cool.....XP Think wisely.. Maybe ur not that matured yet by giving such statement. If not matured better stay away from the credit card. For me, its not to show up but 1) for emergency (late night accident, car broken down) where u will go to cash out your money at middle of night? I experienced it once 2) Going to oversea (will you bring thousand n thousand of RM in your wallet? Credit card plays major role here So far, above reasons forced me to own a credit card at least... If not its very hard! Thanks |
Jul 20 2011, 11:39 PM
1,096 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
I had quite a number of cards before the RM50 tax. Since then I had cut it down to three. CIMB Petronas for petrol only. For travelling, CIMB Enrich World Card. Had claimed travel insurance with them and it was quite easy. Especially since with budget travelling, planes do get delays. For all shopping, AMEX plat. The above provides a lot of dining benefits and the best for forex I believe from past records is CIMB cards. For South East Asia travelling, if you have CIMB preferred card, it would mean easier to get help in Thailand and Indonesia especially for banking matters. Definitely CIMB for me.
Jul 20 2011, 11:49 PM
3,703 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
I have 2 cards. The main one I am using is Citibank Air Asia. They have promotions on flights every week, and I have priority booking. Which is good for my company staff who wants to book tickets earlier.
Furthermore there is TGV promotion - weekdays each ticket is only RM 10 (ended already The other card... HLBB. It's a spare card (just sign up so I can get free items), but now I use the card for online purchases (Paypal). |
Jul 20 2011, 11:55 PM
56 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(nc_ean @ Apr 25 2011, 01:55 PM) i wanted to apply for cimb direct access visa gold, under the graduate thing, but browse through the website, suddenly see the card link mysteriously disappear. can anybody confirm this? is it because they dont offer it anymore? CIMB doesnt have direct access anymore, it has been replaced with the new PETRONAS Smart Drivers card. Anyways if anyone here is interested in getting a CIMB credit card, u guys can pm me. currently working at the CIMB credit card dept. |
Aug 2 2011, 10:13 AM
4 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
The best card and lowest profile in market.
NO annual fee for life, no frill card UNLIMITED CASH BACK up to 0.8% ( The more you spend the more is the cash rebate monthly) 9.9% APR rate for purchases and Cash advances if you pay mininum on time. O% balance tranfer up 12 months (Unlimited times) This is the choice of a smart consumer Sorry I will not advertise for my choice , hope they countinue keep the REAL deal in town low profile. FIND IT and you be enjoying the unlimited cash rebates ( imagine getting a 0.8% X RM 500,000 monthly from your bank) |
Aug 19 2011, 01:28 AM
469 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Cyberjaya |
Im using Visa Signature CIMB! This card really suits me well since i like to watch movies!
Aug 19 2011, 01:31 AM
5,363 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: กรุงเทพมหานคร BKK |
UOB One card .. not bad cash back.
Aug 19 2011, 01:50 AM
262 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Raju's heart |
Wasap, come apply hsbc card from meh.
Aug 19 2011, 02:07 AM
169 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Sep 10 2011, 07:42 AM
717 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
ocbc titanium
Sep 10 2011, 01:31 PM
379 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Aug 19 2011, 01:31 AM) I am using credit cards from uob one card, maybank 2 cards, and standard chartered.the cash back % is quite low if you ask me. and also can only redeem at certain outlets. but good la for movie lovers, can cash back when buy movie tickets at GSC. but uob one card got get some discounts when dining and purchase at some outlets. maybank 2 cards high reward points and some decent stuffs to redeem easily. The person who said "Credit card is for people who like owing money to the bank or to show off" is really someone from the stone age or bad financial management. Credit card is the best thing someone can have due to the leverage it provides. 1 month credit payment allows you to spend the money else where first before it is needed, for business owners they will know the benefits of having money rolling. Also credit cards provides from 12-36 months installments on some purchases with 0% interest too. As long as you can manage your finance well, credit card is really a good thing to have. If you are someone who is ignorant or low IQ, please stay away from credit cards, you will be blacklisted and declared bankrupt in no time. These are the people who give bad comments about credit card because they do not know how to utilize the card and might have been burned before |
Sep 10 2011, 01:34 PM
365 posts Joined: May 2011 From: gotham city |
need help guys.
im still studying. but i slowly saving my money, every single sen. i tot wanna apply a credit card, but my friend say u must work and have salary then can apply, is it true?? if it true, let say i wanna apply debit card, can uh ? debit card can use on paypal right pls help guys |
Sep 10 2011, 01:42 PM
28 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
i prefer free card !!! what i mean is those card after swipe no need to paid !!!
Sep 10 2011, 01:49 PM
6,056 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Suldanessellar |
QUOTE(shdin271 @ Sep 10 2011, 01:34 PM) need help guys. Yes. No work, no credit card.im still studying. but i slowly saving my money, every single sen. i tot wanna apply a credit card, but my friend say u must work and have salary then can apply, is it true?? if it true, let say i wanna apply debit card, can uh ? debit card can use on paypal right pls help guys Debit cards should be able to work with paypal, as long as it has the MasterCard thing. Just open a bank account that provides debit cards. Standard Chartered, RHB etc. Ask them for more info. |
Sep 10 2011, 01:59 PM
673 posts Joined: May 2008 From: City of Kittehs |
isn't debit card safer?
i mean, u only can spend what you have in your account.. |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0235sec
5 queries