7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

> Which is the best credit card in Malaysia and why?

Cloaked_Wixard
post Nov 11 2009, 11:47 AM

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Sep 26 2009, 10:49 AM)
I don't use credit card and i use debit card u know y? its my ATM machine which stores my own hard earned cash. Credit card is for beggars with no money. Use debit card, that's style because u owe nobody a single cent.
Do you know that you are actually giving a very dangerous advice to the public?
iq_myst
post Apr 7 2010, 10:06 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Cloaked_Wixard @ Nov 11 2009, 11:47 AM)
why is that so?
sakaito
post May 1 2010, 04:50 PM

1,366 posts

QUOTE(Cloaked_Wixard @ Nov 11 2009, 11:47 AM)
do u know that anyone can use your debit card like a credit card and clear whatever u have in the account? huhuhu

anyway, UOB sucks! so many times i've requested for them to close my account and work out a payment plan, they reply OK we'll work on that... but no reply. f***ing pisses me off. i wanna get off my debts but also want to be able to manage my finances. now the interest is as much as my credit limit already. WTF? asked me to clear my credit limit but willing to discount only 300 from the interest. yeah f*** u!
SUSHidan
post May 1 2010, 06:18 PM

330 posts

See your liefstyle and where u spend the most. If cannot make mind just pay the Rm50 lah.
TSskty
post Oct 10 2010, 11:48 PM

There is only one thing I know. That is I know nothing.
4,507 posts

firstly I would like to say sorry not paying anymore attention at this thread laugh.gif
can't believe still got ppl replying~ seems good smile.gif

anyway, I am using CIMB Direct Access Gold Mastercard for more than one year now.
and yeah, its good! It gives me 2% rebate on all petrol purchase no matter you go to Petronas, Shell, or whatever station.
In addition, it gives me 5% rebate if I shopping at Giant/Tesco/Guardian during weekend. smile.gif
sliperjepun
post Nov 22 2010, 09:44 PM

41 posts

i am totally know nothing on credit cards...
i am interested buying 2nd hand car from authorize seller...
may i buy using credit cards because my friend said the price will be much cheaper when buying using credit cards...

-TrUnKs-
post Nov 22 2010, 09:56 PM

127 posts

Mak Kau punya card
churekie
post Dec 1 2010, 07:54 AM

65 posts

any new update for credit cards offer? or is there any threat specifically update us about credit cards plans? cuz been looking around for some time and couldn't find one.
smile.gif planning to apply one
hotjake
post Dec 1 2010, 11:31 AM

194 posts

i use debit card, no rebates
wlcling
post Dec 1 2010, 11:55 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

many people still don't understand benefits of credit card if used in the correct manner.

Pros
a) Bang for your buck - promotions/Discounts specific to issuing bank and also specific to Mastercard/Visa itself
b) Loyalty programs - earn points or rebates
c) Convenience & Safety - Don't need to carry cash around
d) Money management - you can automatically analyze where your money is going as everything is statemented.
e) Leverage on no interests period - which facility borrows you money without any interest for a month? Technically you can leverage on that cash to earn interest in a saving account first or for other investments
f) Fraud protection - For suspected fraud unauthorized transactions or even goods not received related claims, you can raise a dispute without having to pay first. Furthermore the bank is in the power to recall back the payment from the merchant, so it's much easier to "get" your money back instead of giving the merchant hard cold cash in the first place.

Cons
a) causes those with bad money management to overspend
b) Bad forex rates if swiping overseas (Foreign currency to US$ to Local currency billed to you)

please feel free to contribute to the list... sweat.gif
SUSHidan
post Dec 1 2010, 12:07 PM

330 posts

Credit card can be Debit Card too if u think about it. U overpay your credit card so that the credit card hutang u instead. Then it becomes debit card already lor. Somemore when u use debit card, u get points which can be converted to goods such as umbrella, bag and so on.
ticke
post Dec 1 2010, 12:10 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Sep 10 2009, 03:11 PM)
real man dun use credit card..real man with 6" above use cash..only 2" below use credit card
i bet ur wallet is so thick until kenot sit down... brows.gif
wlcling
post Dec 1 2010, 12:15 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Hidan @ Dec 1 2010, 12:07 PM)
Credit card can be Debit Card too if u think about it. U overpay your credit card so that the credit card hutang u instead. Then it becomes debit card already lor. Somemore when u use debit card, u get points which can be converted to goods such as umbrella, bag and so on.
correct, but a silly thing to do... you overpay your credit card, you don't earn interest. As for your debit card, money sitting in the account earns interest. notworthy.gif

SUSHidan
post Dec 1 2010, 01:52 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 1 2010, 12:15 PM)
correct, but a silly thing to do... you overpay your credit card, you don't earn interest. As for your debit card, money sitting in the account earns interest.  notworthy.gif
Debit card got interest? Normally how much? I have a Public Bank Debit card but I never see any interest banked into my account. sad.gif
chng5255
post Dec 8 2010, 09:30 PM

109 posts

i am using Public Bank Esso Mobil Visa Gold, so far it suits me with cash rebate at Esso( i am fueling esso), 0.5% rebate at other retail transaction, free for life too. however, i am still looking for another card with similar benefit or better, any recomendation?
ayanami_tard
post Dec 8 2010, 09:33 PM

40 posts

giant credit card

boleh dapat diskaun~
kpc007
post Dec 29 2010, 11:05 PM

13 posts

Agree! Based on my personal experience, UOB credit card really sucks! Poor System, VERY BAD Customer Service...bla bla. Real Conman esp. on unknown admin fees.
Mackiddo
post Dec 29 2010, 11:16 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 1 2010, 11:55 AM)
many people still don't understand benefits of credit card if used in the correct manner.

Pros
a) Bang for your buck - promotions/Discounts specific to issuing bank and also specific to Mastercard/Visa itself
b) Loyalty programs - earn points or rebates
c) Convenience & Safety - Don't need to carry cash around
d) Money management - you can automatically analyze where your money is going as everything is statemented.
e) Leverage on no interests period - which facility borrows you money without any interest for a month? Technically you can leverage on that cash to earn interest in a saving account first or for other investments
f) Fraud protection - For suspected fraud unauthorized transactions or even goods not received related claims, you can raise a dispute without having to pay first. Furthermore the bank is in the power to recall back the payment from the merchant, so it's much easier to "get" your money back instead of giving the merchant hard cold cash in the first place.

Cons
a) causes those with bad money management to overspend
b) Bad forex rates if swiping overseas (Foreign currency to US$ to Local currency billed to you)

please feel free to contribute to the list...  sweat.gif
you miss one important point, INSURANCE on the item you bought smile.gif
BotakChin
post Dec 29 2010, 11:38 PM

Depends on your needs:

i use :

Citibank Air Asia Crredit Card - Discout,and if got promotion they will inform the card holder first ( i take flight above 5-10 times per year, so definitely need this)

Public Bank Master Card - Dining, grocery, petrol ...

HSBC - Shopping ( Many shops in Mid Valley etc.. got discount and extra point given ... )
shirllin
post Dec 30 2010, 10:00 PM

38 posts

I use:

HSBC Visa-shopping discounts/rebates/special promotions

Alliance Visa-Local bank easier to get 0% installment plans with longer period. Eg. got 18 months installment instead of 12 months if use HSBC

CIMB Master-shopping discounts/rebates/special promotions

Must be good at handling finances, I pay promptly every month, credit card interest can kill ur finances if not managed properly.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 

0.0192sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:34 PM