10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

General_Nic
post Oct 21 2009, 10:41 AM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 21 2009, 10:37 AM)
Who knows if the dust magically enter the mount area laugh.gif Oh why no one ever published guide (interactive one) for D3000? I found guides for D40/D700/D80/D90, but not D3000. General_Nic, do one lar, later can sell icon_idea.gif
dust enter thru lens? laugh.gif
D3000 still new mah, later will got guide come out 1, not so fast only
maybe D3000 dun nid guide book, cos got build-in guide mode d? tongue.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 22 2009, 08:24 PM

3,508 posts

wah, all really aiming to upgrade to D90 arr?
last time i wanted to aim for D90 too, but the only major difference D90 have to D5000 is body motor n top LCD hmm.gif
so now aim for D300s or maybe D400 in da future
but loooong way to go la tongue.gif

my favourite mode is M, unless using lens with larger aperture i'll use A
hate using S, cos usually underexpose if want high shutter speed but lens do not have large aperture

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 22 2009, 08:26 PM
General_Nic
post Oct 22 2009, 08:47 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Oct 22 2009, 08:32 PM)
well S mode is the fastest way to shoot some fast actions movement during enough sun light l, d90 is way larger than a d5000 but d5000 is nice with the rotating LCD .

men + d5000 = feels like men walking a chit tzu small puppies

men+ d90 = feels like walking a labrador ret

hehe  sweat.gif
lol laugh.gif
u mean Shih Tzu? not Chih Tzu
then how bout D40/D60/D3000 users? walking chihuahua? tongue.gif
FX cams users leh? walking German Sherperd i think laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ Oct 22 2009, 08:40 PM)
d90 suits my hands more than d5000  doh.gif
off cos la, D90 bigger mah... sweat.gif
but D5000 still better than D40/D60/D3000, even smaller grip
no offence to the owners, but its a fact rite? whistling.gif
but these small body cams put battery grip can have more "feel" oso brows.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 22 2009, 09:00 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ Oct 22 2009, 08:54 PM)
ah shoot just tell u i got humongous hands  doh.gif
believe me, i have enormously large hands oso tongue.gif
1st time i hold n use a DSLR is my frens D40x
after bought my D5000 then add the battery grip
go back try use my fren D40x, i was thinking, got so small meh?!
lol laugh.gif

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Oct 22 2009, 08:56 PM)
who got body motor? d90 or d5000
D90 got, D5000 dun have nod.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 22 2009, 09:24 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(dukunet @ Oct 22 2009, 09:20 PM)
guys, between these 3 which one i should buy 1st?

1. flash (either nissin di622 of sb600)
2. prime lense (maybe nikon 50mm f/1.4D or 35mm f/2D)
3. zoom lense (nikon AF-S VR 55-200)

like taking indoors and night pics... thanks
if u like taking indoor n night pics, dun nid think d, flash is a must for these type of pics!
go for SB600, but if budget constraint n nid it fast, Nissin Di622 is up to the job
General_Nic
post Oct 22 2009, 09:41 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Oct 22 2009, 09:33 PM)
1. Flash = nissin( price and functions) Sb 600 ( expensive and sexy) = nissin for me
2. prime lense = 50 mm ( better / too expensive) 35 mm ( cheap enough to learn about prime lens)= 35 mm
3. Zoom Lens = better go for 18-135 or 18-105 comparing the price of the 55-200mm.

u need a tripod for night pics and a flash of course
go for a sb600 if u have the commander mode  icon_idea.gif
he's asking for the AF-D 50mm f/1.4, not AF-S, which the price is ok compare to the overly expensive AF-S
n he said 35mm f/2, not the AF-S 35mm f/1.8, which is more expensive than the AF-D 50mm f/1.8
General_Nic
post Oct 22 2009, 10:20 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(dukunet @ Oct 22 2009, 09:43 PM)
don't think i can use commander mode... using D3000.... i'm also thinking of buying sb600 together with prime lense... it would make it faster for taking night/indoor pictures rite? i just don't like the standard 18-55 lense + builtin lense when taking indoors...
u can use build in flash as "commander" for both Di622 n SB600
both flashes can detect the light from build in flash n fire simultaneously
if u wan both flash n prime, cheapest package will be Di622 + 35mm f/1.8
Rm450 + Rm750 = Rm1200

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Oct 22 2009, 09:46 PM)
i dont think he is talking about 50 f1.4 D and 35 f2 for a d3000 body. sweat.gif
y not? maybe he dun mind using manual focus
or could be he do not know those lenses cant autofocus on D3000
but he did state 50mm f/1.4D & 35mm f/2
General_Nic
post Oct 23 2009, 10:23 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(tun @ Oct 23 2009, 02:51 AM)
d3000 got commander meh ?
QUOTE(huaipoh @ Oct 23 2009, 02:24 PM)
hey general_nic.... sb-600 flash can be fired by using d5000 built in flash huh?
QUOTE(raptorclans @ Oct 23 2009, 03:28 PM)
I dun believe the D5000 has a built-in commander...
im not talking about the real commander function
without commander, D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 still can activate sb600/sb900 to flash wirelessly using built-in flash
this function is called SU-4 type wireless flash shooting, where camera's built-in flash can also be used as a master flash unit
*info taken from SB-900 user manual

i recently only jz found out about this function
General_Nic
post Oct 23 2009, 10:43 PM

3,508 posts

seriously, sb600 & sb900 can detect your camera's built-in flash n will fire simultaneously
is jz it cant TTL with your cam this way, u have to set manually the power, on auto it'll flash at full power normally

shinjun: this is the 3rd way to do off camera flash

anyone used b4 Nissin Di622 for off camera flash will get what i mean
General_Nic
post Oct 23 2009, 11:20 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Oct 23 2009, 11:11 PM)
SB-600 too ? I thought only the SB-900 has SU-4 slave mode.
i checked Sb600 specs, nope, it do not have SU-4
seems like i gave some wrong info there, sorry notworthy.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 24 2009, 10:20 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Light Matter @ Oct 24 2009, 10:07 PM)
How much is a new D40? Thanks in advance.
QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ Oct 24 2009, 10:11 PM)
no more new d40
D40 no more in production, but doesnt mean no new set in the market
but new D40 is very very very very rare, close to non-existent i think sweat.gif
have to search many shops b4 u can find a single 1
last i heard new D40 kit selling Rm1.4k
General_Nic
post Oct 24 2009, 10:38 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Oct 24 2009, 10:33 PM)
thx for da info.. i hav seen some photographer take picture on sunny place using flash...
at first..i say maybe they show off their flashgun...when i get this info
now i know they do :0
using flash on sunny day is called fill-in flash
to brighten up your subjects when exposure is low due to bright background

so got ppl actually think using flashgun during daytime is show off?
thats y i hate to use flashgun outdoors unless unavoidable, im afraid ppl thinking im a showoff sweat.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 24 2009, 11:40 PM

3,508 posts

i have a request to ask from D3000 users
my fren is gonna buy D3000 kit(edited) n he wants to know where to get the best bargain in Klang Valley

can D3000 users pm me where u bought your cam, how much n what free items?

any info is greatly appreciated
thx

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 24 2009, 11:42 PM
General_Nic
post Oct 24 2009, 11:43 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ Oct 24 2009, 11:41 PM)
I was told the best is at RM1.7K.. hope that helps
sorry, i forgot to mention is D3000 kit my fren wanted notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 24 2009, 11:46 PM
General_Nic
post Oct 26 2009, 11:43 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Oct 26 2009, 11:28 AM)
well if u dont mind, normally they provide a bag for keeping the flash, this bag can be wear onto your belt if u have 1 u basically look like a special forces with a magazine pouch at your belt. With this way, u can make sure the flash is easy to reach and keep all the time. Meet a situations where u need flash, pull out flash from pouch and attach the shoot. cool2.gif
problem with flash pouch is to store the flash u have to tilt flash head 90 degree up
so, too long~! laugh.gif
*not really a problem actually tongue.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 26 2009, 11:59 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Oct 26 2009, 11:55 AM)
Anyone can show some nice pasar malam pics together with settings? i have terible pics from yesterday pasar malam, low light is so hard for me. Please feel free to share. 300 iso with a fix 1.8 also feel not so nice.
i nvr tried taking pics in pasar malam, takut kena rob! laugh.gif
anyway, night shots maybe shud try max 800 iso
n dun use too low aperture, most background will be not sharp
can try with flash if u dare whistling.gif tongue.gif
General_Nic
post Oct 26 2009, 12:20 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Oct 26 2009, 12:14 PM)
if ur using D90, just bump the iso to somemore like 800..  doh.gif
D5000 using same sensor with D90, so technically count as using D90 or not? laugh.gif tongue.gif

anyway, maxh3h3 using what model? D80 as in siggy?
General_Nic
post Oct 26 2009, 12:30 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Oct 26 2009, 12:27 PM)
i thought D90 & D300 is the same sensor..
example taken from me..

ISO        : 1000
Shutter  : 0.02 sec (1/50)
Aperture :  f/2.8
No Flash

the noise control at ISO1000~ drool.gif

i know D5000 n D90 sensor same, is it same with D300 i dunno
General_Nic
post Oct 28 2009, 07:02 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(silver_de_gene @ Oct 27 2009, 09:36 PM)
i always hear ppl saying that 50mm is 75mm on full frame or etc.. but i dun really understand it. do u have picture example?
QUOTE(silver_de_gene @ Oct 27 2009, 10:26 PM)
i read about the crop factor somewhere. if 50mm is 75 full frame, then what is 35? and how will they look like? what will 50mm and 35mm diff in terms of pic? sorry, for asking so much and so detail. i can't imagine without seeing the pic? or anyone with pic can share?
on crop sensor cameras, called DX cameras, 50mm is equal to 75mm on a full frame(FX) camera
it means any lenses on DX cameras the focal length becomes longer than supposed to be on a FX

how to explain further... hmm.gif
on DX cams, 50mm is not working as 50mm d, instead work as like a 75mm lens on FX cam

AF lenses is the 1st generation lenses which can AF

difference in AF-D lenses is they can relay distance info to the camera
btw, there's no such thg as D lenses, it is referring to AF-D lenses

AF-S lenses r lenses with built-in SWM(silent wave motor)

G lenses is without aperture ring

i hope i explained correctly, any mistake pls correct me nod.gif
if nid to know more can check HERE
General_Nic
post Oct 29 2009, 09:53 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Oct 29 2009, 08:42 PM)
d5000 and d90..how much the price difference ?
QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Oct 29 2009, 09:14 PM)
gle arr....d5000 how much?
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Oct 29 2009, 09:44 PM)
around 2 k.. note that both model are in different class lah  nod.gif
to be exact, price differ by 1.2k
D90 kit price at Rm4k, D5000 kit price at Rm2.8k

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0446sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:47 AM