Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

ken86
post Nov 24 2009, 06:42 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Nov 24 2009, 06:37 PM)
I tried 3 teaspoons of nescafe powder and mix with a glass of water, it's so bitter and nauseating...and I don't think 3 teaspoons is even 200mg of caffeine.
well I clearly stated I have no idea bout the mg, apart from that, I guess to each of its own I guess, I like the bitterness of coffee and the smell/aroma. maybe adding some protein powder or sugar substitute to mask the bitterness ?

Added on November 24, 2009, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(registryeditor @ Nov 24 2009, 06:40 PM)
but you will build tolerance over time and anyways, in order to get your CNS all stimulated, while having that fat burning effect, 300mg isnt exactly that high. since your coffee sounds simple enough im gonna give it a shot. btw, masters students do have time. even the full-time ones. i should know.
yea that's why I suggest laying it off a while or cycling it on fat burners/caffeine, I did say I am aware of the importance of time and not lack of time. It's all about time management. I supposed you are pursuing master's as well ?

man, it was supposed to be a recipe suggestion. It's getting heated up brows.gif

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 24 2009, 06:44 PM
ken86
post Nov 25 2009, 10:39 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 25 2009, 09:01 PM)
Either your torso is way too straight thus killing your quad strength, or you don't use enough weights.
as per your recommendation,

keep the spine rigid by keeping thoracic and lumbar in extension
hip drive !
weight stays at the middle of the heel.
'bounce' out the bottom using the hamstring stretch reflex.

works like a charm wei !!! thanks biggrin.gif
ken86
post Nov 26 2009, 09:04 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(jackwylde @ Nov 26 2009, 03:07 AM)
yo guys. just wanna ask u guys.
i lift weights at home. i don't go to gym.
my place does not have a gym.

the question is... i dont have a barbell to squat heavy.
all i do is just leg presses( i got a multistation at home)
and front dumbell squat.( luft the dumbell up front on the shoulders)
they are 2 x 15kg dumbells..

i see u guys squats 1,1.5x body weight but i cant do that cause lack of equipments. i just make sure i got the pump on my quads with lots of sets.
i always feel the soreness on my quads for the next day..

is that okay?? or should i go hunt for a barbell and a rack???
Reasons to squat : -
1.) "There is simply no other exercise (and certainly no machine) that produces the level of central nervous system activity, improved balance and coordination, skeletal loading and bone density enhancement, muscular stimulation and growth, connective tissue stress and strength, psychological demand and toughness, and overall systemic conditioning than the correctly performed full squat." –Mark Rippetoe

2.) “Very few movements require the same degree of dedication, desire and determination as heavy squats. Squats are more than a physical strength builder and may be the only movement that builds a person’s character. Life is about standing up AFTER a heavy load takes you down.” – Dave Tate

3.) “It's hard to puke doing curls.” – Dave Tate

just to name a few reasons.
ken86
post Nov 26 2009, 09:10 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Nov 26 2009, 07:32 AM)
Hi.

*Sorry if I posted this in the wrong forum*

I want to ask about 'Stubborn fat' on the lower abs.
Can diet & kardiovascular get rid of it or operation is the only way?

I love my weight at the moment; 67kg at 170cm.
When I hold my breath, I can see my six pack 'hidden' beneath the love handles (lower abs)
My upper abs are pretty ok...I can feel the hard muscle.
I think it will be visible when I'm 63kg.

Experts did say the lower abs is the most difficult part to work at.

How ya to get rid of it?
Need to take those supplements such as Lipo 6 etc.?

My daily diet;

Rice once a day.
No oily/greasy food
Coffee once a day (for sugar blood)
Jogged 30 minutes daily.

Hidden is not good enough. and you don't need liposuction. It will not be visible at 63 kgs despite losing 4kgs. Your less-than-mediocre diet is not gonna yield that effect.
I like your description - I can feel the hard muscle
lower abs is indeed stubborn , spot reduction is impossible. Gain some muscle weight and then plan to 'TONE" *god i hate that word*
supplements are overrated when you diet is well .. despicable.

coffee for sugar blood ?

You want to lose fat, you need to practice cardio progression , like lifting weights (progression) 30 minutes daily with the same intensity for one year is gonna make u look exactly the same a year later.

Added on November 26, 2009, 9:12 am
QUOTE(Desvaro @ Nov 26 2009, 09:09 AM)
Did you get that from the 100 reasons to squat article?

Some of the reasons there made me laugh out loud, especially "Because it prevents others from curling in the squat rack".
yes http://www.elitefts.com/documents/100_reasons_squats.htm http://elitefts.com/documents/100_reasons_squats2.htm

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 26 2009, 09:12 AM
ken86
post Nov 26 2009, 09:14 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(jackwylde @ Nov 26 2009, 09:13 AM)
i know i must squat to grow.
i love squat
i love the pump on my quads.

what i`m asking is,

is it ok if i squat with dumbells?
or should i get me a barbell and a rack?
I m pretty sure all the reasons I mentioned refers to the Full squat with a bar on your back. go figure.
ken86
post Nov 26 2009, 06:30 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 26 2009, 10:26 AM)
You did 160KG for 3 right?
The same day, I tried 160KG for 3 as well. Three sets. REPETITION PR!
freak of nature.

ken86
post Nov 28 2009, 04:10 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(mochamania @ Nov 26 2009, 09:44 AM)
Cardio progression? Care to explain?  sweat.gif 
is it like increased endurance/length?
yes
like lifting weights. U add the duration / intensity progressively.

sample

Cardio Starter Plan
 1 day per week: 20-minute HIIT
 2 days per week: 30 minutes steady state cardio
Intermediate Cardio Plan
 2 days per week: 20-minute HIIT
 3 days per week: 40 minutes steady state cardio
Maximum Fat Burning Cardio Plan
 3 days per week: 20-minute HIIT + 10 minutes steady state cardio
 4 days per week: 60 minutes steady state cardio

progress accordingly when fat loss stalls.
ken86
post Nov 30 2009, 05:22 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(mochamania @ Nov 28 2009, 08:47 PM)
Hmm so for a lean bulk it would best be the Cardio Starter Plan eh?

Thanks in advance.
yea if u r lean bulking. Start slow.

pizzaboy - does the disc work ?

de.crystal - loading for DB Squats gets really awkward as the poundages increases. One of the best substitute when U have absolutely no access to a barbell = goblet squats.
ken86
post Nov 30 2009, 11:09 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 30 2009, 06:41 PM)
IT .....werks!
Land on the heels? b**** hell no......i landed on my heels and it was sending shockwaves to my head. Even after bending my knees on landing.
good thing. too bad I can;t stay long for a chat:(

I am surprised no one here knows bout parisi and his stuffs. maybe not overly advertised. His stuffs rocks and martin rooney is a real badass.

Added on November 30, 2009, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(Florian @ Nov 30 2009, 08:29 PM)
I sipek tulan now.

Just now in the gym, after pumping hard for back, I wanted to do 6 sets of biceps and I did 1 set of EZ bar curls and I went to take a pair of 5lbs plates from the bar at the decline bench since no one was using to add on the EZ bar then some celaka toothpick came and grab the plates from my hands and went to load it on his flat bench press bar. I was like WTF. I so wanted to fuking punch him in the fuking face.

I too tulan, did 3 more sets of DB curls then went back liao.
grab the plates from your hand ? WTF ?

but well it shows U r the bigger man , forget bout this skinny twigs.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 30 2009, 11:11 PM
ken86
post Dec 18 2009, 08:52 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 18 2009, 07:47 PM)
Its likely to be around PJ. Problem is getting the greens. One Eleiko set that I got (I needed to pull a LOT of powerful strings) was already five figures. I need at least 3 more sets of barbells and weights. Kettlebells also another b****. RM600 for ONE 32KG kettlebell. I'm gonna really need to find some China suppliers for this to work out. Never mind, SUKMA finish can focus on this.
nice

that's gonna be one heck of a gym.

sign me up , I want discount smile.gif
ken86
post Dec 23 2009, 11:32 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(onimusha_m16 @ Dec 23 2009, 09:50 AM)
how big is a chicken breast? if 1 piece of kfc breast, how many gram of protein?
1 oz of chicken breast = approx 7 g of protein

If you are eating out, approximately as big as your palm size. Kfc breast is not optimal but I guess it's better than hawker stuffs.
ken86
post Dec 28 2009, 09:29 AM

406 posts

well tony brewer is tony brewer, none of us has his genetics and can even carry that amount of mass. Good for inspiration though.

why worry bout justifying yourself ? just hit the gym harder and eat like a clockwork if you wanna prove everyone wrong, we can argue bout science all day but strength and a good physique is a product of struggles in the weightroom and the kitchen room, not in a chatroom.
ken86
post Dec 29 2009, 09:16 AM

406 posts

These call for a recipe

The good ol' scrambled eggs

Ingredients:

4 Omega-3 enriched local eggs
2% Milk
Butter
Sea Salt
Black Pepper - Those whole black pepper in pepper grinder variant not the pre-grind shit, they taste like smoke ash
Cooking pan
Rubber spatula - This took me a year to figure out and it's the key to some damn good scrambled eggs. Don't be like my unenlightened friends and use one of those burger-flipper spatulas. They're too large and clumsy. You need something svelte, small, and easy to maneuver.

Make the perfect scrambled eggs

1. Crack your eggs against the lip of the bowl and use your thumbs to pull the egg apart. Make sure not to get any shell in the mixture. And keep the yolks! If I find one more person who only cooks with egg whites I'm going to poke him numerous times with my egg-soaked fork and hope he gets salmonella.

2. Heat your nonstick pan on medium heat for a minute or so and toss a teaspoon of butter into the pan.

3. While your pan is heating, pour a little bit of milk into the egg mixture. I'm not sure exactly how much because I've never measured it. My guess is about two tablespoons.

4. Take your fork and beat the hell out of the egg and milk mixture using quick wrist flicks. Your wrist should be moving like you're using one of those old pencil sharpeners that you have to crank with your hand. Make sure to some air into the bowl as it'll make the eggs fluffier. Beat for 30 seconds or so.

5. Making sure the butter is melted and the pan is hot pour the mixture into the pan. You should hear a slight sizzle.

6. Let it sit for 30 seconds to a minute and then take your rubber spatula and start "scrambling" the eggs by pushing the cooked stuff off the bottom and letting the runny yellow part directly onto the pan.

7. After a couple of minutes of scrambling, you should have some nice, fluffy, yellowy-white eggs. I like to pull mine off the stove top before I see any brown spots on the eggs.

8. Dash some salt and pepper on your eggs and eat! Oh, and make sure you complement your eggs with turkey sausage, whole-wheat toast, or some fresh fruit on the side.

Nutritional Facts :
28g of protein, 20g of fat (the good kind), virtually no carbs

Try it a few times and play around with how much milk you add and how long you leave it on the stove top.

these takes way less than 10 minutes to prepare and cook. stop whining.

This post has been edited by ken86: Dec 29 2009, 09:17 AM
ken86
post Dec 30 2009, 09:58 AM

406 posts

I heard bout him.

What's he doing is similar to the what the people called the PSMF (protein sparing modified fast)

I followed it for the last 2 weeks during my fat loss transformation.

The basic premise is pure protein diet, the brain fog and mind f*ck duirng the first few days is insane. Not advisable for long periods of dieting and don't try it without guidance,

yea he died 4 days after the 9 weeks transformation video or something like that can't recall. Takes heck lot of mental toughness to do his diet.
ken86
post Dec 31 2009, 12:14 PM

406 posts

nandaryu - that's the worst excuse ever to quit but to each of its own i guess. Yea it's me.

John91 - yea i will censored my ugly mug from now on biggrin.gif

eat your yolks man.. eggs are like chicken , they are all protein sources, besides that eggs has high BV. no such thing as too much eggs or some weird ass myth.

Raw eggs has some avidin binding to biotin shit last i read, making it less bioavailable.

again these are super minor details you should worry about until you start eating properly/
ken86
post Jan 3 2010, 11:56 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(bagata @ Jan 3 2010, 10:58 AM)
oh izzit? so it is not related to drinking b4 running? then no choice but to run ady smile.gif
it's also called side stitch don't you love google

common side stitch is caused by the exertion that running and bouncing forces inside the abdominal walls. Basically, your stomach and other organs - like the spleen and liver - bump into each other as your feet jar the ground causing connective tissue to stretch on the nerves and cause pain. This connective tissue is also attached to your diaphragm which helps with breathing. This pain is usually on the right side and just under the ribs. Exercise like horseback riding, running, and sit-ups are common causes of the side stitch.

Ways to Prevent or Lessen the Pain of the Common Side Stitch:

1) Do not Run on a Full Stomach
2) Decrease Pace and Breath Deeply
3) Pre-Stretch With Side Torso Twists
4) Perform Lower Back and Abdominal Exercises
ken86
post Jan 5 2010, 11:44 PM

406 posts

cutting aka fat loss is really simple.

you just need to manipulate different variables when progress stalls. I take progress picture every week, after a week I re-evaluate my progress. If it's good, all variables (cardio length, diet, training wise) stays the same. If its slowing down,

1.) add 10 minutes to my cardio
or
2.) lower my carbs
or
3.) adding a mega high carb day (1000g carb) when I m losing too much fat + muscle
or
3.) switch to a ketogenic type diet

I have a 14 week transformation in the training , progress thread at page 65/66. My training variables stays the same but I constantly manipulate my diet and cardio length to promote further fat loss.

ken86
post Jan 9 2010, 11:53 PM

406 posts

Growth is stimulated from a combination of tension, total work, and fatigue. As we’ll see in a minute, outside the boundaries of extremely low volume programs, progressively increasing tension at a given level of work is the primary stimulus for ongoing gains in growth. Factors related to fatigue might add around 10% to that.

1. Tension

To get maximal tension on all available muscle fibers in a given muscle requires full motor unit recruitment in that muscle. This can occur 2 ways:

A: Lifting a heavy load (80%+) so that all the muscle cells are firing from the first rep. (example: Lifting an 80% load for 5 reps)

B: Lifting a light load in a fatigued state so that your muscles “think” the load is heavy. (example: Lifting: a 50% load with short rest intervals and having the weight feel heavier then your ass after a 5 mile run.)

Anytime you put forth a maximal effort and have to really strain to move the weight, regardless of the weight on the bar, all the muscle fibers in the working muscle turn on and “tense up.” This is tension. Get a muscle fiber to “tense up” often enough in a workout and it gets damaged. Your muscles don’t know how much weight they’re lifting, they only know they’re working. It's not necessarily the weight that induces hypertrophy but what the muscles "go through" while lifting a weight.

2. What's the difference between heavy vs light loads for tension?

Having said that, there is a difference between lifting a light load in a state of fatigue that "feels" heavy, and a load that “is” heavy. The main difference between the 2 is the heavy load will induce earlier recruitment of the fast twitch fibers and more eccentric microtrauma during the lowering phase of a movement, which is the primary stimulus for growth of muscle protein myofibrills, while the lighter load lifted in a state of fatigue, often associated with more repetitions, will tend to induce more growth through increased “energy and water storage” mechanisms.

3. Making strength increases and getting stronger over time is all about increasing tension, while getting a “pump” is more about total work and fatigue. Suffice to say, the heavier weight you lift with a muscle or muscle group, the more tension you create in that muscle. Your muscles become damaged under tension and repair themselves by getting a little bigger so that they can better resist the load.

4. The "pump"

The more total work and temporary fatigue (due to lack of oxygen), you create in a muscle, (through high volume training, high rep sets, drop sets, static holds, rest-pause etc.) the bigger the “pump” you tend to get. These methods are typically associated with various “Weider” principles.

5. Total work

Total work refers to the total time a muscle is under tension and how much tension it's under over the course of an entire workout, which is basically the same thing as volume, which is sets x reps x load.

Work = Sets x Reps x Load

Simply put, think of “total work” as the total number of reps you do for a body-part per session and how much weight you lift during those reps. How important is it? Well, obviously it has some importance, otherwise all you’d need to to get big is generate a 1 second maximal effort isometric contraction a couple of times per week, which clearly isn’t the case, so we have to look at the importance of total work. There are 2 ways to increase the work:

A: Lift more weight for a given number of reps.
B: Perform more reps with a given weight.

Fatigue, soreness have distinct differences. U need to ensure steady, constant progression as mentioned above lift more weight (please use some common sense), more reps with a given weight (Squat 225lbs x 6 one week then 225lbs x 7 the next) or less rest time. soreness is not a good indicator of a good training session.

there is no such nonsense as getting used to it, the pain is less ?!!?! our body is very prone to homeostasis, if you are getting to used it and lifting the same weight/doing the same thing over and over and over again with no whatsoever progression, that explains why u look the same now and the year before.

PS. for the love of god, if you are experiencing pain, you are doing something very wrong. PAIN IS BADDDDD

This post has been edited by ken86: Jan 9 2010, 11:57 PM
ken86
post Jan 13 2010, 09:12 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 12 2010, 06:14 PM)

Added on January 12, 2010, 6:16 pm@ken86 regarding your post on load v tension.

I feel that a good way to promote hypertrophy is through slow negatives (8 seconds or more) and fast positives.

Frank Zane trained with 10 second negatives on a 315lbs bench.
That's just one of the many tricks for hypertrophy when you are at least intermediate or advanced. Frank zane benches 315 lbs which I don't think many around here are capable of.
The eccentric portion of a muscle(negatives) = resisted lengthening of that muscle. In short, the muscle is exerting force while it’s being lengthened. This type of action has also been called the yielding action (opposed to the overcoming action (concentric) which refers to the actual lifting of the resistance) as well as negative action.

Focusing on eccentric does yield strength gains and more micro traumas but is it really necessary for a newbie barely benching 135lbs ?

my point of view was to clarify the weird training dogma of the few posters earlier.
ken86
post Jan 15 2010, 11:48 PM

406 posts

you're just asking for it doh.gif

no time for breakfast, FFS get up earlier and cook something up.

Importance of BREAKFAST

"Eat a large breakfast comprised of carbs, protein, and a little fat. The point of consuming a large breakfast is that it "breaks" the "fast" from an overnight sleep. Upon waking, the muscles are primed to take in large amounts of calories (especially carbs) without inducing high levels of lipogenesis. In addition, a large breakfast will rev up the metabolism for the rest of the day. For breakfast, I prefer a carb/protein/fat balance of 60/30/10. But for those who don't handle carbs well, I'll adjust the number to 40/30/30. "

stop whining bout not being able to eat well

Wanna start eating well, i suggest taking baby steps

Week one: Eat breakfast wthin 15 mins of getting up. and start drinking a post workout shake

Week two: Introduce a mid morning and mid afternoon snack - one can be a shake, one should be fruit/nuts

Week three: lunch should be protein and vegetables (we're now at four meals per day)

Week five: dinner should be protein and vegetables

Week six: Add something else...

You get the picture. Basically it's one thing each week and you start "snowballing" the goals together. By week five you.re eating 3 supportive meals per day and 2 snacks.

This allows 35 meals per week, so you can cheat MODERATELY at three of them (10%), have a beer etc and still make great gains. But also point out that missing a meal is the same as a cheat - so we need some consistency.

Just move into this easily one step at a time.

Training - READ the stickies (u are not morbidly obese or malnourish, running on machine will not make u pengsan. )

I replied caused it's the first thing on the forum list.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0466sec    1.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:31 PM