Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

diablokun
post Nov 30 2009, 12:34 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Nov 30 2009, 11:45 AM)
Me likey and concur with what Desvaro said.

I've seen loads of guys do half squats and some of them even do half of half squats! And when I do full squats they all give me weird looks as my butt is on the floor.

the weird looks on their face does not mean it's wrong...as long you know what you're doing, GTH with 'em...

they're a bunch of half-squats-club members...just ignore them...

diablokun
post Nov 30 2009, 12:36 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Nov 30 2009, 11:58 AM)
wats so weird about doing full squats?

as i said, it's not totally wrong...it's just that, you're doing something they didn't...

@ my gym, even barbell shrugs makes them stare at you... sweat.gif

diablokun
post Dec 3 2009, 03:41 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:42 AM)
may i ask what is PR? I've googled, Mr google told me its Public Relation.

Anyway, did 107.5kg 5x5 Deadlifts today wink.gif And i tried to find my max, i didnt get to lift 140kg, max i got was 135kg. Oh well smile.gif

@Jon: U fishing?  brows.gif

oh may i ask, how long you've been hitting on that poundage ?? 107.5kg ?? about those 5x5, is it after the 5th, is a failure ?? sorry , i'm not a SL follower...

This post has been edited by diablokun: Dec 3 2009, 03:42 AM
diablokun
post Dec 3 2009, 11:54 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Dec 3 2009, 08:40 AM)
you mean how long do i take to reach 107.5kg? this is my week 6 of training. So it took me 6 weeks.

5x5? stronglift recommends 5x5, my trainer recommends 5x5. So i do 5x5. After 5 reps is not a failure most of the time.

wink.gif

@pizza : Jie xien jue. I think i got it. Thanks bro!

before that, your poundage is ?? 105 kg ?? i'm stagnant at 105kg (3x10) for a month now...just want to do comparison....
thanks for your reply...

Added on December 3, 2009, 11:56 am
QUOTE(reddice @ Dec 3 2009, 10:51 AM)
185 kilo??peh....

i doubt u will lose ur strength.. smile.gif

i  really cant lift without strap...lose grip at even 125 kilo sad.gif
yesterday i deadlift after 2 weeks of rest due to some kursus i have to attended..
i doing compound work.Deadlift,bench and squat to trigger all the muscle first before start back to one muscle per day..

mentally i feel that i cannot lift,but i just push the weight...add more and more..
and to my suprise i can lift my 1 max reps yesterday at 340 pounds ( plus 40 for the bar )
and feel like i could push more..maybe another 20 pounds...

340 pounds with no belt on..haish..if use belt,i cannot lift t hat heavy..how??

go slow with the poundage bro...unless you're into PL ?? pinggang nak pakai lama broo....hehe

This post has been edited by diablokun: Dec 3 2009, 11:56 AM
diablokun
post Dec 18 2009, 05:23 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Dec 18 2009, 04:11 PM)
guys, do you know where can i find the cheapest 1.25kg weight plate?

tesco + giant...

diablokun
post Dec 19 2009, 03:04 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Dec 19 2009, 01:54 AM)
tesco which section?

tesco, jusco, giant ; sports sections...tesco is selling body sculpture brand, while giant sell trojan...kettler you can find @ jusco...

diablokun
post Dec 28 2009, 10:27 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Ludacr|s @ Dec 28 2009, 05:37 PM)
Haha yea him and Frank McGarth are inspirational....humm no la I just dont want confusion of what I actually wanted to say thats it...humm btw anyone know how like to cure stomach ache or prevent it sumhow when drinking eggs cos everytime I do sure my stomach go gassy....

how many you consume at one time ?? do you consume it with empty stomach ??

diablokun
post Dec 30 2009, 08:37 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(bertz @ Dec 30 2009, 06:10 PM)
do any of you guys who does strength training does cardio ie: swimming or jogging?

and cardio after weights or before?

yes, jogging (a friend of mine tongue.gif ) ...my cardio is AFTER weights (but sooo lazy)...

diablokun
post Jan 1 2010, 10:00 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Jan 1 2010, 09:34 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, Reagan Kang won Mr Malaysia junior category in 2009...or 2008 I'm not sure...but he won something.

2009...registry_editor came in 2nd...

diablokun
post Jan 5 2010, 10:01 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(uhuk-uhuk @ Jan 4 2010, 08:48 PM)
Hey guys, my left chest is bigger and thicker than my right one.

I'm not sure why this is the case but I'm guessing that it's because my right arm and shoulder are stronger than the left ones and so when I do presses, the right triceps and delt does more work compared to the chest while on the left side, since the triceps and shoulders are weak, the chest gets more pounding. Is it right to think that way?

And how do you guys curb such a problem? Add in another 3 sets for the right chest?

Thanks in advance.
QUOTE(winkybear @ Jan 4 2010, 10:02 PM)
I have the same problem. Now it's getting too hard to ignore. I replaced the barbell with the dumbbell, but there's more 'feel' on one side compared to the other, no matter how hard I concentrate. Been paying attention to my form, but to no avail >_>

try do a single arm / one-sided seated chest press...if you do bench db press, sometimes you tend to have problem to balance yourself on the bench as you have added more weight on your weak side / undevelop parts...

diablokun
post Jan 5 2010, 05:31 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Jan 5 2010, 11:05 AM)
hey guys i've been cutting for 1 month now ( no High-GI carbs ie Rice, light cardio after workout , and i workout consistantly ) , but there's no significance reduce of waist line (still 34" ).

Is there any points you masters would like to point out to me without me getting flamed like a flame bait? Thanks in advance everyone wink.gif

i don't think it's due to your workout...suspect it's related to your diet...

Added on January 5, 2010, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(-Max91- @ Jan 5 2010, 03:55 PM)
Erm during my 1st time doing arms with my PT...i feel very hard and my arm very sore the next day...however....after a week of rest....i re-do...using same method and same weight too(but without pt this time)...but i dun feel as sore and tired like the 1st time i did....is it normal? or my method wrong?

if you use the same method exactly like what you did with your PT, than your method is OK (i assume)...so, it means that your muscle has adapt to the poundages...try add the poundage/volumes or do different routines...

Added on January 5, 2010, 5:35 pm
QUOTE(monochrome1234 @ Jan 5 2010, 04:36 PM)
Shoulder + Legs

+1

This post has been edited by diablokun: Jan 5 2010, 05:35 PM
diablokun
post Jan 5 2010, 05:45 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Jan 5 2010, 11:05 AM)
hey guys i've been cutting for 1 month now ( no High-GI carbs ie Rice, light cardio after workout , and i workout consistantly ) , but there's no significance reduce of waist line (still 34" ).

Is there any points you masters would like to point out to me without me getting flamed like a flame bait? Thanks in advance everyone wink.gif

and hey, how's your cardio like ??

diablokun
post Jan 5 2010, 10:41 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Jan 5 2010, 06:17 PM)
Okay Pretty much like this .

Diet :

Breakfast : Coffee ,2pcs bread or oat with peanut butter , 1 scoop of whey

Lunch and dinner : Lean meat , lots of vege /and fruits.

Pre workout : 1 scoop of whey , sometimes with milk

Post workout : 1 scoop of whey sometimes with milk  + oat .

Pretty much so

workout

I always started with Squat , with gradual add of weight, my last workout was 102.5kg 5x5 . After that Deadlifts , previous workouts was 125kg 5x5 , Bench Press  5x5 , sometimes if time allows i'll do some overhead press or olympic jerk. After that i'll add in 5 minutes of cardio (i prefer cycling , didnt do HIIT because it was just too tiring )

hope it helps wink.gif

your diets is pretty similar to mine except I don't add any whey as i am yet to buy any...just trying to squeeze the protein from solid foods and whatever i can LOL i'm no expert in diets but i personally think your diet ngam already...same goes to your workout, or maybe there's a need to add here and there but not much tho...i think, your problem lies in your cardio session...5 minutes definitely not enough bro...

i suggest, you do minimum of 20 minutes of cardio (cycling or elliptical machine) on your workout day and 30 minutes ~ 1 hour on your non workout days...if you do 3 split day training, then you have to manage your time to add cardio session at the end of your workout so that you do cardio for at least for 20 minutes...

p/s : i'm interested due to the facts that i'm also in cutting phase !! so we are on the same boat here... wink.gif

diablokun
post Jan 6 2010, 09:42 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Jan 5 2010, 11:44 PM)
cutting aka fat loss is really simple.

you just need to manipulate different variables when progress stalls. I take progress picture every week, after a week I re-evaluate my progress. If it's good, all variables (cardio length, diet, training wise) stays the same. If its slowing down,

1.) add 10 minutes to my cardio
or
2.) lower my carbs
or
3.) adding a mega high carb day (1000g carb) when I m losing too much fat + muscle
or
3.) switch to a ketogenic type diet

I have a 14 week transformation in the training , progress thread at page 65/66. My training variables stays the same but I constantly manipulate my diet and cardio length to promote further fat loss.

thanks ken...definitely will keep it in mind...

diablokun
post Jan 7 2010, 09:11 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Jan 7 2010, 04:48 AM)
I'm doing 10kg squat and 15kg bench press, are you guys going to laugh at me? =(

suit yourself lor...it's your body afterall...as long as you din take too much time occupying the equipment...most ppl feel annoying because of that, not because of your poundages...

diablokun
post Jan 15 2010, 09:42 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 15 2010, 07:09 PM)
Ah yes, the common point of debate regarding slow negatives. If you're lifting light, is it worth doing slow negatives? Well, I believe that slow negatives is an emphasis of form. If you can perform slow negatives, it is almost certain (not an absolute rule, though) that your form is good.

Having said that, I'd rather lift light and controlled than heavy and quick.

Irony is, I never follow my own advice anyway. Ha!

I'm just mentioning Frank Zane because 315lbs is not a lot of weight to bench at a pro level, but he won Mr. O anyway.

he's ecto to start with...and he weighing not more than 250lbs when he won the title...so, 315lbs benching was quite heavy for them, ectos, i think...(and he won due to Franco Columbu retirement...hehe)

diablokun
post Jan 15 2010, 09:58 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(-Max91- @ Jan 15 2010, 09:50 PM)
wanna ask is it ok for me to use the smith machine for bench press..instead of those "free" one with no support for one of my rippetoe's workout? coz juz now i tried using those normal one[not smith machine]....i almost drop the barbell...dangerous >_<

should be no problem...you almost drop due to your bad form / technique or maybe too heavy...start with light volume brah...and correct your form...

diablokun
post Jan 25 2010, 11:22 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jan 25 2010, 10:48 AM)
People dont want to use straps because they think its not hardcore.typical mentality

+1

got this kinda ppl @ my gym...show off... doh.gif

diablokun
post Jan 25 2010, 01:56 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Jan 25 2010, 01:27 PM)
my gloves has straps but i have no idea how to use it,i just use the straps to tighten my wrist(my wrist is kinda weak with some pain recently)

anyways i was thinking,if i was using straps to deadlift wouldnt it be dangerous if lets say i terjatuhkan the barbell? my hwole arm would get carried down bcus of the straps..comments please?

weird...dun think that is lifting straps...maybe the straps is meant to strap around wrist...normally, a lifting strap would look like this...

if you have straps, and use it properly, should be no problem...

diablokun
post Feb 11 2010, 12:12 AM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Feb 10 2010, 08:08 PM)
hey bro thanks for replying...btw,what do u mean by 5X5?...yup im in CF but pt too expensive sad.gif

Added on February 10, 2010, 8:11 pm
thanks for the tip...i already cut down rice completely and replacing it with chapati instead

you have this forum and mr google, i dun think u shud get a PT... wink.gif

and why chapati ??

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0231sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:35 AM