CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

onelove89
post Dec 25 2011, 12:49 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 25 2011, 12:34 PM)
When I was pregnant with my first, I went to see 2 diff specialist in 2 diff specialist centres.

With one, I was allotted the '9am-12pm' slot, first come first serve. I once came at 9.15am and only got to see her at 11am. Eventhough I had many questions, I felt guilty to the next person in line and didnt ask many questions.

With the other doctor, I was given a proper 30mins slot - that I could ask her any questions I want and even though it was just a routine scan. A very reasonable doctor - I only ask for appointment during crucial periods instead of routine monthly and ask to buy any meds/supplements outside and she understood my predicaments and happily suggested what to get.

Consultation cost, the 2nd only cost 20% more. It evened out with easier parking, better waiting room and overall satisfaction.
A lil more spent is all worth it? =)

btw, merry Christmas to all my fellow LYN members and friends =D
onelove89
post Jan 7 2012, 08:05 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 7 2012, 06:20 PM)
Star Education Fair.Made some enquiries at Quest Medical University and noted that medical course starting next month and some students already signed up and fees abt RM295k. Asked for a brochure and syllabus. SECRET! To be released only next month. A new high for medical education!
so do we get a free gift by saying the magic word upon requesting for the brochure? =) should be something interesting to look out for... what ever happened to the 'freeze'?
onelove89
post Jan 20 2012, 03:56 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Jan 20 2012, 03:46 AM)
seems like malaysia is trying to mesh in the insurance system to make a profit from this. I think that's when the NHS system falls apart. When I was studying there NHS was completely free, I didn't have to pay extra (like in Australia where you need to pay for OSHC) While the system is inefficient for minor issues (if you want immediate attention for stuff like food poisoning or fever, and you want it free you have to wait it out at the A&E and you know... wait at the bottom of the list)

Also I detect a substantial bias in the blog post. Doctors under the NHS aren't barred from giving future treatment to patients or "over-servicing" It gives an extreme end of the spectrum view... much like those promoting the dangers of SOPA... >__>

And oh btw, Hi. Didn't know this tread existed until I got bored at the mobile computing section and came clicking around...

I'm gonna start 2nd year this year at UNSW.
can't really say they are inefficient, they are just following triage system for A&E. I think the health care in OZ is rather alright. All the citizens/pr are under one plan: medicare, and they get bulkbilled! woohoo. I'm on medibank private, and it totally sucks. we don't have OSHC like in mainland. OSHC is the best private insurance out there.

I dunno, imho 1care just won't work. It's just a terrible plan for me. Are they seriously going to implement this into the health care system in msia? I don't really get the point where they say 'there shall be no choices, everyone has to pay'. That means if I opt for private health care i still have to pay for this? And not being able to choose for their own doctors is just.... well, kinda inhumane in the sense that autonomy is taken away to some extent.
onelove89
post Jan 25 2012, 02:08 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Huskies @ Jan 24 2012, 10:23 PM)
I'm inclined to think that NSW will be the worst state to graduate from in 5 years' time, simply due to the sheer number of graduates coming through the system. The government might expand the system over the next few years, but then again they may also increase the number of medical seats or even start a new medical school (great political mileage considering there will be at least 2 more elections called in the next 5 years - what happens next is a little less important to them). Charles Sturt is lobbying hard for a new medical school.

The smaller states like TAS, WA, SA and even ACT have essentially peaked in terms of graduate numbers. I would definitely keep New Zealand and Singapore as back up as well.
+1 to this. relaly hope that they'll expand the system and increase the internship spots, nationwide. Then again, there's always demand in the rural communities. and yes NZ and SG are my backups but I really hope I can get a place in oz after I graduate.
onelove89
post Jan 30 2012, 10:13 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 30 2012, 08:29 PM)
Just received an offer from Monash Sunway. Weighing pros and cons smile.gif
congrats Syd G! =)
onelove89
post Feb 2 2012, 12:35 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 1 2012, 03:59 PM)
OMG! Med students must be the unhealthiest of all undegrads!
cant complain. =) we're doing what we love.

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 1 2012, 04:13 PM)
How to survive on 4 hours of sleep a day? the long term effects will be disastrous, i reckon.
nah, we don't sleep at 3 am everyday. Most of my friends do sleep normally, maybe just less. I sleep around 5-6 hours a day on average. Exam periods are the exceptions, we do go further than 3am. But not all med students study till the wee hours in the morning ;p depending on your studying habits really. Some of my friends sleep early and wake up at 6 to study. I sleep at 1 or 2 because I opted to have that extra 1 hour of leisure after I study eg: movie, series, gaming, music. =)

This post has been edited by onelove89: Feb 2 2012, 12:36 AM
onelove89
post Feb 4 2012, 07:34 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 4 2012, 09:11 AM)
utas is not the cheapest med school in oz...

oxbridge fees are cheaper than monash......
they've jacked up the fees over the past few years. It isn't that cheap any more. Despite the expensive fees, people still are willing to fork out that sum to study med in Monash, regardless of the reasons behind their decision.
onelove89
post Feb 4 2012, 11:33 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 4 2012, 08:18 PM)
When demand exceeds supply, .......one of the benefits of Ipta which is govt owned
Compared to IPTS, yes, it might be slightly better. But honestly speaking, we can't say that it's a huge benefit.

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 4 2012, 09:31 PM)
In the midst of this "madness", there is still that accepted reality that doing medicine in "traditional" overseas destinations like UK, Australia and Ireland requires a certain amount of money. One cannot compare IPTAs, as entrance requirements THESE days are based on a whole set of other criteria, and it will not be surprising if a successful applicant to say Oxbridge, would not even have a foot in any of the IPTAs. Plus, with the declining standards of what was once Malaysia's pride uni, Uni Malaya, aspiring medical students will be better taught and trained overseas, albeit for a hefty sum. Of course many will argue that at the end of 5 years, it's still that basic medical degree. An oxbridge medical degree will of course open more doors!  biggrin.gif

As far as Monash Clayton is concerned, there's about 60-65 international places, and with their ATAR cut-offs, it would be interesting to find out just how many applicants with A levels were offered, and their corresponding A levels results. I read in another forum that for UNSW, A*A*A*A = ATAT 99.6, and that A*A*AA = ATAR 96. Why there is still an unceasing demand for Monash Clayton is quite bewildering, considering the australian currency is at it's strongest with no indication of weakening in the interim.
yes, IPTAs selection is just odd. I can't judge or say it's bias, but we as fellow citizens know how things work. Unfair or fair is for you to evaluate. There are many cases where IPTA rejected particular top students (due to um, some criteria) and he/she got oxford scholarships/got into ivy leagues. Absolutely no surprise there. On the contrary, we've seen IPTAs taking in students with GPA scorings of 2.5 for med due to special criteria, (still happening) or some way or another. Unfair? well, you decide.

Well, Monash is still one of the top unis in the world, I mean top 50 at least. It's reputable for their business faculty and their medical faculty has a long history. Some people choose the more famous unis because of fame/glory; some just feel that the teachers there are better, or that the certificate will be much more useful. They all are true to a certain extent, but if you ask me to fork out 100k for that extra bit, I won't do it.
onelove89
post Feb 5 2012, 09:25 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 5 2012, 12:15 AM)
not really.....

monash is somewhat overhyped.....while it is mostly ranked top 100 (some tables have it in 3 digits), it is never really in the top half.........

it is a relatively new university, being founded in 1958, and only took the first intake in 1961........about the same time as the establishment of the new campus of university of malaya in KL, which eventually became the main um, after dissolution and formation of university of singapore.....the medical faculty of um was formed in 1964, so both med schools are about the same age...

so is the utas med school, also established in the 60's.......and utas has a much older history, being incorporated in 1890.......australia as it is now did not exist at that time.....
Just because it's in the Go8, that's why most people tend to opt for monash first than UTAS maybe? To be honest, our faculty here is really nice too. I'm not sure how are the facilities and lecturers like in Monash though.

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 5 2012, 12:34 AM)
And UTAS has that spanking new Medical 1 building, and Medical 2 building scheduled for completion end 2012/beg 2013....gah!!
When MS2 is completed, all the teachings will be done there. MS1 will be used for Menzies research.
onelove89
post Feb 5 2012, 08:14 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(jolenemeteor @ Feb 5 2012, 06:03 PM)
Hi guys,

Haven't been here for ages (since my pre-U years) but amazingly, I've actually got to know one of my best friends here through one of my mere two posts in this forum in 2008! So I reckon it's a good time to maybe pay the forum a visit again! I'm a first year Graduate Entry Med student at the University of Sydney, so if anyone would be interested to ask any questions about Sydney University or Melbourne Uni (done my Undergrad there), feel free to ask! Otherwise, would be great to know some fellow Malaysian med students, can't seem to find a second Malaysian in my current cohort yet ohmy.gif

(apologies if this seems too random, hope it's not the wrong place to get this posted!)
Congrats! not really into research? =)

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 5 2012, 06:14 PM)
i presume you are back in hobart and starting year 3 tomorrow.....?
yup =) looking forward to it. Feeling excited to study again.
onelove89
post Feb 5 2012, 08:43 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(jolenemeteor @ Feb 5 2012, 08:21 PM)
The fees at Perdana is nearly ridiculous, RM1 Million...! Got my eyes popping when I first did the math. And..yup! You're right about mostly Canadians making up the International students numbers, probably a quarter of Internationals are Singaporean students though. That's the closest it can get to home I guess! And yup, I am reasonably aware about the upcoming medical student tsunami, especially in NSW if more than any other states in Australia. However I wasn't informed about that by the University, all I got from them was a statement saying that they are currently "trying their best" in fighting for guaranteed internship training for all International students and they foresee that'll become possible when we graduate, nothing more than that. I got to know about the issue from the PagingDr forum, which was a really useful resource imo.

Just wondering, which uni are you from?

Added on February 5, 2012, 8:25 pm

Well I actually am! Before I got the Med offer from Sydney I was almost set to go for Honours in Melbourne! But yeah, guess Med's the ultimate goal so hopefully I'll be able to do some research during my 4 years here! smile.gif
Our med student body is trying to fight for more internship places too. Last heard 2 years ago when there was a shortage in internship spots in Tasmania, not sure of the situation now. Really hope they'll be opening up more spots for us.
onelove89
post Feb 21 2012, 05:40 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

Previously the number of domestic students was always less than the number of intern positions, international students made up the difference, so no worries. Now this year, and in following year, the number of domestic students equals the number of intern positions...which leaves about 350 international students fighting for a few positions among the bottom ranked domestic and top ranked international students

quoted from my 5th year senior when I was inquiring about the research projects available. Apparently I have to pay another year of full fees even though it's research =.= but yes, that's what he told me recently about the situation of the internship spots.
onelove89
post Mar 2 2012, 10:13 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I think now, kumar clark is my best best friend =/ and i'm barely touching other books except anatomy. >_<
onelove89
post Mar 4 2012, 06:18 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Kaylain @ Mar 3 2012, 06:15 AM)
Kumar & Clarke weighs a ton! Please don't tell me you bring that to placements everyday?!
Nah, in wards I just carry a clipboard, write down stuffs that i don't know of and head back and study. They do carry around oxford handbook or TG, but that's all I think.

I shall go and try cardiology set! =D Still not good with breath sounds in particular. need more practices.
onelove89
post Mar 28 2012, 07:33 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(DeanKueh @ Mar 28 2012, 07:22 PM)
Just wondering.. I just went for an interview in NUMed for medicine course. They said they will inform me the results . Is that a method of rejection or do I really have to wait for them to inform me the results of the interview?
I think they'll formally inform you if you got the offer or not.
onelove89
post Mar 30 2012, 03:49 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 28 2012, 11:19 PM)
With the amount of med schools in Malaysia, quality of medical education is deteriorating fast due to lack of quality lecturers as well as quality students. I was shocked to hear a HO informing me that a patient's GCS was zero (and this HO is from a local gov med school).

Thus, i strongly suggest a common licencing exam to weed out all the incompetent medical graduates, in order to maintain the quality of our healthcare. In addition, it will also eliminate biases towards medical graduates from certain schools / countries.
must be a new category they invented for the GCS. =P
onelove89
post Mar 31 2012, 03:26 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 31 2012, 03:11 PM)
see my last post....

it is not called nud anymore but fd..........

peptic ulcer is a dying disease..... biggrin.gif
I'm just curious, you know how a lot of malaysians suffer from 'gastric', are those FD? I always thought that they were suffering from PUD. And is FD diagnosed only after having ruled out all other pathologies causing dyspepsia?
onelove89
post Apr 1 2012, 07:04 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 31 2012, 03:26 PM)
I'm just curious, you know how a lot of malaysians suffer from 'gastric', are those FD? I always thought that they were suffering from PUD. And is FD diagnosed only after having ruled out all other pathologies causing dyspepsia?
can some one enlighten me? smile.gif

Just a random thing that I'm excited about, saw a patient with GBS MF variant.
onelove89
post Apr 1 2012, 10:17 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 1 2012, 09:43 PM)
go google klgoh and fd lah, like i said.....and google rome III.....

i am surprised med students and young doctors are not taught these new information.....
Rome III helped a lot =) thanks limeuu. but no, we weren't given such info during our teachings.

onelove89
post Apr 6 2012, 06:38 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

chase blood = get blood test. (non specific, depending on what to order) that's how i write it too.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Apr 6 2012, 06:39 AM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0248sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:10 PM