8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

onelove89
post Sep 21 2011, 09:54 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Sep 21 2011, 08:45 PM)
You started med in malaysia, but doing 2 nd year utas now. How was the application process via this route? Glad to know you're enjoying the course!
um I just reapplied for med. I failed to get in the first time due to my ISAT results. So i retook the test and with satisfactory results I tried again. =)
onelove89
post Sep 22 2011, 06:31 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 21 2011, 10:54 PM)
what would be considered an isat 'satisfactory result' for utas?....80?
don't think there's a minimum mark for it, but I'll think it's around there =)
onelove89
post Sep 25 2011, 03:37 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

Around 15-20 international students, sometimes a lil more than that, and around 110-120 per batch including repeats. really hope that they'll open up more intern spots soon.
onelove89
post Oct 4 2011, 05:53 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 3 2011, 08:34 PM)
people fail because of basically 3 reasons.....

1. they did not study.....fool around, distracted, mental problem etc....

2. they are not interested but forced to do, so no motivation....

and msia has a 3rd category unique to msia, and some other 3rd world countries.....

3. they academically and intellectually should NOT be in med school.....but allowed to.....
I love the 3rd reason =)

QUOTE(podrunner @ Oct 3 2011, 08:54 PM)
Actually a lot of doctors say that it's just very hard to get into the course (this is way before the current tsunami of med schools), and that once in the course, if you study consistently and systematically, you will get through every year. Why did you allow yourself only "6-7 days" to revise?

If you want to give up because of pride, then perhaps you should really reconsider continuing with the course. If you can set aside your pride, and are really interested in pursuing the course and the profession, then repeat year 2, study smart and hard. Hope this helps a teeny bit.

Also can I just say "ditto" to limmeu's post above.... smile.gif
Exactly. Consistency is one criteria in studying med. heck, if I leave all my stuff to '6-7' days prior exams, I'll be so so screwed. so, your studying method is wrong, revise it, get it over with, and move on if that's what you truly want.
onelove89
post Oct 4 2011, 06:03 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

hmm, seems to be a lot of applicants for med 2012. There's only 1 msian in the 2011 batch. kinda sad though.
onelove89
post Oct 4 2011, 07:40 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 4 2011, 06:04 PM)
relative's college mate.....there could be more that he is not aware of....

apparently 2nd round offers for newcastle also out....a few rejections from first round....

Added on October 4, 2011, 6:09 pm
so where do the other international students come from?....

i wonder, with so many conditional offers, how many will actually get a firm offer at the end...they are just trying to lock in people, because they know they are never the top choice of most students..... smile.gif
a lot from SG, but for the rest, I'm not too sure. wonder what will happen if monash and UNSW decide to change to postgrad med. hmm.... Is Adelaide U still offering undergrad med?
onelove89
post Oct 4 2011, 08:14 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 4 2011, 07:59 PM)
there are not many undergrad medicine left.....adelaide and unsw with 6 year courses, and utas, monash, uws, jcu and newcastle with 5 years......

sporeans wouldn't want to go to jcu and uws, as they are not recognised in spore....utas will be a preferred option to them i would think, although most will eventually NOT return to spore....
you'll be surprised by their patriotism. A lot of my SG friends here want to go back to work. Well, UWS JCU and newcastle are all relatively new. But I think Sg will recognize them sooner or later.

Honestly speaking, I don't get why med tuition fee is inflating at such a rapid rate. Another marketing scheme?
onelove89
post Oct 20 2011, 06:30 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Oct 18 2011, 09:28 AM)
What has a Jazz graduate, a Geography graduate and a Physical Education graduate got to do with a medical program. All these are senior management and HODs in Alliance Medical University and they are termed as "Meducators".
Jazz and physical ed tutors for self care management? =P and Geography for... I dunno, epidemiological studies? Or are they all just doing admin work?

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Oct 18 2011, 07:06 PM)
From what I have read, there are a few people who got conditional offers for UTAS '16. If anyone needs help (information etc.) I'm sure onelove as well as I would be happy to explain a little further. Please pardon that there might be late replies though, exams.
Would be glad to be an assistance if help is needed. =)
onelove89
post Oct 26 2011, 08:52 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

really? O.o I thought clinics love students? I mean in my hometown I have a lot of friends attaching to clinics during their break. Not sure if they are related or not though =P I'm thinking of attaching during the holidays as well.
onelove89
post Oct 27 2011, 07:45 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 27 2011, 10:18 AM)
if these postings are part of the course, it is the duty of the med school to arrange for it, and assign accordingly....otherwise, they are failing in their duties...

if it is however, not part of the official postings, and is like an elective, then you will have to arrange it yourself....

family/primary health means different things in different countries.....in uk/oz, that means gp's......in msia, where a big portion of primary healthcare is provided by the public sector, it can mean one of the gov walk-in polyclinics.....

however, it is quite different, the way things are done in a gp clinic compared to a gov clinic, so exposure to both is useful, and i know some ipta that includes both in their rotations....
When I saw family medicine, I was thinking of primary care actually. Is family medicine different to primary care/GP postings?

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Oct 27 2011, 04:57 PM)
Sunway Monash also does such interview and they asked question on what you know abt diabetes. Is it too technical for a potential student or they are looking for other positive factors?

Added on October 27, 2011, 5:00 pm

Sunway Monash also does such interview and they asked question on what you know about diabetes. Is it too technical for a potential student or they are looking for other positive factors?
Don't think they require you to illustrate details of the disease, probably just testing your current understanding of the issue, like: "it's on the rise" and ways to prevent such trend to progress out of hand.
onelove89
post Oct 30 2011, 06:19 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I'm pretty sure he's rather smart in raking the dough in. Well, he seems to be doing a good job at the moment in doing so =P

Is East Malaysia overcrowded with interns/med grads as well at the moment or in the near future? Or is that just a trend in W.Msia cos they don't wanna come to Sarawak/Sabah?

onelove89
post Nov 1 2011, 03:25 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 1 2011, 12:47 PM)
yes
yes

barriers are usually perceived when you are outside the system...once you are in the system (ie have residency rights in both countries), you will then just compete like everybody else....whether you are born citizen, naturalised citizen, or permanent resident, it does NOT matter, in these countries......after all, both country have 20-30% of their people NOT born in the country.....
I have always thought that priority is given to locals rather than international students. Hope that's not the case. Still contemplating whether to take a year of research since my course is a 5 year course. They say that those with published papers holds a better chance of getting into highly competitive fields such as cardiology and ortho. Again, not entirely sure whether the source is reliable or not.
onelove89
post Nov 2 2011, 07:38 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Nov 2 2011, 01:39 PM)
huh?
he's trying to say "have fun during the exam period."
onelove89
post Nov 8 2011, 07:15 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Nov 6 2011, 08:36 PM)
Absolutely right. Now it's the internship uncertainty!
well there's always uncertainty everywhere =) all we can do is do our best and hope for the best. Hopefully they will open up more internship seats. Having said so, there's a huge cutback on cost and budget in tassie health care at the moments, there's been closing down of hosp beds and mass lay off of staffs. =( it is kinda sad to hear really.
onelove89
post Nov 23 2011, 09:01 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

um, what is the link above for? seriously, I don't think there's much info except for questions like 'who loves microbio?'
onelove89
post Nov 23 2011, 07:22 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ Nov 23 2011, 03:12 PM)
sorry, copy wrong link.  doh.gif  lol. link changed.
rclxms.gif thank you ^^ but then again, my crummy 3G is disallowing me to access the site =/ somehow. I'll probably look up cerebral palsy tonight as I have no basic understanding about the condition.
onelove89
post Nov 24 2011, 03:58 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Nov 24 2011, 03:51 PM)
MMI. Scenarios were given and the interviewees were asked to answer based on "what should this person do".

But it was quite obvious that they were assessing the candidate's opinion on teamwork and the life as a medical doctor.
They should have a particular criteria that they are assessing. Probably see how future med students will make decisions or handle information. I think the format for both Monash interviews are the same, just the difficulty might differ. Honestly speaking, the one in Malaysia didn't really felt like a formal interview at all, not too sure whether it is similar case in Clayton or not.
onelove89
post Nov 24 2011, 11:16 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Nov 24 2011, 08:09 PM)
My point is to overcome the 'unrecognized school' issue to work outside Msia, one must be willing to sit for qualifying exams or go for postgrad exam for specialisation.

Say I go to ABC school and sit for AMC exam and passed. I can work in OZ too right?

So it's actually a cheaper route than forking out RM200k extra (in case of Monash Sunway) to be automatically recognized by the AMC?
I'm not too sure if Monash sunway's MBBS is recognized by AMC or not. Even if they allow student to go during their 5th year to oz to practice, one still requires min 2 years of stay to apply for PR (correct me if i'm wrong, not entirely sure with these)

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 24 2011, 08:21 PM)
I think technically working in Oz shouldn't be much of a problem IF you can get a place in their hospitals...and a working visa as well...
nope, it's not that simple at all. If you've looked into the site, it'll show an extensive/whiny process to be eligible to practice in oz, esp if your cert isn't recognized.
onelove89
post Nov 30 2011, 09:46 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Nov 30 2011, 11:04 AM)
For number 2. I was talking more of a contact in person. Family members that live nearby etc. Besides, time zone differences even with the current communication media is a pain as well!
+1. It's practically evening time in Malaysia when they wake up, and when they are done from lectures it's pretty much dawn here. >_< Even 3 hours apart is a pain for me at the moment, missing those days in Perth where the time zone is the same....

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 30 2011, 12:24 PM)
maybe because it's very expensive? during the final year you have to go to Oz for one semester and that will incur even more money...
I don't think IMU is any cheaper. Ppl opt for IMU and monash cos of the twinning, so most of them are well funded, financially.
onelove89
post Dec 1 2011, 04:29 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

cant guarantee you a spot even if you got 4.0 though, there are MANY MAAAAANY other factors involved *cough*. my friend got agriculture even though she got 4.0 =.= she got fed up and went to ipts for med.

Syd G i dun think there's any honours offered for med, unless he/she opts for research? I know for most 6 years med they have an additional year for research and you'll get BMedSci (hons).

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:48 AM