Nokia E71 Thread V4, firmware Version: 400.21.013 ready!!!
Nov 2 2009, 02:42 PM
593 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
xavi, ur ion batterytimer doing ok? mine is supposed to be accurate now, i guess..feel better having this app as u know how many 'hours' you have left before battery die on you, quite accurate so far. sadly my average battery life is only 1d 20h only (as what the app says), but its all goood..
Nov 2 2009, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(FitnessAddict @ Nov 2 2009, 02:43 PM) i find that my e71 hangs very often. few days, hang one time at least. do a hard reset *#7370# (be sure to backup the phone first) sometimes installing and uninstalling apps can cause core app to become unstable. If it doesn't help, guess you'll need to upgrade firmware..last time it not like this. and i didnt install any apps besides garmin. pls help |
Nov 2 2009, 09:17 PM
Nov 7 2009, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 6 2009, 06:24 PM) Currently i m maxis value plus rm150 user. I believe the data plan is under Value added services and is not part of the RM150 usage. bro,maxis call line very bad always drop calls, line switch, can hear other people on the call lines, data plan suxx big time... change to celcom, even if u maintain the number Just want to ask if i added the 5MB Package RM8.00. wat is the charges if i use 10MB? rm16.00? Now maxis charge me for 10,504KB = RM 52.97. Crazy!!! Please advise i should subcrise which data plan if i m using E71? iData plan for E71? 250MB = RM30. On itemised billing. Wat is the diff charges if the call is using Central(3G) and Central? |
Nov 9 2009, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(red-queen @ Nov 8 2009, 06:42 PM) any of you know if E71 has the non-oily screen protector sticker? i saw my friend using it on his IPhone. the screen protector doesn't look like those normal ones. it looks abit matte. but really no finger prints or oil. yup, i'm using it.. rm20 when i install it that time, dunno what brand, but screen becomes blur coz the screenprotector layer so thick..had to take some time to get use to it, now forgot already how blur my phone is actually coz got used to it...now less rubbing the screen to clear the oil so works for me.. by the way, i got it at the accessories shop at 1utama, the one near to the TGV.. Added on November 9, 2009, 3:32 pm QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 9 2009, 09:31 AM) Get my E71 Black from LYN seller(e_trade_pj) @ RM1150. 1. that doesn't sound right..what sim message you mean?Good to recommend! I got 2 question: 1. I cannot read my sim message. always need to copy to inbox to read it. 2. how to turn on the background light when i use 'view map' to drive without setting the destination point? So far if i use 'where to' to set the destination then the light is always turn on. 2. i just press the space bar.. Added on November 9, 2009, 3:42 pm QUOTE(hankeymeal @ Nov 8 2009, 12:13 PM) For just surfing websites, check emails, IM, YM, google chat, facebook I suggest Celcom unlimited data plan RM38 per month. yup, but u'll need to have celcom postpaid plan..and know that the speed only 128kbps.Are there any good software for yahoo messenger? Im using Nimbuzz. This post has been edited by attahun: Nov 9 2009, 03:42 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 9 2009, 06:57 PM) 1. Messaging > Option > SIM messages (All my EasyAccess request will store here) example. maxis bill info 1. sorry i didn't know abt the sim messages, never used them..check the help file, it says that must copy to other folder before can access ur sim messages..I cannot press enter to read whole message. 2. No problem when i use 'where to'. 'View Map' - I just want to have fun drive without set the destination. but it always turn off the backlight/ 2. if you want to fun drive while 'view map', try garmin>tools>display>backlight override>always on.. but take note that having lights always on drains the battery alot. |
Nov 10 2009, 08:54 AM
Nov 11 2009, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(2286 @ Nov 11 2009, 07:30 AM) 8mb should be sufficient if you're main focus is just emails (without attachment), msn, skype, facebook, browsing (turn off pictures upload).. even if u exceed 8mb, the rate/kb is still cheaper which is only 0.3cents/kb so if u download app of 1MB size, cost only rm3. if not u'll be charged rm10 for 1MB download at the normal rate 1cent/kbAdded on November 11, 2009, 9:05 am QUOTE(wookp @ Nov 10 2009, 09:33 PM) I have two options: oh ya..like aspire suggested, just opt for data plan, or they call it maxis internet2go.. 1.Get an iphone and sell it off. Maintaining my package for the free data 2.Change to another fcukin telco but i would just change to other telco as maxis service has been very very bad...and at least now you have the option to change telco whilst maintaining your number... This post has been edited by attahun: Nov 11 2009, 09:05 AM |
Nov 11 2009, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(tchiaming @ Nov 11 2009, 12:45 PM) guys, i have a prob here. would be nice if somebody help me out. there is no need to hard reset the phone, hard reset will surely delete all datas...what software did you install or uninstall prior to the error message? Just reinstall the software and it should go away. If not you'll have to delete the installation file in the temporary folder but i forgot already which one..maybe other otai in the forum can help u on that...whenever i off n re-on my phone, an "installing" status will be displayed then, it shows "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager". how do i get rid of this? i saw somewhere in this topic that says that i must reset my phone. hard reset or soft reset? and if i reset my phone, will i still retain my data? (sms,contact,calender,application) |
Nov 11 2009, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(tchiaming @ Nov 11 2009, 07:12 PM) i tried wookp method but didnt work. u know how wonderful internet is, simple search and u get the answer attahun's method sounds good. problem is. i dunno which installation file i installed that caused this. cos i installed a bunch of applications at a time. i wanna try the temp folder. anybody can tell me where to search for the temp folder so that i can solve me prob? one more ques, if i reset my phone, Tools>Settings>General>Factory Settings>Yes everything will be back to the a brand new phone right? then can i still restore from memory card? Ok bro try this: 1. From Nokia E71: Menu>installations>App Mgr - Browse through the apps and find the one marked 'not installed'. You an try to delete this and restart phone, if problem still persist, go to step 2. 2. Connect E71 to PC in 'mass storage mode' - turn on 'show hidden files and folders' (my computer>tools>folder options>view) - browse to phone's drive. 3. Delete folder \private\{name of app with problem] 4. Inform us if it works. I should put this in my blog if this works.. by the way, the reset method u mentioned is soft reset, it shall just restore phone to factory settings but the 'registry' of the phone still clogged with old files. IF not mistaken, even data will not be lost. Hard reset (*#7370) is better as it will wipe clean the phone drive and reinstall back to original phone just like new..but note all data will be lost. I suppose the above in order..Feel free to correct the above info if wrong.. This post has been edited by attahun: Nov 11 2009, 08:27 PM |
Nov 12 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(tchiaming @ Nov 11 2009, 09:42 PM) Tried deleting it alrd. still the same prob. so i dun think it's the qf file. btw, can i still run garmin if i delete the qf file? the reason i asked u to check the app manager was to find the application which had the mark 'not installed' - app with problem, that app name should have been the same name with the folder in \private\ ... or it wasn't.. anyway i think 10202DCE folder shall be on case to case basis, other apps will make up new folder with new names..Tried both steps. Step 1 didnt work (i tot it would work but it didn't). Step 2 also didn't work bcos i dunno which app is causing the prob. too many folders. n i dunno wat each folder does. so i just randomly delete some stuff which i am absolutely positive i didn't need them. in the end, it didnt work. ok question here. if i do a hard reset, can i still restore all data from memory card? but by doing so, i would be restoring to the current condition now. am i right? so wat's the point of doing a hard reset then? the only reason i am annoyed with the "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager" is bcos i think it's the reason that my email is not at my homescreen anymore. i've checked my settings, the e-mail 1 & 2 notification is ticked. it just suddenly disappeared after the untrusted software thingy happened. i hope i'm clear here. need e71 pros to help me. EDITED: ok guys. this is the solution if u have this msg popup "untrusted software found in memory card, to install go to application manager" SOLUTION: Delete the entire folder of 10202DCE. (e:\private\10202DCE) The msg popup will never happen again. But it didn't solve my email problem. If u have the same email problem like mine (email notification missing from homescreen) all u gotta do (if u use gmail) is to ARCHIVE YOUR OLD MAILS. apparently the E71 stop recognising when there are too many mails in the inbox. once done, restart ur phone and retrieve all new emails. VIOLA! DONE! Email notification is back in your homescreen! anyhow glad u solved the prob.. Added on November 12, 2009, 8:46 am QUOTE(2286 @ Nov 12 2009, 12:26 AM) Added on November 12, 2009, 12:43 amgot something to share...about battery life... 月出入手E71欧版,电池待机一直不理想,第一次充完电是早上10点,接着看看网站,聊QQ大概1.5小时左右电量就去掉了3格,中间一两分钟电话,到晚上12点左右电量3格,待机到第2天早上8点,手机提示自动关机。我就觉得郁闷,待机能用掉我3格电,也太不正常了,结果拿着手上的电池和网上的对比,发现基本上没什么差别。电源芯片下面有字,而且+号什么都正常,莫非买到传说中的高仿电了。用电池测试软件查容量1576MAH(这个应该算正常)但是发现自己的待机功率高达0.15W-0.28W(黑屏,离线模式),这个数据相当的惊人,发现是一般的玩家数据的10倍,一般亮屏的时候才这个数据。结果想到是软件耗电问题,然后把软件全删了,把内存卡也拔了。问题依旧。结果我相信了高仿电之说,去买了一块MOMAX1546MAH的高容量电,结果使用一天后,结果还是这样,不到24小时就OVER。看到别人可以用8天,我的没道理顶不过24小时吧,然后继续折腾,结果想到了格机。通过一早上的折腾,终于把系统重刷了,当时的心情激动无比,第一时间装电池测试软件,一看结果又呆了,还是那个样。带了万分居丧的心情继续在网上找解决方法,结果发现有条SIM卡耗电的信息,带着最后一丝希望,把女友的SIM卡放到手机里试,结果一切正常了。充满电后已经使用了3天了,还有一格电。终于解决了多天困扰的电池问题。希望和我一样被SIM卡折腾的机油能够早日脱离苦海。 首先申明:本人刚入手E71,也是刚玩SB系统,谈不上什么经验贴,只是希望我的一些碰壁经历能够给需要的人一点帮助。 我的是广州动感地带2007年159卡,我女友的是2008年全球通138卡。同时我试过我同事的2008年动感159卡。耗电测试,纯待机是0.01-0.03W之间,我的卡是0.15-0.28之间。我也不懂这些卡具体有什么区别(据说是有3V和1.8V的区别,具体没做研究,搞不懂),只是单纯的从待机功率上可以说明影响你的电池待机时间的SIM卡可能是一个重要的元凶。具体的什么理论啥东西咱也不懂,所以写的可能肤浅点,希望大家见谅。 this is wat others say... so, in msia.. wat can we do? how to c wat type of simcard i having? looking for pro to explain.. XD This post has been edited by attahun: Nov 12 2009, 08:46 AM |
Nov 12 2009, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(tchiaming @ Nov 12 2009, 11:53 AM) yeah! it should be case by case basis. but lazy ppl like me will just delete the entire folder n problem solved. hahahhaa hahaha...dangerous worr just delete delete...anyway thanks a lot for ur help. no prob bro..i have times too when this E71 go wacko on me..now i dun install themes much coz of that |
Nov 12 2009, 04:18 PM
Nov 12 2009, 05:11 PM
Nov 13 2009, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(jackolantern @ Nov 13 2009, 09:42 AM) yeah, but then port must be using either 587 or 465. my earlier mentioned port also can try with these ports as well but i'm using port 25 still ok.Added on November 13, 2009, 10:16 am QUOTE(Hoyo17 @ Nov 13 2009, 09:30 AM) Hi, I recently bought a new black steel Nokia E71 ( If possible, add me up to the list ? try hard reset *#7370# and see if it helps? be sure to backup contacts and other data before hard reset. let us know if it works.Anyway, I'm having some problems using the Nokia universal codes. When I type in codes like *#0000# or *#06# etc. The phone just let out a beep, and that's it. Nothing comes out. Then, just when I try retyping the code. The menu option and camera option just went blank, until I press the red button to make it return to normal. This happens regularly, depending on the phone's mood I guess? [citation needed lol]. The codes may or may not work depending on my luck whenever I restart my phone. Anyone have any idea or suggestion on what I should do ? =) Anyway, I was wondering if anyone knows where I can get Russia's maps? As far as I know the Garmin on my phone only supports maps in Malaysia. I'm going off to study in Russia... tomorrow.. I know its kinda last minute, but any help will be greatly appreciated I'm still new here, so just in case I stepped on anyone's toes, sorry Thanks in advance by the way as for garmin, you'll need to search for russia maps and replace the gmapsupp.img inside garmin folder. but u'll have to find the russia map from the internet and the map depends on how good the mappers are..so cannot compare with our malfreemaps and such This post has been edited by attahun: Nov 13 2009, 10:16 AM |
Nov 13 2009, 11:47 AM
Nov 13 2009, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Nov 13 2009, 05:20 PM) hi all E71 pros it seems some other users also having same problem... they say it is a glitch during software upgrade but not sure if ur problem was after any software upgrade..i have a problem with an e71 the problem is the lock code default is 12345 right? but now 12345 cant unlock the phone and no changes are made to the code unused for quite some while plug in sim, enter 12345, "Code Error!" msg pop up tried hard reset (3 + * + Green button + on phone)..didnt work anybody experienced this before? need a solution quite urgently thx all pros ^^ anyway solution suggested:- When it asks for lock code, press and hold the function button (button at lower left corner) to activate numbers, dial 112 (emergency number), then press the green dial number. i dunno whats after that, give it a try and let us know if it works.. good luck. |
Nov 19 2009, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 19 2009, 02:17 AM) Anyone know how to mark each message or file by pressing the key? shift+center d-pad...you can select several messages using this method as well..you can copy paste text as well using same method but it will be shift+left/right key - copy..try it. I don't want go to menu and press mark each time. This post has been edited by attahun: Nov 19 2009, 08:52 AM |
Nov 20 2009, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(sandking @ Nov 20 2009, 03:11 PM) Help...can anyone help me..my phone cannot be started..it stuck on the nokia screen...i tried to start it many times but still failed..pls help..every help is very much appreciated.. if really no other way, then you can try master reset - press Y+U+green call button and keep holding them, press the 'on' button, the 3 buttons still kept on hold until phone properly starts...do note all data will be lost and phone reset to original factory condition. |
Nov 26 2009, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(red-queen @ Nov 25 2009, 02:43 PM) hi all, bro, suggest u format the card from phone. i understand that pc using different format like FAT32 whereas phone using only FAT..i keep getting the memory card error and i'm quite sick of it. planning to reformat my memory card now. i can just format it straight and slot it back to my phone right? do i need to perform anything else? coz i see some nokia folders in the card. when i format the card, i'm very sure it'll be gone. will there be any problem? |
| Change to: | 0.0377sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:02 AM |