66 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Intel P55 H55 H57 LGA 1156 Core I3 I5 I7, OC and Discussion

phat_mcjack
post Nov 23 2009, 06:40 PM

683 posts

how to tell...mmm....i'm having sm problem to hit 4ghz...
dunno why...dis is d 1st time i'm using msi board..using gd65 by d way...
i can enter windows n everything...but 1/2core stop during prime...
dunno wats d problem...try 2 increase d vcore but no effect...

selfdz87
post Nov 23 2009, 11:21 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 23 2009, 03:09 PM)
this thread seems soo quiet.. no i5 o/c in lowyat is it?
yup2...so quiet eh this thread...
i think everybody focusing on AMD thread... laugh.gif laugh.gif
cheap phenom II x2 can unlock to quad core ma... laugh.gif laugh.gif
very2 nice lah...huhuhu. thumbup.gif

WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2009, 12:08 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Nov 23 2009, 06:40 PM)
how to tell...mmm....i'm having sm problem to hit 4ghz...
dunno why...dis is d 1st time i'm using msi board..using gd65 by d way...
i can enter windows n everything...but 1/2core stop during prime...
dunno wats d problem...try 2 increase d vcore but no effect...
did u disable c states... c states cause my pc to hang sometimes when idle.

if u already touch c states to disable. then try to up ur VTT by 0.025v but keep below 1.35v.
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 12:21 AM

683 posts

tried all u mentioned...lol...still dunno wats d problem...
u using same mobo as me rite?did u manage to get 4ghz??

WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2009, 02:28 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Nov 24 2009, 12:21 AM)
tried all u mentioned...lol...still dunno wats d problem...
u using same mobo as me rite?did u manage to get 4ghz??
yup.. same p55 gd65 bios 1.5. I think this bios is abit cacat, but its just a hunch. I cant seems to find anything to support it thus far as the resources regarding this mobo is few.

But in my case my proc cant reach 4ghz. I personally thing its the proc problem. I doesnt want to touch 4ghz no matter how much i gave, and im not willing to gave it 1.4vcore just to run 4ghz. Its not worth it just for the extra 100mhz. Max stable i could reach is 3.9ghz @ 1.35v. I was also unable to run bclk higher than 180 on this proc with ram multiplier 4 which is about 1480Mhz and above... no matter how much dram voltage or vtt voltage i gave it. I also up Vpll and PCH voltage too.. nothing. So my ram is just wasted. And also MSI Control Center report the dram voltage is 1.780 regardless of what i put in bios. It only changes when i go above >1.8v.

So honestly i dont know what is wrong. It could be any of it. Most probably the proc to me... coz the memory controller is now in the proc itself. So i guess the proc just doesnt like high bclk + high freq ram.
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 02:47 AM

683 posts

i just crash my pc losing my windows...damn...
so hard meh wanna touch 4ghz???
i'm using d bios dat comes wit the mobo which is 1.2[how to flash in d 1st place..lol...]
i fed up wanna try to hit 4ghz..[wanna run without oc for few days]...
currently running 3.8ghz oni...but vcore 1.392....cant seems to stable lower than dis...never change anything else...all set to auto oni...turbo boost dsabled...

if any1 using dis mobo can get 4ghz using i5 750..pls do share sm tips...
i already tried even using vcore 1.462 ....can enter windows but could even pass d 1st 15 in prime95...
bobiac
post Nov 24 2009, 05:04 AM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

did u enable load line calibration?
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 05:05 AM

683 posts

yes...
bobiac
post Nov 24 2009, 05:09 AM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

dang. i got 4 Ghz with oni 1.4.
did u adjust the CPU PPL volt?
monsh
post Nov 24 2009, 05:32 AM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

1st 15 minutes RAM issue

never set auto .
put at least the minimum req .
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2009, 11:37 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Nov 24 2009, 02:47 AM)
i just crash my pc losing my windows...damn...
so hard meh wanna touch 4ghz???
i'm using d bios dat comes wit the mobo which is 1.2[how to flash in d 1st place..lol...]
i fed up wanna try to hit 4ghz..[wanna run without oc for few days]...
currently running 3.8ghz oni...but vcore 1.392....cant seems to stable lower than dis...never change anything else...all set to auto oni...turbo boost dsabled...

if any1 using dis mobo can get 4ghz using i5 750..pls do share sm tips...
i already tried even using vcore 1.462 ....can enter windows but could even pass d 1st 15 in prime95...
u can use msi live update to do the flashing. but reset ur bios setting to default first just in case.

whats ur bclk? try to lower down ur memory and qpi multiplier to the lowest. This will ensure this two is not the bottleneck. then slowly up bclk with the highest multiplier u can get.. which in i5 case 20x without turbo boost. then once u cant go higher, drop to 19x then try to increase bclk again. if still can not then up vcore. if vcore up and still not stable up vtt abit then drop vcore alittle. continue do this until u reach the limit. dont go above the vcore 1.4 and vtt 1.4 if ur on air cool. for me pll n pch voltage is default.

QUOTE(bobiac @ Nov 24 2009, 05:09 AM)
dang. i got 4 Ghz with oni 1.4.
did u adjust the CPU PPL volt?
congrats...
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 12:00 PM

683 posts

@bobiac

yes i did adjust d core ppl volt to

---------------------->my settings is as below:-->

mutliplier x20
blck 200
vcore 1.463
vtt 1.25
pch[1.8v] 1.9v
pch[1.05v] 1.081
ram 1.651v
c-states disabled
spectrum spread disabled
turbo boost disabled
eist disable
most cpu features are disabled except intel visualition teachinology[correct r?? forgot what is dis but d last in d cpu features]

Added on November 24, 2009, 12:00 pm@white lighter

you flash d bios got any improvement??
if yes in what aspect?

This post has been edited by phat_mcjack: Nov 24 2009, 12:00 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2009, 12:18 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Nov 24 2009, 12:00 PM)
@bobiac

yes i did adjust d core ppl volt to
---------------------->my settings is as below:-->

mutliplier    x20
blck           200
vcore         1.463
vtt             1.25
pch[1.8v]   1.9v
pch[1.05v] 1.081
ram           1.651v
c-states disabled
spectrum spread disabled
turbo boost disabled
eist disable
most cpu features are disabled except intel visualition teachinology[correct r?? forgot what is dis but d last in d cpu features]

Added on November 24, 2009, 12:00 pm@white lighter

you flash d bios got any improvement??
if yes in what aspect?
wow.. 1.46 is dangerously high. what cooling u using and what temperature u getting?

i didnt test older bios.. once i got the board i straight update to v1.5 bios

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Nov 24 2009, 12:18 PM
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 01:00 PM

683 posts

i'm getting like 63/60/60/60 smthng like dis...+- 2'c..using normal megahalem oni...but pull n push...
oh isit..i never thought of flashing d bios when i get d mobo...
thought of setting up d pc n oc..lol...
now u running wit wat setting??
would my ram multiplier/ratio n qpi effect d oc??
my ram multiplier is x4 n qpi is at x16..

WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2009, 01:11 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Nov 24 2009, 01:00 PM)
i'm getting like 63/60/60/60 smthng like dis...+- 2'c..using normal megahalem oni...but pull n push...
oh isit..i never thought of flashing d bios when i get d mobo...
thought of setting up d pc n oc..lol...
now u running wit wat setting??
would my ram multiplier/ratio n qpi effect d oc??
my ram multiplier is x4 n qpi is at x16..
oh no wonder ur temp so low.. u use megahalem. i oni using cm 212+

my setting is:

3.9ghz @ 205x19 @ 1.35v

ram @ 1230Mhz 7 7 7 20 1T @ 1.5v (i doubt this is real)

ur ram multiplier might limit how high u can go wit ur bclk coz the ram will start to lock up if u run it too fast.
QPI is said to be link to bclk, so keep this low while oc'ing and once all done try to turn it to max. Mine is running at max speed

x4 means ur ram running at 1600Mhz if ur bclk is 200. This is perfect already. If u hav ddr3 2000mhz u can run at multiplier x5 to get that speed

qpi x16 is lowest. higher one is x18 i think... u can turn this up later once ur oc'ing is done.
bobiac
post Nov 24 2009, 01:14 PM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

oh. now change ur pll to 1.9v. and do memtest. i think its ur ram. do memtest for 30 mins.
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 01:19 PM

683 posts

i using normal ram oni...2gb kit oni sweat.gif 1333mhz...[well dats d cheapest i could get] its corsair....
and cm212+ is good also...best bang for buck...cheap but efficient...
wah ur vcore so low...i'm 3.8 also need 1.392v..
i wanna run x20 multiplier...coz i heard lynfields proc are good for even multiplier[correct me if i'm wrong i also just heard..dunno true or not]
so was planning 200X20 =4000...wit 1.42v...vtt 1.25...pch 1.9v..ram 1.65..
but xnot...
ur setting 3.9ghz stable?? you run prime how long??

Added on November 24, 2009, 1:21 pm@bobiac

ok boss...hey but how to run memtest in windows mode??? can oni run through bios isit?

This post has been edited by phat_mcjack: Nov 24 2009, 01:21 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Nov 24 2009, 01:39 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Nov 24 2009, 01:19 PM)
i using normal ram oni...2gb kit oni sweat.gif 1333mhz...[well dats d cheapest i could get] its corsair....
and cm212+ is good also...best bang for buck...cheap but efficient...
wah ur vcore so low...i'm 3.8 also need 1.392v..
i wanna run x20 multiplier...coz i heard lynfields proc are good for even multiplier[correct me if i'm wrong i also just heard..dunno true or not]
so was planning 200X20 =4000...wit 1.42v...vtt 1.25...pch 1.9v..ram 1.65..
but xnot...
ur setting 3.9ghz stable?? you run prime how long??

Added on November 24, 2009, 1:21 pm@bobiac

ok boss...hey but how to run memtest in windows mode??? can oni run through bios isit?
i cant exactly tell u wut voltage u should use coz diff board is diff setting. and its actually odd multiplier. it was said odd multiplier can achieve high bclk.

200 x 20 makes ur ram speed 1600 if ur ratio is 4. u sure ur ram can o/c to 1600mhz or not first??

pch if i not mistaken is 1.05 oni for default rite? vpll is 1.8v default... for mine neither of this needed to be changed.

ur vtt also seems low... everytime ur proc lock up rite. if u up ur vcore by say, 0.5v already from previous setting. try up vtt by 0.25v.

the way ur oc i think is more important then hitting specific targets.

and yes.. mine is prime stable. Im using this setting now for my pc 24/7
phat_mcjack
post Nov 24 2009, 01:46 PM

683 posts

oh ok...not sure abt my ram can oc to 1600mhz...
and i cant seems to run memtest coz i dont have bootable usb/floppy...
damn...any software dat make usb bootable??

selfdz87
post Nov 24 2009, 01:49 PM

~5Ghz+ Club~
932 posts

so jealous la with u all... laugh.gif
Oc here and there...
i dun hav a good cooling... laugh.gif
just can watch oni... cry.gif

66 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled