125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Tarantula Thread V12, 1 Tarantula 1 Malaysia

Oldfart
post Sep 26 2009, 02:06 AM

QUOTE(austinlai @ Sep 25 2009, 10:35 AM)
its ok wif the loss~i'll definitely try again!
Do u mean that most of those arboreals need exceptionally good ventilation?
So means tat i shud do the same for my Singapore Blue slings?
I don't know if arboreals need exceptionally good ventilation. I know it was one of the theories put forth as to why Avics tend to die for no good reason. As a precaution, I give all my slings good ventilation and it has worked for me. Since it's the way I've always done it and I've had good success with it, I'm not going to mess with it. biggrin.gif
As the old saying goes, if it ain't broke, don't fix it! tongue.gif
ETA: The way I see it, you can never have too much ventilation, but you can have too little! The only problem with a lot of ventilation is the enclosure dries out quicker- just have to stay on top of things and water more often when I see the substrate getting too dry.

This post has been edited by Oldfart: Sep 26 2009, 02:11 AM
rideon
post Sep 26 2009, 03:00 AM

239 posts

some venooommm.....

enjoy...

leetplayer
post Sep 26 2009, 03:04 AM

O'le
984 posts

Nice pics bro!
yltanisaac
post Sep 26 2009, 08:52 AM

94 posts

No sanctuary for Fraser’s Hill spiders
- TheStar, 26th September 2009

TheStar.com.my, Saturday, September 26, 2009

So what do you guys think of this?
Harry93
post Sep 26 2009, 09:44 AM

96 posts

Meanwhile, a check at a pet shop in Kuala Lumpur showed a lone tarantula in a glass case being sold for RM450.

A pet shop employee claimed the tarantula was a local species but did not know where it came from. He also said one did not need a licence to keep the spider as a pet.

When contacted a week later, the employee said several imported species like the Pinktoe and Rose Hair Tarantulas had been brought in and were being sold at RM180 each.

He also said the tarantulas only ate live insects and needed to be kept in a cool and dry place

i can sure this is come from MidValley, them now keep the pinktoe, rosea in a tiny Deli-Cup!!! the pinktoe is about 2.6-3inch, and the rosea also the same 3inch, but keep in deli-cup, ==

cool and dry place....i keep the employee in the cool and dry place also lor~ mad.gif

This post has been edited by Harry93: Sep 26 2009, 09:45 AM
Oldfart
post Sep 26 2009, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(yltanisaac @ Sep 25 2009, 05:52 PM)

Sounds like a good candidate for an MTS breeding project!
Foxngn
post Sep 26 2009, 10:14 AM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

QUOTE(Harry93 @ Sep 26 2009, 09:44 AM)
i can sure this is come from MidValley, them now keep the pinktoe, rosea in a tiny Deli-Cup!!! the pinktoe is about 2.6-3inch, and the rosea also the same 3inch, but keep in deli-cup, ==

cool and dry place....i keep the employee in the cool and dry place also lor~  mad.gif
Those are stupid & uneducated employee... yeah right, Cool & Dry place. What a stupid statement given by a stupid employee

Harry93
post Sep 26 2009, 10:44 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Sep 26 2009, 10:14 AM)
Those are stupid & uneducated employee... yeah right, Cool & Dry place. What a stupid statement given by a stupid employee
if let a Versi stay in a dry place, i think it will die immediately blink.gif blink.gif
junshern222
post Sep 26 2009, 11:10 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(yltanisaac @ Sep 26 2009, 09:52 AM)

any photo provided by the star?
btw,i hope this article would arouse the public's curiousity about tarantulas,as well as mts's acknowledgement in the community.
RyoKenzaki
post Sep 26 2009, 12:16 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

I wonder what sp are being caught there
I'm thinking if we can work out something with them like breeding and releasing them there hmm
rideon
post Sep 26 2009, 12:34 PM

239 posts

what is the most wanted T that everyone wants... The famous MET... as far as my research has gone... Fraser Hills is one of the places where you can find those sp in wild. Its heart breaking to see such sp is being caught and sold to tourists n people around the world without knowing the damage caused in the wild. Dont be shock if one day these sp will b extinct in our land here. People like us must educate the people and somehow stop n conserve the sp while we still have time. Thanks to MTS some has gain more knowledge about Tarantula better than ones ever thought...
*FallenAngel*
post Sep 26 2009, 01:35 PM

34 posts

i think 1 day mts should organise a trip to fraser, to create awareness among them... btw, hopefully sam able to transfer to there, as he is just the right person to educate them....
TSHuonHengChai
post Sep 26 2009, 02:11 PM

Goblin Techie
3,820 posts

I've already contact Mr. Durai since August and will be meeting him soon
Oldfart
post Sep 26 2009, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(HuonHengChai @ Sep 25 2009, 11:11 PM)
I've already contact Mr. Durai since August and will be meeting him soon
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
yltanisaac
post Sep 26 2009, 03:23 PM

94 posts

wa.. the discussion's ongoing.. rclxms.gif

These corporate pet shop employees don't know a thing about keeping T's (not all, some). I really pity those T's and how they misguide future T keepers on how to keep them.
Cool and dry
my foot. Next thing they will say is to pet them and teach them tricks.

That will be a great idea. MTS should find out what sp are there and we breed extensively to increase their numbers

Ya, only two of the T's found there. I would humbly suggest MTS should respond to the Star.

Who's mr Durai?? If you don't mind me asking.

*FallenAngel*
post Sep 26 2009, 03:43 PM

34 posts

Mr durai is the tour guide mentioned in the article... ya, good idea if mts able to educate public thru newspaper...
RyoKenzaki
post Sep 26 2009, 04:53 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

MTS cooperating with them breeding and releasing local t there sound good!
This is a good opportunity to let the goverment know the importance of our society
Hope things goes well biggrin.gif
Ranchu7
post Sep 26 2009, 05:53 PM

26 posts

Salute guys rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
jcmf
post Sep 26 2009, 06:34 PM

661 posts

was just reading the article in the paper. had a friend who goes up to Fraser's hill to take photos. so far he does not have any luck with Ts. hahaha. the article in the paper itself shows b.smithi IF im not wrong. sorry, im kinda new to Ts. hope to learn more from here
yltanisaac
post Sep 26 2009, 06:42 PM

94 posts

these? lol no idea what sp. ID?

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled