Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread v13

StarGhazzer
post Nov 2 2009, 07:03 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Nov 1 2009, 09:08 PM)
Best romance ever in Gundam History goes for 08ms team.... fantastic story with Romeo and Juliet style love with both faction ppl.
Damn in the end is like who the hell fark u are Zeon or EFSF.... if u like her just go for it and protect frm everything Zeon Forces or EFSF forces.

Thumbs up for MS08th Team story + the super realistic MS fight... Is like MS Igloo style story + normal Gundam Anime + Romance.
Well as much as I like 08MST as a whole, I actually dislike the Romeo Juliet romance between Shiro and Aina as it often made Shiro lose his mind and endanger himself and his own team. He was lucky not to get himself and his team killed.

QUOTE(Parody @ Nov 2 2009, 12:18 AM)

Coming in January 2010...
1/100 Astray dunno-what-name-but-can-transform  2500Yen
1/144 HGUC Nu Gundam Metallic Coating Ver  5000Yen
1/144 HGUC Sazabi Metallic Coating Ver  5000Yen
doh.gif

And when I thought the Mirage Frame was the most ugly kit around... here comes the Tiger Frame... doh.gif
Stop corrupting the Astray, Bandai !!

bling bling coating Nu... cheat money ler 5Kyen... can buy MG Nu liao.
Sazabi even more absurd... 5500 yen sweat.gif
http://toysdaily.com/discuz/thread-113036-1-1.html
StarGhazzer
post Nov 3 2009, 06:46 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Nov 3 2009, 04:02 PM)
guys, which is more cool?

a GFF Unicorn or MG Unicorn

and

HGUC Unicorn or SHCMPro Unicorn or RD Unicorn?

too many unicorns nowadays liao tongue.gif
Compare the price and see which one fits your budget.

For the price one SHCMPro you could get an squadron of HGUC Unicorns. Sure, the HGUC is very plain and has same crap articulation like its MG big brother, but the cheap price + fun of building an entire kit + possibility for mods + DIRT CHEAP makes it more value for money. RD doesn't come cheap too yet like the SHCMPro it's still an action figure more than a gunpla kit.

Go here for reviews of the SHCMPro Unicorn... Very impressive articulations that the MG/HGUC could only dream of. But being a pre-painted kit there is a chance where some models might have colour spills / uneven paintjobs. From the pictures it does look like it has gloss injection parts though.

RD Unicorn seems to come in solid pink psycoframes instead of the transparent red.
http://www.toy-world.com.hk/forum/viewthre...&extra=page%3D2

GFF Unicorn... we don't know much about its abilities for now but we'll see more reviews when the release date arrives.
I'm holding out for Banshee and Sinanju for the HGUC, and still praying hard for MG Delta Plus laugh.gif

Meanwhile, here's another picture of the MG V. Nope, no waist... Nope, no thigh joint. Nope... near zero torso articulation due to the core fighter mechanism. Nope, Bandai's not getting my money until they release the V2. tongue.gif

StarGhazzer
post Nov 4 2009, 04:15 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Nov 3 2009, 10:10 PM)
nah, V gundam wont get any flashy decals, most probably just some usual Ver Ka Decals, unless got some 3rd party special decals specially for the V Gundam, but totally, i'll rather wait for the next V gundam variations, look at wat they've done to MG Crossbone Gundam  laugh.gif
Ver Ka... most likely tons of "warning" decals, a League Militiare logo for the shoulder... maybe one or two numbers and that's it.

QUOTE(Parody @ Nov 3 2009, 11:10 PM)
Fat legs, useless ankle joints...  doh.gif
Actually the original lineart's legs are even fatter.

It's expected that the ankles can't sway from side to side due to side armour and transforming mechanism. The Zeta's ankles suffers the same problem. Oh well, it needs an action base perhaps.

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Nov 4 2009, 12:00 AM)
anyway, the docking mechanism is very complex for V. I guess that explains the sacrifice of articulation to compensate for the transformation and wat not
I suppose they had to sacrifice the waist for the docking mechanism, but there's no reason not to include a fully-functioning palm since the F91 and Crossbone both had tiny articulated palms.

QUOTE(kkloveit @ Nov 4 2009, 12:21 AM)
The only decend looking strike freedom is the MG strike freedom...i find other grades are a total eyesore. The porpotions are all out.
Coz that time no one knew when an MG SF would be released. sweat.gif
NG and HG SF are really cacat... fat face, fat legs, totally wrong.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 5 2009, 04:50 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Nov 4 2009, 09:23 PM)
Well, comparing the lineart and the kit itself, the legs didn't get any thinner  tongue.gif  see its right leg? Got a height boost though.

What the others are saying is that there's nothing wrong if there are no fully-functioning hands. Hand swapping like HGUC actually makes this petite MG hold its weapons better. All the Gundams with small hands (F91, Xbone, Turn A) have difficulty holding weapons anyway...

[/color]
Legs didn't get any thinner, but the feet were downsized. I don't have any problems with the downsizing since it's still proportionate, and in fact I like the stubby legs of the MG as it adds more bulk to it.

There's nothing wrong with non-functioning hands? It's only a beam rifle and with the usual peg and socket it shouldn't have problems holding it even with articulating fingers. It's not as if it's holding a bazooka or a heavy launcher. There's nothing wrong with including a set of hands with movable fingers either since there's already ready-made ones from the smaller MGs.

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Nov 4 2009, 09:53 PM)
When's the Qubeley Mk.II gonna be released?
Scheduled for Nov 09, but give it a few weeks to a month before it arrives in local shops... unless you somehow pre-ordered it.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 5 2009, 07:17 PM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 5 2009, 07:49 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Nov 5 2009, 07:46 AM)
The biggest leg MG Gundam is which one? GP01bp?
GP02 probably.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 5 2009, 07:21 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Nov 5 2009, 03:44 PM)
You just said it yourself  tongue.gif
Anyway, every company wants to cut costs ler... extra pair of hands means extra costs. Otherwise, all MGs would have those few good pairs of hands that came with MG Strike Noir and Strike E IWSP. Alas, I can only hope so.  yawn.gif

lol... typo biggrin.gif I meant "shouldn't"... going to edit it now.

It doesn't cost any much more to add an extra pair of palms.
Maybe it's Bandai's way of making MGs. There's rarely a "perfect" release as there will always be room for improvement...

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Nov 5 2009, 04:54 PM)
Haha I do remember early MGs include both articulated and static hands. Nowadays no more already
Because they added the peg to the hands to secure the weapons. It works pretty fine with rifles, but bazookas-wise sometimes in order to fix the peg into the weapon's hole you can't pose more exaggerated poses. My Zaku's bazooka is never plugged into the peg for posing purposes but there's no problem holding it. The Gundam v2.0's bazooka length prohibits it from posing extravagantly with the peg too.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 5 2009, 07:24 PM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 6 2009, 07:00 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Parody @ Nov 5 2009, 08:17 PM)
Yeah, i like the way how a Zaku can carry his bazooka under the arms, instead of over the shoulders.  thumbup.gif
http://www.geocities.jp/hetare_d_max/MgZakuv2-521.jpg
Since we're on the topic of bazookas, it's funny how many gunpla kits are incapable of good over-the-shoulder bazooka poses thanks to the bulky armours and the proportion of the bazooka. By that I mean the bazooka pointing forward rather than pointing down, and in particularly holding it with two hands.

GP03 is one serious offender, in fact the bazooka is totally useless for posing over the shoulder.
MKII's tiny bazooka gets blocked by the beam sabre holders and sits pretty high up due to the chunky shoulder armour.
Gundam v2.0's bazooka looks superb but the handle is too close to the cartridge hence it often detaches from the palm peg. But the super shoulder joint helps a lot.
Zaku v2.0... you need to move the shoulder shield out of the way.
Sinanju? LOL.
Kampfer too. Large shoulders.

It's a pity since bazookas looks more menacing than the generic rifle. biggrin.gif

The best two-handed pose I managed to do with the MKII would be this...

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 6 2009, 07:07 AM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 6 2009, 02:39 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Nov 6 2009, 09:17 AM)
Haha GP03 Bazooka was suppose to be hold under it arms anyway. IIRC I can only see GP03 wields its bazooka on the shoulder is when it docked with Orchis. Kampfer's bazooka seems to be fired just from the back (and in the anime IIRC, it was fired not from standing pose.

I think GP02 and Ez8 is not bad when it comes to holding bazooka.. and Rick Dom also.
Hm... I actually don't recall GP03 firing bazookas apart from being in the Orchis, but I could be wrong.

GFF Metal Unicorn... very sexy, very expensive.
http://www.toy-world.com.hk/forum/viewthre...&extra=page%3D1
Seems to have a titanium finish instead of pure white for its armour. Not sure whether it requires any part swapping for transformation apart from the horn, but I doubt so. Good to see Bandai including the gatlings this time, but I think they actually left out the forearm sabres instead. Bandai just had to leave out something, don't they?

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 6 2009, 02:40 PM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 6 2009, 02:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Nov 6 2009, 02:40 PM)
whoa! I can't pose mine like that also doh.gif

Sinanju's a joke la. The only way i pose the awsm bazooka is attach it to the sniper rifle. still looks good though
Why not? The short stubby left arm might not reach the bazooka on the right thanks to the chunky chest, the trick here is to pull the left shoulder armour and arm slightly outwards (about 1/2 -3/4 way into the male shoulder joint) so that it can swing a bit more towards the right.

Sinanju lol... kickass detailed bazooka that's useless on the shoulder. Fix it on the shield and the weight might pull it down as the shield attachment is just a clip on. Best is still to hold it under the armpit, or onto the rifle like what you did.

Here comes the Nazi... SIEG ZEON !!
In all the pictures available for now, none of them showed any movement of the front skirt armours. There seems to be some sort of joint which may suggest movement, but if the legs are trapped under an immobile skirt then really rclxub.gif liao.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 7 2009, 08:28 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Nov 7 2009, 01:56 AM)
really ar? i once really want the MKII titans. but till now dun buy. if it worth it, i cam consider. the clear armour look poison too to me.. can't really wait.. omg..
If you like it, then get it biggrin.gif

The MKII is one of the most fun kits to build, especially when you realise how much effort they put into the movable frame and sliding armours. But bear in mind it's a relatively "old" kit by today's standards hence there are several flimsy parts and despite its bigger size it is very lightweight and far less sturdy than the Gundam v2.0.

The Titans version comes with nicer stickers and decals than the AEUG yet due to the dark blue armour they don't stand out, unless you buy water slides separately. I don't think there are any more early-batch AEUG now but if that's the version you decide to get, make sure it has the rotating waist.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 7 2009, 08:41 AM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 8 2009, 10:42 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

Not really gundam, but it's still mecha right?
Never knew Thomas could transform sweat.gif laugh.gif
Great creativity.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 8 2009, 08:28 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Early preview of the HGUC Unicorn... Looks pretty good, but one flaw noticed - White paint required for the top part of the chest sensors which come moulded in clear pink.
http://plaview.blog76.fc2.com/blog-entry-26.html

Charguy !!

MORE UNICORN !!
http://ameblo.jp/asayume/image-10383153126-10299684310.html
http://ameblo.jp/asayume/entry-10383803802.html

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 8 2009, 08:32 PM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 9 2009, 06:43 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Nov 8 2009, 10:35 PM)
MG also same, clear part red 1 that very part.. i dunno need to paint also.. tongue.gif
Nope, the MG has a white part for the chest sensor, so no paint required.

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Nov 9 2009, 06:20 AM)
walao i wish i study robotic

so I able to can create this lor icon_idea.gif

WHOA... Zgok Claw Attack !!

The monoeye moves a wee bit too fast though. biggrin.gif

NgeeKhiong put up more WIPs of the Unicorn by the Japs...
http://www6.ocn.ne.jp/~midori-b/midori-g/seisaku001.htm
http://blog.goo.ne.jp/ossan-obahan1-2/e/ca...462247e509cc727
It's apparent how different the two modes are, in particularly how simple the Unicorn mode looks as it doesn't incorporate the transforming mechanism.
Good thing that they included the forward and upward swiveling shoulder joints, but hopefully the extended armour in the NTD doesn't block the movements like the MG.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 9 2009, 06:59 AM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 9 2009, 04:15 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Nov 9 2009, 12:41 PM)
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2653/408589...1976a8dcd_o.jpg

a Freedom variation for the Seed VS Seed Astray
lol at the color concept like Nu Gundam, are those Funnels i see at the back? or some beam cannons?  tongue.gif

from the Katakana characters - the pilot's name is Jun Nara

It's an old picture that was released a long time ago during mid-season of Destiny, where people were speculating it to be the upgraded version of Freedom. It was rumoured to named as "Nu Freedom" back then, but it was eventually revealed to be a Korean fan-made design.

Unless Bandai decides to use this design for any upcoming Seed project, this is otherwise an unofficial fanart.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 9 2009, 04:18 PM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 10 2009, 09:24 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://plaview.blog76.fc2.com/blog-entry-28.html

Judging by the pictures, the NTD seems like a much better deal. The extended ankles allow more inversion-eversion movements while the forearm sabre holders are not fully functional in the Unicorn.

But apart from the bazooka the Unicorn also comes with extra open palms...

What a way to "force" people to buy both... sneaky Bandai. Include the Gatlings with the Banshees and we'll have to get those as well... sweat.gif
StarGhazzer
post Nov 10 2009, 10:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Nov 10 2009, 09:48 PM)
Haha not exactly true... on the Unicorn side.. there are Stark Jegan, Delta Plus Gundam, Rezel, Loto wat
Barnage doesn't stick with one faction, in fact he did fight alongside Zinnemann halfway throughout the story. Riddy was ordered by EFSF to take down the Unicorn at some stage as well.

The good thing about Unicorn is that none of the factions are "good". They are all fighting for their own benefits and doing a lot of undertable negotiations.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 11 2009, 10:11 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(zieraq @ Nov 11 2009, 07:10 AM)
that's what starghazzer always said. exaggerate proportion & slimming. Quanta look better to me. the upper body part look stronger & better proportion. just that it desperately need a better color scheme & stripe than what we see. put custom waterslide decal then its gonna look awesome. but I still don't like the leg. still look a lot similar to the original 00. looks gay. maybe change to exia leg & do some modding.

00 7 sword is still 00. ugly proportion, no personality & overrated. only the sword look good. so many great new invention in the PG, but in the end the mech design itself doesn't do the justice. bandai better produce more 2.0 version of UC gundam, or work on gundam X.
eh eh don't pull me into the abyss... sweat.gif My preference is for any gunpla to follow the original design... if it's meant to be chunky, it should stay chunky; if it's originally slim then keep it slim. We don't know the actual design of Quanta yet so can't really comment, but it wouldn't surprise anyone if it follows the design trend of 00 mechas. Whether one likes it or not is a subjective matter.

2.0 version of UCs... it is definitely in Bandai's plans judging by the amount of 2.0 MGs produced in recent years.
EF still has the Guncannon waiting to be ver2.0-ified and the Ball doesn't seem to require any upgrades.
Zeon has the Zaku I, Z'gok, and Dom/Rick Dom although the latter seem to be good enough in their 1.0 form.
X... if V can get some love so many years down the road, X has some hope.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 12 2009, 06:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://plaview.blog76.fc2.com/blog-entry-29.html

Lots of pics of the new and upcoming stuff... in particular the Geara Zulu. There are quite a lot of detailing to do, but when the Royal Guard and Angela Custom comes, it'll be a paint job nightmare once again with those white highlights around the armour edges. The weapons seem pretty good although they would need some paint as well - red stripe around the rocket and green tips for the grenades.

The Rezel seems to need part-exchanging for the transformation, probably similar to the HGUC Zeta.
StarGhazzer
post Nov 15 2009, 08:59 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Nov 15 2009, 06:39 AM)
Exist as a prototype tongue.gif

Luckily it didn't get the nod for production as the proportions are horribly out of date and inaccurate. The Marasai looks slightly better but from today's standards it looks poorly designed as well.

Speaking of MGs that didn't make the cut...

Again, horrible proportions... sweat.gif And the articulation is likely to be non-existent as well, judging from the bulkiness of the armour.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Nov 15 2009, 09:00 AM
StarGhazzer
post Nov 16 2009, 10:32 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

So fast got add-on liao? Money-milking scheme as usual... sweat.gif
user posted imageuser posted image
It's not the Dash either, it's the second V MSV....

2 different add-ons for the V... maybe it's meant to be a companion to the V2's 2 different backpack as well.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0550sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:35 AM