Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread v13

StarGhazzer
post Aug 26 2009, 12:06 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

user posted imageuser posted image
sneak peak of the MG 2nd L... it does have some slight differences apart from exaggerated proprotions. The two thrusters now have longer fins while the blade holders on the thighs lose the orange bits. I still prefer the chubby legs though... included an 1/100 for comparison purposes...

7th unit Gundam looks pretty decent.
http://toysdaily.com/discuz/thread-104123-1-1.html

HGUC Kshatriya kicks big ass... the final picture where all 4 hidden arms are revealed look absolutely menacing... Who needs guns when you have hidden tiny arms that rip you apart? There seems to be sliding mechanisms for the wing binder joints, not sure whether they lock or not.

And yes... paint job for the black armor parts T_T

Hopefully the Sinanju and other Neo Zeon HGUCs will look as good, if not better.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 26 2009, 12:12 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 26 2009, 12:29 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Aug 26 2009, 12:14 PM)
Oh ya
comparing at the prototype picture and real stuff
the MG sword doesn't looks that wide anymore.

I believe they go for Blue Frame 2nd L because they want to fix the Oversized sword lol, instead of the popular Red Frame.
It's not as wide now, but still likely to be too heavy for the joints though as it requires a separate stand for posing during the hobby show.
If this sells well a Red Frame will be inevitable... maybe the two gold frame versions as well to fill up those March, April MG slots where we usually get recolored kits.

QUOTE(golbeza @ Aug 26 2009, 12:23 PM)
guise, Super HCM Pro & Robot Damashii same size?? tis i no have info liao sad.gif

btw, the next two MGs from the unicorn series, will they be Ver Ka too?  tongue.gif
RD is slightly smaller, SHCMPro is about 1/144.

Next two MGs... who knows what they'll be? tongue.gif My money's on Banshee and possibly Delta Plus.
They are technically all ver Ka since Katoki designed them, but it doesn't matter since the ver Ka label is more of a gimmick rather than anything else. Ver Ka used to be Katoki's redesign of pre-existing kits, but the Xbone, Unicorn and Sinanju were primarily his own.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 26 2009, 12:30 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 26 2009, 08:39 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

1500 for Unicorn... 1800 for NTD... good pricing...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3494/385811...97fa6fe8d_o.jpg
But 13-14cm only... kinda tiny... sad.gif
Nov release... preparing for Dec MG maybe?

PG 00 skeleton...
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3460/385809...7fecc3dc3_b.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3450/385809...1bc21cd21_b.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3511/385809...eca78f7d6_b.jpg

MG Guntank
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2651/385809...6460380d4_b.jpg
Shoulder can't swing forward ler...

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 26 2009, 08:39 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 27 2009, 10:33 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

More views of the MG Blue Frame....
http://www.hkml.net/Discuz/viewthread.php?...&extra=page%3D1

Lots of detail... nice touch.

I still doubt the rigidity of the giant sword. The joint which allows the backpack to flip over will probably not sustain the full weight. Note that it's already senget from the weight in the picture.

And if a single peg is all that's connecting the backpack to the torso, it's going to be one hell of a posing nightmare. Not forgetting that the Astray's backpack is actually supported by a thin, movable, single round joint instead of the usual large rectangle peg.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 27 2009, 10:33 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 29 2009, 11:19 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Aug 29 2009, 07:33 AM)
er.. sori to ask, in case i mis read, when that MG blue frame will be out?
Rumours say October, but we've only seen the prototype for now. If pictures of the coloured production version are revealed by mid Sept then chances are it will be released in Oct, otherwise it might be postponed.
StarGhazzer
post Aug 30 2009, 07:55 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Aug 30 2009, 07:14 PM)
because hi-nu got better engineering so they can make it smaller but powerfull  laugh.gif
No. It's because Izubuchi designed the HiNu to be shorter for some untold reason.
The Hi-Nu is the novel equivalent of the Nu, not a better or improved or completed version of the Nu.

Sneak peak of the coloured MG Blue Frame. Can't see much from here for now...

Speechless... T_T
http://www.geocities.jp/hobby_no_toriko/1-...ale-strike.html
Strike... what have they done to you?

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 30 2009, 07:58 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 1 2009, 08:33 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(LucasGiap @ Sep 1 2009, 01:13 PM)
In this picture.. the Van Saviour gundam is the sixth gundam
Van Saviour:

The least radical change amongst all those crazy VS Astray designs. At least this time they didn't sticky-tape the boosters on the shoulders.
Wings got moved to the sides, two additional small thrusters on the shoulder armour, and the straight horn got bent backwards... that's pretty much it for Van Saviour. Weird name though...

No sign of an altered Aegis nor Blitz... Judging from how things are going, they might just move the Aegis's gigantic waist thrusters to the shoulders... ugh. I shouldn't give them any ideas tongue.gif

QUOTE(WaytoDawn @ Sep 1 2009, 02:35 PM)

Looks like they really did "revise" the tactical arms. Do like the new variations expecially the blade form. thumbup.gif  Tak tahan liao, I must get this!!  sweat.gif
Revised by removing the blades and attaching them to the forearm as beam blades... Kinda meh.

The articulation doesn't seem that impressive, although that's due to the 1/100's already decent range of movement rather than the MG's shortcomings.

And more doubts arise regarding the backpack. It even needs a stand to support it while standing... doh.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 1 2009, 08:34 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 2 2009, 08:32 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://toysdaily.com/discuz/thread-107159-1-1.html

Proportions looking more and more cacat, especially the teeny waist and messed up legs... doh.gif

The Unicorn is still being posed with only the Bazooka while the NTD gets the rifle. It'll really be a rip-off if they don't come with complete set of weapons and require us to get both sets for the armaments.
Nevertheless it's clearly still in prototype mode.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 2 2009, 08:39 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 4 2009, 01:17 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Sep 3 2009, 11:14 PM)
After seeing ra2zy's avatar, I suddenly recall the good old wing custom time, Hell Custom is my fav during that time and I like it so much more than Wing Custom Zero. I wonder why Bandai never make atleast a MG for it, anyone here like this model?
No one knows how Bandai decides which model to MG-fy. The popularity of DHC will reap lots of purchases yet there are no signs of any MG.
I personally prefer the original Deathscythe.

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Sep 3 2009, 11:31 PM)
wow the 1st mode look nice but the 2nd mode really turn me off... sweat.gif

maybe the design is not my cup of tea.
Totally.

Astray designs are being tainted with all sorts of weird rubbish. Turn the head and feet around for a second mode? How cheesy.

Anyway, looks like Unicorn and NTD is going to get a single weapon, with the Unicorn getting the Bazooka and the NTD having the rifle. Bugger. Let's just get a normal mode Unicorn and a NTD Banshee later to swap the weapons, instead of getting two Unicorns in different modes.
More gunpla in the link below:
http://superrobotwar.wordpress.com/2009/09...2009/#more-9272

StarGhazzer
post Sep 14 2009, 08:43 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Still looks weird to me.

The head is as thick as the waist !!

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 14 2009, 08:46 PM
StarGhazzer
post Sep 16 2009, 09:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Sep 15 2009, 12:30 AM)
well astray design almost similar to exia or double O gundam.
I'd say it continues the trend of newer Seed MGs, eg SF, IJ, Destiny, and Impulse where they lose their chunkiness and become anorexic. Well, at least they gain more articulation, and most people actually prefer the slimmed down, flashy designs rather than Okawara's version.

I still think the MG Strike has the best proportion out of all Seed MGs. Impulse looks too skinny, SF/IJ both gained height and lost weight, while Destiny looks tiny compared to the previous 2. Astray... UGH. Proportions are totally out, but that's not going to stop people from buying it.

QUOTE(300078 @ Sep 15 2009, 07:11 AM)
older design Gundam are more standard military looking... just look at how sexy Gundam Mk II and GP03S are....... plain and sexy.
depends on the series I guess... Tomino's works have more crazy designs (Zeon MAs, Zeong) while the OVAs are usually more military-like.
StarGhazzer
post Sep 26 2009, 01:08 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://superrobotwar.wordpress.com/2009/09...-2009/

New stuff coming up...

LOL at the Blue Frame... They put on the shoulder armour the wrong way.
HGUC Unicorn... cheating money... need to buy both to get the rifle and the bazooka.
Mirage Astray is HIDEOUS.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Sep 26 2009, 01:09 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 4 2009, 09:35 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://toysdaily.com/discuz/thread-110357-1-1.htm

Sneak peak of PG OO.... Can't see any gimmicks or details from these limited shots, but it's better than nothing.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 6 2009, 12:50 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(ka6_jeram @ Oct 6 2009, 04:00 AM)
My gundams always nearly fall from the cabinet. Do anyone could sugggest a solution? Should I just double sidded tape the gundam's feet?
Either your cabinet has unstable joints, or someone is kicking at them regularly. Gunpla are usually sturdy enough to stand their own feet without falling down, unless it's an unbalanced design like the backpack-heavy Seed series or the Kyrios. Use some blue tack, get an action base, or make your own hangerwire stand.

QUOTE(Naskie @ Oct 6 2009, 12:15 PM)
i dont know if you guys know this.. hyaku shiki HD mode is being sell at 169. is that cheap?
4800 yen... you do the math loh. Although it's won't be a surprise if the seller is jacking up the price as the verHD is supposed to be a "limited edition".

QUOTE(hash09 @ Oct 6 2009, 12:40 PM)
Hmm I saw some MGs on display, for me they seem kinda small, between TF deluxe and voyager size.. a bit bigger than HG 1/144 I guess.. since I want 1 or 2 first for play and posing purposes to get the feel of owning Gundam, that's why I'm thinking of getting a 1/60 size so that it stands out on my shelf, but of course PG is out of my budget.. maybe I'll get both, but try with the exia first  hmm.gif ..
MGs are small, but they are highly detailed. 1/60s are not worth getting since they are merely blown-up versions of their 1/100 counterparts - which means inferior proportions and articulations compared to the MGs.

I don't understand why some people claim that beginners shouldn't try MG for a start. Unless you're trying something radical like kitbashing or custom-colouring, MGs are no more difficult than HGs in terms of snap-fitting. Follow the manual and everything will be fine.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 6 2009, 12:58 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 8 2009, 06:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

YYYYYYEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS !!!!!!!! Stand up to the Victory !!!!!!

And it's fully transformable !!! Although the abundance of moving and transforming parts may make the joints flimsy and weak, in particularly the upper torso. It seems to have a Heza-head bundled together, although the lack of Dash-backpack parts possibly signals a future add-on release.

Nevertheless the proportions look chunky and boxy, unlike the rounded edges of the animation design. From the available pics it also seems to come with some crappy hand parts - hopefully those are just optional/additional hands for the rifle on top of the regular ones. Looking at the size, the number of runners, and limited paraphernalia... 3800 yen is a tad expensive... sad.gif

V2 won't be long I hope.

HGUC Geara Doga and Rezel are expected releases, let's see when they release the Sinanju. HGUC Unicorn suffer from the same articulation problems as the MG but at the relatively low prices there ain't much to complain.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 8 2009, 06:23 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 9 2009, 03:05 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(quahk2006 @ Oct 9 2009, 09:30 AM)
the first and second is real PG 00 raiser..the third one (00 only)more like a MG or 1/60 version..can compare..the third one arm too white...compare to the 2nd picture...i think u guys can see that right?
All of them are PG00... it's just the lighting and the angle that makes it look different.

QUOTE(300078 @ Oct 9 2009, 11:49 AM)
To be honest PGOO really i cant find the liking in it.... it is just too plain.... and it does not build up the hype like Astray Red Frame which has superb detail frame that are expose to the outside.

If it was a PG Exia i will buy it directly but OO..... is just too simple and lack of the detail i want for a PG... I can live with a MG version of it.

MG Goki definitely got me.... must buy.... but later sure get saiya version.... then got super saiya version, then super saiya 3 then super saiya 4 then combination saiya with Vegeta....
If the response for PG00 is good, there's every chance there will be an MG 00. It's what happened with the PG Red Frame and the subsequent MG Blue Frame. PG00 looks "plain" compared to Strike and Astray, but that's due to the fact that the two Seed PGs have overboard panel lines rather than the 00's shortcoming. Don't forget that the previous PGs like MKII, GP01 etc all looked plain with their armour obscuring their intricate internal frames.

MG Goku... nah... MG Trunks in Super Sayan mode plus the sword would be sweet though.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 9 2009, 04:04 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

http://www.toy-world.com.hk/forum/viewthre...&extra=page%3D1

More details regarding MG V:

1. It can perform the kneeling pose. Probably not as extravagant as the Zaku v2.0, but still very good. 160-170 degree knee flexion is more than adequate.

2. A spare V-fin seems to be provided.

3. Possibly Hexa head parts, but not sure whether there will be enough parts for a second core fighter (I wouldn't bet on it though).

4. NO ROTATING THIGH JOINT !!! Which means the feet will always point forward like most 1/100s and HGs.

5. Swapping palm parts, like the Gouf Custom... WTF man.... Is it so hard to provide separate fingers? Just grab some from the F91 mah....

6. Neat electric effect on the beam shield. The beam fan is a bonus inclusion although I doubt many people will pose with that.

7. Nice gimmick for the sliding forearm parts.

Seriously, point 4 and 5 are major thumbs-down for the MG V, on top of the price of course.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 9 2009, 05:50 PM
StarGhazzer
post Oct 9 2009, 06:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 9 2009, 04:51 PM)
MG V look reasonable to me but i wish they came out V2 better.
Maybe testing the market first eh? Release normal V, then later come out with Dash parts... just like Xbone and Fullcloth.

V2 might take some time since the transformation is a bit different. If it gets released together with the Assault and Buster packs it might just hit 5000 yen... Man, that price for a tiny MG? sad.gif

More stuff:

HGUC Unicorn looks really plain and the panel lines look a bit too prominent. NT-D looks better although the knee articulation is virtually non-existent.
And bugger... really have to get both for the full weapons. Who knows later the Banshee with come with two gatlings each (with no rifle or bazooka) for the normal and NTD mode, and we'll have to buy both to get all 4 gatlings for both arms. I probably shouldn't give Bandai any ideas...

Blue Frame 2nd Revised gets additional vulcans on the cheeks. Meh. The text decals are hideous.

Oh yeah, HGUC 104 is Stark Jegan... Hardly surprising.
StarGhazzer
post Oct 9 2009, 08:56 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Oct 9 2009, 08:05 PM)
will Sinanju come out both High Grade & Robot Damashii?  unsure.gif
Very likely.

G3... oh well. There are rumours saying that MG Guncannon v2.0 will come early next year. If it's true then the ver2.0 Operation V will be complete.

Just realised one thing - MG V is scheduled for Dec 2009, hence we ain't gonna get any MGs from Unicorn this year.
Where's my MG Delta Plus eh? sad.gif
StarGhazzer
post Oct 10 2009, 09:19 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 9 2009, 11:21 PM)
haha well if it hits 5k yen for completed set then it will be no problem but if it comes separated release it with each weapon then it will be another nightmare series army like strike jor.
Launcher and Sword Strike came as a bundled pack for 5000 yen so maybe V2AB would too. I personally hope they would release a separate V2 without the AB parts as a cheaper option. Maybe something like the Xbone and Fullcloth.

But most importantly, fix the palms and the thigh joint !!! dry.gif

For some reason Bandai just loves to include some glitches with each and every MG, especially those which come with special gimmicks. Unicorn had crap knees; Sinanju was a paintjob nightmare, Exia with the flimsy ankles, and now Victory with crap palms and thighs.

http://blog.lalabit.com/hobbycenter/archiv.../post_5133.html
V with some generic decals which make it look less plain. Maybe a League Militiare sticker rub-on for the shoulder armours later on? Hm....

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 10 2009, 09:45 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:44 AM