5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V30!, The Orange Legion

MemorableStudios
post Aug 26 2009, 03:44 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Aug 26 2009, 02:24 PM)
yes its suitable, all camera suitable, it depends on people how to utilize it..
btw A380 review at dpreview is up now..
yeap... sony really did screw up the a380... good thing like a350 and made it worse... sad.gif
the thing that really kicks is it costs more than competitor...

i sincerely hope they dont do the same to a900 or a700 replacement models...
MemorableStudios
post Aug 27 2009, 11:17 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 27 2009, 11:08 AM)
clivengu: The toilet bowl diffuser is universal as it comes with a strap to tighten around the flash head.

Also, the Stofen for the Canon 580EX II is the same size as the F58.

Seng_Kiat: The A700 screen is a bit warm when viewed straight on, but accurate when viewed at a slight angle.

Yes, orange gel for tungsten, green gel for flourescent.

Aiyaaa no wonder lah. If you use flouro WB (4500K M6) with neutral 5500K flash you get a blue-ish, magenta-ish flash!

ALL of http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/afham07/DSC00957.jpg is lit by the flash, and none by the flourescent light because you have underexposed your ambient light. (F8 1/30s ISO200). If you went the other way, say F2.8 1/30s ISO1600, you will get more flourescent light (and you'd get a more neutral white.) So your flash should've used a green gel.

Also, remember that flourescent light flickers according to your house AC (Alternating Current, 50 Hz) so you'll want to use a slower shutter speed if you are shooting without flash.

Try shooting 10 frames at 5FPS F2.8 ISO1600 1/1000s while aiming at a flourescent tube (at night) - you'll see how it varies. Either you totally kill ambient light by shooting F8 1/30s ISO200, or you maximize ambient light at F2.8 1/30s ISO1600 (depending on how bright your flouros are lah.) However it is obvious due to the flicker, that is why studios do not use flourescent tubes!

* Flourescent tubes come in different color temperatures. They are not always 4500K M6. Some are daylight-balanced flourescents (great!) and some are tungsten-balanced flourescents (2800K or 2800K M3). Some mamaks mix flourescent and tungsten light so I pick 2800K M6 for that.

millenia3000: Nice bokeh on the handle!
Great info on the fluorescent lighting...

Does the A900 screen have the same issue with A700? Havent checked on this yet...
MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 08:41 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 28 2009, 08:35 AM)
come Mo0... we save money till next year... then we decide what to get... but usually you would upgrade before me one la... hehehe...
a900... habis cerita... smile.gif

anyway, the A500/550 will have Auto HDR feature with 3.0" Screen, this would definitely interest the landscape photographer...
skip the post production of making HDR images... shall wait for DPreview to review this camera... smile.gif

i'm pretty sure this is using the new Exmor-R sensor.. but wait for the review... smile.gif
MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 09:07 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 28 2009, 08:45 AM)
wanna see how much the a850 will cost. if it's closer to my budget, might get that one and just be done with it. hehehe... but after that, I'd have to change some of my lenses also... which sucks... tongue.gif
2800 USD = RM9999

i will probably get it at 8K... smile.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 9:09 am
QUOTE(achew @ Aug 28 2009, 09:07 AM)
d80 has that one..but i wasnt impressed by the result...

anyway..saw some info from a tw website..it stil using the old its not the exmor R...but somehow is support very high ISO...
we can speculate... but just have to wait... smile.gif

This post has been edited by MemorableStudios: Aug 28 2009, 09:09 AM
MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 10:20 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(flysheep @ Aug 28 2009, 09:49 AM)
No need speculate. Sony announced it. smile.gif
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0908/09082705sonya850.asp

USD2000 for a full frame body. How cool is that?
i think can get this A850 and install A900 firmware inside.. seems like no hardware difference at all, except the 98% viewfinder..
the 3fps is most likely firmware based...

this is Sony habit... do some minor firmware & very minor hardware change and market at different price...

MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 10:24 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Aug 28 2009, 10:08 AM)
woottt!! gaji is out!  rclxm9.gif . Time to get them flash. But right, I keep thinking, is it wise to spend so much on hobby meh?? total cost of my whole hobby would already be 2.5k plus flash.. having doubts adi.. lol..

But anyways.. TT at PJ area peoples (pj has thew votes) =) cmon, semangat abit, lol

well... i have spent nearly 16k... A900 + SAL2470Z + CZ MC Filter + Battery Pack + Cobra + 16GB CF Extreme III + Extra battery
no money redy for another cobra and handgrip... sad.gif

wonder how much did Albnok & Hanafinoor have spent.. looking at their lenses collection... smile.gif
MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 10:26 AM

315 posts

Drive modes  • Single-frame
• Continuous (H/L selectable)
• Self-timer (10 or 2 sec)
• Mirror-Up
• Continuous bracket
• Single-frame bracket
• White balance bracket
• DRO bracket
• Mirror Lock-Up
• Remote Commander

Continuous
shooting * Approx 3 fps max
• RAW: Up to 16 frames
• cRAW (compressed): Up to 18 frames
• RAW+JPEG: Up to12 frames
• cRAW+JPEG : Up to 12 frames
• JPEG (XFINE): Up to 34 frames
• JPEG (STD/FINE): 593/384

Looking at A850 spec, notice the Drive Mode - Continuous (H/L selectable)...

on A900 H = 5 FPS & L = 3 FPS

for A850 H = 3FPS & L = 1 FPS ??? hahahaha
MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 02:00 PM

315 posts

Sony might as well increase production and yield for the A900 and reduce the price for it while make a much better improved version...

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/AA850/AA850A.HTM

glad i bought the A900... worried the A850 will be better, and i will live in regret... smile.gif
MemorableStudios
post Aug 28 2009, 04:38 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Aug 28 2009, 03:57 PM)
will see ler... if not as good as expected, better get the a700 la Mo0... coz somehow more poisoned by a700 than the a500/550... tongue.gif
lets just keep our fingers crossed... tongue.gif
I'm crossing my fingers and hope that Sony really proves what it says abt A500/550 being much better at low noise.. i might want to grab it and pair with SAL70200G.. and shoot at low light at ISO800-3200... mmmmmmm...... hmm.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 4:58 pmAlbnok: Have you tried using multiple wireless flash (cobras) in the following situation,,,

1) main cobra on A900
2) 1 or 2 cobras mounted on tripod area..
3) All cobras set to bounce (or using toilet bowl diffuser(
4) All cobra set to half power or less...

Any overheatings possible? Coz my idea is to distribute the flash power so it does not overheat...

This post has been edited by MemorableStudios: Aug 28 2009, 04:58 PM
MemorableStudios
post Aug 29 2009, 09:47 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Aug 29 2009, 05:57 AM)
afaik until now... none of the alpha has the exact shutter count..
unless the owner keep track of the filename themselves..  nod.gif
i'm pretty sure there is a way... probably require to enter service mode or using software interface...
MemorableStudios
post Aug 29 2009, 01:46 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Aug 29 2009, 01:24 PM)
can.....55200 and raynox...
bro,... where are ur latest bug-porns ?? hehehe
MemorableStudios
post Aug 31 2009, 09:13 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Aug 31 2009, 09:00 PM)
Interesting reading:

A Sony 3CCD still video camera that uses Canon and Nikon lenses!

http://www.nikonweb.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=368
http://www.broadcaststore.com/catalog/By-B...00/MVC-7000.htm
http://www.digicamhistory.com/1992.html

From http://www.sonicvideo.com/stillvideo/file1.htm:
But back in 1987 there was already an A-mount digital still video back:

http://www.mhohner.de/sony-minolta/onebody.php?id=sb-90

ianho: The A500/A550 has good handling what. It is a heck lot more solid than the A300/A350 and reminds me of the A100 a lot in terms of build.

Of course, I love the A900's "All-seeing Eye" hehe. Same kinda excitement when I see an old Pentax film SLR.

ohzmygod: Just set anything lah as you like. On the A100 I used Vivid +1 +2 +3 or Vivid -3 +3 +3.

wingster: The A500/A550 has 0.8x magnification and 95% coverage, bigger than the A300/A350 at 0.74x magnification and 95% coverage.

KM5D/A100/A200/A230 - 0.83x magnification, 95% coverage
A300/A330/A350/A380 - 0.74x magnification, 95% coverage
A500/A550 - 0.8x magnification, 95% coverage (100% coverage in MF Check LV)
KM7D/A700 - 0.9x magnification, 95% coverage
A850 - 0.74x magnification, 98% coverage
A900 - 0.74x magnification, 100% coverage

Seng_Kiat: You need flash gel for non-5500K WB. Kelvin WB for gelled flash, or no flash.
http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores...837107#features

wanna use ur CZ or G lenses for video cameras... check it out... but only can be used with pro camcorders only..
MemorableStudios
post Aug 31 2009, 11:29 PM

315 posts

yeap... a550 looks like the 2nd backup camera... fix up with 70200G (get 300mm at max).. the skodeng specialist... smile.gif
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 09:56 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 1 2009, 09:38 AM)
I realllly should stop looking at what DxO Optics Pro can do. (Specifically the A900 with ISO6400 and NR on.)

http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y...history_state0=
yeah bro.. time to *upgrade* to DxO optics Pro.. excellent in NR... plus using the settings VIVID 0 0 +3 -2 -1 (i prefer not to saturate the colors too much).. ISO1600 is a dream to use... only funny thing is, the Details (noise reduction features) are not available for JPEG files.. if shoot in JPEG, Lightroom is the way to go.. if RAW, it is DxO Optics Pro...

For the A500/550, it is using a new hardware design based on DxO consultancy.. which resulted in superior ISO performance...
unfortunately for A850, it is not developed yet.. the aim is for a cheaper FF model to kill the Canon 5D MKII... need to wait for the A900 replacement model to see better ISO performance and hopefully full featured HD video shooting with excellent AF & exposure control...

CMOS EXMOR-R sensors still have issues (even with the handycams implementations), that is why not yet introduced in Alphas...
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 10:02 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 1 2009, 09:55 AM)
what the heck! if I knew the F20 is only rm200, I would haf kept my A200 n F36. Then buy 2 or 3 units of the F20 as slaves. Wharghhhhhhhhhhh!
F20 as slaves.. hmmm.. McGyver edition ??? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 10:03 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:00 AM)
Eh Moo, change date di la =).. nxt monday... But i doubt will have ppl.. most of the guys are busy or they went for the TT in KL

TT Time!

Date: 7th Sept. (More time to collect people)
Time: 9PM
Venue: PJ area, you decide.

Attendees:
1. Me
2. clivengu
3. dingenius3 (Maybe)
4. Moo
5. MemorableStudios
cool.. put my name in... will join around 10pm (after a wedding shoot)... PM me the organizer number... will call to confirm location...
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 10:15 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Sep 1 2009, 10:03 AM)
cool.. put my name in... will join around 10pm (after a wedding shoot)... PM me the organizer number... will call to confirm location...
alamak... confused with my dates... thought my event on the 7th... actually on the 9th...

can delay to the 9th (wednesday) ah.. ??? smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 10:30 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:00 AM)
Eh Moo, change date di la =).. nxt monday... But i doubt will have ppl.. most of the guys are busy or they went for the TT in KL

TT Time!

Date: 7th Sept. (More time to collect people)
Time: 9PM
Venue: PJ area, you decide.

Attendees:
1. Me
2. clivengu
3. dingenius3 (Maybe)
4. Moo
5. MemorableStudios (on the 9th September)
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 10:35 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Sep 1 2009, 09:56 AM)
yeah bro.. time to *upgrade* to DxO optics Pro.. excellent in NR... plus using the settings VIVID 0 0 +3 -2 -1 (i prefer not to saturate the colors too much).. ISO1600 is a dream to use... only funny thing is, the Details (noise reduction features) are not available for JPEG files.. if shoot in JPEG, Lightroom is the way to go.. if RAW, it is DxO Optics Pro...

For the A500/550, it is using a new hardware design based on DxO consultancy.. which resulted in superior ISO performance...
unfortunately for A850, it is not developed yet.. the aim is for a cheaper FF model to kill the Canon 5D MKII... need to wait for the A900 replacement model to see better ISO performance and hopefully full featured HD video shooting with excellent AF & exposure control...

CMOS EXMOR-R sensors still have issues (even with the handycams implementations), that is why not yet introduced in Alphas...
bro Albnok,

will experiment on the A900 RAW files and post some images soon... smile.gif not to sure if the cracked version will work well on A900 RAW files...
so far it produced better NR result (based on A350 at ISO400 max)... but Lightroom has nicer interface and handling + speed... and NR still can be used for A900 JPEG files...
MemorableStudios
post Sep 1 2009, 10:40 AM

315 posts

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores...69&N=4294966335

A850/550/500 on sale

probably i can get around 10% - 25% off ... smile.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0416sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled