Everything About Blu-ray Movies v2, Blu-ray media discussions
Aug 16 2009, 10:41 PM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
V2 already, so quick. Reporting in.
Aug 18 2009, 06:59 AM
QUOTE(fadthil @ Aug 18 2009, 02:08 AM) But with that amount paid, will the courier co. do the errands instead and just charge you back? That would save you petrol, toll, time, hassle etc etc etc, no? If you use UPS, DHL, Fedex, yes they'll take care of the tax/fees first than you will pay when they deliver. They will call you first. .If you use standard shipping, you'll have to drive to KLIA yourself. But now Amazon pre-charges the import fee as deposit, which will be used to pay the customs tax/fee, if there is any. Amazon will refund you if there's no tax/fee. But if the item is being held by FINAS/Censorship Board, then that's another story, or should I say, nightmare. |
Aug 18 2009, 11:39 AM
Aug 18 2009, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 18 2009, 03:23 PM) i bought bd based on this priority... My rule:1) sq 2) pq 3) movie 4) extra bass logo simply say i wont buy bd with no HD sound 1. Content 2. PQ 3. AQ AQ for movies & concerts must be lossless, for documentaries I got no choice though, I own Planet Earth, Home, The Universe Season 1 & 2, When We Left Earth: The NASA Missions and many more on my to-buy list. Baraka is DTS-HD MA, which is along with the PQ is 5 stars. |
Aug 18 2009, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(mois @ Aug 18 2009, 05:25 PM) 20 OCTOBER 2009![]() This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 18 2009, 05:29 PM |
Aug 18 2009, 07:13 PM
Content means main feature. Like movies, concerts, documentaries, etc.
But most of us here are home theater enthusiasts, so sometimes content is third priority just to enjoy the visual and sonic experience through our own equipment which I'm sure we've spent a lot. Hence, I own Transformers, and planning to get the sequel as well. That said, I also own Gandhi, Silence of the Lambs, etc on BD. I'm sure many of us are also true movie lovers, our priorities are still movies with hearts, substance, good plot, inteligent, meaningful, well written/directed, etc. Added on August 18, 2009, 7:16 pm QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 18 2009, 07:09 PM) I own that on DVD. Great performance by Day-Lewis & Pete Postlethwaite. Very moving piece.This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 18 2009, 07:18 PM |
Aug 18 2009, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 18 2009, 07:19 PM) I'm not a home theater enthusiast. I'm a home theater enthusiast-wannabe. This is just the beginning bro, remember once you've become an enthusiast there's no turning back. Still in college but managed to get a windfall and decided to piss it all away on a bedroom set You using PS3? Make sure the set you're getting can accept multi-channel PCM so you can enjoy lossless audio. Hope you got my reply. Good luck. |
Aug 18 2009, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 18 2009, 08:08 PM) Dun listen to him!!! There's a way - dun come back here! These maniacs will psycho you with terms like 'SVS', 'TrueHD', 'Monsters Inc', 'Biling-Balang Pow', etc .. 'White Snake' also got! Maybe that's true. But, just admit, deep inside everyone here actually want all the poison. Soon we'll keep hearing "more, more, we want more!" QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 18 2009, 08:11 PM) Sounds like a country song. |
Aug 19 2009, 08:46 AM
I love the extra features, especially the making-off documentaries, but like others I just don't have time to watch it. Anyway, it's just not my reason at all to buy a BD, I own Predator and it has nothing extra on it.
I like to see what happened behind the scenes, getting money from the studios, what attracted the director to the script, how that actor was cast, etc. To be honest, I wanted to be a filmmaker since I saw the making of Return of the Jedi when I was a kid. |
Aug 19 2009, 01:55 PM
Aug 19 2009, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(boreclub @ Aug 19 2009, 04:50 PM) thanks guys, by the time i wanna change the items, it already stated the shipment is in the process and cant be reduce the items anymore, just hope it wont be tax......i bought US245++...... Lately the customs are a little bit lenient. Late last year it was tax galore, almost everyone reports their package being asked for tax or held by FINAS/Censorship Board. But earlier that same year my package was around RM2k value (almost 30 BD) but there was no tax.But $245 is quite high, it could really catch attention. Just be prepared to receive a call from DHL, they will pay the taxes and deduct from your import fee deposit. If there's still balance you'll get refund from Amazon, if exceeds you have to pay to DHL when they deliver. But don't worry much, possibility is still there that you wouldn't be taxed. This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 19 2009, 05:15 PM |
Aug 20 2009, 07:08 AM
I found out how to differentiate the local release, saw them at Speedy Ikano. The blue stickers that says something like "Plays of Blu-ray Players & PlayStation 3 Only", the local release it's not a sticker, it's printed as part of the cover, you can't remove it. These are ones in the buy 2 free 1 promotions. From quick look, all of them is only BD25. For example I, Robot that has no big bonus features is 50GB in US release but this local one is 25GB only. Be careful guys.
Added on August 20, 2009, 7:15 amBy the way, AQ for David Foster is not that great to me. It's good, but there are many better ones like Dave Matthews, Celine Dion, David Gilmour, Legends of Jazz, John Mayer, Chris Botti, etc. This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 20 2009, 07:15 AM |
Aug 20 2009, 08:47 AM
Beetlejuice is now only $10.99 at Amazon.com. Finally it's time to grab this Tim Burton classic.
Aug 20 2009, 10:58 AM
Just got this from Uncle Posmen:
![]() This is for my friend. Dispatched 14/08 arrived today. |
Aug 20 2009, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 20 2009, 10:58 AM) Do check out Antonio Forcione's Quartet as a concert recording its really good. I forgot to order the Divermenti, should've ordered together with the Band of Brothers. Among the concerts that I have the Dave Matthews and John Mayer are the best. Also have u received ur Divermenti? I just found out that the 875 will not accept a Dolby TrueHD 192kHz source, u might need to use the LPCM on that BD. Also that the 875 downsamples DTSHDMA of 192kHz to 96kHz. In terms of AQ this is the reference disc for me now. Really? I thought it can accept 192kHz. Do other receivers having the same issue? |
Aug 20 2009, 11:23 AM
Uncle DHL's turn. He gave me this:
![]() Notice the cheap white envelop, this the first time Amazon used this for my shipment. Both for my friend. Package value more than RM500. Thank God it wasn't taxed. |
Aug 20 2009, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(fadthil @ Aug 20 2009, 11:47 AM) QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 20 2009, 11:55 AM) Yeah, haven't seen any aunties. I think the white envelop was a good strategy by Amazon. At first I never thought it was a package from Amazon at all, looks very plain like some documents inside. Was told by one DHL uncle last year, the customs now focus their attention to Amazon boxes, if value more than RM500 the chance is high for it to be taxed. This plain white envelop successfully escaped their attention. |
Aug 20 2009, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 20 2009, 12:05 PM) They fixed it in the 876 but Audyssey is not engaged for 192kHz as there is not enuf processing power. But there is no downsampling and it can take all Dolby TrueHD, DTSHDMA and LPCM at 192kHz. OK, 192kHz LPCM should be no problem then for my 875. For 192kHz DTS-HD MA/Dolby TrueHD tracks, one way is to let the player do the decoding. I wonder if my BD35 can do it, if not I'll just let my PS3 do it.Denon can do it but I am not sure if the lower end models can. 875 can accept LPCM at 192kHz but Audyssey will not be engaged. There is a restriction for most of the AVRs as it is due to processing power. I believe the sets from this year might be less prone to this. |
Aug 20 2009, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(fadthil @ Aug 20 2009, 12:42 PM) That's right. Even on standard shipping boxes, Amazon noted blu-rays as 'Music CDs' or 'Audio CDs' instead to divert attention. Also maybe meant for KDN... less possibility for them to suspect any suggestive contents maybe. Mine says DVD movies, but yes, these tactics seem to work. This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 20 2009, 01:08 PM |
Aug 21 2009, 07:03 AM
QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 21 2009, 12:33 AM) Just finished watching Blade Runner. I never watch this one so can't compare with DVD. Anyway, didn't quite like the story. PQ is good since the movie mostly dark but yet the detail's still obvious. SQ is excellent. The ambiance, surround, dialog and music really pinging from speakers in crisp details....pretty cool. It's a sci-fi cult classic, not will enjoy Blade Runner. But it's one of my old-time favorite.Next will watch 2001 Space Odisi. Hopefully I won't fall asleep as claimed by some reviewers Good luck with 2001 (a.k.a. sleeping gas). QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 21 2009, 02:47 AM) just watch 12 rounds, believe me, this recording is special Yeah, seen the trailers on many Fox BDs. PQ looks great, directed by Renny Harlin (Die Hard 2, Cliffhanger). Someone compared this to Speed.i'm only viewing it in avi format wit dvico 4000p during the start, the wordings/caption, camera view, the people, everything is so 3 dimensional, think it will look brilliant on BD's Added on August 21, 2009, 7:09 amEh, why the KLIPSCH thread is locked? This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 21 2009, 07:09 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0430sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:52 AM |